Legislature(2023 - 2024)

2023-05-01 House Journal

Full Journal pdf

2023-05-01                     House Journal                      Page 0892
SJR 11                                                                                                                        
SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 11 am by Senators Kiehl,                                                                            
Tobin, Olson, Dunbar, Giessel, Merrick, Bishop, Claman, Kaufman,                                                                
Kawasaki, and Stevens:                                                                                                          
     Recognizing the Don Young Coast Guard Authorization Act of                                                                 
     2022 and the importance of certain provisions intended to enhance                                                          
     oil spill response capabilities in Western Alaska and the United                                                           
     States Arctic to promote improved safety in shipping commerce,                                                             
     protection of communities in the state, and the health of critical                                                         
     marine resources; urging the United States Coast Guard to                                                                  
     consider the unique challenges of the state when developing oil                                                            
     spill response requirements for Western Alaska and the United                                                              
     States Arctic; and urging the deployment of individualized oil                                                             
     spill response resources for the state that use modern technologies                                                        
     to track the operation of large vessels in the region and local                                                            
     service providers with knowledge of the region and local wildlife.                                                         
was read the first time and referred to the Transportation Committee.