

Board of Directors

Brittany Keener President Eagle River

Dirk White President Elect Sitka

Renee Robinson Past President Anchorage

James Fischer Treasurer Anchorage

Christopher Chong Secretary Wasilla

Michelle Locke Anchorage

Aimee Young Anchorage

Meredith Dean Kotzebue

Brittany Karns Fairbanks

Catherine Kowalski Petersburg

Victoria Bumgardener Craig

Valerie Bixler Anchorage

Jolene Chikigak Anchorage Representative Justin Ruffridge
House Labor & Commerce Committee
Alaska State Legislature House of Representatives
State Capitol
Juneau, Alaska 99801

RE: Support of HB 56

Dear Representative Ruffridge,

The Alaska Pharmacists Association represents pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, students and pharmacies across the State of Alaska. We support HB 56, an act related to exempting animal prescriptions from the controlled substance prescription database.

As pharmacy professionals, patient safety and ensuring appropriate use of medications is a big concern. However, the current system that requires veterinarians to query and report-controlled substance prescriptions is not an effective tool for addressing the opioid crisis. We join our colleagues at the Board of Pharmacy in voicing our support for this legislation.

Please support this bill in committee.

Sincerely,

Brandy Seignemartin, PharmD

Executive Director

Brandy Seignemartin

Cc: Chair Jesse Sumner, Representative Prax, Representative Saddler, Representative Wright, Representative Carrick, Representative Fields