

Board of Directors

Brittany Keener President Eagle River

Dirk White President Elect Sitka

Renee Robinson Past President Anchorage

James Fischer Treasurer Anchorage

Christopher Chong Secretary Wasilla

Michelle Locke Anchorage

Aimee Young Anchorage

Meredith Dean Kotzebue

Brittany Karns Fairbanks

Catherine Kowalski Petersburg

Victoria Bumgardener Craig

Valerie Bixler Anchorage

Jolene Chikigak Anchorage Senator Elvi Gray-Jackson Senate Labor and Commerce Committee State Capitol Juneau, Alaska 99801

RE: Support of SB 94

Dear Senator Gray-Jackson,

The Alaska Pharmacists Association represents pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, students and pharmacies across the State of Alaska. SB 94, "An Act relating to the Board of Pharmacy" is the result of collaboration between the Alaska Board of Pharmacy (BoP) and the Alaska Pharmacists Association (AKPhA) to modernize pharmacy practice statutes. This legislation is incredibly important to the profession of pharmacy as well as patients' access to safe medications in Alaska.

SB 94 will update pharmacy practice statutes to:

- Streamline the licensure process while improving public safety
 - Align pharmacy statutes with other AK boards' and other states' statutes
 - Replace one of the two public member seats with a pharmacy technician seat
 - Adopt regulations for retired pharmacist status
 - Clarify board executive administrator's salary, allowing flexibility for a pharmacist to serve in this role in the future
- Increase access to epinephrine auto-injectors, medication delivery devices for anaphylaxis emergencies
- Ensure the Board of Pharmacy powers and duties support the Drug Supply Chain and Security Act (DSCSA) related to manufacturers, out-of-state pharmacies, and internet pharmacies to ensure Alaskans receive safe medications

Please support and co-sponsor this bill and allow the BoP to continue to meet its mission in promoting, preserving, and protecting Alaskans' public health, safety, and welfare.

Sincerely,

Brandy Seigremontin

Brandy Seignemartin, PharmD Executive Director