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Prescription drug monitoring programs (PDMPs), or prescription monitoring programs (PMPs), 
play a key role in the fight against prescription drug abuse, misuse, and diversion.  PDMPs support 
healthcare professionals, state officials, and law enforcement officers—by managing patients’ 
care; identifying potential high-risk behaviors among patients, prescribers, and dispensers; and 
aiding drug investigations.  Besides being a patient safety tool, PDMPs are increasingly being 
recognized for their contributions to the development of public health policies and 
collaborations.  As a robust public safety and healthcare management tool, PDMPs give health 
professionals a patient’s comprehensive prescription history of controlled substances and other 
monitored drugs.  As a regulatory oversight tool, PDMPs collect information on the prescribing 
and dispensing history of practitioners to patients, providing a complete picture in an accurate, 
timely, and secure manner.  PDMPs monitor the prescribing and dispensing of controlled 
substances by requiring pharmacies to report the dispensing of controlled substance 
prescriptions or other drugs of concern issued by prescribers.  Some states also require any 
practitioner dispensing from their office to report to the PDMP. 
 
Compared to other practitioners, the extent of diversion and abuse of opioids—and other 
controlled substance medications intended for animals—lacked significant research or 
documentation.  Yet, surveys targeting veterinarians showed high potential for abuse.  A 2014 
Colorado online survey of veterinarians conducted around the issues of opioid misuse in 
veterinary settings identified the following respondent demographic: 
 

• 64 percent of respondents were female 

• 51 percent were working in a suburban environment  

• 22 years average of professional veterinary experience 

• 73 percent practiced in small animal care 
 
The survey found that “13% of surveyed veterinarians knew that an animal owner had 
intentionally made an animal ill, injured an animal, or made an animal seem ill or injured to get 
opioid medications; 44% were aware of opioid abuse or misuse by either a client or a veterinary 
practice staff member; and 12% were aware of veterinary staff's opioid abuse and diversion.”   
Furthermore, 73 percent of surveyed veterinarians reported either fair, poor, or absent training 
on opioid misuse or abuse from their veterinary medical school, and 64 percent admitted to not 
completing any continuing education on opioid prescribing best practices since beginning their 
practices.1  As part of a study published in January 2021 regarding veterinarians, the researchers 
reviewed two surveys of veterinarians conducted by two states.  The first was the Colorado 
survey mentioned above.  The second, conducted by the Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine, 
examined misuse of veterinary medications and found that “The respondents suspected 23% of 
animal owners misusing vet medicines on themselves, their children, or friends; they alleged that 
the most misused class of drugs was analgesics.  Seventy-two percent answered YES to ‘Have you 
ever been asked questions by human caregivers of animals you have treated about the use of 
veterinary medications in humans?’  They identified healthcare workers (including veterinarians 

 
1 Mason et al. Prescription Opioid Epidemic: Do Veterinarians Have a Dog in the Fight? AJPH September 2018,  
Vol 108, No. 9. 
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and veterinarian staff), rural residents, those that lack health insurance, and those involved in 
animal racing and rodeo, as the most likely to misuse veterinary prescriptions.  They also reflected 
that a self-sufficient attitude, low-cost, convenient availability, and the theory that veterinary 
medications are more potent than human medications are reasons pet owners misuse this way.”2 
 
There are differences in PDMP requirements for veterinarians compared to other prescribers and 
dispensers.  The differences in laws and requirements highlight an ongoing discussion on whether 
veterinarians should comply with the same PDMP requirements as other practitioners or have 
separate requirements.  Veterinarians are not always included as major stakeholders with 
PDMPs, even though most are Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) registered practitioners 
who prescribe and dispense controlled substances in the practice of veterinary medicine.  
Requirements for veterinarians and veterinary prescriptions differ by state.  What further 
concerns both healthcare and regulatory stakeholders is the fact that many of the controlled 
substances commonly prescribed or dispensed by veterinarians are the same as those prescribed 
or dispensed for human patients.  This includes controlled substances such as morphine, 
hydrocodone, buprenorphine, benzodiazepines, fentanyl, and barbiturates.  While veterinarians’ 
roles and responsibilities vary across states, federal controlled substances laws view the 
profession like that of any other prescriber. 
 
Federal law requires certain legal entities to register with the DEA for specific controlled 
substances activities.  The DEA requires manufacturers or distributors of controlled substances 
to register.  Hospitals, clinics, and opioid treatment centers must also have a DEA registration.   
Included in the various DEA registered activities are practitioners and mid-level practitioners who 
dispense or prescribe controlled substances to their patients. These categories include, but are 
not limited to physicians, dentists, podiatrists, osteopathic physicians, physician assistants, nurse 
practitioners, and veterinarians. 
 
PDMPs define a practitioner as a healthcare provider authorized by state and federal law to 
prescribe, dispense, and administer controlled substances under their state license and federal 
DEA registration.  All 54 PDMPs define practitioners as physicians, dentists, osteopaths, and 
podiatrists.  As for veterinarians, there are states that include veterinarians in the definition of 
practitioner and others that do not.  This is also true when it comes to defining a dispenser.  Most 
PDMPs include veterinarians in their definition of dispenser, but some states specifically exclude 
them even though many veterinarians dispense controlled substance medications directly to the 
animal owner.  
 
While it is not uncommon for only one veterinarian within a clinical practice to possess a DEA 
registration number to write or dispense controlled drugs, other licensed medical professionals 
may use multiple DEA numbers as required by law. When practitioners issue a controlled 
substance prescription, state and federal laws require certain information to be on the 
prescription, including (but not limited to)—patient name, address, and the date of issuance. In 

 
2 Anand A, Hosanagar A. Drug Misuse in the Veterinary Setting: An Under-recognized Avenue. Curr Psychiatry Rep. 
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some states, prescriptions issued by veterinarians must include not only the information required 
of other practitioners but also the species of the animal and the name of the animal and/or its 
owner. This additional information must be reported to the PDMP in states that require 
veterinarians to report dispensations.  These and other nuances surrounding veterinarians can 
be challenging for PDMP programs in the collection and access to PDMP data.  
 
In the first quarter of 2020, the PDMP Training and Technical Assistance Center (TTAC) convened 
a work group to examine the reporting and processing of veterinarian medication dispensations. 
The work group consisted of PDMP representatives from Maryland, Massachusetts, Nebraska, 
New Hampshire, and South Carolina.  As a result of the efforts of this working group, PDMP TTAC 
published a Technical Assistance Guide (TAG) entitled “Veterinary Best Practices.”  The report 
examined the issues facing PDMPs as they relate to veterinarians and offered suggestions on how 
PDMPs may best address them. 
 
In 2021, the National Association of State Controlled Substances Authorities (NASCSA) requested 
PDMP TTAC to reexamine and expand upon the issues surrounding veterinarians and work jointly 
to further explore and enhance the recommended practices of the 2020 “Veterinary Best 
Practices” TAG.  PDMP TTAC and representatives of NASCSA’s PMP Committee, comprised of 
PDMP administrators, held a series of work sessions on recommending best practices for 
veterinarians.  This collaboration reiterated many of PDMP TTAC’s initial recommendations and 
produced several new recommendations. 
 
This report from the PDMP TTAC/NASCSA collaboration provides guidance surrounding 
veterinary prescription reporting.  Due to state laws and policies, the group understands some 
states will exclude best practices not in alignment with legally acceptable practice.  However, 
PDMPs should plan and implement these practices, as applicable, to standardize the collection 
and reporting of veterinary prescription data.  This report examines the issues facing PDMPs as 
it relates to veterinarians and offers suggestions on how PDMPs may best address them.  The 
suggestions are a consensus reached as result of the PDMP TTAC/NASCSA work group’s efforts 
and is intended to: 
 

• Show reporting issues of veterinary dispensing and prescribing. 

• Find issues in displaying such data in PDMP reports and queries. 

• Offer recommended best practices on techniques and policies for PDMPs. 
  

https://www.pdmpassist.org/pdf/TAG_Veterinary_Best_Practices_20200710.pdf
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RECOMMENDED BEST PRACTICES  
 
HIGHLIGHTS  

 
1. Enact or change state legislation requiring the same frequency of reporting for both 

dispensing practitioners and veterinarians. 
 

2. All veterinarians who dispense monitored drugs from their veterinary practice should 
register and report those prescriptions to their respective state PDMP. 
 

3. Veterinary prescriptions should include the animal owner’s or caretaker’s identifying 
information to be reported to PDMPs using the respective fields in the American 
Society for Automation in Pharmacy (ASAP) format.  
 

4. Veterinary software vendors should incorporate the ability to automate the reporting 
of ASAP files to PDMPs.  
 

5. Veterinary prescription records should include the prescriber’s DEA registration 
number if the monitored drug is a controlled substance or should include the 
prescriber’s State License number if the monitored drug is a non-controlled 
substance. 
 

6. Include all NDCs for veterinary medications in the PDMP NDC files. 
 

7. Allow veterinarians to register for the state PDMP within the state they hold a 
professional license to practice. 
 

8. Veterinarians should query their veterinary patient utilizing the animal owner’s first 
name, last name, and date of birth.  Veterinarians should utilize the identifying 
information of one owner for each animal patient, if possible. 
 

9. Allow veterinarians the authority to query PDMPs to review veterinary prescriptions 
that were issued to their animal patients.  Allow practitioners and pharmacists, who 
treat human patients, the authority to query and review veterinary prescriptions that 
were issued for those animal patients. 
 

10. PDMPs should develop a method to identify prescriptions issued by veterinarians on 
the PDMP report (e.g., animal icon).  
 

11. Each state PDMP should determine how the incorporation of veterinary prescriptions 
in the patient PDMP report shall impact their unsolicited reporting. 
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12. PDMP vendors should exclude veterinary prescriptions from solicited automated 
analytics by default and allow individual users to incorporate veterinary data based 
on the clinical judgement of the PDMP user. 
 

13. Veterinary offices should be treated like other PDMP data uploaders and included in 
PDMP reporting compliance audits . 
 

14. PDMPs should collaborate with their respective State Board of Veterinary Medicine 
and professional associations in creating educational presentations and/or materials 
outlining veterinary best practices, requirements for veterinarians, and resources for 
the reporting of veterinary dispensations.  Furthermore, education for dispensing 
pharmacies should be made accessible to ensure that the reporting of veterinary 
prescriptions is consistent with the reporting standards provided for veterinarians and 
veterinary clinics. 

 

Reporting Frequency of Veterinary Prescriptions (back to list) 
 

Recommended Best Practice:  Enact or modify state legislation requiring the same frequency 
of reporting for both dispensing practitioners and veterinarians. 
 
Fifty PDMPs require dispensing practitioners to report to the PDMP; 46 of those require reporting 
within 24 hours or next business day from the time they dispense the medications.  Nineteen 
PDMPs require dispensing veterinarians to report to the PDMP; 13 of those require reporting 
within 24 hours or next business day from the time they dispense the medications.  PDMPs have 
been changing their laws and policies to shorten the frequency during which they require 
dispensers to report prescription data to a PDMP.  The primary reason is to ensure that providers 
have the most current data to improve clinical decision making.  This reasoning can also apply to 
veterinarians.  
 

Veterinarian Registration for Reporting Dispensations to their PDMP (back to list) 
 

Recommended Best Practice:  All veterinarians who dispense monitored drugs from their 
veterinary practice should register and report those prescriptions to the respective state 
PDMP. 
 
The recommended best practice is to require all veterinarians who dispense monitored drugs 
from their veterinary practice to register and report those prescriptions to their respective state 
PDMP.  Given that veterinarians are not eligible to obtain National Provider Identifier (NPI) 
numbers, reporting veterinary prescription dispensations will use either a DEA or State License 
number.  For dispensations to be reported properly, many licensed veterinarians will need a DEA 
registration to comply with PDMP reporting requirements.  A DEA registration is required for 
reporting of controlled substances. Where a DEA number is not required by law, the state 
professional license number may replace it. 
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Data Elements to Report for Veterinary Prescriptions (back to list) 
 

Recommended Best Practice:  Veterinary prescriptions should include the animal owner’s or 
caretaker’s identifying information to be reported to PDMPs using the respective field in 
American Society for Automation in Pharmacy (ASAP) format.  When the animal ownership is 
with a business entity, veterinary prescriptions should use the entity’s identifying information 
regarding the specific animal—where appropriate—under reporting guidelines from ASAP.  
 
Both state and federal statutes detail the data elements for veterinary prescriptions.  Prescription 
records collected by PDMPs include dispensations for both human and veterinary patients. While 
they use a standard format for dispensers who submit dispensation data to PDMPs, variability 
still exists in how veterinary prescriptions are reported.  Most states require veterinarians to 
include additional information not found on other practitioners’ prescriptions.  Along with the 
name and date of birth (DOB) of the owner, states may require veterinarians to include species; 
age; and in some states—the name of the animal; gender of the animal; and the animal’s owner. 
Without this additional information, a pharmacy may not dispense the prescription. 
 
Some confusion and misunderstanding exists among veterinarians and pharmacists regarding 
what information to include on a prescription.  Besides uncertainty caused by statutory language 
on whose name and information to list on the prescription, some veterinarians enter the age of 
the owner even when some states may require the animal’s age.  Another issue is that some 
owners do not know the age of the animal as they may have adopted the pet from an animal 
shelter or perhaps from another person, and veterinarians rarely collect the owner’s DOB or 
gender.  Since most PDMPs require the reporting of the owner’s name, a common challenge 
faced by veterinarians is that an animal’s owner can change from prescription to prescription. 
Additional confusion occurs when the animal may not have an owner (i.e., strays, animals at zoos, 
or animal shelters). 
 
Federal law, Title 21 CFR §1306.05(a) shows that “All prescriptions for controlled substances shall 
be dated as of, and signed on, the day when issued and shall bear the full name and address of 
the patient, the drug name, strength, dosage form, quantity prescribed, directions for use, and 
the name, address and registration number of the practitioner.”  The difference is subtle, but it 
appears that federal law requires the name of the animal patient (not the owner) be listed on 
the prescription.  However, in the Drug Enforcement Administration’s Practitioner’s Manual – 
Section V Valid Prescription Requirements, it indicates that “A prescription is an order for 
medication which is dispensed to or for an ultimate user.”  The definition of “ultimate user” is 
found in Title 21 United States Code (USC) Controlled Substances Act §802 (27):  “The term 
“ultimate user” means a person who has lawfully obtained, and who possesses, a controlled 
substance for his own use or for the use of a member of his household or for an animal owned 
by him or by a member of his household.”  The definition of “person” is found in Title 21 USC 
Controlled Substance Act §1300.01:  “Person includes any individual, corporation, government 
or governmental subdivision or agency, business trust, partnership, association or other legal 
entity.”  NASCSA’s Model Prescription Monitoring Act 2021 defines “owner” as “. . . the owner, 
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client, or person who is responsible for the care of the animal or who arranges for the animal’s 
veterinary care when the prescription is dispensed.” 
 
Therefore, the working group recommends the following when ownership is to a specific person 
or entity.  See Appendix A for detailed description of ASAP data elements.  
 
Use case one—Ownership by a single person (e.g., human)  
 

• PAT01 through PAT19, PAT21, and PAT22 populated with the animal owner’s 
information  

• PAT20 and PAT 23 populated with animal patient’s information 
 

Use case two—Ownership by an entity (e.g., zoo, animal shelter, animal rescue organization)  
 

• PAT01 through PAT11, PAT17 through PAT19, and PAT21 through PAT22 populated 
with information from the person who is responsible for the care of the animal or who 
arranges for the animal’s veterinary care 

• PAT12 through PAT16 populated with the address of the entity where the animal 
resides (e.g., zoo, animal shelter) 

• PAT20 and PAT 23 populated with the animal patient’s information 
 

ASAP Reporting Standard for Veterinary Prescriptions (back to list) 
 

Recommended Best Practice:  Veterinary software vendors should incorporate the ability to 
automate the reporting of ASAP files to PDMPs. 
 
Anecdotal reports from dispensing veterinarians reveal that the currently available veterinary 
software makes reporting the required data elements to the PDMP time consuming and difficult. 
These challenges are like those faced by pharmacies when PDMPs were first introduced.  For 
some pharmacies, when PDMPs were adopted, there was a gradual progression in method of 
reporting—from reporting manually, to uploading a file, to automating the file via secure file 
transfer.  Dispensing veterinarians may face similar challenges in adopting PDMP reporting into 
their workflow.  Therefore, it is recommended that veterinary software vendors include in their 
software packages the ability to automate reporting to PDMPs in the ASAP format.  
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Reporting Veterinary Dispensations to the PDMP (back to list) 
 

Recommended Best Practice:  Veterinary prescription records should include the prescriber’s 
DEA registration number if the monitored drug is a controlled substance or the prescriber’s 
State License number if the monitored drug is a non-controlled substance. 
 
When reporting a veterinary prescription dispensation to the PDMP, use the prescriber’s DEA 
number (PRE02) if the monitored drug is a controlled substance.  If the monitored drug is a non-
controlled substance and a drug that must be reported, use the prescriber’s State License number 
(PRE04). The DEA and State License number are the only prescriber identifiers recommended.  
Veterinarians do not meet the regulatory definition of a “health care provider” as defined in 45 
CFR §160.103 and are not eligible to obtain an NPI. 
 

Inclusion of Veterinary Medications in PDMP National Drug Code (NDC) Files 
(back to list) 

 
Recommended Best Practice:  Include all NDCs for veterinary medications in the PDMP NDC 
files.   
 
The recommended best practice is to include all NDCs for veterinary medications in the PDMP 
NDC files.  Exclusion of these NDCs may cause incomplete patient reports because of errors 
generated during file uploads whereby there is no NDC match within the PDMP files.  This may 
cause delays in dispensation data reporting, since submitted prescription records with errors 
rarely appear in PDMP reports until corrected.  Since not all drug databases contain veterinary 
drugs and their respective NDCs, it is important for the PDMP vendor to use a database that 
contains this information.  
 
Note:  An exception includes the reporting of compounded medications.  For compounded 
medications, the reporting party uses the NDC number for each individual ingredient in the 
compounded medication. 
 

Mandatory PDMP Registration (back to list) 
 
Recommended Best Practice:  Allow veterinarians to register for the state PDMP within the 
state they hold a professional license to practice. 
 
Results from the 2021 PDMP TTAC veterinarian survey and statutory review showed that there 
are 14 states that specifically include veterinarians within their mandatory registration provisions 
and 21 that exempt or exclude.  Most states allow the registration of veterinarians to query the 
PDMP.  The enrollment of veterinarians provides for timely review of dispensations by the animal 
owner and is a valuable tool, which may allow veterinarians to recognize unusual activity.  As 
more states move to requiring veterinarians to report dispensations to PDMPs, veterinarians will 
recognize the value of the system.  Veterinarian enrollment in the PDMP will occur on a voluntary 
or mandatory basis. 
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Query Fields (back to list) 
 
Recommended Best Practice:  Veterinarians should query their veterinary patient utilizing the 
animal owner’s first name, last name, and date of birth.  Veterinarians should utilize the 
identifying information of one owner for each animal patient, if possible. 
 
The recommended best practice regarding veterinarians querying a veterinary patient originates 
from the fact that the recommended reported fields are for the owner of the animal.  Since the 
established best practice for veterinary prescriptions is to report the first name (PAT08), last 
name (PAT07), and date of birth (PAT18) of the animal owner—the veterinarian should perform 
the veterinary query with the animal owner’s first name, last name, and date of birth.  These 
query fields would also apply to registered pharmacists and healthcare practitioners of human 
patients who are querying the animal owner to determine both human and veterinary 
prescriptions dispensed to that recipient.  Challenges may arise in situations where an animal 
patient has multiple owners, making it difficult to identify who is receiving the prescription and 
to query the appropriate owner.  There is an inherent value of requiring PDMP data submitters 
to report all prescriptions for a specific animal under one owner’s first name, last name, and date 
of birth. 
 
Note that due to state laws and interpretation of HIPAA, the following states do not allow human 
prescriptions to appear on the patient activity report when a veterinarian queries an animal 
patient:  
 

Arkansas California Idaho 

Minnesota Nebraska North Carolina 

North Dakota South Carolina Texas 

Virginia Wyoming  

 

PDMP Access to Veterinary Prescriptions (back to list) 
 

Recommended Best Practice:  Allow veterinarians the authority to query PDMPs to review 
veterinary prescriptions that were issued for their animal patients.  Allow practitioners and 
pharmacists, who treat human patients, the authority to query and review veterinary 
prescriptions that were issued to their human patients.  
 
There was a fundamental agreement within the working group that the veterinary patient is not 
at risk for prescription misuse, but rather the human owner of the animal may be.  To ensure 
healthcare providers are well-informed, there should be a mechanism in place that associates 
veterinary prescriptions with the human owner’s PDMP profile.  Linking veterinary and human 
PDMP profiles provides healthcare practitioners with a comprehensive view of all medications 
contained within the shared household.  Results from the 2021 PDMP TTAC veterinarian survey 
and statutory review showed that 20 PDMPs—because of law, regulation, or policy—do not 
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permit veterinarians to query their PDMPs.  Eight PDMPs require veterinarians to query the 
PDMP, and 22 allow veterinarians to query the PDMP.  These states do not explicitly show the 
PDMP information a veterinarian can view.  There are three states (Colorado, Indiana, and New 
Hampshire) that have statutes permitting practitioners, including veterinarians, to access the 
PDMP records for a human patient as both a patient and an animal owner.  Most states allow 
practitioners (excluding veterinarians) to access PDMP records for a human patient as both a 
patient and an animal owner.  This diverse set of practices produces challenges to interstate data 
sharing, since it results in some states allowing access while others do not.  As states adopt this 
recommended best practice, these challenges with interstate data exchange should lessen.  
 

Identification of Veterinary Prescriptions on PDMP Reports (back to list) 
 

Recommended Best Practice:  PDMPs should develop a method to identify prescriptions issued 
by veterinarians on the PDMP report (e.g., animal icon).  
 
As mentioned above, most states allow practitioners (excluding veterinarians) to access PDMP 
records for a human patient as both a patient and an animal owner.  The patient report, from 
over half of the PDMPs, includes a delineator or paw print icon to identify prescriptions issued by 
veterinarians.  It is important to note that some states have enacted laws offering HIPAA-like 
protection to animal medical records prohibiting disclosure without the owner’s consent.  The 
American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) has a compilation of statutory and regulatory 
provisions regarding the confidentiality of veterinary patient records. 
 

Veterinary Prescriptions and Unsolicited Reporting (back to list) 
 

Recommended Best Practice:  Each state PDMP should determine how the incorporation of 
veterinary prescriptions in the patient PDMP report shall impact their unsolicited reporting. 
 
The working group did not reach a consensus regarding unsolicited reporting of veterinary 
prescriptions.  Many state PDMPs provide clinical alerts and other risk indicators as unsolicited 
reports to notify data requesters that their patient may be at an increased risk for overdose or a 
significant adverse event once the patient meets or exceeds an established threshold.  Given that 
the animal patient’s owner is identified rather than the animal, unsolicited reporting regarding 
common clinical alert thresholds may falsely alert healthcare practitioners to risks that do not 
exist and could negatively affect the care and treatment of the animal owner. 
 
Note: There is inherent value of requiring veterinarian establishments that report their 
dispensation data to a PDMP to report all prescriptions for a specific animal under one owner’s 
first name, last name, and date of birth.  
 

  

https://www.avma.org/advocacy/state-local-issues/confidentiality-veterinary-patient-records
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Veterinary Prescriptions and Solicited Automated Analytics, including Morphine 
Milligram Equivalent (MME) Calculations, Risk Score Calculations, and Solicited 
Clinical Alert Thresholds (back to list) 
 
Recommended Best Practice:  PDMP vendors should exclude veterinary prescriptions from 
solicited automated analytics by default and allow individual users to incorporate veterinary 
data based on the clinical judgement of the PDMP user.  
 
Given that reporting standards require the first name, last name, and date of birth of the 
veterinary patient’s owner, the recommended best practice is that PDMPs exclude veterinary 
prescriptions (dispensations with species code 02) from MME calculations, risk score calculations, 
and clinical alerts for the animal’s owner.  Clinical alerts commonly include multiple prescriber 
and dispenser thresholds, daily active MME thresholds, excessive opioid duration of treatment 
thresholds, and opioid and benzodiazepine combination thresholds.  Inclusion of veterinary 
prescriptions in the owner’s opioid-related PDMP analytics may create a negative bias to identify 
individuals (human patients) who have many pets or a pet with significant health issues. 
However, data requesters should be mindful of all veterinary prescriptions that are included in 
the animal owner’s report and should consider all elements in the PDMP report to make a well-
informed prescribing and/or dispensing decision regarding the care and treatment of their 
patient.  
 

Reporting Compliance Audits of Veterinary Records (back to list) 
 

Recommended Best Practice:  Veterinary offices should be treated like other PDMP data 
uploaders and included in PDMP reporting compliance audits. 
 
In states that require veterinarians who dispense controlled substances to report that 
information to the PDMPs, it is problematic to ensure that these providers are complying with 
the reporting requirements.  For other health-care providers, who dispense controlled 
substances (e.g., MDs, DOs, DDSs), PDMPs can obtain copies of the controlled-substance sales 
reports from manufacturers and distributors listing a provider’s information and controlled 
substances sold to that provider; PDMPs should ensure that they include veterinary medications 
in those reports.  With most veterinarians dispensing directly to their patients, it becomes 
important to ensure compliance for veterinarians to follow the same processes as for other 
dispensers.  PDMPs should work with controlled-substance manufacturers and distributors to 
ensure that their reports include veterinarians and veterinary medications for PDMPs to review 
as part of their reporting compliance process. 
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Education of Veterinary Utilization of PDMPs and Inclusion of Veterinary 
Prescriptions in State PDMPs (back to list) 
 
Recommended Best Practices:  PDMPs should collaborate with their respective State Board of 
Veterinary Medicine and professional associations in creating educational presentations 
and/or materials outlining veterinary best practices, requirements for veterinarians, and 
resources for the reporting of veterinary dispensations.  Furthermore, education for dispensing 
pharmacies should be made accessible to ensure that the reporting of veterinary prescriptions 
is consistent with the reporting standards provided for veterinarians and veterinary clinics. 
 
To minimize difficulties associated with the inclusion of veterinary prescriptions within the state 
PDMPs, the recommended best practice is to collaborate with their respective State Board of 
Veterinary Medicine and professional associations in creating educational presentations and/or 
materials outlining veterinary best practices, requirements for veterinarians, and resources for 
the reporting of veterinary dispensations. 
 
The working group recommends the ongoing education of dispensing pharmacies.  The purpose 
of this is to ensure that reporting of veterinary prescriptions is consistent with reporting 
standards provided for veterinarians and veterinary clinics.  This is important because the 
reporting entity is not identified as a pharmacy or a veterinary establishment in the patient 
history report but simply as a dispenser. 
 
For dispensing pharmacies, it is critical for pharmacy systems to differentiate veterinary 
prescriptions associated with an owner and the human’s personal prescriptions.  One potential 
complication is for the veterinary prescription to be filled erroneously as the human’s 
prescription or the human’s prescription being processed as if the animal is the recipient.  The 
working group strongly recommends that dispensers clearly differentiate veterinary 
prescriptions from the human’s prescriptions to minimize data entry errors.    
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APPENDIX A  
PATIENT INFORMATION SEGMENT (ASAP 4.2B) (back to list) 

  

ASAP 
Field ID 

Data Element 
Name 

Usage Purpose 

PAT01 
ID Qualifier of 
Patient Identifier 

Situational Code identifying the jurisdiction that issues the ID in PAT03  

PAT02 ID Qualifier Situational Code to identify the type of ID in PAT03  

PAT03 ID of Patient Situational Identification number for the patient or animal owner  

PAT04 
ID Qualifier of 
Additional Patient 
Identifier 

Situational Code identifying the jurisdiction that issues the ID in PAT06  

PAT05 
Additional Patient 
ID Qualifier 

Situational Code to identify the type of ID in PAT06  

PAT06 Additional ID Situational 
Identification that might be required by the PDMP to 
further identify the patient or animal owner  

PAT07 Last Name Required Patient's or animal owner’s last name  

PAT08 First Name Required Patient's or animal owner’s first name  

PAT09 Middle Name Situational 
Patient's or animal owner’s middle name or initial if 
available  

PAT10 Name Prefix Situational Patient’s or animal owner’s name prefix (such as Mr. or Dr.)  

PAT11 Name Suffix Situational 
Patient’s or animal owner’s name suffix (such as Jr. or the 
III)  

PAT12 
Address 
Information 1 

Required Patient's or animal owner’s address  

PAT13 
Address 
Information 2 

Situational Freeform text for additional address information  

PAT14 City Address Required Freeform text for city name  

PAT15 State Address Situational U.S. Postal Service state code  

PAT16 Zip Code Address Required U.S. Postal Service zip code  

PAT17 Phone Number Situational Complete phone number including area code  

PAT18 Date of Birth Required Date patient or animal owner was born  

PAT19 Gender Code Situational Code indicating the sex of the patient or animal owner  

PAT20 Species Code Situational 
Used if required by the PDMP to differentiate a prescription 
for an individual from one prescribed to an animal  

PAT21 
Patient Location 
Code 

Situational 
Code indicating where patient or animal owner is located 
when receiving pharmacy services  

PAT22 
Country of Non-
U.S. Resident 

Situational 
Used when the patient’s or animal owner’s address is a 
foreign country  

PAT23 Name of Animal Situational 
Used if required by the PDMP for prescription written by a 
veterinarian  

 



PDMP Administrator Question Re: Veterinarian Requirements 
 
 

Question posed on April 24, 2018 via Basecamp for Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners: Does your state currently require 
veterinarians to register with the PDMP? If so, does your state also have mandatory use? What have veterinarians identified as being 
the biggest challenges in using the PDMP? If your state does not require veterinarians to register and/or use the PDMP, what are the 
reasons for their exclusion? Lastly, (if your state doesn't currently require this) does your state intend to add veterinarians as 
mandatory practitioners, if so, when? 
 

Veterinarian 

Requirements?  

State Response 

Yes Connecticut 1. Initially, there were a lot of questions about pulling patient reports. What criteria should they use to 

conduct a patient search? Do they search for the pet or the owner?  

2. There were concerns about pulling the owner's pdmp report because the pet is the patient not the person. 

3. Connecticut is mandatory registration and utilization. Since veterinarians usually prescribe and dispense at 

the facility, there was initially a lot of confusion about when to upload into the PMP Clearinghouse and when 

to look up a patient. Differentiating between the two consisted of a lot of meetings and FAQs development. 

4. Our state mandates daily reporting. Advocates representing the veterinarian community we're able to push 

back to remain on the weekly reporting schedule. Some factors: limited resources/staff, small practices, lots 

of zero reporting, practices without technology (i.e. computers, mobile device, Internet) 

Yes South Carolina When SC passed the mandatory use law in May 2017, it did not exempt any provider types. Therefore, 

veterinarians that prescribe more than a 5 day supply of CII medications are required to check PMP.  

The biggest challenge is animal DOB. Because DOB of animal is often unknown, the veterinarians have a 

difficult time locating the patient's information in PMP. Animal prescriptions are not associated with owner's 

profile. Veterinarians are not allowed to look up people profiles since they don't have a practitioner-patient 

relationship with the owner. 

Yes, effective 

July 1, 2018 

Nebraska Nebraska will begin requiring veterinarians to report CII-IV on July 1. 

We do not have mandatory use.  There have been concerns brought up by lobbyists for the vets whether they 

have a right under HIPAA to review a patient/client's PDMP report. 

We have a workgroup of about ten veterinarians from various practice (small animals, large animals, 

Humane Society, etc.) whom have gone over in some detail the barriers and opportunities.   Vets typically 

don't collect the client DOB.  We've seen entries ranging from the patient's estimated DOB, to a default entry 

of 01/01/1900 and everything in between.   Gender can also be a challenge.  some enter the patient's gender, 

while others enter the client.  We try to get them to understand that we're interested in the owner's 

information and not the animal, since it's not Fluffy or Fido who may be misusing or abusing controlled 

substances.  The issue of the owner is also a challenge.  I may bring in my pet for tramadol one time, then my 

wife may be the owner next time if she brings in the animal for a new prescription, then my children may be 

listed as the owner the next time if they bring in the animal.  This is inconsistent and confusing, especially 

when vets don't collect this information in most cases.  We've been working with the vet ambulatory clinic 



software vendors to discover that many can report in ASAP format, but some don't follow the actual ASAP 

formatting for field length, etc so we're working with them to provide a valid report.  Several vets see the 

potential benefits of reporting and viewing the data, but most don't see that it's worth it, as "I know my 

clients and they wouldn't do such a thing", or it's a very small population causing the problem, or we can't 

identify an issue if there's no consistency with collecting a client name and DOB since they'll be paying cash 

and "forget" their ID when picking up the prescription.  Enough of my lengthy tirade.  I can go into even 

more detail if you like.  Bottom line - it's a challenge at best. 

Yes Maryland The bill that created mandatory registration and use created a situation that I don't think is what legislators 

intended, but it required veterinarians to be registered with PDMP but then didn't provide a valid use case for 

them to actually access the data.  

I would strongly urge you to try to insert yourself more actively into the details of definitions / requirements 

because I wish I had caught that the way they tied PDMP registration to our state-level CDS registration 

would require us to have veterinarians be registered, which is ridiculous when our definition of a prescriber 

in our statute (for the purpose of gaining clinical use access to PDMP data) requires that provider to be 

treating patients (defined as humans).  

 

There has been interest in having veterinarians play a role in PDMP here in Maryland by some legislators, 

but they haven't been able to articulate exactly what their policy goal is. 

 

Veterinarian dispensing is not regulated very well here in Maryland and so we have advocated that this part 

of the equation be beefed up as a first step. 

 

Veterinarians in Maryland have voiced discomfort with having access to HIPAA-protected data as that is not 

part of their general scope of practice. They do not want to be in a position to identify an animal owner with 

SUD because again, not within their scope of practice to address. Therefore, they would only be looking for 

individuals who are committing fraud or animal cruelty. They were unclear what appropriate steps could be 

taken, other than firing the owner or calling police. I think we're at least another legislative session or 2 away 

from clearing up what veterinarians' role, if any, will be in relation to PDMPs. Very interested to hear how 

these changes play out in other states! 

Yes West Virginia WV requires all practitioners who prescribe or dispense controlled substances to have access, including vets.  

There is mandated use for initial C-II, opioid and benzo prescriptions.  New legislation also limits vets to 7-

day opioid prescriptions.      

 

There have been a couple challenges.  One is educating the various practitioners about the PDMP 

requirements.  The other was a PDMP vendor issue that was requiring an NPI #, which vets don't have.  We 

now have that remedied. 

No Georgia Veterinarians are not pdmp users in GA. 



Yes New Hampshire In NH – veterinarians are required to register and upload data to the PDMP as dispenser if they are the 

“owners” of the controlled substances. Veterinarians with DEA numbers associated with their NH licenses 

are also required to register to utilize the database – however for veterinarians only it is voluntary. The data 

for a Rx for an animal is uploaded with the human name, DOB, address, and a required species code – 02 for 

animal that then requires a name field for the animal as well. If they were to query, they would query the 

owner of the animal. It would show the owners’ controlled prescription history and any animal controlled 

prescription history attached to them. The “human” provider when querying their patient would also see any 

animal/pet controlled substance prescriptions filled. 

 

For the veterinarian this allows them to view whether the animal/pet has been seen by multiple veterinarians 

and/or whether there could be a potential issue with the animal receiving their treatment if the opioid 

prescription was given to the owner if the owners’ controlled substance history showed possible concern of 

misuse/diversion. 

 

For the human provider, they could see if their patient was extending misuse/abuse beyond human 

practitioners by bring their pets to multiple providers. 

No; repealed in 

2016 

Arizona The original PMP law in Arizona included veterinarians and veterinary dispenses in CII-IV, but the 

requirement for them to register and report dispensing was removed effective in 2016. 

 

In the 2018 Special Session on the Arizona Opioid Epidemic, it was discussed again about veterinarians and 

veterinarian dispensing. It was decided that veterinarians would remain exempt from the PMP, but the 

following was added into statute (sorry about the all caps): 

32-2239.01.  Duty to report; clients seeking controlled substances; immunity 

 

A.  A VETERINARIAN WHO REASONABLY SUSPECTS OR BELIEVES THAT A CLIENT OR 

PERSON IS TRYING TO OBTAIN CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES WITH AN INTENT OTHER THAN 

TO TREAT THE PATIENT ANIMAL SHALL REPORT THAT SUSPICION, OR CAUSE A REPORT TO 

BE MADE, TO LOCAL LAW ENFORCEMENT WITHIN FORTY‑EIGHT HOURS AFTER THE 

TREATMENT OR EXAMINATION.  THE REPORT SHALL INCLUDE THE NAME AND ADDRESS 

OF THE CLIENT OR PERSON WHO SOUGHT THE EXAMINATION OR TREATMENT.  THE 

VETERINARY RECORDS PERTAINING TO THE INVESTIGATION INITIATED PURSUANT TO THE 

REPORT TO LAW ENFORCEMENT UNDER THIS SUBSECTION SHALL BE PROVIDED TO LOCAL 

LAW ENFORCEMENT ON REQUEST FOR ANY FURTHER CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION. 

 

B.  A VETERINARIAN WHO FILES A REPORT OR CAUSES A REPORT TO BE FILED PURSUANT 

TO SUBSECTION A OF THIS SECTION IS IMMUNE FROM CIVIL LIABILITY WITH RESPECT TO 

ANY REPORT MADE IN GOOD FAITH. 



From: Carrillo, Laura N (CED)
To: Lund, Ilsa M (CED); Powers, Rebecca J (CED)
Cc: Sherrell, Lisa D (CED)
Subject: FW: Question re: veterinarians
Date: Friday, March 13, 2020 9:11:00 AM
Attachments: FAQ PMP Veterinarians_Effective 09.05.2019_03.10.2020.pdf

Veterinarian Confirmation of Approval to Report to Virginia"s PMP_Template.pdf

Some info to share with your board! Maybe another solution is to seek legislative change to allow
regulation of veterinary establishments so licensees can use PHA03 and PRE02 codes for
reporting/reviewing. Clarifying through a regulation proposal and with cursory review by law might
help the board determine whether they do have the authority to define ownership.
 
Thank you,
 
Laura Carrillo, MPH
Executive Administrator
Alaska Board of Pharmacy
Prescription Drug Monitoring Program
State of Alaska – DCCED – CBPL
Direct: 907-465-1073
PDMP: 907-269-8404
PDMP email: akpdmp@alaska.gov
Fax: 907-465-2974
 
From: Brown, Desire [mailto:desire.brown@dhp.virginia.gov] 
Sent: Tuesday, March 10, 2020 10:06 AM
To: Carrillo, Laura N (CED) <laura.carrillo@alaska.gov>
Cc: Carolyn Mckann <carolyn.mckann@dhp.virginia.gov>; Ralph Orr <ralph.orr@dhp.virginia.gov>
Subject: Question re: veterinarians
 
Hi Laura!
 
I can certainly understand the challenges you are facing as we were once there too. 
 
I think the best advice we can provide is to work with the Veterinary Board to help with any
communications about regulatory changes or mandates required by your state and staying
consistent with communicating the requirement of reporting to vets. Honestly, most vets are
busy, have low staff, or just simply forget to report but the key is to be consistent.
 
In Virginia, veterinarians are exempt if they meet the following criteria:
 
§ 54.1-2522. Reporting exemptions.
7. Dispensing of covered substances by veterinarians to animals within the usual course of their
professional practice for a course of treatment to last seven days or less or if such covered substance
is feline buprenorphine or canine butorphanol.
 
In collaboration with the Vet Board, we created a list of FAQ's to help veterinarians identify
which option they would like to select; not dispense any controlled substances, limiting
dispensing to 7 days or less or continue to dispense and report. Veterinarians who selected

mailto:laura.carrillo@alaska.gov
mailto:/o=ExchangeLabs/ou=Exchange Administrative Group (FYDIBOHF23SPDLT)/cn=Recipients/cn=633f11f5d6cd447da27d1ad17ffcc506-imlund
mailto:/o=ExchangeLabs/ou=Exchange Administrative Group (FYDIBOHF23SPDLT)/cn=Recipients/cn=ae0a85ec3af046d792b121dab2493f04-rjpowers
mailto:lisa.sherrell@alaska.gov
mailto:akpdmp@alaska.gov
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Board of Veterinary Medicine 


 Frequently Asked Questions  


Prescription Monitoring Program 


Mandatory PMP Reporting Requirements for Veterinarians 


1. What is the Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP)?
2. What are the PMP reporting requirements for an individual veterinarian?
3. May a veterinary establishment report on behalf of some or all of the veterinarians in a


group practice?
4. Are the PMP reporting requirements mandatory for veterinarians?
5. What controlled substances have to be reported to the PMP?
6. Does every veterinarian need a DEA registration to comply with the PMP reporting


requirements?
7. How does a veterinarian obtain a DEA registration?
8. What is the contact information for PMP and DEA questions?
9. What amendments to the Code of Virginia were made to require veterinarians to report


to the PMP?
10. Do the PMP requirements apply to a veterinarian practicing as an employee of the


Department of Defense (United States Army, Navy, Coast Guard, Air Force), another
federal agency or state government?


11. May a veterinarian dispense seven days of a covered substance for a course of
treatment and subsequently write a prescription for the same substance to be filled at a
pharmacy?


12. Are there any special dispensing or prescribing considerations for gabapentin?
13. If reporting dispensed prescriptions to the PMP, how are vacations or extended leave


handled?
14. If a veterinarian is waivered and not dispensing more than seven days of a covered


substance, what is the required length of time between another seven days?
15. Must a veterinarian reporting dispensed covered substances, report all dispensing


regardless of the length of time?
16. Is a veterinarian required to declare waiver or reporting status annually?
17. What is a National Drug Code (NDC) number?
18. Are veterinarians that report to the PMP required to have a prescription number for


dispensed covered substances?
19. For an animal owned by a company such as pet store or a public or private shelter,


what information should be submitted for the owner’s name and date of birth?
20. Are pharmacies located outside of Virginia required to report to the PMP?
21. When prescribing a covered substance to be filled in a commercial pharmacy, is the


veterinarian required to provide the owner’s date of birth on the written prescription?
22. What is the process for updating a waiver or account development form?
23. Is there a tutorial on helping the veterinarian understand new reporting requirements?
24. Why is it important for all of a pet’s dispensed prescriptions to be linked to the same


owner?
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1. What is the Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP)? 
 
Virginia’s Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) is a 24/7 database containing information 
on dispensed covered substances (see FAQ #5 and #9 for information on covered 
substances). The primary purpose of the PMP is to promote safe prescribing and dispensing 
practices for covered substances by providing timely and essential information to healthcare 
providers. Law enforcement and health profession licensing boards use the PMP to support 
investigations related to doctor shopping, diversion, and inappropriate prescribing and 
dispensing.  
 
Note: The PMP reporting requirements and regulations for prescribing opioids (see 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine, 18VAC150-20-174) are two 
separate actions. Please ensure compliance with both actions. 
 


2. What are the PMP reporting requirements for an individual veterinarian? 
 
There are two legislative actions that affect PMP reporting requirements for veterinarians. 
The links to the legislative actions are provided below or see FAQ#9: 
- SB226 (effective July 1, 2018)  
- SB1653 (effective July 1, 2019)  
 
All individual veterinarians must decide which option provided below best fits his/her 
dispensing and/or prescribing practices, as requirements are specific, and complete the 
required PMP paperwork. 
 
Option 1:   
 
IF  
Veterinarian only writes prescriptions for reportable covered substances to be filled at a 
pharmacy; OR veterinarian does not dispense any reportable covered substances 
 
THEN 
Submit a waiver request: Request for a Waiver or an Exemption from Reporting for 
Veterinarians   


  
Option 2:   
 
IF  
Veterinarian only dispenses reportable covered substances for a course of treatment to last 
seven days or less (Note: A veterinarian may not dispense multiple seven-day prescriptions 
of reportable covered substances for the same course of treatment to circumvent the law) 
 
THEN 
Submit a waiver request:  Request for a Waiver or an Exemption from Reporting for 
Veterinarians  
 



https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/vet/leg/VetMed091819.pdf

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?181+ful+CHAP0772

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+CHAP0686

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/pmp/forms/RequestForWaiverOrExemption_Vet.pdf

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/pmp/forms/RequestForWaiverOrExemption_Vet.pdf

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/pmp/forms/RequestForWaiverOrExemption_Vet.pdf

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/pmp/forms/RequestForWaiverOrExemption_Vet.pdf
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Option 3:   
 
IF  
Veterinarian dispenses reportable covered substances for a course of treatment to last more 
than seven days 
  
THEN 
Complete and submit an Account Development Form: Dispenser Registration Form for PMP 
Reporting Account (NOTE: For Option 3, the reporting of covered substances dispensed 
must occur within 24 hours or next business day, whichever comes later AND a Zero Report 
must be submitted if no dispensing takes place within a 24-hour period. The link to the 
reporting guidelines is provided below under Helpful Hints.) 


 
Helpful Hints for Option 3: 


• Links to Important Reporting Guidance: 
o Link to the reporting guidance information at Virginia Prescription 


Monitoring Program Reporting Requirements. 
o Prior to creating an account in the PMP Clearinghouse, the first step is 


to complete the Account Development Form located on the PMP 
Homepage. You may send the completed form to the PMP via email or 
fax.  Once received further instructions regarding set-up and use of the 
PMP Clearinghouse will be provided. 


o Link to the Virginia Data Submission Dispenser Guide at Virginia 
Data Submission Dispenser Guide.  


• The Account Development Form contains information to set up the 
dispenser’s account. Be sure to answer questions on this form with detailed 
information about business hours to set up your account accurately.  
Information in your account is used for PMP reports and for compliance 
tracking. 


• Most veterinarians will use a web-based form to report prescription 
information.  See Dispenser Guide for more information. 


• Reminder: Reporting of dispensed covered substances must occur within 24 
hours or next business day, whichever comes later. 


• Reminder: If no dispensing or dispensing of a covered substance for 7-days 
or less takes place within a 24-hour period, a Zero Report is required. 


 
3. May a veterinary establishment report on behalf of some or all of the veterinarians in a 


group practice? 
 
Yes. Please contact the PMP directly for additional instructions if the registered veterinary 
establishment will report dispensing on your behalf.  The email address is 
pmp@dhp.virginia.gov. 
 


4. Are the PMP reporting requirements mandatory for veterinarians? 
 



https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/pmp/forms/DispenserRegistrationFormForReporting.pdf

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/pmp/forms/DispenserRegistrationFormForReporting.pdf

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/PractitionerResources/PrescriptionMonitoringProgram/ParticipantResources/ReportingRequirements/

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/PractitionerResources/PrescriptionMonitoringProgram/ParticipantResources/ReportingRequirements/

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/pmp/VADataSubmissionDispenserGuide.pdf

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/pmp/VADataSubmissionDispenserGuide.pdf

mailto:pmp@dhp.virginia.gov
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Yes. The Code of Virginia states the following: 
 
§ 54.1-2521. Reporting requirements. 
A. The failure by any person subject to the reporting requirements set forth in this section and the 
Department's regulations to report the dispensing of covered substances shall constitute grounds for 
disciplinary action by the relevant health regulatory board. 


 
5. What controlled substances have to be reported to the PMP? 


 
The Code of Virginia states the following: 


 
§ 54.1-2519. Definitions. 
"Covered substance" means all controlled substances included in Schedules II, III, and IV; 
controlled substances included in Schedule V for which a prescription is required; naloxone; and 
all drugs of concern that are required to be reported to the Prescription Monitoring Program, 
pursuant to this chapter. "Covered substance" also includes cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 
dispensed by a pharmaceutical processor in Virginia. 


 
Exemption Note: The dispensing of covered substances by veterinarians to animals within 
the usual course of their professional practice for a course of treatment to last seven days or 
less is not required to be reported to the PMP. In addition, feline buprenorphine and canine 
butorphanol are exempt from the reporting requirement. However, every veterinary 
establishment licensed by the Board of Veterinary Medicine must maintain records of the 
dispensing of feline buprenorphine and canine butorphanol, reconcile such records monthly, 
and make such records available for inspection upon request. 


 
6. Does every veterinarian need a DEA registration to comply with the PMP reporting 


requirements? 
 
A majority of the licensed veterinarians in Virginia will need a DEA registration to comply 
with the PMP reporting requirements. The purpose of the PMP is to capture an individual 
veterinarian’s prescribing habits for identified covered substances. The DEA registration 
number is the unique identifier for a veterinarian when reporting to the PMP.  
 


7. How does a veterinarian obtain a DEA registration? 
 
To obtain a DEA registration go to https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/; locate on the upper 
right-hand side of the screen “Registration Support”; click on “New Applications”; select 
“Practitioner” as your “Business Category.”  
 
Note: The registration process utilizes “DVM” as the broad category to identify all 
veterinarians. 
 


8. What is the contact information for PMP and DEA questions? 
 
Questions related to the PMP should be directed to pmp@dhp.virginia.gov 



https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/

mailto:pmp@dhp.virginia.gov
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Questions related to DEA registration support is the following: 
Call: 1-800-882-9539 (8:30 a.m. – 5:50 p.m. ET) 
Email: DEA.Registration.Help@usdoj.gov 
Locate Field Registration Specialists  
 


9.   What amendments to the Code of Virginia were made to require veterinarians to report  
       to the PMP? 
 
2018 VIRGINIA ACTS OF ASSEMBLY: 


§ 54.1-2519. Definitions. 


"Dispense" means to deliver a controlled substance to an ultimate user, research subject, or owner of an animal 
patient by or pursuant to the lawful order of a practitioner, including the prescribing and administering, packaging, 
labeling or compounding necessary to prepare the substance for that delivery. 


"Recipient" means a person who receives a covered substance from a dispenser and includes the owner of an animal 
patient. 


"Relevant health regulatory board" means any such board that licenses persons or entities with the authority to 
prescribe or dispense covered substances, including the Board of Dentistry, the Board of Medicine, the Board of 
Veterinary Medicine, and the Board of Pharmacy. 


§ 54.1-2521. Reporting requirements. 


A. The failure by any person subject to the reporting requirements set forth in this section and the Department's 
regulations to report the dispensing of covered substances shall constitute grounds for disciplinary action by the 
relevant health regulatory board. 


B. Upon dispensing a covered substance, a dispenser of such covered substance shall report the following 
information: 


1. The recipient's name and address. 


2. The recipient's date of birth. 


3. The covered substance that was dispensed to the recipient. 


4. The quantity of the covered substance that was dispensed. 


5. The date of the dispensing. 


6. The prescriber's identifier number. 


7. The dispenser's identifier number. 


8. The method of payment for the prescription. 



mailto:DEA.Registration.Help@usdoj.gov

https://apps.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/contactDea/spring/main;jsessionid=C015650D686DAA19F71C65F82EE3F410?execution=e1s1

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2521

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2521
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9. Any other non-clinical information that is designated by the Director as necessary for the implementation of this 
chapter in accordance with the Department's regulations. 


10. Any other information specified in regulations promulgated by the Director as required in order for the 
Prescription Monitoring Program to be eligible to receive federal funds. 


C. Except as provided in subdivision 7 of § 54.1-2522, in cases where the ultimate user of a covered substance is an 
animal, the dispenser shall report the relevant information required by subsection B for the owner of the animal. 


D. The reports required herein shall be made to the Department or its agent within 24 hours or the dispenser's next 
business day, whichever comes later, and shall be made and transmitted in such manner and format and according to 
the standards and schedule established in the Department's regulations. 


§ 54.1-2522. Reporting exemptions. 


The dispensing of covered substances under the following circumstances shall be exempt from the reporting 
requirements set forth in § 54.1-2521:... 


7. Dispensing of covered substances by veterinarians to animals within the usual course of their professional practice 
for a course of treatment to last seven days or less… 


 
2019 VIRGINIA ACTS OF ASSEMBLY  
 
§ 54.1-2522. Reporting exemptions. 


The dispensing of covered substances under the following circumstances shall be exempt from the reporting 
requirements set forth in § 54.1-2521:… 


7. Dispensing of covered substances by veterinarians to animals within the usual course of their professional practice 
for a course of treatment to last seven days or less or if such covered substance is feline buprenorphine or canine 
butorphanol…. 


2. That every veterinary establishment licensed by the Board of Veterinary Medicine shall maintain records of the 
dispensing of feline buprenorphine and canine butorphanol, reconcile such records monthly, and make such records 
available for inspection upon request.  


10. Do the PMP requirements apply to a veterinarian holding a Virginia license practicing 
as an employee of the Department of Defense (United States Army, Navy, Coast Guard, 
Air Force), another federal agency or state government?   
 
Yes. PMP requirements apply to all veterinarians that hold a current active license from the 
Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine. However, a licensee who does not dispense to 
citizens of the Commonwealth of Virginia outside of his/her official duties is eligible for a 
waiver. To submit a waiver request, go to Request for a Waiver or an Exemption from 
Reporting for Veterinarians. 


 



http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2522

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2522

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2521

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2522

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2521

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/pmp/forms/RequestForWaiverOrExemption_Vet.pdf

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/pmp/forms/RequestForWaiverOrExemption_Vet.pdf
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11. May a veterinarian dispense seven days of a covered substance for a course of 
treatment and subsequently write a prescription for the same substance to be filled at a 
commercial pharmacy? 
 
The statute explicitly creates an exemption for veterinarians dispensing a covered substance 
for seven days or less for a course of treatment and does not address an additional 
prescription that would be dispensed by a commercial pharmacy.  


 
12. Are there any special dispensing or prescribing considerations for gabapentin?  


 
As of July 1, 2019, gabapentin is a Schedule V controlled substance in Virginia. The Drug 
Enforcement Administration (DEA) has not yet scheduled gabapentin. Therefore, a 
prescriber is not required to hold a DEA registration in order to possess or prescribe 
gabapentin. 


 
13. If reporting dispensed prescriptions to the PMP, how are vacations or extended leave 


handled? 
 


If you have completed an Account Development Form and are required to report, you may 
not submit future zero reports to accommodate vacations or extended leave.  For extended 
leave, you may assign an individual to report on your behalf. However, this would not apply 
if you have relief veterinarians practicing and dispensing to patients in your absence. 


 
14. If a veterinarian is waivered and not dispensing more than seven days of a covered 


substance, what is the required length of time between dispensing another seven days? 
 
The Code of Virginia does not address how long the wait period is before you may dispense 
another seven days of a covered controlled substance. However, the Code of Virginia does 
state that the dispensing is exempt for a course of treatment to last seven days or less as 
provided below: 


§ 54.1-2522. Reporting exemptions. 
The dispensing of covered substances under the following circumstances shall be exempt from the 
reporting requirements set forth in § 54.1-2521: 
 
7. Dispensing of covered substances by veterinarians to animals within the usual course of their 
professional practice for a course of treatment to last seven days or less or if such covered 
substance is feline buprenorphine or canine butorphanol. 


 


In addition, FAQ# states the following: 


(Note: A veterinarian may not dispense multiple seven-day prescriptions of reportable 
covered substances for the same course of treatment to circumvent the law.)  


15. Must a veterinarian reporting dispensed covered substances, report all dispensing 
regardless of the length of time?  



https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2521/
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If a veterinarian is required to report dispensed covered substances, he or she is not required 
to report the dispensing of covered substances for a course of treatment to last seven days or 
less; however, he or she may choose to report all dispensed covered substances. 


16. Is a veterinarian required to declare waiver or reporting status annually? 
 
Waiver status is intended to be permanent. However, if you experience a change in 
waiver/reporting status please notify PMP staff in order for those changes to be 
accommodated. The PMP program does not send notices of approval of waiver requests; 
however you may request a confirmation at the time you send your waiver. Relief 
veterinarians may only file one waiver form; therefore, it is the relief veterinarian’s 
responsibility to determine if the hospital they are considering working for can accommodate 
his/her waiver status. 
 


17. What is a National Drug Code (NDC) number? 
 
A National Drug Code number is a universal product identifier and is present on all 
nonprescription and prescription medication packages. The NDC number can be found on the 
medication/tablet package, if not please contact your distributor. NDC's will always be 11 
numbers and will be formatted in a 5-4-2 grouping (12345-1234-12). However, some labelers 
will sometimes drop a leading zero in one of the groupings creating a 10-digit number.  
These occurrences must be “normalized”.  To normalize an NDC number add a leading zero 
to whichever section is missing a digit; 1234-123-1 becomes 01234-0123-01. The NDC 
number must be entered without dashes or spaces for it to be accepted. 
 


18. Are veterinarians that report to the PMP required to have a prescription number for 
dispensed covered substances? 
 
A prescription number is required for covered substances reported to the PMP as indicated in 
the Data Submission Dispenser Guide.  The prescription number is also a required element in 
the American Society for Automation in Pharmacy (ASAP) reporting standard. Veterinarians 
must establish a numbering system to report dispensing to the PMP. 
 


19. For an animal owned by a company such as a pet store or a public or private shelter, 
what information should be submitted for the owner’s name and date of birth?  


The dispensing entity must report the dispensing of the covered substance to the PMP. When 
reporting these prescriptions, please use the following data elements: 


1. first name: the animal name 
2. last name: the pet store/shelter name 
3. date of birth: 1/1/1900 


The remaining required reporting elements should not be affected. 
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20. Are pharmacies located outside of Virginia required to report to the PMP? 


Out-of-state pharmacies, including compounding pharmacies, that ship into Virginia are 
required to be registered by the Virginia Board of Pharmacy as a non-resident pharmacy. 
Holding such a registration requires the pharmacy to comply with the laws related to 
Virginia’s PMP reporting requirements for dispensed covered substances. 


21. When prescribing a covered substance to be filled in a commercial pharmacy, is the 
veterinarian required to provide the owner’s date of birth on the written prescription? 


Either the veterinarian or the pharmacist filling the prescription may obtain or record an 
owner’s date of birth on the prescription. 


22. What is the process for updating a waiver or account development form? 


If your waiver and/or reporting status has changed, please contact the Virginia PMP staff at 
pmp@dhp.virginia.gov . If you have previously been waivered but need to begin reporting, 
you can begin the process by completing an Account Development Form. If you have 
previously been reporting but have decided to discontinue dispensing covered substances that 
are not exempt from reporting, please contact the Virginia PMP and complete a Wavier 
Form. 


23. Is there a tutorial on helping the veterinarian understand new reporting requirements? 
 
Please review the tutorial on Understanding the Veterinarian’s Role in Safe Prescribing to 
learn more.  
 


24. Why is it important for all of a pet’s dispensed prescriptions to be linked to the same 
owner? 
 
When querying the PMP regarding a human patient, an authorized user must be able to 
review all dispensed covered substances for that human and all of his/her pets. Therefore, it 
is important to report the same owner’s information for the same pet. For example, if 
different family members pick up a prescription on different occasions and the dispensed 
covered substance is reported using different names and dates of birth, the pet’s prescriptions 
will show up on multiple human patient profiles.  
 



mailto:pmp@dhp.virginia.gov

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RvUEG4Pv6sE&list=PLAucn-PlwumNQKb4S6WYzvSHcox0yO6qO
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Brown, Desire <desire.brown@dhp.virginia.gov>


Veterinarian Confirmation of Approval to Report to Virginia's PMP
Brown, Desire <desire.brown@dhp.virginia.gov> Tue, Mar 10, 2020 at 1:55 PM
Draft


Good Morning


Attention: This is a very thorough and concise email. Please read all information in detail as it may contain
answers to your questions.


The Virginia PMP compliance tracking profile has been created.
To begin reporting please register at https://pmpclearinghouse.net. 


When registering please skip the Data Submission section as this section does not apply.


For your convenience I have attached the Dispenser's Reporting Guide for reference when uploading your controlled
substance data. Please refer to page 23 of the Dispenser's Guide for instructions on adding additional users to report on
your behalf.


Reporting of covered substances in Schedules II-V, Gabapentin (now Schedule V in VA) for a course of treatment to last
more than 7 days is required to be submitted within 24 hours of dispensing or the next business day. The
establishment may submit a zero report indicating no controlled substance dispensations occurred within a 24 hour
period. 


If the facility will report via file submission, the file must be .dat or .txt to be accepted by the PMP. If you have a software
vendor, please make them aware of the format in which the file must be sent and that meets the data specifications outlined
in the ASAP 4.2 Implementation Guide. Within the Data Dispenser's Guide you will find the list of the required data
elements on Page 27.


Tips for Manual Reporting via Universal Claim Form (UCF):


Once logged in:


1. Select UCF Submissions and then New Claim Form. 


The UCF form has 5 sections that are required to be completed. I will be reviewing 3 of the 5 sections; all required fields
are indicated by an asterisk.


1. Patient Section:
Enter the Name, Date of Birth and Address of the Owner as indicated below. The Patient ID information is not required
therefore does not need to be submitted.



https://pmpclearinghouse.net/

https://www.asapnet.org/pmp-implementation-guides.html
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2. Pharmacy Section:
Enter the clinics information and the VIC's DEA number as indicated below. This information will remain the same with
each controlled substance submission.


3. Prescriber Section:
Enter the DEA number of the veterinarian that dispensed the medication. 
As an example I have entered your information, however, this will not be the case if you did not dispense the medication.
If [insert doctors names] dispensed the medication their name and DEA number would go in this section, as indicated
below.


4. Prescriptions Section - Rx Numbers:
In order to submit the dispensed prescription information you must provide an reference identifier named the RX Number.
If your wholesale distributor does not provide this identifier, you will need to create a numbering system for the covered
substance dispensed from the facility. You may begin at any number (i.e. 001) and work chronologically, by keeping a log
for easy reference.


5. Drug Information - NDC Number:
The NDC number can be found on the medication/tablet package, if it is not on the package please contact your wholesale
distributor. 
NDC's will always have 11 numbers and will be formatted in a 5-4-2 grouping (12345-1234-12). Some pharmaceutical
labels drop zeros, to normalize a NDC add a leading zero to whichever section is missing a digit; 1234-123-1 becomes
01234-0123-01. 
Note: NDC number's should be entered without dashes or spaces.


Zero Reports:
If no controlled substances were dispensed, you will submit one zero report for the facility on that day.
Note: Zero Reports cannot be submitted for future dates. If there is an upcoming holiday or if you will be on extended
leave, please notify the PMP and submit the zero reports upon return.
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Zero Reports are very easy to submit.
Select Virginia, select the date no controlled substance dispensations occurred, enter the VIC's DEA number, select
Submit. Example provided below.


If you should have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me.


Desiré Brown
Data Compliance Administrative Specialist
Prescription Monitoring Program
Virginia Department of Health Professions


9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300


Richmond, Virginia 23233


W: 804.367.4514 | F: 804.527.4470
Office Hours:
M,W,F: 8:15a - 5:00p
T,TH: OOO after 4:00p
Desire.Brown@dhp.virginia.gov


An Overview of Virginia's Prescription Monitoring Program


Interested in integrating PMP information into your EMR of Pharmacy software application?
Click here for more information.



mailto:Desire.Brown@dhp.virginia.gov

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_OfxHYhQSkg&t=5s

https://info.apprisshealth.com/vanarxcareinforequest





to report to the PMP contacted us directly to receive additional instructions. This part was
tedious as many vets did not know the difference between "dispensing" and "prescribing",
but after explaining, it helped separate those who needed to report from those who
requested an exemption.
 
It's also important to give clear instructions to the reporting vets regarding the criteria
necessary for your PMP. Some of the larger facilities have software systems that can
automate reporting but I quickly found that many veterinary practices (especially operated
solely by a vet or group of vets) do not have a robust system let alone the staff to be able to
manually report. To help with this, I created an email template that detailed each section of
the Universal Claim Form  (UCF) in Clearinghouse (with screenshots), what fields were
required and what information needed to be included in those fields. We also allowed for
individual reporting and establishment reporting. If a veterinary establishment wanted to
continue to dispense they could report for all veterinarians in the practice instead of each
vet reporting for themselves, individually. For this, we require the DEA number of the VIC to
be the "Pharmacy DEA" (PHA03) and the DEA number of the vet in the practice that
dispensed the medication to be listed in the "Prescriber" section (PRE02)

To this day, I still have many vets that are delayed in reporting but we continue to educate
them on the purpose and their role in PMP in hopes they would become consistent and
eventually 100% compliant.
 
I hope this answered your question.
 
If I did not, please do not hesitate to ask additional questions!
 
Desiré Brown
Data Compliance Administrative Specialist
Prescription Monitoring Program
Virginia Department of Health Professions
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Richmond, Virginia 23233
W: 804.367.4514 | F: 804.527.4470
Office Hours:
M,W,F: 8:15a - 5:00p
T,TH: OOO after 4:00p
Desire.Brown@dhp.virginia.gov

 

An Overview of Virginia's Prescription Monitoring Program

 
Interested in integrating PMP information into your EMR of Pharmacy software application?

Click here for more information.
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State
Required to report to 

PDMP Data transmission frequency for Veterinarians Criteria for veterinarian queries

Alabama N/A Animal Owner's name

Alaska Yes Daily Animal Owner's name and date of birth

Arizona

Arkansas Yes Monthly Animal's Name

California Yes weekly Animal's Name

Colorado Animal's Name, Animal Owner's Name

Connecticut Yes Weekly Animal's Name and Animal Owner's Last Name

Delaware

District of Columbia Yes Daily
Animal's Name, Animal Owner's Name, Animal 
Owner's Address
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State
Required to report to 

PDMP Data transmission frequency for Veterinarians Criteria for veterinarian queries

Florida

Georgia Daily

Guam

Hawaii Animal Owner's Name, Animal Owner's Address

Idaho Animal's Name

Illinois Yes Daily Animal's Name, Animal Owner's Name

Indiana Yes Daily; anything more than a 72 hour supply
Animal's Name or Animal's First Name and Animal 
Owner's Last Name

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maine Yes Daily Animal Owner's Name and Date of Birth
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State
Required to report to 

PDMP Data transmission frequency for Veterinarians Criteria for veterinarian queries

Maryland

Massachusetts Daily

Michigan Yes Daily Animal Owner's Name

Minnesota Animal's Name, Date of Birth

Mississippi Animal's Name, Animal Owner's Name

Missouri

Montana Vets do not have access to the MPDR.

Nebraska Yes Daily Animal Owner's Name

Nevada
Veterinarians in Nevada are not permitted to 
access the Nevada PMP.
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State
Required to report to 

PDMP Data transmission frequency for Veterinarians Criteria for veterinarian queries

New Hampshire Yes Weekly Animal Owner's Name

New Jersey
Animal's Name, Animal Owner's Name, Date of 
Birth

New Mexico

New York Yes Daily Vets report but do not search

North Carolina Yes Rules are in the process of being developed

North Dakota first name, last name, and date of birth

Northern Mariana Islands

Ohio
Animal's Name, Animal Owner's Address, Date of 
Birth
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State
Required to report to 

PDMP Data transmission frequency for Veterinarians Criteria for veterinarian queries

Oklahoma Yes Real‐time Animal Owner's Name

Oregon

Pennsylvania

Puerto Rico 48 hours
Rhode Island Animal's Name, Animal Owner's Name

South Carolina Yes Daily Animal's Name

South Dakota

Tennessee Yes 14 days Animal's Name

Texas
Animal's Name; veterinarians may not search an 
owner's prescription history

Utah
Animal Owner's Name, Animal Owner's Address, 
Date of Birth
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State
Required to report to 

PDMP Data transmission frequency for Veterinarians Criteria for veterinarian queries

Vermont

Virginia Yes Daily Animal Owner's Name, Animal Owner's Address

Washington Yes Quarterly

veterinary records are searchable via the animal’s 
name (animal first name + (owner’s) last name) 
and animal’s DOB and not by owner’s name + 
animal’s DOB. Owner information is recorded as 
“person dropping off / picking up prescription

West Virginia Yes Daily Animal Owner's Name

Wisconsin

Wyoming
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Veterinarian access to owner's prescription 
history Veterinarian Reporting Method Veterinarian Reporting Specifications

Yes Electronic

Fax, Web Portal Yes

Electronic

Yes

Yes Web Portal Yes

Yes Web Portal Yes
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Veterinarian access to owner's prescription 
history Veterinarian Reporting Method Veterinarian Reporting Specifications

Yes

Yes Electronic, Fax

Yes Rules not yet promulgated Yes
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Veterinarian access to owner's prescription 
history Veterinarian Reporting Method Veterinarian Reporting Specifications

Electronic

Yes Electronic, Mail, Fax, Web Portal Yes

Yes

Web Portal
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Veterinarian access to owner's prescription 
history Veterinarian Reporting Method Veterinarian Reporting Specifications

Yes Electronic, Web Portal Yes

Electronic Yes

Mail, Web Portal Yes

Yes
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Veterinarian access to owner's prescription 
history Veterinarian Reporting Method Veterinarian Reporting Specifications

Yes Electronic, Web Portal Yes

Yes

Electronic, Web Portal Yes

Electronic, Mail, Fax, Web Portal, 
email completed form

Yes
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Veterinarian access to owner's prescription 
history Veterinarian Reporting Method Veterinarian Reporting Specifications

Electronic, Fax, Web Portal

Yes Electronic, Web Portal Yes
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Veterinarian Reporting Specifications Differences Veterinarian Data Fields

Pharmacists have requested clarification from veterinarians on this 
as there are discrepancies in reporting certain data fields; however, 
the Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners has not established 
reporting specifications.

PAT08 ‐ Owner's First Name, The Alaska Board of Veterinary 
Examiners has not determined which ASAP fields they will be 
required to report.

PAT07 ‐ Last Name, PAT08 ‐ Animal's First Name, PAT18 ‐ Animal's 
Date of Birth, PAT19 ‐ Animal's Gender, PAT20 ‐ Species Code, PAT21 ‐
Name of Animal,
PAT07 ‐ Last Name, PAT08 ‐ Owner's First Name, PAT18 ‐ Animal's 
Date of Birth, PAT19 ‐ Owner's Gender, PAT20 ‐ Species Code, PAT21 ‐
Name of Animal,

PAT07 ‐ Last Name, PAT08 ‐ Animal's First Name, PAT18 ‐ Animal's 
Date of Birth, PAT19 ‐ Animal's Gender, PAT20 ‐ Species Code

PAT07 ‐ Last Name, PAT08 ‐ Owner's First Name, PAT08 ‐ Animal's 
First Name, PAT18 ‐ Owner's Date of Birth, PAT18 ‐ Animal's Date of 
Birth, PAT19 ‐ Owner's Gender, PAT19 ‐ Animal's Gender, PAT20 ‐ 
Species Code, PAT21 ‐ Name of Animal,

13/60



Veterinarian Reporting Specifications Differences Veterinarian Data Fields

PAT07 ‐ Last Name, PAT08 ‐ Owner's First Name, PAT08 ‐ Animal's 
First Name, PAT18 ‐ Owner's Date of Birth, PAT18 ‐ Animal's Date of 
Birth, PAT19 ‐ Owner's Gender, PAT19 ‐ Animal's Gender, PAT20 ‐ 
Species Code, PAT21 ‐ Name of Animal

Rules not yet promulgated
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Veterinarian Reporting Specifications Differences Veterinarian Data Fields

PAT07 ‐ Last Name, PAT18 ‐ Owner's Date of Birth, PAT20 ‐ Species 
Code, PAT21 ‐ Name of Animal
PAT07 ‐ Last Name, PAT08 ‐ Owner's First Name, PAT18 ‐ Owner's 
Date of Birth, PAT19 ‐ Owner's Gender, PAT20 ‐ Species Code, PAT21 ‐
Name of Animal

Veterinarians are only required to report CS II‐V (Human drugs are all 
dispensed prescriptions regardless of schedule) also veterinarians are 
not required to provide owners DOB.

PAT07 ‐ Last Name, PAT08 ‐ Owner's First Name, PAT19 ‐ Owner's 
Gender, PAT20 ‐ Species Code, PAT21 ‐ Name of Animal, Please note 
that Owner gender and DOB are not required fields but can be 
provided.
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Veterinarian Reporting Specifications Differences Veterinarian Data Fields

PAT07 ‐ Last Name, PAT08 ‐ Owner's First Name, PAT18 ‐ Owner's 
Date of Birth, PAT19 ‐ Owner's Gender, PAT20 ‐ Species Code, PAT21 ‐
Name of Animal,

Still in development

For veterinary prescriptions, a separate patient account/profile is 
created in the pharmacy software containing the animal/pet owner's 
name in the first name and last name fields and date of birth under 
species code enter Veterinary patient and under Name
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Veterinarian Reporting Specifications Differences Veterinarian Data Fields

PAT07 ‐ Last Name, PAT08 ‐ Owner's First Name, PAT18 ‐ Owner's 
Date of Birth, PAT19 ‐ Owner's Gender, PAT20 ‐ Species Code, PAT21 ‐
Name of Animal

PAT07 ‐ Last Name, PAT08 ‐ Animal's First Name, PAT18 ‐ Animal's 
Date of Birth, PAT19 ‐ Animal's Gender, PAT20 ‐ Species Code, PAT21 ‐
Name of Animal

See TCA53‐10‐304
PAT07 ‐ Last Name, PAT08 ‐ Animal's First Name, PAT18 ‐ Animal's 
Date of Birth
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Veterinarian Reporting Specifications Differences Veterinarian Data Fields

Requirements for reporting are different for pharmacies and 
dispensing vets.  Interface for direct reporting by Vets (including 
report by fax) are designed for pet record reporting.

PAT07 ‐ Last Name, PAT08 ‐ Owner's First Name, PAT08 ‐ Animal's 
First Name, PAT18 ‐ Owner's Date of Birth, PAT18 ‐ Animal's Date of 
Birth, PAT20 ‐ Species Code, PAT21 ‐ Name of Animal

PAT07 ‐ Last Name, PAT08 ‐ Animal's First Name, PAT18 ‐ Animal's 
Date of Birth, PAT19 ‐ Animal's Gender, PAT20 ‐ Species Code
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Veterinarian Reporting Description Veterinarian Reporting Mandate Compliance

Veterinarians are required to report if directly dispensing federally 
scheduled II ‐ IV controlled substances Yes

Veterinarians are required to report Yes

Veterinarians are required to report Yes

Veterinarians are required to report Yes

Veterinarians are required to report Yes
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Veterinarian Reporting Description Veterinarian Reporting Mandate Compliance

Veterinaries are exempted from reporting.

Veterinarians are required to report

Veterinarians are required to report
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Veterinarian Reporting Description Veterinarian Reporting Mandate Compliance

Veterinarians are required to report Yes

Veterinarians are required to report Yes

Veterinarians are required to report Yes
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Veterinarian Reporting Description Veterinarian Reporting Mandate Compliance

Veterinarians are required to report Yes

Veterinarians are required to report Yes

Veterinarians are required to report Yes
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Veterinarian Reporting Description Veterinarian Reporting Mandate Compliance

Veterinarians are required to report Yes

Veterinarians are required to report Yes

Veterinarians are required to report Yes
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Veterinarian Reporting Description Veterinarian Reporting Mandate Compliance

Veterinarians report dispensing for greater than a 7 day course of 
treatment.  Same requirements as other dispensers. Most send 
prescriptions to pharmacies.

Veterinarians are required to report Yes

Veterinarians are required to report
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Veterinarian Reporting Mandate Compliance Details Veterinarian Reporting Issues

Attorney, board of pharmacy, and PDMP manager have been in 
communication with the Board of Veterinary Examiners to assist 
them with how to developing reporting and registration standards.

Veterinarian does not have a DEA or NPI number, Veterinarian does 
not have animal owner's information, Veterinarians reports non‐
controlled substances to PDMP, Veterinarian's software does not 
allow electronic submission of data, Veterinarian's software i

We are educating veterinarians on the method to report to ensure 
proper reporting.

Veterinarian's software does not allow electronic submission of data, 
Veterinarian's software s not able to report data in ASAP format

The CA PDMP (CURES) makes data and reports available for the 
Veterinary Medical Board to ensure veterinarian compliance with the 
reporting mandate. Inconsistencies in data reported by veterinarians.

Veterinarian does not have animal owner's information, 
Veterinarians sometimes do not have client's DOB and feel 
uncomfortable asking for it to perform a search.  We explain that a 
"partial name" search can remove the DOB requirement.

Compliance letters are issued.

Veterinarian does not have a DEA or NPI number

Pending legislation for mandatory query

Veterinarian does not have a DEA or NPI number, Veterinarians 
reports non‐controlled substances to PDMP, Veterinarian's software 
does not allow electronic submission of data
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Veterinarian Reporting Mandate Compliance Details Veterinarian Reporting Issues

Veterinarian does not have a DEA or NPI number, Veterinarian does 
not have animal owner's information

Veterinarian does not have a DEA or NPI number, Veterinarians 
reports non‐controlled substances to PDMP, Veterinarian's software 
s not able to report data in ASAP format

The only veterinary prescriptions are reported by dispensing 
pharmacies ‐‐ veterinarians are not required to report what they 
dispense.

Veterinarian does not have a DEA or NPI number
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Veterinarian Reporting Mandate Compliance Details Veterinarian Reporting Issues

pharmacy reporting veterinary prescriptions dispensed by them do 
not complete species code.

Vets are included in general compliance reporting management and 
SOP

Veterinarian does not have a DEA or NPI number, Veterinarians 
reports non‐controlled substances to PDMPguidance on how to 
submit ASAP information on pet meds is not sufficient to date.  We 
see a variety of inconsistent data coming across (pets name vs own

Prescription audit project.

Veterinarian does not have a DEA or NPI number, It will be a change 
in process for veterinarians to collect the owner's date of birth.
they do not report, these would be filled at a retail pharmacy if there 
were any outside of the clinic.

Veterinarians don't report, but other pharmacies do report pet 
prescriptions.  Problems:  Pharmacies do not use a consistent format 
for this information, many do not include owner's name or birthdate, 
and I believe some are using the prescribing Veterinar

We work with veterinarians, their professional associations and 
licensing to ensure compliance.

Veterinarian does not have a DEA or NPI number, Veterinarian does 
not have animal owner's information, Veterinarian's software does 
not allow electronic submission of data, Veterinarian's software s not 
able to report data in ASAP format

Veterinarian does not have a DEA or NPI number
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Veterinarian Reporting Mandate Compliance Details Veterinarian Reporting Issues

They will be part of the Audit/Compliance Initiative that the PDMP 
will be conducting in coordination with Board of Pharmacy 
compliance staff.

Veterinarian does not have animal owner's information, More and 
more veterinarians are writing Rx and owners are filling the Rx in 
human pharmacies and the human pharmacies do not have the 
owner information either.  We have sent out communications on the 
Veterinarian does not have a DEA or NPI number, Veterinarians 
reports non‐controlled substances to PDMP

Veterinarians are not allowed to have an NPI number.  This was a 
required field for NM data submissions.  This was changed to be 
"situational" rather than "required" to bypass this error.

They are currently reporting using paper then electronic reporting 
begins on Oct 2019.  Rules are in the process of being created.

Veterinarian's software does not allow electronic submission of data, 
The system did not accept the NDC for the animal version of 
Tramadol

Veterinarian does not have a DEA or NPI number, Pharmacies do not 
report veterinarian prescriptions in a uniform manner. Pet 
information is mixed with owner information in various ways.
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Veterinarian Reporting Mandate Compliance Details Veterinarian Reporting Issues

We are obtaining a list of dispensing veterinarians through the vet 
board and reviewing the frequency of reporting if at all.

Veterinarian does not have animal owner's information, Pharmacies 
even enter the animal name as the patient name instead of the 
owner name.

Veterinarian does not have a DEA or NPI number

If we discover a veterinarian that is not reporting that should be, we 
contact them and explain the requirements and make sure they 
begin reporting. Veterinarian's software s not able to report data in ASAP format

There are not uniform standards in place for retail pharmacies 
regarding animal prescriptions in reference to who is the patient, pet 
or owner, and whose dob to use in the profile.

See TCA53‐10‐304
Owners may not provide accurate information about their animals 
(i.e., name of animal, DOB of animal).  Data is not submitted in a 
consistent format (i.e., pharmacies report the same animal various 
ways).

Veterinarian does not have animal owner's information, 
Veterinarian's software does not allow electronic submission of data, 
Veterinarian's software s not able to report data in ASAP format,
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Veterinarian Reporting Mandate Compliance Details Veterinarian Reporting Issues

Veterinarians are not allowed to register as submitters

Education and outreach

Veterinarian does not have a DEA or NPI number, Vets do not have 
NPI. Vet default NPI for WA = VETERINARY. This will show on query 
report where NPI field is chosen to be included. We are working with 
our vendor to make NPI a default for all query reports.

Veterinarian's software does not allow electronic submission of data, 
Veterinarian's software s not able to report data in ASAP format,

Veterinarian's software does not allow electronic submission of data
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Veterinary Reporting Misc Information Veterinarian Enrollment Description
Veterinarians cannot access PDMP data but can voluntarily report to 
the PDMP.

Future changes can be addressed through the Board of Veterinary 
Examiners at BoardOfVeterinaryExaminers@Alaska.Gov

Veterinarians are required to enroll as data requesters with the 
PDMP

Veterinarians are exempted from enrollment as data requesters

Veterinarians are required to enroll as data requesters with the 
PDMP

Veterinarians are required to enroll as data requesters with the 
PDMP

Veterinarians are required to enroll as data requesters with the 
PDMP, if they are dispensing controlled substances

Veterinarians are exempted from enrollment as data requesters

Veterinarians can voluntarily enroll as data requesters with the 
PDMP and do enroll as data requestors
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Veterinary Reporting Misc Information Veterinarian Enrollment Description

Veterinarians are exempted from enrollment as data requesters

Veterinarians are exempted from enrollment as data requesters

Veterinarians are exempt by statute.
Veterinarians can voluntarily enroll as data requesters with the 
PDMP and do enroll as data requestors

Current Illinois Statute amendments are attempting to remove 
veterinarians from mandatory reporting.

Veterinarians are required to enroll as data requesters with the 
PDMP

Veterinarians can voluntarily enroll as data requesters with the 
PDMP and do enroll as data requestors

Veterinarians are exempted from enrollment as data requesters
Veterinarians can voluntarily enroll as data requesters with the 
PDMP and do enroll as data requestors

Veterinarians are exempted from enrollment as data requesters
Veterinarians can voluntarily enroll as data requesters with the 
PDMP and do enroll as data requestors
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Veterinary Reporting Misc Information Veterinarian Enrollment Description

Veterinarians are required to enroll as data requesters with the 
PDMP

Veterinarian usage of PMP is an ongoing discussion concerning 
access and data submission consistency

Veterinarians are not required to enroll, nor are they exempt.  If a 
Vet MD wants to enroll, we do not have regs to deny their 
enrollment

Required to register if prescribing controlled substances, effective 
June 1, 2018.

We are moving towards a model where pharmacies report to the 
PMP using the owner's first and last name and DOB. Upon querying, 
the veterinarian will only see animal data. However, prescribers for 
humans will see all data (both animal and human), as will p

veterinarians are required to register if they hold a DEA number

Veterinarians are exempted from enrollment as data requesters

Veterinarians are not required to report to the MPDR and are not 
allowed to access MPDR patient histories.

Clear directions for veterinarians reporting requirements are needed. 
We have found that this population has needed additional 
instructions on conversion of NADA and NDC numbers to an 11‐digit 
format.  Veterinarians also have expressed issues or concerns Veterinarians are exempted from enrollment as data requesters

Veterinarians are exempted from enrollment as data requesters
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Veterinary Reporting Misc Information Veterinarian Enrollment Description

With regards to veterinarian facilities, only the "owner" of the 
controls would register as the dispenser and the other veterinarians 
would be reported as the prescriber on the uploaded report.  So not 
every veterinarian has to register as a dispenser unl
Veterinarians can voluntarily enroll as data requesters with the 
PDMP and do enroll as data requestors

Veterinarians are exempted from enrollment as data requesters

Veterinarians are exempted from enrollment as data requesters

Veterinarians are exempted from enrollment as data requesters

Veterinarians can voluntarily enroll as data requesters with the 
PDMP and do enroll as data requestors
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Veterinary Reporting Misc Information Veterinarian Enrollment Description

Veterinarians are required to check the PMP before prescribing and if 
they dispense they can either report through clearinghouse or they 
are required to register as a data requestor and submit through the 
website.

Veterinarians are not eligible for PDMP enrollment.

Veterinarians are exempted from enrollment as data requesters

Veterinarians are exempted from enrollment as data requesters

Under SC law, prescribers issuing prescriptions for greater than a 5 
days' supply of a Schedule II drug must consult the PMP prior to 
prescribing. There is no exception for veterinarians.

Nationwide standards need to be established regarding who is the 
patient and whose dob to use in the pharmacy profile, pet or owner. Veterinarians are exempted from enrollment as data requesters

Veterinarians must submit data to TN, if statutory requirements are 
met. Veterinarians must register with CSMD as determined by 
statute.

Veterinarians can voluntarily enroll as data requesters with the 
PDMP and do enroll as data requestors

Veterinarians can voluntarily enroll as data requesters with the 
PDMP and do enroll as data requestors
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Veterinary Reporting Misc Information Veterinarian Enrollment Description
Veterinarians are not allowed to enroll as either requestors or 
submitters

Washington has been working to ensure that veterinary records do 
not come up under recipient/patient query by owner's name. Our 
vendor had these fields set up that vet records would come up under 
owner's name and animal's DOB making it (reports) appear th

Veterinarian enrollment for PMP access is allowed, and is voluntary 
for vets. Enrollment rates are low.

Veterinarians are required to enroll as data requesters with the 
PDMP

Veterinarians are exempted from enrollment as data requesters
Veterinarians are required to enroll as data requesters with the 
PDMP
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Veterinarian Enrollment Mandate Criteria Veterinarian Enrollment Mandate Compliance

Veterinarians are required to enroll only if they have a DEA

Yes

Must have a personal DEA license
As with any prescriber, if the veterinarian holds a CT Controlled 
Substance Practitioner (CSP) registration they are required to enroll 
in the PMP Yes
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Veterinarian Enrollment Mandate Criteria Veterinarian Enrollment Mandate Compliance

Controlled Substance License Yes
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Veterinarian Enrollment Mandate Criteria Veterinarian Enrollment Mandate Compliance

Yes

Yes

We do not have any mandatory enrollment in the state.  
Veterinarians are not allowed to view PDMP data but are required to 
submit dispensed data.
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Veterinarian Enrollment Mandate Criteria Veterinarian Enrollment Mandate Compliance

All veterinarians with a NH license and a DEA # associated with their 
NH license are required to register with the NH PDMP.  This is 
different than registering as a dispenser, which is a different 
registration that allows them to upload all dispensations  Yes

None at this time.
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Veterinarian Enrollment Mandate Criteria Veterinarian Enrollment Mandate Compliance
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Veterinarian Enrollment Mandate Criteria Veterinarian Enrollment Mandate Compliance

Yes
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Veterinarian Enrollment Mandate Compliance Details Veterinarian Query Description

Veterinarians are not permitted by statute/rule/policy to query

Veterinarians are required by statute/rule/policy to query

Veterinarians are not permitted by statute/rule/policy to query

Veterinarians are required by statute/rule/policy to query
The CA PDMP (CURES) makes data and reports available for the 
Veterinary Medical Board to ensure veterinarian compliance with the 
enrollment mandate. Veterinarians can voluntarily query and do query

Veterinarians can query if they suspect the client is abusing drugs or 
mistreating animals to obtain drugs.

Compliance letters. Veterinarians are required by statute/rule/policy to query

Veterinarians are not permitted by statute/rule/policy to query

Veterinarians can voluntarily query and do query
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Veterinarian Enrollment Mandate Compliance Details Veterinarian Query Description

Veterinarian access is not authorized.

Veterinarians are not permitted by statute/rule/policy to query

Veterinarians can voluntarily query, but do not query

Veterinarians can voluntarily query and do query

Veterinarians can voluntarily query and do query

Clinicians with a controlled substance license must enroll in the 
ILPMP. Veterinarians are required by statute/rule/policy to query

Veterinarians can voluntarily query and do query

Veterinarians are not permitted by statute/rule/policy to query

Veterinarians can voluntarily query and do query

Veterinarians are not permitted by statute/rule/policy to query

Veterinarians are required by statute/rule/policy to query
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Veterinarian Enrollment Mandate Compliance Details Veterinarian Query Description
If a veterinarian attempts to obtain a new or renewal state CDS 
permit, the state CDS Permit authority will not approve said 
application unless the veterinarian is PDMP‐registered Veterinarians are not permitted by statute/rule/policy to query

Process to notify prescribers, including Veterinarians, that have 
issued controlled substance prescriptions and are not registered to 
the PDMP.

Required to query the PDMP if prescribing in excess of a 3‐days 
supply, except if a pharmacist will be dispensing the prescription.

Veterinarians must have a DEA registration to enroll.  Very low 
enrollment rate.  Very few queries.

Veterinarians can voluntarily query, but do not query

Veterinarians are not permitted by statute/rule/policy to query

Veterinarians are not permitted by statute/rule/policy to query

Veterinarians are not permitted by statute/rule/policy to query

Veterinarians are not permitted by statute/rule/policy to query
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Veterinarian Enrollment Mandate Compliance Details Veterinarian Query Description

We have semi‐automated registration and access to a list of DEA 
holders in NH.  We will take the DEA list compare it to the licensing 
list provided by the regulatory board to determine who is required to 
be registered and then compare that list to the reg veterinarians minimally query the system.

Veterinarians can voluntarily query and do query

Veterinarians can request access to the NM PMP and can voluntarily 
query the database; however, since veterinarian prescriptions are 
not standardized in regards to prescription data entry, the queried 
PMP report may not be all inclusive.  Also, there is r

Veterinarians are not permitted by statute/rule/policy to query

If registered they can query.

Prescribers (excluding veterinarians) who dispense or prescribe 
opioids or benzodiazepines are required to have access to the PDMP. 
Dispensing data is compared with usage data to ensure compliance. Veterinarians can voluntarily query and do query
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Veterinarian Enrollment Mandate Compliance Details Veterinarian Query Description

Veterinarians are required by statute/rule/policy to query

Veterinarians are not permitted by statute/rule/policy to query

Veterinarians are not permitted by statute/rule/policy to query

Veterinarians are required by statute/rule/policy to query

Veterinarians are not permitted by statute/rule/policy to query

Veterinarians can voluntarily query

Veterinarians can voluntarily query and do query

Veterinarians can voluntarily query, but do not query
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Veterinarian Enrollment Mandate Compliance Details Veterinarian Query Description

Veterinarians are not permitted by statute/rule/policy to query

Veterinarians can voluntarily query and do query

Veterinarians can voluntarily query and do query

Veterinarians are not permitted by statute/rule/policy to query
A list is broken down by credential and sent to the proper regulatory 
agency each month. Veterinarians can voluntarily query and do query
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Veterinarian Query Mandate Criteria Veterinarian Query Mandate Compliance

Same criteria as other prescribers in the state. Yes

Same as other prescribers. Yes
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Veterinarian Query Mandate Criteria Veterinarian Query Mandate Compliance

A query is required prior to prescribing any controlled substance. Yes

Practitioners (i.e. prescribers of controlled substances, except 
veterinarians) are required to enroll in the PMP at the time of 
renewal of the CSA registration or new CSA registration. If not 
registered for PMP, the CSA registration is not activated.
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Veterinarian Query Mandate Criteria Veterinarian Query Mandate Compliance
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Veterinarian Query Mandate Criteria Veterinarian Query Mandate Compliance
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Veterinarian Query Mandate Criteria Veterinarian Query Mandate Compliance

Yes

Listed earlier. Prior to issuing CII medications greater than a 5 days' 
supply.
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Veterinarian Query Mandate Criteria Veterinarian Query Mandate Compliance
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Veterinarian Query Mandate Compliance Details
Veterinary Icon on PDMP 

Report

Yes

Yes

Yes
We run a mandatory audit for a 6 month time period to identify 
prescribers that wrote for a Schedule II or III opioid has a PDMP 
account.  The list of prescribers identified to not have an account are 
reported to the professional boards.

Yes

Compliance letters. Yes

Yes

Yes
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Veterinarian Query Mandate Compliance Details
Veterinary Icon on PDMP 

Report

Yes

Yes

A query is required prior to prescribing any controlled substance. Yes

Yes

Yes
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Veterinarian Query Mandate Compliance Details
Veterinary Icon on PDMP 

Report

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes
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Veterinarian Query Mandate Compliance Details
Veterinary Icon on PDMP 

Report

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes
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Veterinarian Query Mandate Compliance Details
Veterinary Icon on PDMP 
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We review those registered with the PMP, those that have dispensed 
or written a prescription and if they are not registered we assume 
they are not checking, if they are registered we take a sample of their 
prescriptions or dispensations and crosswalk thos Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes
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