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fA_LA_SKA DIVISION OF MINING, LAND & WATER

Director’s Office

GOVERNOR MIKE DUNLEAVY 550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1070
Anchorage, Alaska 99501-3579

Main: 207.269.8600
TTY: 711 or 800-770-8973
Fax: 907.269.8904

May 2, 2022

The Honorable Senate Bishop, Chair
Senate Finance Committee

Alaska State Capitol, Rm 532
Juneau, AK 99801

Re: HB 28 Registration of Boats: Exemption
Chair Bishop,

Please see the Department of Natural Resources (DNR), Division of Mining, Land & Water
(DMLW) response to questions posed on HB 28, heard in committee on April 27, 2022 and on the
status of DNR-DMLW regulations and processes regarding the derelict vessel prevention program
fund (the fund).

1. Please provide detailed information on how the vessel registration fees are spent by the
Department of Natural Resources annually. What has the current value of the derelict vessel
fund and how much has the fund had historically?

Senate Bill 92 was signed into law by the Governor on October 11, 2018. The Department of
Administration (DOA) through its Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) along with Division of
Finance (DOF) administer the fund. DOA-DMV is the agency that collects the fee from the
registrations of vessels and then provides the amount collected to DOA-DOF for them to move
into the fund.

AS 05.25.096(b) requires that the legislature provide appropriations to DNR and DOA to carry out
the purposes of AS 30.30. At the present time there has not been an appropriation given to DNR
or DOA to spend from the fund. DOA has provided DNR-DMLW with the following accounting
of the fund:

e FY19 — DOA-DMV received a supplemental out of boat receipts to implement the
programming and process changes. No extra was available for the fund.

FY20 - DOA-DMV set aside $27,603 for the fund.

FY21 - DOA-DMV set aside $30,032 for the fund.

FY22 - DOA-DMW reports that there is $17,436 so far would go towards the fund.
Balance in the fund managed by DOA-DOF is $75,098.

The fund will not be appropriated to DNR-DMLW for expenditures as outlined in AS 30.30.096(a)
until regulations are adopted and DNR-DMLW requests an appropriation from the legislature.
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DNR has prioritized the creation of the regulations and will begin the regulation process as outlined
in response to question 2.

2. The committee requested a list of regulations priorities inclusive of the fund regulations, as
well as other regulations passed in recent years by DNR. Below is an outline of the process for
regulation formulation and adoption, as well as recent regulations adopted, regulations in
process, and future priorities. As requested, we have included information regarding
regulations responsive to statutory changes.

The overall process for development and adoption of agency regulations through the Alaska
Administrative Procedure Act (AS 44.62) is extensive and includes engagement with stakeholders,
approval, and prioritization from the Governor’s Office, drafting regulations with the Department
of Law, engagement with the public through notice, and then reiterative and revision processes
responsive to the needs of the public, administrative priorities, and legal considerations.

A short summary of the adoption process is as follows:

1. Request approval to initiate work on regulations from the Governor’s Office as required
by Administrative Order 266 (AO 266).

2. Engage with stakeholders on regulations framework and collect proposals for amendments
via meetings, scoping notices, our online regulations portal, etc.

3. Open a regulatory file with the Department of Law and engage attorneys in the drafting
process.

4. Draft initial regulatory amendments.

5. Briefings at the Director’s, Commissioner’s, and Governor’s levels and request approvals
of regulatory package in advance of public notice.

6. Publicly notice regulations.

7. Consider public input on regulations, and redraft or reconsider regulatory amendments with
assistance from the Department of Law.

8. Propose regulations to Director, Commissioner, and Governor’s Offices for approval.

9. Regulations are filed with the Department of Law, which then undertakes a final review.

10. Regulations are filed with the Lieutenant Governor.

11. If approved, regulations take effect 30 days after approval by the Lieutenant Governor.

AO 266 provides a framework for engaging stakeholders and seeking Governor’s Office approval
of regulatory packages. Timelines for regulations from initiation to adoption vary. For instance,
SB 155 mining regulations were initially scoped in May 2020, and the regulations were recently
sent to Law for filing. Another example is our coal regulations, which DNR-DMLW is required to
adopt by June 30, 2022 for DNR-DMLW to maintain primacy of the state coal program. Those
regulations required close coordination with the Federal Office of Surface Mining Reclamation
and Enforcement (OSMRE) over several years to draft state regulations responsive to federal
amendments. Additionally, DNR-DMLW sought to codify regulations adopted by reference into
our administrative code to provide transparency and ease of use. While coordination with OSMRE
required years of work, DNR-DMLW was able to file these regulations in April of this year after
beginning administrative procedures in the summer of 2021.

DMLW regulations completed 2018 to present are as follows:
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07/01/2018 — Fee regulation overhaul (11 AAC 05).

07/31/2019 — Mining Rental Revision (11 AAC 86.221 - .541).
11/21/2019 — Glacier/Winner Creek regulations adopted.
01/24/2020 — Hatcher Pass Special Use Area regulations adopted.
04/22/2020 — Competitive Permitting regulations adopted.

DMLW regulations in process include:

06/17/2015 Scoping Notice for Leasing Regulations related to surface uses of state land
(11 AAC 58 and 11 AAC 05.230).

06/17/2015 Scoping Notice for Leasing Regulations related to grazing on state land (11
AAC 60).

06/17/2015 Scoping Notice for Leasing Regulations related to shore fishery leases (11
AAC 64 and 11 AAC 05.230).

06/17/2015 Scoping Notice for Materials Sales Regulations (11 AAC 71).

01/29/2018 Additional Scoping Notice for Material Sales Regulations (11 AAC 71)
Proposed regulations need to be finalized before public notice for these regulations.
10/09/2019 Scoping Notice for Appeals regulations (11 AAC 02).

03/06/2020 Navigable Water regulations sent out for public comment (11 AAC 51.045(d)).
Regulations were withdrawn and are currently under agency review.

01/15/2021 Revisions to 2018 Fee regulations sent out for public comment. Regulations
await AO 266 approval.

01/15/2021 Water regulations sent out for public comment (11 AAC 93). DMLW is in the
process of reviewing public comments on proposed regulations.

08/26/2021 Grant Lake Hydroelectric project regulations scoping notice published (11
AAC 96.014(b)(15)).

03/16/2022 Mining regulations were signed by the commissioner and forwarded to the
Department of Law for final review (11 AAC 86 and 11 AAC 88).

04/22/2022 Surface Coal Mining regulations (a.k.a. OSMRE regs in 11 AAC 90) were
forwarded to the Department of Law for final review.

For regulations priorities, please see the attached table with a summary of DMLW Regulation
Priorities, including the legislation that precipitated the need for the regulatory packages.

The Legislative and Public Records Unit (unit) within the Program Support Section (section) of
DMLW is the unit that works on regulations and includes three staff. However, this section, as
well as the unit, is also responsible for all DMLW legislative initiatives, bill and fiscal analysis,
division-wide policy formulation, division-wide support functions, responding to public records
requests, and division-wide training.

3. Please provide the status of the DNR’s work to address the barge moored in Kalinin Bay.

March 2021 — The Southeast Regional Office (SERO) spoke with the owner of the barge.
Owner claimed the barge would be moved on next high tide.

January 2022 — SERO emailed the owner of the barge informing them of the need to submit
a permit application if the barge is not moved.
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e April 6,2022 — SERO and DNR-DMLW ADYV Program conducted inspections in the Sitka
area, including documenting the remaining presence of the barge in Kalinin Bay.

e April 28, 2022 — DNR-DMLW ADV Program serialized the barge as an ADV case and
sent notice to the owner of the vessel, informing them that their vessel is considered a
derelict vessel and that the vessel needs to be moved or application for its presence needs
to be submitted to SERO.

e The owner was given two weeks to provide an application or move the vessel, if neither is
received a second trespass letter will be sent and DNR-DMLW will seek assistance from
the Troopers and may take civil action against the vessel owner per AS 30.30.015.

DMLW reorganized in 2020 and created the Statewide Abatement of Impaired Lands (SAIL)
Section. This action consolidated many responsibilities that the Regional Land Offices of DMLW
manages into one new Section. The DNR-DMLW ADV Program is now managed by SAIL and
in FY21 and FY22 they serialized a total of 60 ADV cases with resolution to 17 cases as well as
coordination and collaboration with communities and effected stakeholders for the removal of
these ADVs.

Sincerely,

Christy Colles

Chief of Operations
Division of Mining, Land & Water

cc: Kris Hess, Acting DMLW Director
Laura Boomershine, Legislative Liaison

Attachments: Table of DMLW Regulation Priorities



Table: Division of Mining, Land and Water Regulations Priorities

Status Division or Statutes Regulations Brief Summary
Program
Filed with the DMLW -Mining |[AS 38.05 11 AAC 86 Proposed amendments bring regulations into compliance with statutes amended by SB 155. (SLA 2020, Chapter 31).
Department of Law in
March 2022
Filed with the DMLW - OSMRE 11 AAC 90 Proposed amendments are required by the U.S. Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement (OSMRE) for the state to maintain primacy of the program.
Department of Law in Revisions include regulatory changes to valid existing rights and ownership and control. Additionally the Division and the Department of Law worked closely codify 11
April 2022 AAC 90.002 - .911, regulations which are currently adopted into the administrative code by reference at 11 AAC 90.001.
Publicly-noticed FY21 |DMLW - Fee 11 AAC05 The Department expected a “shake out” period after the 2018 fee revisions to identify remaining necessary changes to ensure clarity and consistency in fees. The
Awaiting final AO266 11 AAC96 regulations we propose now provide clarification in fees or the application of fees, and appropriately split out fees based on cost of service and use. Proposed
approval. changes are responsive to requests for reductions in certain fees, such as Kasilof Mooring buoys or Kenny and Patty Barber shooting range fees.
Publicly-noticed FY21 |[DMLW -Water [AS46.15and |11 AAC93 The Department is proposing to revise regulations in 11 AAC 93 relating to the closure of water right applications, the contents of instream flow reservation
Considering public Management  |AS 46.17 applications, the issuance of certificates for instream flow reservations, the review of instream flow reservations, procedures for temporary water use, public notices
comment. and hearings on critical water management areas, and definitions.
FY22-23 (Approved |DMLW - Grant 11 AAC The Department has received a permit application for a hydroelectric project within Kenai River Special Management Area Additions. To authorize the permit, the
for drafting by CO Lake 96.014(b)(15) Division must revise the special use designation regulation at 11 AAC 96.014(b)(15). The Division received approval from the Commissioner’s Office and the
and GO) Governor’s Office to move forward with this regulation package. A public scoping notice was published on August 26, 2021, regulations have been drafted and will be
Drafted. noticed if and when a required partner plan amendment is adopted.
Proposed for FY22-23 |[DMLW - AS 11 AAC51.045
Navigable 38.05.965(14) The Division proposes revising 11 AAC 51.045. The application of the regulation as written may cause an increased financial burden on municipalities in acquiring
Waters entitlements, impact state and municipal land sales, and reduce municipal entitlement options. The intent of proposed amendment is a practicable application of
the statute, which is otherwise overburdensome and may prevent efficient and cost-effective processing of municipal entitlements and state land sales.
Proposed for FY22-23 |DMLW - AS 38.05.020 |11 AAC Regulations applicable to the use of an off-road or all-terrain vehicle have not kept up with the current types of vehicles currently used by a number of residents
Generally AS 38.05.035 [96.020(a)(1)(E) recreating on state lands. Specifically, a growing segment of the population own and use Utility Terrain Vehicles (UTVs) for recreation and as a means of access for
Allowed Uses  |AS 38.05.850 hunting, fishing, or other outdoor activities. These vehicles are larger, in terms of dimensions and weight, than a standard ATV/OHV "four wheeler." Current
regulations should be revised to increase the listed weight of vehicles from 1,500 pounds to 3,000 pounds to recognize the current use trends already occurring on
our lands. This is a Division of Parks coordinated package.
Proposed for FY22-23 |DMLW - AS 30.30.095- |TBD Implementation of Senate Bill 92, adopted in 2019 (Chapter 111 SLA 2018). In 2020, DMLW underwent a reorganization formalizing DNR’s role in managing derelict
Derelict Vessels (96 vessels by creating the Abandoned and Derelict Vessel Program (ADV Program) within the new Statewide Abatement of Impaired Land Section (SAIL).
DMLW proposes to implement the Derelict Vessel Act, focusing on AS 30.30.096, which grants DNR control of the ADV fund and allows for money appropriated to
the fund to be used without further appropriation. No monies have been spent from the ADV fund because of the lack of regulations to direct the equitable and
transparent disbursement from the fund.
Proposed for FY23-24 |DMLW - Leasing [AS 38.05.070 |11 AAC 58 In 2012 and 2016, House Bill 361 and House Bill 274 enacted changes to AS 38.05.070 relating to surface use, grazing, and shore fishery leasing, necessitating either
(Approved by CO and AS 38.05.073 |11 AAC60 one large regulatory package or four separate packages. In 2021, House Bill 115 enacted changes to AS 38.05.083 relating to aquatic farmsite permits and leases.
GO to begin drafting; AS 38.05.082-3|11 AAC 63
drafting in process) 11 AAC 64 In 2015, the Division conducted public scoping for input on possible revisions to surface, grazing, and shorefish leasing regulations pursuant to the enactment of HB

11 AAC 05.230

361. In 2015 and 2016, the Division began drafting revisions to 11 AAC 58 (leasing of lands), 11 AAC 64 (shore fisheries leasing), and 11 AAC 60 (grazing leases). Public
scoping still needs to be conducted for regulations relating to general lease extensions, pursuant to the 2016 enactment of House Bill 274, and relating to aquatic
farmsite permits and leases, pursuant to the 2021 enactment of HB 115.

Proposed for FY23-24
(Approved by CO and
GO to begin drafting,
drafting in process)

DMLW -
Material Sales
and Flood
Mitigation

AS 38.05.550-
.565
AS 38.05.872

11 AAC71

In 2012, the passage of House Bill 361 enacted material sales statutes (AS 38.05.550 - .565) and revised AS 38.05.872 for flood mitigation projects. In 2015, the
Division conducted public scoping and held meetings to collect input on potential regulation revisions and found that regulations needed to be inclusive of changes
to flood mitigation regulations. In 2018, the Division conducted additional scoping for possible regulations relating to the conveyance of material for flood mitigation
projects.

Regulations for both material and timber sales are currently listed under 11 AAC 71. Proposed regulations have been drafted under a new chapter (11 AAC 73) to
implement AS 38.05.550-565 and AS 38.05.872, and the Division proposes to update, finalize, and publicly notice the regulations in FY23-24.




Status Division or Statutes Regulations Brief Summary Statutory | Responsive | Regulation | State Costs Public Costs
Program Change | to Statutory | Amend or
Changes Repeal
Publicly-noticed [DMLW - Fee 11 AAC05 The Department expected a “shake out” period after the 2018 fee revisions to identify remaining NA No Amend Anticipated Overall
FY21 11 AAC 96 necessary changes to ensure clarity and consistency in fees. The regulations we propose now overall slight |reduction in
provide clarification in fees or the application of fees, and appropriately split out fees based on cost reduction in  |fees to the
of service and use. Proposed changes are responsive to requests for reductions in certain fees, such fee revenue; [public; however
as Kasilof Mooring buoys or Kenny and Patty Barber shooting range fees. Some fees provide fee amount it is dependent
options for actions the state might not otherwise take; allowing flexibility to users of state lands and depends on upon the
the state. demand. service.
Publicly-noticed |DMLW -Water AS 46.15 and AS 11 AAC93 The Department is proposing to revise regulations in 11 AAC 93 relating to the closure of water NA No Amend Possible Possible
FY21 Management 46.17 right applications, the contents of instream flow reservation applications, the issuance of operating cost [reductions in
certificates for instream flow reservations, the review of instream flow reservations, procedures for reductions due|process time
temporary water use, public notices and hearings on critical water management areas, and to efficiencies |[for applicants,
definitions. Revisions clarify submittal requirements, providing guidance to applicants on the in addiction and
contents of the applications and reducing related errors and adjudication time. Public notice time. Possible cost
requirements in 11 AAC 93 are modernized and made consistent with other Department public Reduction in |effective
notice requirements. Directions for providing complete applications will avoid delays in issuing notice costs. |alternative
authorizations. Changes in public notice requirements for critical water management areas are processes may
intended to reduce publication costs and broadly distribute notice through the State of Alaska’s be allowed
Online Public Notice system. under changes
to the
regulations.
Publicly-noticed |DMLW -Mining  |AS 38.05 11 AAC 86 Proposed amendments bring the regulations into compliance with statutes amended by SB 155. NA Yes Amend Anticipated Reduces
FY21 (SLA 2020, Chapter 31). Revisions reduce costs to miners by reducing penalty payments to cure operating cost [penalty
abandonment of mining claims, reduce cost to miners associated with appeals and substantial reductions payments to
compliance requests; and revisions reduce the Department’s time and cost, in the long term, cure and costs
associated with processing abandonments, substantial compliance requests, and appeals. to miners
associated with
appeals and
compliance
requests.
RAPPIPE BRI S(ETclut Ll The Department has received a permit application for a hydroelectric project within the Kenai River NA Al arenc Rclenapess polcuses
(Approved by CO |Lake 96.014(b)(15) K L . i o X
and GO) Special Managemer\t Arga Propose'd Additions. To authorize the perm.|t‘, .the D|V|§|on must revise
the special use designation regulation at 11 AAC 96.014(b)(15). The Division received approval from
the Commissioner’s Office and the Governor’s Office to move forward with this regulation package.
A public scoping notice was published on August 26, 2021.
FY22-23 DMLW - OSMRE 11 AAC 90 . . - . . . NA Responsive |[Amend No change. No change.
(Approved by CO The'l?lws'lon is proposing two changes to surface coa'\l mining regulations. The flrst change is T N——.
and GO) codification of 11 AAC 90.002 - .911, regulations which are currently adopted into the federal
administrative code by reference at 11 AAC 90.001. The second revision will implement required P~

program amendments from the U.S. Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement
(OSMRE). These changes are required if the state is to maintain oversight of this program. The
Division received approval from the Commissioner’s Office and the Governor’s Office to move
forward with this regulation package. The public scoping notice was published on August 22, 2021.
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Information Regarding Potential Fine for Failure to Register a Vessel

Division of Motor Vehicle Vessel Registration:

Per AS 05.25.090(b)(2), a person who violates AS 05.25.055, relating to registration and numbering of
boats, is guilty of a violation and may be fined up to $50. This violation is included in the court’s bail
schedule, which allows for the disposition of a citation without a court appearance.

Kelly Howell
Special Assistant to the Commissioner

Department of Public Safety

Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission Vessel Registration

AS 16.05.490 Vessel License - (a) As a condition to delivery or landing of fish or engaging in commercial
fishing in the state, a license is required for a commercial vessel.

AS 16.05.510 Unlicensed Vessel Unlawful - A person may not operate a vessel to which AS 16.05.490 -
16.05.530 apply without a vessel license, whether the absence of a vessel license results from initial
failure to purchase or from another reason.

Violation of AS 16.05.490 is included in the Fish & Game Bail Forfeiture Schedule as a $200 fine.

Kelly Howell

Special Assistant to the Commissioner

Department of Public Safety



https://public.courts.alaska.gov/web/forms/docs/pub-131.pdf
https://public.courts.alaska.gov/web/forms/docs/pub-131.pdf
https://dps.alaska.gov/Home
https://dps.alaska.gov/Home

Information on amount of vessel registration and tittle fees the Department of Commerce,
Community and Economic Development receives and how they are distributed

DCCED does receive some Boat Registration Receipts, fund 1216. These receipts are collected by the
Division of Motor Vehicles and transferred to DCCED/DCRA throughout the year. It is my understanding
that some portion of the Boat Registration Receipts collected by DMV are also eventually transferred to
the Derelict Vessel Fund. All funds received by DCCED/DCRA are distributed as a grant to the Alaska
Marine Safety Education Association. A table of the boat receipts collected by DCCED since FY2016 (the
first year of our current accounting system) is included below.

Fiscal Year | Revenue Received
2016 $196,900.00
2017 $192,058.07
2018 $196,900.00
2019 $191,411.84
2020 $196,900.00
2021 $196,900.00
Thank you,

Hannah Lager



ATTENTION VESSEL OWNERS! New Title & Registration Rules

In 2018, the Alaska Legislature changed vessel registration laws. New title & registration
requirements are now in effect, which may involve your commercial fishing vessel operating in Alaska
waters.

Undocumented vessels without a valid certificate of documentation issued by the U.S. Coast Guard
must continue to be registered with the DMV and now must ALSO be titled with the DMV.

Documented vessels with a valid certificate of documentation issued by the U.S. Coast Guard now
must ALSO be registered with the DMV. Federally documented vessels are exempt from the new
title requirement, but are no longer exempt from the DMV registration requirement.

The state agency responsible for implementing the changes is the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
The following is a portion of the information found on their website, which we offer as an assist to
fishermen as they familiarize themselves with the new requirements.

Exemptions - See the full list of exemptions on the DMV website.

Exempt from Registration
= Lifeboats
= Non-powered boats
= A boat registered in another state or country that is not operated more than 90 consecutive
days in Alaska.
"  Foreign documented boats

Exempt from Titling
"  An undocumented boat 24 feet or less in length
* A boat of any length documented with the U.S. Coast Guard
= Note: A documented vessel is also exempt from state numbering; however,
the State of Alaska registration decal must be displayed.

What to take to the DMV Office or mail if you don’t have a DMV in your location.

= Boat Application (Form B1)

* Proof of ownership/registration/documentation (see document lists below)

=  Fees (Visa, Mastercard, personal check, or money order payable to State of AK or DMV)

® |f you are mailing original documents, send them certified mail, if possible, to:
Department of Motor Vehicles 1300 W. Benson Boulevard Anchorage, AK 99503-3696

Documented Vessels Require Registration Only.

The DMV will accept a mailed, emailed (doa.dmv.correspondence@alaska.gov), or faxed (907)269-3762
application or in person registration at our DMV offices & Business Partner locations. Send DMV Form B1

and a copy of the current Certificate of Documentation issued by the U.S. Coast Guard. Make sure that

you include a phone number so the DMV can call for payment of the fees. DMV will mail the
registration and decal after receiving payment.


http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/reg/boat.htm
http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/reg/boat.htm
http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/forms/PDFS/b1.pdf
http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/forms/PDFS/b1.pdf

IMPORTANT Information for Documented Vessels

= RENEW YOUR USCG DOCUMENTATION - This registration does not take the place of your
documentation from the USCG — it is in addition to.

= TAKE A COPY OF YOUR DOCUMENTATION to the State DMV office when titling or registering. If
no title is required you may mail, fax, or email to the DMV the completed Form B1, and a copy of
your documentation.

= DO NOTTITLE YOUR DOCUMENTED VESSEL WITH THE STATE of ALASKA - only file for
registration and make sure the registration paperwork is marked “No Title Issued" (NTI).

= DO NOT ADD ANY ADDITIONAL ALASKA NUMBERS TO YOUR BOAT.

= MAKE SURE TO APPLY the square registration decal to your boat.

Undocumented Vessels Require Both Title and Registration and forms
must be submitted in person or mailed to DMV.

REMEMBER to send original documents by Certified Mail.
Documents accepted to prove boat ownership to obtain a title and registration:

® The original manufacturer’s certificate of origin (MCO)
=  The original manufacturer’s statement of origin (MSO)

=  The boat title and registration from the previous state of ownership

= Completed CG-1261 Builders Certification

= |f proper ownership documentation cannot be provided the DMV provides a NTI Registration
and no title fee is needed until next registration period.

Forms
Form B1 Title and/or Registration Application: http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/forms/PDFS/b1.pdf

CG-1261 Builders Certification
https://www.dco.uscg.mil/Portals/9/DC0%20Documents/NVDC/CG1261%20Builder%27s_Certification.pdf

Fees
* Registration $24 for powered boats, $10 for non-powered boats, and $75 for barge.

= Titleis $20

Additional Information

CONTACT: (907) 269-5551 or Toll-Free in Alaska: (855) 269-5551 / Outside of Alaska: (907)269-5551
DMV EMAIL: doa.dmv.correspondence@alaska.gov / FAX (907) 269-3762

Mailing Address: Department of Motor Vehicles 1300 W. Benson Boulevard Anchorage, AK 99503
DMV Office Location and Contact Numbers: http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/office/index.htm

DMV Boat Registration Webpage: http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/reg/boat.htm

2018 Derelict Vessels Act (SB92): http://www.legis.state.ak.us/PDF/30/Bills/SB0092Z.PDF

Alaska Statute 05.25.055: http://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#05.25.055

Provided by Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission, Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles, and Alaska Department of Fish & Game, June 2019


https://www.dco.uscg.mil/Portals/9/DCO Documents/NVDC/CG1261 Builder%27s_Certification.pdf
https://www.dco.uscg.mil/Portals/9/DCO Documents/NVDC/CG1261 Builder%27s_Certification.pdf
http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/forms/PDFS/b1.pdf
http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/office/index.htm
http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/reg/boat.htm
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/PDF/30/Bills/SB0092Z.PDF
http://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#05.25.055

Record of Concerns Raised with SB 92 During the 30 Legislative Session

Senate Resources Committee Meeting Minute Excerpts
2.14.18

4:23:38 PM

CARL UCHYTIL, President, Alaska Association of Harbor Masters
and Port Authorities (AAHPA), Juneau, Alaska, supported SB 92.
AAHPA has 43-member harbors and has documentation from other
communities outside their membership that also support it.

SENATOR STEDMAN asked what tool this bill would give to harbor
masters that they don't currently have.

MR. UCHYTIL said the strongest argument he could make is when
the M/V Challenger went down. She [the boat] was no longer
welcome 1in the harbor and as a result was anchored on DNR
tidelands. When she sank, the Coast Guard came out and opened
the 0il Spill Trust Fund to raise and demolish her (for $2
million). To this day, the Coast Guard doesn't know who the
responsible owner is.

SENATOR STEDMAN said that ship should have had a marine title at
some point, and the question 1is who owned it at the end. He
wanted to know what wuseful tools SB 92 would provide in this
instance.

MR. UCHYTIL said he couldn't speak with great authority on what
enforcement activity the Coast Guard is taking on the Challenger
now, but the Juneau Harbor system has other instances of
irresponsible Dboat owners that will transfer ownership of
vessels on a bar napkin or flip ownership with a handshake. Just
having a clear title would allow the harbor master to pursue the
actual owner of several derelict vessels in their harbor system
today.

SENATOR STEDMAN said he has concept issues with this bill, not
that derelict vessels aren't a problem. He said marine titled
vessels are usually small, in the neighborhood of 27 feet, and
are required to have "AK" numbers and to get a sticker. If you
don't, you get a ticket. So, the owner pays the harbor master
once a month as a tenant, and all of a sudden someone else shows
up to pay the monthly fee. He asked what tools he needs as a
harbor master here in Juneau to ensure that a person who pays
the rent owns the boat.

SENATOR STEDMAN said his boat is a "documented vessel" and that
it is in the Juneau harbor now where he is also required to have
an insurance document to show that it is not only insurable but
that it 1is insured. $So, he was really struggling with why
organized harbors around Alaska <can't keep track of their
tenants - 1like he wused to keep track of renters he was a
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landlord.

MR. UCHYTIL answered that "registered" doesn't necessarily mean
owner, and he does have difficulty with some harbor clientele in
establishing clear ownership. For instance, someone could be
behind in their rent and when they get kicked out, the client
can say he sold the Dboat to someone at the Pioneer Bar last
night. Lawyers have told him that title is dimportant in
establishing ownership.

4:31:12 PM

SENATOR STEDMAN said the situation is similar to wused cars that
eventually get "ditched out the road" and the owner can't be
found. It is an enforcement 1issue, and he wasn't sure this
wouldn't set boats up with the same solution. And at some point,
the unorganized municipalities need to be addressed.

4:56:32 PM

KRIS HESS, Operations Manager, Division of Mining, Land and
Water, Department of Natural Resources, Anchorage, Alaska,
answered that they spent considerable time and resources between
herself, Director Brent Goodrum, Deputy Commissioner Heidi
Hansen, and others in terms of coordinating with federal, state,
and local agencies to deal with this situation. From August 2017
when the Akutan suffered problems with its engines and the time
of actual disposal, which was in January 2018, a rough estimate
is at least 250 hours of staff time was spent.

SENATOR STEDMAN asked, when a derelict wvessel 1is sitting on
their tidelands, if it isn't it a matter of an appropriation of
funds to the Department of Law. And if this bill 1is only going
to produce $100,000-200,000/year, it would take 10 years to Jjust
pay for the tug boat that sank in Juneau last year. He didn't
think the ends were 1lining up very well outside of large
appropriations from the legislature, with or without this bill.
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