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Workers' Comp Benefits:
How Much is a Limb Worth?

by Lena Groeger and Michael Grabell, ProPublica, and Cynthia Cotts, special to ProPublica, Mar. 5,2015

If you suffer a permanent injury on the job, you're typically entitled to compensation for the
damage to your body and your future lost wages. But depending on the state, benefits for the
same body part can differ dramatically. Related Story »

Ever filed for workers’ comp? Help ProPublica investigate.

Select a state to see the maximum it pays for different body parts.

The average maximum compensation for one Arm in The USA
Nevada Federal Illinois Kentucky Pennsylvania
$859,634 $588,647 $439,858 $402,277 $389,910
> L
3 3
a ‘ Ay A
k " A ,

4 &

District of Columbia Tennessee Maryland New Hampshire Vermont

$342,305 $309,096 $301,600 $294,840 $290,871
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New York Hawaii Oregon North Carolina Michigan
$252,299 $245,232 $234,080 $220,880 $220,580
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New Jersey
$268,983
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Connecticut
$206,128


https://www.propublica.org/site/author/lena_groeger
https://www.propublica.org/site/author/michael_grabell
https://www.propublica.org/article/how-much-is-your-arm-worth-depends-where-you-work
https://www.propublica.org/getinvolved/item/help-propublica-investigate-workers-comp
https://www.propublica.org/
https://www.propublica.org/site/donate3/
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North Dakota
$148,800
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Washington
$118,266
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Texas
$108,360
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Georgia
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Maine
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South Carolina
$168,531
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South Dakota
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Arkansas
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Utah
$98,549

" L)

L
"

Ohio
$193,950
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Delaware
$166,393
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West Virginia
$127,661
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Mississippi
$92,718
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Virginia
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Colorado
$162,869

/\
h

Louisiana
$126,000

fod

£\
I

Minnesota
$114,000

®

In
P RN

Wyoming
$90,581
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California
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New Mexico
$152,836
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Montana
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Idaho
$113,685
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Oklahoma
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Kansas Rhode Island Massachusetts Alabama

$75,000 $56,160 $52,245 $48,840
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NOTE: Compensation for the loss of certain body parts is only one part of a larger system. States may be more or less generous
in other aspects of their workers' comp benefits.

SOURCES: ProPublica research of state workers’ compensation laws. See the full methodology for details. Data last updated Feb 27, 2015.
Additional research by Abbie Nehring.
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