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Alaska Justice Information Center

We compile, analyze, and report on criminal justice 
topics to policymakers and practitioners to improve 
public safety, increase criminal justice system 
accountability, and reduce recidivism.

We specialize in quantitative data analysis, analysis of 
agency data, data visualization, integration of data, 
program evaluation, and statistical modeling.

uaa.alaska.edu/ajic
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Background

•Alaska Criminal Justice Commission requested an 
analysis of the potential impact of HB 5 at its May 25, 
2021 meeting

•AJiC provides technical assistance to the Commission 
and has access to data provided to the Commission 
under AS 44.19.645
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Limitations

• We have no data to estimate effects of criminalizing behavior 
that is currently lawful

• We have no data to estimate effects of changing the 
definition of consent

• Can only estimate some of the effects of proposed changes 
contained in Sections 3 and 4 of HB 5
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Proposed changes to current law
HB 5 § 3

• Increase the punishment for offenders who are 18 years of 
age or older and who are 10 years older than victims who 
are 13, 14, or 15 from a statutory minimum of 5 years (SAM 
2, Class B Felony) to a minimum of 20 years (SAM 1, 
Unclassified Felony);

• Criminalize sexual penetration of 16- or 17-year-old victims 
by offenders who are older than 26 or 27 (respectively)
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Proposed changes to current law
HB 5 § 4

• Increase the punishment for offenders who are 18 years of 
age or older and who are 10 years older than victims who 
are 13, 14, or 15 from a statutory minimum of 2 years (SAM 
3, Class C Felony) to a statutory minimum of 5 years (SAM 2, 
Class B Felony);

• Criminalize sexual contact of 16- or 17-year-old victims by 
offenders who are older than 26 or 27 (respectively).
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Estimating the possible impacts of HB 5

• Criminal case disposition data provided by DPS pursuant to 
AS 44.19.645

• Charge-level data aggregated to cases

• Estimates are calculated as if all defendants served all terms 
within a case consecutively in cases with multiple convictions
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Estimating the possible impacts of HB 5

• We can only estimate the ordered sentence — estimates of 
good time were not available

• Estimates assume that the only change in criminal processing 
would have been the sentence length — we assume no 
changes in decisions of victims, police, prosecutors, and the 
Court

• Victim data not available
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Cases that would have been 
impacted by HB 5, 2015-2019

42% 165 cases would have been 
impacted by HB 5 § 3 or § 4

396 SAM 1, 2, or 3 cases
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1,476Actual

HB5

Active sentenced time in years, 2015-2019 actual
sentences compared to HB5 minimum

1,991 to 2,136
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Summary of impacts

20-40 cases per year 

100 additional years of active time sentenced 
per calendar year…

… plus additional impacts of criminalizing 
behavior that is not unlawful today that we 

cannot estimate
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