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Memo 
To:  Alaska Criminal Justice Commission 

From:   Troy Payne, Director, Alaska Justice Information Center 

Date:   August 12, 2021 

Re:  Estimating the impact of HB 5’s changes to AS 11.41.436(a) and AS 11.41.438 

 

Background  

At the May 25, 2021 Plenary Meeting of the Alaska Criminal Justice Commission, the 
Commission requested that the Alaska Justice Information Center (AJiC) attempt to estimate 
the potential impacts of HB 5, “An Act relating to sexual abuse of a minor; relating to sexual 
assault; relating to the code of military justice; relating to consent; relating to the testing of 
sexual assault examination kits, and providing for an effective date”. 

AJiC provides technical assistance to the Alaska Criminal Justice Commission and has access to 
data provided to the Commission under AS 44.19.645.  These data allow AJiC to estimate some 
of the potential impacts of HB 5, with several limitations.   

Our analysis is limited to statutory changes in criminal sentences for activity that is currently 
unlawful.  With the data available, we cannot estimate the impacts of criminalizing behavior 
that is currently lawful.  We also cannot estimate the impacts of changing the definition of 
consent, nor can we estimate the impacts of changing the timeline for sexual assault kit 
processing. 

The analysis presented here can only partially estimate potential impacts of Sections 3 and 4 of 
HB 5.  These sections would change certain acts from a Sexual Assault of a Minor (SAM) 2 to a 
SAM 1; and would change certain other acts from a SAM 3 to a SAM 2.  As we describe in more 
detail below, we cannot estimate the complete impact of these sections.   

What HB 5 would change in Sections 3 and 4 

Section 3 of HB 5 would add this to the definition of a SAM 1 at AS 11.41.434(a)(4): 

being 18 years of age or older, the offender engages in sexual penetration with a person 
who is 13, 14, 15, 16, or 17 years of age and at least 10 years younger than the offender, 
or aids, induces, causes, or encourages a person who is 13, 14, 15, 16, or 17 years of age 
and at least 10 years younger than the offender to engage in sexual penetration with 
another person. 
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SAM 1 is an Unclassified Felony and is punishable by a presumptive sentence of 20-99 years, 
depending on the criminal history of the defendant and the existence of mitigators or 
aggravators.   

Current law already criminalizes some acts covered by Section 3 of HB 5 as SAM 2.  SAM 2 is a 
Class B Felony and is punishable by a presumptive sentence of 5-99 years, depending on the 
criminal history of the defendant and the existence of mitigators or aggravators.   AS 
11.41.436(a)(1) currently reads: 

being 17 years of age or older, the offender engages in sexual penetration with a person 
who is 13, 14, or 15 years of age and at least four years younger than the offender, or 
aids, induces, causes, or encourages a person who is 13, 14, or 15 years of age and at 
least four years younger than the offender to engage in sexual penetration with another 
person. 

Compared to current law, Section 3 of HB 5 would: 

1. Increase the punishment for offenders who are 18 years of age or older, and who are 
10 years older than victims who are 13, 14, or 15 from a statutory minimum of 5 years 
(SAM 2, Class B Felony) to a minimum of 20 years (SAM 1, Unclassified Felony); 

2. Criminalize sexual penetration of 16- or 17-year-old victims by offenders who are older 
than 26 or 27 (respectively). 

Section 4 of HB 5 would amend AS 11.41.436(a)(1) to limit its applicability to instances where 
the offender is 17 or older and the victim is 13, 14, or 15 and the age difference is 4-9 years.  
Section 4 would also add a new provision at AS 11.41.436(a)(8) that is like the proposed 
addition at AS 11.41.434(a)(4), but covers sexual contact instead of penetration: 

being 18 years of age or older, the offender engaged in sexual contact with a person 
who is 13, 14, 15, 16, or 17 years of age and at least 10 years younger than the offender, 
or aids, induces, causes of encourages a person who is 13, 14, 15, 16, or 17 years of age 
and at leads 10 years younger than the offender to engage in sexual contact with 
another person. 

Compared to current law, Section 4 of HB 5 would: 

1. Increase the punishment for offenders who are 18 years of age or older, and who are 10 
years older than victims who are 13, 14, or 15 from a statutory minimum of 2 years 
(SAM 3, Class C Felony) to a statutory minimum of 5 years (SAM 2, Class B Felony); 

2. Criminalize sexual contact of 16- or 17-year-old victims by offenders who are older than 
26 or 27 (respectively). 

Figure 1 shows the current law regarding criminal offenses for consensual sexual penetration by 
age of the victim (on the vertical) and suspect age (on the horizontal).  Figure 2 shows the 
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changes proposed under HB5.  Similarly, Figure 3 shows the current law for consensual sexual 
contact, while Figure 4 shows the changes proposed by HB5. 

Figure 1: Sexual penetration victim/suspect age matrix: current law 

 

 

Figure 2: Sexual penetration victim/suspect age matrix: under HB5 
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Figure 3: Sexual contact victim/suspect age matrix: current law 

 

 

Figure 4: Sexual contact victim/suspect age matrix: under HB5 
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than 10 years older would change from lawful today to a Class B Felony carrying a minimum 5-
year sentence under HB 5.  We lack sufficient data to estimate the impact of criminalizing 
currently lawful acts. 

We can, however, estimate the impact of changing certain SAM 2 offenses to SAM 1, and the 
impact of changing SAM 3 offenses to SAM 2.  These estimates are necessarily limited, but they 
provide information that may be of value to policymakers when considering HB 5.   

Data and limitations 

We used criminal case disposition data provided by the Alaska Department of Public Safety 
pursuant to AS 44.19.645.  These data contain individually identified, charge-level information 
on offenses and offenders for which suspects were convicted.  The data contain no information 
about victims. 

Because sentencing most often includes consideration of all charges in a case, charge-level 
information was aggregated to cases.  Sentences for multiple charges are also sometimes 
merged in the data and recorded in a single charge.  We are therefore unable to determine 
average sentences for individual charges in cases with multiple charges with certainty.  
Summing the total sentence within a case, however, should yield the total sentence for the 
charges contained in the case. 

Multiple charges add another complicating factor.  AS 12.55 allows sentences for violations of 
AS 11.41.434-438 to be served either consecutively or partially concurrently.  Violations of AS 
11.41.434 require consecutive terms for one-fourth of the presumptive term under AS 
12.55.127(2)(E), where the presumptive term is the middle of the presumptive range.  
Violations of AS 11.41.436-438 require “some additional term of imprisonment” under AS 
12.55.127(2)(F).  The available data do not have any indicator for whether sentences were 
ordered to be served consecutively or partially concurrently.  To enable analysis, results are 
presented as if all defendants served all terms consecutively. 

We also ignore the accrual of good time, the term used in Alaska to refer to time deducted for 
good conduct inside of a correctional facility.  The data available for this analysis have both 
total days sentenced and days suspended.  But the data do not have any indicator of actual 
time served.  The impact of good time on actual days served can be up to one-third of an 
offender’s sentence under AS 33.20.010(a), but good time is does not accrue for unclassified 
felonies under AS 33.20.010(a)3(B).  HB 5 would therefore increase the minimum actual time 
served inside of a correctional facility for sexual penetration of a 13–15-year-old by someone 10 
years or more older from 3.3 years (5 years minus one-third of 5 years for good behavior) to 20 
years (with no allowance for good behavior).  We have no measure of good time and have no 
reliable way to estimate it.  We therefore ignore good time and present only sentenced active 
time (sentenced minus suspended time).   

We provide an estimate based on available retrospective data.  Our estimate assumes that the 
only change in the criminal processing would have been the sentence length.  Police, 
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prosecutors, defendants, and judges will likely change decisions at earlier points in the process 
that would have downstream impacts on prison terms.  We have no way to estimate these 
effects. 

Finally, sections 3 and 4 of HB 5 would also make currently lawful behavior unlawful.  Sexual 
contact or sexual penetration of 16- and 17-year-old victims by persons more than 10 years 
their senior would become unlawful under HB 5.  We have no way to estimate the number of 
additional cases this change could bring. 

In short, some of the data limitations such as assuming consecutive terms will tend to 
overestimate active time (time served in a correctional facility), while other limitations such as 
ignoring good time will tend to underestimate active time.  It is not known how much error 
these limitations introduce.   

Cases impacted by HB 5 over the years 2015-2019 

During the period 2015-2019, there were 396 cases with one or more convictions for any SAM 
1, SAM 2, or SAM 3 offense (AS 11.41.434-438).  There was a total of 165 cases (42% of all SAM 
1, SAM 2, or SAM 3 offenses) with one or more convictions for AS 11.41.436(a)(1) or AS 
11.41.438.  Two offenders had more than one case with convictions for AS 11.41.436(a)(1) or 
AS 11.41.438; both of those offenders had two cases.  Table 1 shows the number of convictions 
for AS 11.41.436(a)(1) and/or AS 11.41.438 by age of offender and year.   

Table 1: Number of cases including one or more convictions for AS 11.41.436(a)(1) or AS 11.41.438 by 
age of offender and year 

 Year disposed 

 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 Total 

Age of offender       
  Under 25 18 23 20 16 11 88 

  25+ 16 19 19 15 8 77 

  Total 34 42 39 31 19 165 

 

If HB 5 were the law at the time of the offense, violations of the current SAM 2 offense AS 
11.41.436(a)(1), where the offender is older than 25 would have fallen under a new provision of 
SAM 1, AS 11.41.434(a)(4).  There were 39 such cases in the years 2015-2019.  If HB 5 were the 
law at the time of the offense, violations of the current SAM 3 offense AS 11.41.438 would have 
fallen under a new provision of SAM 2, AS 11.41.436(a)(8).  There were 35 such cases in the 
years 2015-2019.  There were an additional three cases where defendants were convicted of 
both AS 11.41.436(a)(1) and AS 11.41.438, bringing the total number of impacted cases to 77.   

Table 2 shows the number of cases and the sentenced active time (prison terms not including 
suspended sentence terms) for cases including one or more convictions on AS 11.41.436(a)(1) 
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or AS 11.41.438 or both.  Table 2 shows that the total actual active time (prison term) ordered 
for the 165 cases where offenders were convicted of one or more charges of AS 11.41.436(a)(1) 
or AS 11.41.438 was 1,476.1 years.   

Table 2: Total sentence lengths in cases in calendar years 2015-2019 with one or more convictions for AS 
11.41.436(a)(1), AS 11.41.438, or both 

 Current law, AS 11.41. 
 436(a)(1) 438 Both Total 

Age of offender 
    

  Under 25 
    

      Years sentenced (actual) 567.9 57.4 9.0 634.3 

      Years sentenced (HB 5 minimums) 686.9 83.8 9.0 779.7 

    Number of cases 47 39 2 88 

       

  25+ 
    

      Years sentenced (actual) 501.1 80.7 260.0 841.7 

      Years sentenced (HB 5 minimums) 844.1 235.5 277.0 1,356.6 

    Number of cases 39 35 3 77 

       

    Total 
    

      Years sentenced (actual) 1,069.0 138.1 269.0 1,476.1 

      Years sentenced (HB 5 minimums) 1,531.0 319.3 286.0 2,136.3 

    Number of cases 86 74 5 165 

Notes:  All sentences are calculated consecutively when offenders are convicted of multiple charges.  Active time (prison 
terms) are displayed; suspended time is not included.  Actual time served may vary from sentenced time due to good time 
and sentence mitigators, among other considerations.  HB 5 minimum sentence is set to 20 years for each violation of AS 
11.41.436(a)(1) and five years for each violation of AS 11.41.438, with a 50% reduction for attempts.  For offenders under 25, 
sentences were increased to HB 5 minimums when the offender was 23 or 24 years old and were otherwise unchanged. 

 

Table 2 also shows the minimum sentences these offenders would have been subject to if the 
changes in Sections 3 and 4 of HB 5 were to pass.  Cases that received sentences greater than 
these minimum penalties were not changed; cases that receive sentences less than these 
minimum penalties were increased to the statutory minimums proposed by HB 5 for offenders 
25 years of age or older.  Cases where the offender is 23-24 could also be impacted, dependent 
on the age of the victim.  Victim age is not included in our data.  We therefore split our 
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calculation into offenders over 25, who would be subject to HB 5’s new provisions, and 
offenders under 25 who could be.  This was calculated using the statutory minimum for 
Unclassified Felonies (20 years) and for Class B Felonies (5 years), with both reduced by half for 
attempts as described in AS 12.55.155.   

Had Section 3 and Section 4 of HB 5 applied to cases disposed of during calendar years 2015-
2019, the total active time would have increased from 1,476.1 years to between 1,990.9 and 
2,136.3 years, an increase of between 514.8 and 660.2 years of sentenced prison terms among 
the 165 offenders during the five-year period 2015-2019.  The low estimate assumes all victims 
of offenders aged 23 or 24 were fewer than 10 years younger than the offender; the high 
estimate assumes all victims were more than 10 years younger.  The additional sentence length 
is likely between these two extremes. 

Summary 

Our estimate is based on the limitations and assumptions described above, including that 
victims, defendants, and criminal justice actors would make similar decisions at each step of the 
criminal justice process.  Changing acts from Class B Felonies to Unclassified Felonies would, 
however, likely change decisions of the various actors.  There is no available data that can be 
used to estimate these effects.  Our estimate also cannot include the number of additional 
cases that could be brought against offenders more than 10 years older than victims who are 16 
or 17 (we have no way to estimate the number of these cases). 

Despite the limitations of our analysis, we hope that policymakers find our estimates useful.  
We found 165 cases during calendar years 2015-2019 with convictions for AS 11.41.436(a)(1) or 
AS 11.41.438, or both.  All else being equal, if Sections 3 and 4 of HB 5 had applied to these 
convictions instead of current law, the active time to which offenders were sentenced (prison 
term not including suspended time) would have been collectively increased by between 514.8 
and 660.2 years among the 165 cases — approximately 100 additional years of active time 
sentenced per calendar year, affecting between 20 and 40 offenders per year. 
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