

To: Stuart Relay, Office of Senator Scott Kawawsaki, Alaska

Senate

From: Douglas Shinkle, transportation program director, NCSL

Jonathon Bates, transportation policy associate, NCSL

Date: April 12, 2022

Subject: Digital Driver's Licenses

Scott Saiki

Speaker of the House Hawaii President, NCSL

Joseph James "J.J." Gentry, Esq.

Counsel Senate Ethics Committee South Carolina Staff Chair, NCSL

Tim Storey

Chief Executive Officer

Background

We are aware of at least eight states—Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Louisiana, Oklahoma and Utah—which have developed a digital driver's license program or are running some sort of pilot program. At least two states—Louisiana and Oklahoma—have addressed specific charges to use digital driver's licenses:

- Louisiana's law authorized a \$6 fee to be charged. However, it does not appear this charge is currently being collected.
- Oklahoma charges a yearly subscription fee of \$4.49.

Information on state driver's license fees is also provided. These costs range from \$10 in Arizona for applicants ages 50 and over up to \$52 in Utah.

NCSL tracks issues related to digital driver's licenses in our annual traffic safety trends report. See reports on the issue here:

- Traffic Safety Trends | State Legislative Action 2020 (see p.23).
- Traffic Safety Trends | State Legislative Action 2019 (see p.27)
- Traffic Safety Trends | State Legislative Action 2018 (see p.29).
- Traffic Safety Trends | State Legislative Action 2016 (see p.22).

Additional resources regarding digital licenses can be found via the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA). See AAMVA's resources on the subject here and attached to the email:

- Model Legislation (email attachment): Provides suggested language for the "Electronic Credential Act."
 Provisions cover definitions, credential issuance, fees, design of electronic credentials, verification systems and acceptance of electronic credentials.
- <u>Implementation Guidelines</u>: Updated in November 2021 (email attachment). AAMVA notes this version addresses technical interoperability between different issuing authorities, as well as privacy concerns.
- Procurement Guidance (email attachment): Published in August 2018. This publication addresses
 various aspects related to procurement strategies including vendor selection, procurement
 methodology, evaluation development, contract awards, procurement management teams and vendor
 or contract management and performance.

State Research

State	Description
Alabama	DIGITAL DL COST: WHNT <u>article</u> from April 2019 mentions, "A digital license is offered to
	you for free when you renew your license online."
	REGULAR DL COST: \$36.25, per <u>state DMV</u>
	ABC News article <u>here</u> from October 2018 mentions, "The digital driver's license is available
	when you renew your Alabama license online. Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA)
	sends it to your smartphone. On iPhones, the digital license can be stored in Apple Wallet."
Arizona	DIGITAL DL COST: The website does not list an additional fee to use Arizona Mobile ID.
	REGULAR DL COST: According to state DOT:
	Ages 16-39: \$25Ages 40-44: \$20
	• Ages 40-44: \$20 • Ages 45-49: \$15
	 Ages 43-49. \$13 Age 50 and older and five-year: \$10
	 Age 30 and older and rive-year. \$10 Limited license: (military or students) \$10
	Elimited license. (military of students) \$10
	Arizona enacted legislation (SB 1287) in 2018 that allows the director of the Department of
	Transportation to establish a system to implement digital versions of driver's licenses,
	identification licenses, vehicle registration cards and digital license plates. The law also
	permits digital driver's licenses to be admissible evidence in all courts and administrative
	agencies. See FAQs from state DOT <u>here.</u>
Colorado	DIGITAL DL COST: The website does not list an additional fee to use <u>myColorado</u> .
	REGULAR DL COST: According to state DMV:
	Activity Fee,
	Driver License, renewal\$30.87
	 Instruction Permit (includes motorcycle) \$18.52
	 Identification Card (under 60 Years Old) \$12.67
	 Identification Card (over 60 years old) FREE
	 Duplicate Permit or License, \$12.00
	 Subsequent Duplicate Permit or License \$16.00
	myColorado is an app which "provides secure and convenient access to state services The
	app's contactless Colorado Digital ID™ is a secure electronic version of your driver license or
	state identification (ID) card for proof of identification, age and address within the state."
Delaware	DIGITAL DL COST: The website does not list an additional fee to use <u>Delaware's Mobile ID</u> .
	REGULAR DL COST: According to state DMV, \$40.
	Asserting to state DNAV ((Mackile ID is a secure digitized version of very deixed licenses on
	According to state DMV, "Mobile ID is a secure, digitized version of your driver license or
Goorgia	identification card that you carry in an app on your smartphone." DIGITAL DI COST: The website does not list an additional fee to use the DDS 2 GO Mebile.
Georgia	DIGITAL DL COST: The website does not list an additional fee to use the <u>DDS 2 GO Mobile</u> Services App.
	REGULAR DL COST: According to state DMV, \$32.
	NEGOLAN DE COST. ACCORDINE LO SCALE DIVIV, \$52.

State	Description
	According to a Fox 5 article from September 2021, "We are excited about being on the cutting edge of technology and to have an option for a mobile license in addition to the hard card" DDS communications director Shevondah Leslie said DDS says 'option' is the key word. Physical driver's licenses are not going anywhere. The digital cards will supplement the traditional cards."
Louisiana	DIGITAL DL COST: The website mentions it is "completely free to add and display your license." REGULAR DL COST: According to the state's Office of Motor Vehicles: • \$32.25 – the basic license fee until age 69 • \$18.75 – the license fee for applicants age 70 and older • Up to a \$6.00 service fee may be assessed at certain field offices.
	The state expanded its law (HB 450) in 2018, requiring digital licenses to be uploaded through a specific mobile device application considered to be a valid digitized identification. The driver's license will display the status of the identification card as valid, expired or cancelled and will comply with the federal REAL ID security standards for state-issued driver's licenses and identification cards. The fee to install the application cannot exceed \$6. The legislation also established that displaying a digital driver's license does not serve as consent for a law enforcement officer or other government official to search, view or access any other data on the mobile device. In addition, a person may be required to produce a physical driver's license to a law enforcement officer, a representative of a state or federal department or agency, or a private entity when so requested if it is not related to a traffic stop. See LA Wallet here.
Oklahoma	DIGITAL DL COST: Oklahoma's Mobile ID app "is available at no charge to Oklahoma residents through April 1, 2021. After this, a yearly subscription of \$4.49 will be required." REGULAR DL COST: According to state Department of Public Safety, \$38.50. According to the state Department of Public Safety, "Mobile ID is a secured, digitized version of your driver license or other state-issued ID that you carry in an app on your smartphone." See general program information about Mobile ID here.
Utah	DIGITAL DL COST: The website does not list an additional fee to participate in Utah's mDL pilot. REGULAR DL COST: According to the state Department of Public Safety, \$52 for an original Class D license. In 2019, Utah (SB 100) required the state Driver License Division to establish a process and system for applicants to start obtaining a digital license on or before Jan. 1, 2021. According
	to the <u>state Department of Public Safety</u> , "The pilot program is now ready to begin with approximately 100 select participants and will expand to 10,000 participants including the broader public later in the year." Additionally, "Utah's mDLs are a secure, contactless digital form of ID that give citizens control of the personal information they share with businesses. The pilot project aims to establish acceptance of the mDL by Utahns through use in real-world scenarios such as banking, travel, traffic stops, and restaurant and liquor store transactions that require age verification."