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STATE OF ALASKA

March 10, 2022

The Honorable Louise Stutes
Speaker of the House

Alaska State Legislature
State Capitol, Room 208
Juneau, AK 99801-1182

Dear Speaker Stutes:

Under the authority of Article III, Section 18, of the Alaska Constitution, I am transmitting a bill
relating to misconduct involving confidential information and the protection of state artifacts.

This bill amends the Alaska Historic Preservation Act and the Alaska criminal code to provide
enhanced protections for historic artifacts through increased criminal penalties for violations of
the Alaska Historic Preservation Act.

Though a young state in political terms, Alaska has a rich history that, if not properly attended
and protected, will be lost to future generations. Our State’s remote locations result in troves of
historical materials being susceptible to removal outside of Alaska and away from the public. It
is important to provide legal clarity and a deterrent for any activity that would illegally monetize
the heritage or the people of this state.

Under the Alaska Historic Preservation Act currently, the word artifact is not defined. This bill
defines artifact. This bill then correspondingly amends all of the Alaska Historic Preservation
Act statutes to include the newly defined term artifact.

The bill’s remaining amendments focus on criminal liability for offenses related to the newly
defined term artifact.

The Alaska Historic Preservation Act currently limits criminal penalties to a Class A
misdemeanor. Under this bill, depending on the value of the artifact, an individual could be
guilty of either a Class B felony or a Class A misdemeanor. An individual will be guilty of a
Class B felony where the artifact has a value of more than $25,000. For that Class B felony, the
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bill grants the sentencing court the discretion to impose a minimum $25,000 fine as well as a fine
up to three times the value of the artifact. As a Class B felony, a sentencing court will impose jail
time as provided in Alaska’s sentencing statutes under AS 12.55. If the artifact has a value less
than $25,000, the individual would be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and a sentencing court
could impose fines and jail time consistent with a Class A misdemeanor as provided in Alaska’s
sentencing statutes under AS 12.55.

Lastly, the bill amends the offense of “Misconduct involving confidential information in the first
degree.” This amendment makes it a criminal violation for an individual who obtains and uses
confidential information to commit a crime under the Alaska Historic Preservation Act. Such a
violation would be a Class A misdemeanor.

With this combination of providing a definition to such a broad word as artifact and empowering
our legal system to protect these pieces of Alaska’s history, we can further fulfill our obligation
to future Alaskans by preserving the past of this land.

I urge your prompt and favorable action on this measure.

Sincerely,

~“h

Mike Dunleavy
Governor
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