
Hearing scheduled no later than 4 months
after filing

Petitioner must serve notice of proceedings
to specific interested parties

Petitioner fills out forms and pays $75 fee

Court hearing

BECOMING A COURT
APPOINTED
GUARDIAN

"The decision to remove civil rights from an incapacitated
person by appointing a guardian for that person is one that
the courts do not take lightly. The process of getting
guardianship of another person is difficult, as it should be. The
protections afforded to the Respondent may seem like a
monumental hurdle to the Petitioner. However, the Petitioner
must keep in mind that it should not be simple to take away
rights. The protections that the statutes give to the
Respondent are merely those guaranteed by the Alaska and
U.S. constitutions. " - Disability Law Center, Guardianship in
Alaska

BECOMING A GUARDIAN IS SERIOUS.

Petitioner is responsible for retaining their own council or
representing themselves in hearing. It is a conflict of interest for

Respondent's attorney to assist Petitioner. 

Key Points in Process

The department will not authorize and pay for personal care
services provided by a personal care assistant (PCA) considered
a "legally responsible individual" (such as a spouse) unless that
individual is a court-appointed guardian to a ward and a court
authorizes the guardian to provide personal care services. 
(7 Alaska Admin. Code § 125.010)

Visitor writes evaluation report.  A new
report must be submitted every 3 years. 

Court appoints Visitor and Expert 

Petitioner's report is due 90 days after
guardianship is granted, annually thereafter

This infographic references statutes in AS 13.26
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https://www.dlcak.org/files/1215/7515/4957/GuardianshipinAK.pdf
http://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#13.26.291

