
 
 

 
 
 

Baxter | Cheney Lake | Chugach Foothills | Muldoon | Scenic Park | Stuckagain Heights 
 

Alaska House of Representatives 
Representative Liz Snyder Session: 

Alaska State Capitol 
Juneau, Alaska 99801 
(907) 465-3438 

Interim: 
1500 W. Benson Blvd. 
Juneau, Alaska 99801 

(907) 269-0100 

SECTIONAL ANALYSIS 
HB 292: HOME AND COMMUNITY-BASED WAIVER SERVICES 

 

Sec. 1: Amends AS 47.07.045(a) Home and community-based services for provisions in the section to 
apply also to Community First Choice and Medicaid personal care services programs.   

Sec. 2: Amends AS 47.07.045(a) Home and community-based services by: 
• Introducing a process in statute for reducing hours or payment for home and community-based 

services provided under 1915(k) state plan option and Medicaid personal care services that mirrors 
the process for terminating services.  

• Adding “and live independently” as a condition for terminating services. 
● Requiring the department to continue following notice requirements provided in later sections. 

 
Sec. 3: Amends AS 47.07.045(d) Home and community-based services by: 
• Moving definitions for “independent qualified health care professional” and “independent qualified 

waiver” to this section. It does not create any new definitions.  
• “Independent qualified health care professional” for an intellectual or developmental disability waiver 

is defined as a qualified intellectual disability professional under 42 C.F.R. 483.430.  
• For other allowable waivers, “Independent health care professional” is defined as a person who can 

provide personal care services under the 1915(k) state plan or a registered nurse with specific 
qualifications relevant to the waivers. 

 
Sec. 4: Adds a new subsection to AS 47.07.045 Home and community-based services that:  
• Establishes that once the department receives the results of an assessment they have 10 days to notify, 

in writing, the recipients or individuals with legal authority to act on the recipient’s behalf of the 
assessment results. 

• Establishes that after the department decides if there will be a change in levels of services or 
payments for services, they have 10 days after the decision is made to notify the recipient or 
individuals with legal authority to act on the recipient’s behalf of the decision. This notice must be 
done in writing and 30 days before the new determination goes into effect. The department must also 
inform them they have a right to appeal the decision. 

• Allows legally responsible persons to provide personal care services to an individual eligible for 
home and community-based services waivers and Community First Choice. 

 
Sec. 5: Adds a new section that creates a path for hours to be restored through the proposed reassessment 
process for recipients of care whose payment for services were reduced between January 1, 2019 and 
January 1, 2022.  

Sec. 6: Adds a new section to instruct the Department of Health and Social Services to amend and submit 
a state plan for medical services to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).   

Sec. 7: Makes section 5 retroactive to January 1, 2019.  



Sec. 8: Establishes the act will take effect only upon federal approval of the state plan for medical 
assistance, and that if approved, the Commissioner of the Department of Health and Social Services must 
notify the revisor of statute not later than 30 days after receiving notice. 

Sec. 9-10: Create two effective dates:   

• For sections 1 – 4, effective date will be the day after the revisor of statutes receives notification from 
the Commissioner of Health and Social Services of federal approval of state plan amendments.  

• Sections 5 and 7 take effect immediately upon passage  

 


