Alaska Regional Coalition

Representing 100 Communities

April 29, 2021

The Honorable Donny Olson Senator Alaska State Legislature Alaska State Capitol Juneau, Alaska 99801

Subject: Alaska Regional Coalition SUPPORT for SB81 VPSO Grants

Dear Senator Olson:

As the Alaska Regional Coalition, we write to offer support for SB81 Village Public Safety Officer Grants. Tribes and Tribal Organizations have a vested interest in working with the State to find the best solution to ensuring rural public safety through the VPSO Program – in fact, four of the five signatories on this letter administer the VPSO program in our respective regions.

We support the recommendations from the VPSO working group that helped frame this bill. We stand by as a resource and partner to ensure the success of the VPSO program.

Ana baasee', Gunalchéesh, Háw'aa, Quyana, for your work on this important issue.

Respectfully,

PJ Simon, Chief/Chairman **Tanana Chiefs Conference**

Melanie Bahnke, President/CEO Kawerak, Inc.

Tim Gilbert, President/CEO Maniilaq Assn.

Jan Vanderpool, Executive Director Chugachmiut

Richard Peterson, President Central Council Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska

The Alaska Regional Coalition is a consortium of four Alaska Native regional tribal nonprofits and one regional tribe – Tanana Chiefs Conference, Maniilaq, Kawerak, Chugachmiut, and Central Council Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska. We are all recognized by the U.S. Indian Self-Determination Act to provide medical, behavioral, social, public safety, workforce development, and judicial supports to the State of Alaska through contracts, compacts, and grants. The coalition represents 65,000 Alaskans and 100 communities from Ketchikan to Kotzebue.









