

## Support for SB23 Initiative Severability

March 9, 2021

Senator Mike Shower, Chair Senate State Affairs Committee Alaska State Legislature State Capitol Juneau, AK 99801

Dear Senator Shower and members of the Senate State Affairs Committee,

The Council of Alaska Producers (CAP) is writing to support Senate Bill 23, "An Act relating to proposing and enacting laws by initiative."

Formed in 1992, CAP is a non-profit trade association that works to inspire Alaskans to realize a shared goal of sustainable mineral production, providing economic and social benefits to our communities and the people of Alaska. CAP represents the interests of Alaska's five large metal mines and several advanced projects, informing members on legislative and regulatory issues, supporting and advancing the mining industry, and educating members, the media, and the general public on mining related issues.

SB23 would ensure that an initiative appearing on the ballot is identical to the one voters reviewed and signed during the signature gathering phase of the initiative process.

This is not a hypothetical issue. In August, 2018, the Alaska Supreme Court concluded in *Lieutenant Governor vs. Stand for Salmon* that the unconstitutional parts of the Stand for Salmon Initiative could be severed, preserving the remainder of the initiative to go before the voters in the November election.

Not only did this decision change what appeared on the ballot from what Alaskans signed, it also took away the legislature's ability to review that specific version of the initiative and enact substantially similar legislation if desired.

SB23 seeks to correct this deficiency and restore the right of voters to see the same language on the ballot that they supported with their signature. It also affirms the right of the legislature to consider initiatives, provide the Alaskan people with a thorough vetting process, and enact a substantially similar law if desired.

.../2

Thank you hearing this bill. We encourage the State Affairs Committee to pass it from committee quickly.

Sincerely,

Mathi

Karen Matthias Executive Director

cc: Senator Laura Reinbold, Vice Chair; Senator Mia Costello; Senator Roger Holland; Senator Scott Kawasaki, Senator Josh Revak, sponsor