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“An Act relating to the registration of commercial vessels, and providing for an effective date.’

SECTIONAL ANALYSIS
(Revised 5.3.21)

Section One
Amends AS 05.25.055(i) to exempt documented commercial vessels with a valid certificate of
documentation issued by the United States Coast Guard and a license issued by the Commercial
Fisheries Entry Commission, under AS 16.05.490 or AS 16.05.530, from the provision that
requires owners to register their vessel with the Division of Motor Vehicles.

Section Two
Adds a new section to AS 16.05.475, that assesses a new additional annual $8 registration fee for
documented vessels licensed with the Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission, beginning
January 1, 2022. This is in lieu of the current 3-year $24 fee collected by the Division of Motor
Vehicles at the time of registration or registration renewal.

The fee will be accounted for separately for as provided in AS 05.25.096(b), to be made
available for use by the Departments of Administration, Natural Resources and Commerce,
Community and Economic Development.

Section Three
Adds a new section to the uncodified law of the State of Alaska which requires the Commercial
Fisheries Entry Commission waive the $8 dollar registration fees for calendar year 2022 for
vessel owners that already paid the registration fee to the Division of Motor Vehicles for 2020.

Additionally, the commission will waive the $8 registration fee for both calendar year 2022 and
2023 if a vessel owner has paid their registration fee to the Division of Motor Vehicles in 2021.

This section ensures that as vessel owners’ transition to paying an extra $8 to register with the
Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission, that do not pay the Commission for the years they

have already registered for with the Division of Motor Vehicles.

Section Four



Alaska State Legislature

House Fisheries Committee

Representative Louise Stutes, Vice-Chair
Representative Jonathan Kreiss-Tomkins
Representative Andi Story

Representative Dan Ortiz

Representative Sarah Vance

Representative Kevin McCabe

Representative Geran Tarr, Chair
State Capitol, Room 128

Juneau, AK 99801

Phone: (907) 465-3424

Adds a new section to the uncodified law of Alaska to make section one of this act retroactive to
January 1, 2021.

Section Five
Establishes an immediate effective date for the remainder of the bill.



