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With an e-bike, bicyclists can ride more often, 
farther, and for more trips. 

Electric bicycles are designed to be as safe as traditional bicycles, do 
not compromise consumer safety, and benefit bicyclists who may be 
discouraged from riding a traditional bicycle due to limited physical 
fitness, age, disability or convenience.

» :LACOL  Consult your local land management agency.

» STATE: In Alaska State Parks, bicycles of all kinds are considered
vehicles in park regulations. In some parks, bicycles are called out
specifically if, where, and when they are allowed on trails, and eMTBs
would be as well. Contact the agency or local park rangers for more
information. PeopleForBikes is monitoring this policy and will update
this document as needed.

» :LAREDEF   On federal lands, eMTBs are considered motorized vehicles
and have access to motorized trails. The National Park Service, Fish and
Wildlife Service, Forest Service, and Bureau of Land Management
manage 60% of Alaska’s land, with most recreation on Forest Service
lands. Contact the U.S. Forest Service Alaska Regional Office for
 more information.

ALASKA’S E-BIKE LAW FOR TRAILS 
»  On federal, state, county and local trails, e-mountain bike (eMTB) access

varies significantly.

» Generally, any natural surface trail that is designated as open to both
motorized and non-motorized uses is also open to eMTBs.

» eMTBs may not be allowed on trails managed for non-motorized activities.

» ediR .raelcnu era selur lacol eht erehw saera ni BTMe ruoy edir ton oD 
legally and only on authorized trails to show that mountain bikers are
responsible trail users.

» cfiiceps ot ssecca tuoba reganam dnal lacol ruoy ksa ,tbuod ni nehW 
trails. Local land rules change frequently.

eMTB GUIDELINES

» White Mountains Winter Tour
Fairbanks | 100 miles

» Yakutat Area Trails
Yakutat | 13 miles

GREAT eMTB RIDES IN ALASKA

ALASKA’S E-BIKE LAW FOR THE ROAD
» In Alaska, an e-bike is defined as a “motor-driven cycle.” A

motor-driven cycle, e-bikes are not subject to the same rules of
the road as traditional bicycles.

» E-bike riders must carry an operator’s license. E-bikes are not
subject to registration or insurance requirements.

» Helmets are not required. There is a 14 year age minimum for e-bike

* The following Alaska laws are referenced: Alaska Stat. § 28.90.990.

Learn more at PeopleForBikes.org/e-bikes 
»  Blogs and webinars

»  E-bike laws around the country

»  E-bike statistics and research

»  Buying guide

»  Retailer materials

»  eMTB management resources

» A map of great eMTB rides at peopleforbikes.org/emtb

» eMTB “Adventures” at peopleforbikes.org/e-bikes

CHECK OUT
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In many states, e-bikes are regulated under antiquated laws 
primarily aimed at combustion engine vehicles such as mopeds or 
scooters. PeopleForBikes is clarifying state laws governing the use of 
e-bikes in the U.S. Every state’s law is different, but the objective is 
to ensure that low-speed e-bikes are regulated similarly to 
traditional, human-powered bicycles.


