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Concepts for HB 4005

 Lessons from 2017

 Spreading burden among all who benefit from public 

services

 Getting comfortable with a sales tax

 Who pays and how soon

 Deductions

 Management 



Lessons from 2017

House Majority passes 4-part Fiscal 

Plan

Zero support from Senate Majority 

leads to failure

Governor must support proposals 

forwarded by legislature 



Do you want only Alaskans to

contribute to public services? No!

 Everyone who use benefits from public services should have a 
way to contribute

 Population of Alaska (733,000) is a medium size city in lower 48

 Denver, Seattle, San Francisco, Indianapolis, Charlotte, 
Columbus, Jacksonville, Fort Worth, and Austin are all around 
or more than our entire population of 733,000

 Very large state (2.5 times the size of Texas, the next largest 
state and Texas, California, and Montana combined are all 
smaller than Alaska)

 20% of workforce is out of state residents and 2.26 million 
visitors (2019)



Getting Comfortable with a Sales Tax 

 45 other states have statewide sales and use tax

 21 with Democratic Governors

 24 with Republican Governors

 Alaskans spend more on domestic travel than residents of any other state

 Hawaii – 4% GET plus legislature authorized counties to collect surcharge 

 City and County of Honolulu: 0.5% effective January 1, 2007 to 
December 31, 2030

 HONOLULU (KHON2) — Counties are poised to increase hotel room 
taxes up to 3%. It is a move that affects not just visitors, but also many 
Hawaii residents. Tourism experts said Hawaii hotels already add 15% in 
taxes to the hotel room rates. That will soon go up to 18%. (Jul 8, 2021)



Who Pays, How Soon
ITEM WHO PAYS HOW MUCH HOW SOON

Alaskans Out of State 
Workers

Tourists Businesses/Oil 
Companies

Oil Tax X 2% increase in
minimum tax to total

up to $200 million 

Could be adjusted
immediately or on

calendar year – Jan.
1, 2022

Income Tax X X Several proposals Likely earliest would
be Jan. 1, 2022 and
revenue by July 1,

2023 

Sales Tax X X X X $300 Million Likely July 1, 2022

Fuel Tax X X X X $60 million total,
individually 10,000 miles/year with 

25 mpg car would be $32 

Immediately Adjust

Corporate Income Tax X At least $30 million if loophole 
closed

Immediately

Cigarette Vape Tax X X X Small Dollar Amount Immediately

Alcohol Tax X X X Small Dollar Amount

Gambling X X X Has to be legal first

Permanent Fund X 5% POMV Split with Dividend New law this year, 
constitutional 

amendments Fall 2022



Exemptions

 Don’t want to disproportionately burden rural communities and low-

income families 

 Exempt basic essentials

 Food from grocery store

 Medicine, including medical services, drugs, durable medical 

equipment, mobility enhancing equipment, and prosthetic devices

 Child care services

 Feminine hygiene products (No Period tax!) 



Exemptions

 Some deductions must be included

 State can’t tax feds

 State or an instrumentality of the state

 Others included could be considered or expanded 

 Financial services

 Non-profits (now just 501(c)(3) (there are 29 501(c) categories)



Management (new version)

Municipalities and Boroughs levy the tax, 

collects it and remits to state

Exemptions for local sales and use tax can be 

different from state 

Needs to be reauthorized every 7 years 



One part of a seven-part Fiscal Plan 
REVENUE GENERATION:

 HJR 7: The constitutional amendment protecting the Permanent Fund by changing to the percent of market value 
(POMV) management, limiting the annual draw to 5%, and saying there shall be a dividend as provided by law 
(introduced by Governor Dunleavy on February 18, 2021).

 HB 73: Legislation that establishes a 50/50 split between government expenditures and dividends for the annual draw 
(introduced by Governor Dunleavy on February 18, 2021).

 HB 104: Legislation that increases the base tax rate per gallon for four separate motor fuels (8 cents for highway, 5 
cents for marine, 4.7 cents for aviation, and 3.2 cents for jet, introduced by Representative Josephson on February 19, 
2021).

 HB 130: Legislation that closes tax loopholes in Alaska’s corporate income tax structure (introduced by Representative 
Wool on March 10, 2021).

NEW LEGISLATION:

 HB 4004: Legislation that increases the minimum tax on oil and gas from 4% to 6%, suspends all other components of 
the oil and gas tax until December 31, 2024, (introduced by Representative Tarr on August 30, 2021).

 HB 4005: Legislation establishing a sales tax which exempts food for groceries, heating oil, health care services 
(including services at a health care facility, drugs, durable medical equipment, mobility enhancing equipment, and 
prosthetic devices, childcare services, feminine hygiene products), among other exemptions (introduced by 
Representative Tarr on August 30, 2021).

BUDGET REDUCTIONS:

 Address five major public health and public safety crisis of child abuse, domestic violence, sexual assault, mental 
health, and substance misuse



Impact to Alaskans – 2% general

sales and use tax
In terms of the impact to Alaskans, here are some estimates –

PFD $2350 per person (50/50 plan)

Fuel Tax - $32 for every 10,000 miles driven in a car with 25 mpg

Sales Tax - $200 for every $10,000 in spending on taxable items

Total = $2118 after paying taxes

Double the tax burden -

PFD $2350 per person (50/50 plan)

Fuel Tax - $64 for every 20,000 miles driven in a car with 25 mpg

Sales Tax - $400 for every $20,000 in spending on taxable items

Total = $1886 after paying taxes 

Hypothetical family of four is better off by $4,450 with sales tax, does not children 



Other Considerations

 Is state management necessary?

Lessons learned since 2015 and online sales tax – Nils 

Andreassen of AML to speak to this issue 

Should all 501(c) organizations be exempt?

29 different categories- did not change in this version 

Volunteer fire departments (could be (c)(3) or (c)(4)

Veteran organizations (c)(23)




