## HB 3006 – Statewide Sales and Use Tax

REP. GERAN TARR

### Concepts for HB 3006

- Lessons from 2017
- Spreading burden among all who benefit from public services
- Getting comfortable with a sales tax
  - Who pays and how soon
  - Deductions
  - Management

#### Lessons from 2017

► House Majority passes 4 part Fiscal Plan

Zero support from Senate Majority leads to failure

Governor must support proposals forwarded by legislature

# Do you want only Alaskans to contribute to public services?

#### NO!

- Everyone who use benefits from public services should have a way to contribute
- ▶ Population of Alaska (733,000) is a medium size city in lower 48
- Denver, Seattle, San Francisco, Indianapolis, Charlotte, Columbus, Jacksonville, Fort Worth, and Austin are all around or more than our entire population of 733,000
- Very large state (2.5 times the size of Texas, the next largest state and Texas, California, and Montana combined are all smaller than Alaska)
- 20% of workforce is out of state residents and 2.26 million visitors (2019)

## Getting Comfortable with a Sales Tax

- ▶ 45 other states have statewide sales and use tax
  - ▶ 21 with Democratic Governors
  - ▶ 24 with Republican Governors
- Alaskans spend more on domestic travel than residents of any other state
  - ► Hawaii 4% GET plus legislature authorized counties to collect surcharge
  - City and County of Honolulu: 0.5% effective January 1, 2007 to December 31, 2030
  - ▶ HONOLULU (KHON2) Counties are poised to increase hotel room taxes up to 3%. It is a move that affects not just visitors, but also many Hawaii residents. Tourism experts said Hawaii hotels already add 15% in taxes to the hotel room rates. That will soon go up to 18%. (Jul 8, 2021)

## Who pays, how soon

vitto pays, now soon						
ITEM	WHO PAYS				HOW MUCH	HOW SOON
	Alaskans	Out of State Workers	Tourists	Businesses/oil companies		
Oil Tax				X	2% increase in minimum tax to total up to \$200 million	Could be adjusted immediately or on calendar year – Jan. 1, 2022
Income tax	X	X			Several proposals	Likely earliest would be Jan. 1, 2022 and revenue by July 1, 2023
Sales tax	X	X	X	X	\$300 million	Likely July 1, 2022
Fuel tax	X	X	X	X	\$60 million total, individually 10,000 miles/year with 25 mpg car would be \$32	Immediately adjust
Corporate income tax				X	At least \$30 million if loophole closed	Immediately
Cigarette vape tax	X	X	X		Small dollar amount	Immediately
Alcohol tax	Χ	X	X		Small dollar amount	
Gambling	Χ	X	X			Has to be legal first
Permanent Fund	X				5% POMV split with dividend	New law this year, constitutional

amendments Fall

2022

### Exemptions

Don't want to disproportionately burden rural communities and low income families

- Exempt basic essentials
  - ► Food from grocery store
  - Medicine, including medical services, drugs, durable medical equipment, mobility enhancing equipment, and prosthetic devices
  - Child care services
  - Feminine hygiene products (No Period tax!)

### Exemptions

- Some deductions must be included
  - State can tax feds
  - State or an instrumentality of the state (including Tribes)
- Others included could be considered or expanded
  - ► Financial services
  - Non-profits (now just 501(c)(3) (there are 29 501(c) categories)

### Management

- Bill envisions streamlined approach for general sales and use tax
- Municipalities and Boroughs levy the tax and state collects it and distributes to them
- Harmonize exemptions
  - ▶ Need to consider in terms of revenue impacts

## Management

- Title 28 Motor Vehicles
- ► Title 29 Municipal Government
- ▶ Title 43 Revenue and Taxation
  - ► Chapter 44 General Sales and Use Tax
    - ► Article 1. Levy and Collection of the Tax
    - Article 2. Exemptions
    - Article 3. Credits, Tax Collection and Payment, Seller's Permit, Resale Exemption
    - Article 4. General Provisions

### One part of a seven part Fiscal Plan

#### **REVENUE GENERATION:**

- ▶ <u>HJR 7</u>: The constitutional amendment protecting the Permanent Fund by changing to the percent of market value (POMV) management, limiting the annual draw to 5%, and saying there shall be a dividend as provided by law (introduced by Governor Dunleavy on February 18, 2021).
- <u>HB 73</u>: Legislation that establishes a 50/50 split between government expenditures and dividends for the annual draw (introduced by Governor Dunleavy on February 18, 2021).
- <u>HB 104</u>: Legislation that increases the base tax rate per gallon for four separate motor fuels (8 cents for highway, 5 cents for marine, 4.7 cents for aviation, and 3.2 cents for jet, introduced by Representative Josephson on February 19, 2021).
- ► <u>HB 130</u>: Legislation that closes tax loopholes in Alaska's corporate income tax structure (introduced by Representative Wool on March 10, 2021).

#### **NEW LEGISLATION:**

- ▶ <u>HB 3005:</u> Legislation that increases the minimum tax on oil and gas from 4% to 6%, suspends all other components of the oil and gas tax until December 31, 2024, (introduced by Representative Tarr on August 30, 2021).
- <u>HB 3006:</u> Legislation establishing a sales tax which exempts food for groceries, heating oil, health care services (including services at a health care facility, drugs, durable medical equipment, mobility enhancing equipment, and prosthetic devices, childcare services, feminine hygiene products), among other exemptions (introduced by Representative Tarr on August 30, 2021).

#### **BUDGET REDUCTIONS:**

 Address five major public health and public safety crisis of child abuse, domestic violence, sexual assault, mental health, and substance misuse

# Impact to Alaskans – 2% general sales and use tax

In terms of the impact to Alaskans, here are some estimates —

```
PFD $2350 per person (50/50 plan)
```

Fuel Tax - \$32 for every 10,000 miles driven in a car with 25 mpg

Sales Tax - <u>\$200 for every \$10,000 in spending on taxable items</u>

Total = \$2118 after paying taxes

Double the tax burden -

PFD \$2350 per person (50/50 plan)

Fuel Tax - \$64 for every 20,000 miles driven in a car with 25 mpg

Sales Tax - <u>\$400 for every \$20,000 in spending on taxable items</u>

Total = \$1886 after paying taxes

#### Other Considerations

- ▶ Is state management necessary?
  - Lessons learned since 2015 and online sales tax

- Should all 501(c) organizations be exempt?
  - ▶ 29 different categories
    - ▶ Volunteer fire departments (could be (c)(3) or (c)(4)
    - Veteran organizations (c) (23)

# Thank you!