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PRINCIPLES OF
SOUND TAX POLICY

As a nonpartisan, educational organization, the Tax
Foundation has earned a reputation for independence
and credibility. All Tax Foundation research is guided by
the principles of sound tax policy, which should serve as
touchstones for policymakers and taxpayers everywhere.

SIMPLICITY: Tax codes should be easy for taxpayers
to comply with and for governments to administer and
enforce.

TRANSPARENCY: Tax policies should clearly and plainly
define what taxpayers must pay and when they must pay
it. Disguising tax burdens in complex structures should be
avoided. Additionally, any changes to the tax code should
be made with careful consideration, input, and open
hearings.

NEUTRALITY: Taxes should neither encourage nor
discourage personal or business decisions. The purpose

of taxes is to raise needed revenue, not to favor or punish
specific industries, activities, and products. Minimizing tax
preferences broadens the tax base, so that the government
can raise sufficient revenue with lower rates.

STABILITY: Taxpayers deserve consistency and
predictability in the tax code. Governments should avoid
enacting temporary tax laws, including tax holidays,
amnesties, and retroactive changes.

Visit taxfoundation.org for data, research, analysis, and
commentary on important tax issues.

CONNECT:
Bl facebook.com/taxfoundation
B @taxfoundation
M linkedin.com/company/tax-foundation
B taxfoundation.org/subscribe
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Taxes & Tax Measures TABLE 1.

Tax Freedom Day by State
Calendar Year 2019

Tax Freedom Tax Freedom
State Day Rank  State Day Rank
U.S. April 16 Mont. April 6 8
Ala. April 5 5 Nebr. April 12 24
Alaska March 25 1 Nev. April 18 33
Ariz. April 9 14 N.H. April 19 35
Ark. April 8 12 N.J. April 30 49
Calif. April 20 38 N.M. April 8 12
Colo. April 14 26 N.Y. May 3 50
Conn. April 25 46 N.C. April 11 22
Del. April 12 24 N.D. April 21 41
Fla. April 4 3 Ohio April 14 26
Ga. April 7 10 Okla. March 30 2
Hawaii April 23 43 Ore. April 18 33
Idaho April 6 8 Pa. April 16 30
. April 24 45 R.I. April 25 46
Ind. April 9 14 S.C. April 10 19
lowa April 15 28 S.D. April 7 10
Kans. April 15 28 Tenn. April 5 5
Ky. April 10 19 Tex. April 5 5
La. April 4 8 Utah April 11 22
Maine April 20 38 Vt. April 22 42
Md. April 19 35 Va. April 16 30
Mass. April 23 43 Wash. April 20 38
Mich. April 16 30 W.Va. April 10 19
Minn. April 25 46 Wis. April 19 35
Miss. April 9 14 Wyo. April 9 14
Mo. April 9 14 D.C. May 3 (50)

Note: Tax Freedom Day represents how long into the year Americans work
before they have earned enough money to pay all federal, state, and local
taxes for the year. D.C!s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure
in parentheses indicates where it would rank if included.

Source: Tax Freedom Day 2019, which is based on data from the U.S.
Bureau of Economic Analysis.



TABLE 2. Taxes & Tax Measures

State-Local Tax Burdens per
Capita & as a Percentage of
Income

Fiscal Year 2019

State-Local Tax

Burden as a Share Total Tax Burden
State of State Income  Rank (per Capita)
uU.s. 10.3% $5,755
Ala. 9.0% 13 $3,893
Alaska 5.8% 1 $3,605
Ariz. 8.7% 6 $3,926
Ark. 10.4% 34 $4,581
Calif. 11.5% 43 $7,529
Colo. 9.4% 17 $5,677
Conn. 12.8% 49 $9,705
Del. 10.3% 83 $5,550
Fla. 8.8% 8 $4,555
Ga. 8.9% 10 $4,221
Hawaii 12.7% 48 $7,144
Idaho 9.6% 20 $4,336
1l 11.1% 41 $6,450
Ind. 8.9% 12 $4,289
lowa 10.8% 38 $5,499
Kans. 10.1% 29 $5,292
Ky. 9.9% 26 $4,279
La. 9.2% 15 $4,292
Maine 11.0% 39 $5,492
Md. 11.8% 45 $7,539
Mass. 10.5% 36 $7,658
Mich. 10.0% 28 $4,841
Minn. 12.1% 46 $7,001
Miss. 9.5% 18 $3,654
Mo. 9.2% 16 $4,431
Mont. 10.1% 30 $4,956
Nebr. 10.3% 32 $5,548
Nev. 9.7% 22 $4,895
N.H. 9.7% 23 $6,090
N.J. 11.7% 44 $8,134
N.M. 8.8% 7 $3,736
N.Y. 14.1% 50 $9,987

N.C. 9.5% 19 $4,490



Taxes & Tax Measures TABLE 2, Cont.

State-Local Tax Burdens per
Capita & as a Percentage of
Income

Fiscal Year 2019

State-Local Tax

Burden as a Share Total Tax Burden
State of State Income  Rank (per Capita)
N.D. 8.9% 9 $4,996
Ohio 10.3% 31 $5,107
Okla. 8.2% 5 $3,841
Ore. 11.1% 40 $5,809
Pa. 10.4% 35 $5,970
R.I. 11.4% 42 $6,334
S.C. 8.9% 11 $4,000
S.D. 9.1% 14 $4,855
Tenn. 7.0% 3 $3,368
Tex. 8.0% 4 $4,143
Utah 9.6% 21 $4,636
Vt. 12.3% 47 $6,693
Va. 10.0% 27 $5,854
Wash. 9.8% 24 $6,245
W.Va. 9.9% 25 $4,114
Wis. 10.7% 37 $5,632
Wyo. 7.0% 2 $4,282
D.C. 10.1% (29) $8,261

Note: Payments made to out-of-state governments are tallied in
taxpayer’s state of residence where possible. D.C.'s rank does not affect
states’ ranks, but the figure in parentheses indicates where it would rank
if included. See table 43 for people per household by state.

Source: Tax Foundation, State-Local Tax Burden Rankings FY 2019.



TABLE 3. Taxes & Tax Measures

2021 State Business Tax
Climate Index

As of July 1, 2020

Ranking on Five Component Taxes

Overall Ind.

Index Corp. Income Sales Unemp. Prop.
State Rank Tax Tax Tax Ins. Tax Tax
Ala. 41 23 30 50 14 19
Alaska 3 26 1 5 45 22
Ariz. 24 22 17 40 8 11
Ark. 45 34 41 46 23 25
Calif. 49 28 49 45 21 14
Colo. 21 10 14 36 41 32
Conn. 47 27 44 26 22 50
Del. 13 50 42 2 g 4
Fla. 4 6 1 21 2 13
Ga. 31 7 36 27 39 24
Hawaii 38 18 47 30 25 9
Idaho 20 29 26 9 48
1l 36 36 13 38 43 48
Ind. 9 i3} 15 20 27 2
lowa 40 46 40 14 37 38
Kans. 85! 31! 24 37 il 30
Ky. 19 19 18 13 49 21
La. 42 35 32 49 4 23
Maine 29 37 22 8 33 40
Md. 44 33 45 18 34 43
Mass. 34 38 11 12 50 44
Mich. 14 20 12 10 18 35
Minn. 46 45 46 28 32 31
Miss. 32 12 27 32 5 37
Mo. 12 3 23 24 7 8
Mont. 5 21 25 8 20 28
Nebr. 28 32 21 15 11 41
Nev. 7 25 5 44 47 5
N.H. 6 41 9 1 44 47

N.J. 50 48 50 42 31 46



Taxes & Tax Measures TABLE 3, cont.

2021 State Business Tax Climate
Index

As of July 1, 2020

Ranking on Five Component Taxes

Overall Ind.
Index Corp. Income Sales Unemp. Prop.
State Rank Tax Tax Tax Ins. Tax Tax
N.M. 23 9 31 41 9 1
N.Y. 48 15 48 43 38 45
N.C. 10 4 16 22 10 26
N.D. 17 8 20 29 12 12
Ohio 39 42 43 34 6 6
Okla. 30 11 33 39 1 29
Ore. 15 49 38 4 36 16
Pa. 27 43 19 17 40 15
R.I. 37 39 29 25 30 42
S, 33 5 34 31 24 34
S.D. 2 1 1 33 42 20
Tenn. 18 24 8 47 26 33
Tex. 11 47 6 35 16 36
Utah 8 14 10 23 17 7
Vit. 43 44 39 16 15 49
Va. 26 16 35 11 46 27
Wash. 16 40 6 48 19 18
W.Va. 22 17 28 19 28 10
Wis. 25 30 37 7 35 17
Wyo. 1 1 1 6 29 39
D.C. (46) (17)  (45) (34) (37) (49)

Note: The State Business Tax Climate Index measures how each state’s

tax laws affect economic performance. A rank of 1 means the state’s tax
system is more favorable for business; a rank of 50 means the state’s tax
system is less favorable for business. Component rankings do not average
to the total. States without a given tax rank equally as number 1. D.C.'s
rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in parentheses indicates
where it would rank if included.

Source: Tax Foundation, 2021 State Business Tax Climate Index.



TABLE 4. Taxes & Tax Measures

State Tax Collections per Capita
Fiscal Year 2019

Collections Collections

State per Capita Rank State per Capita Rank
u.s. $3,141 Mont. $2,965 31
Ala. $2,361 42 Nebr. $2,975 30
Alaska $2,434 41 Nev. $3,164 25
Ariz. $2,495 40 N.H. $2,184 46
Ark. $3,386 19 N.J. $4,373 10
Calif. $4,764 6 N.M. $3,542 14
Colo. $2,756 35 N.Y. $4,710 8
Conn. $5,047 4 N.C. $2,795 33
Del. $4,719 7 N.D. $6,521 1
Fla. $2,086 50 Ohio $2,579 38
Ga. $2,328 43 Okla. $2,712 37
Hawaii $5,797 2 Ore. $3,310 24
Idaho $2,733 36 Pa. $3,369 20
. $3,354 22 R.I. $3,515 15
Ind. $2,996 29 S.C. $2,179 47
lowa $3,355 21 S.D. $2,193 44
Kans. $3,443 17 Tenn. $2,171 48
Ky. $2,886 32 Tex. $2,184 45
La. $2,527 39 Utah $3,109 26
Maine $3,477 16 Vit. $5,495 3
Md. $3,905 11 Va. $3,080 27
Mass. $4,614 9 Wash. $3,676 12
Mich. $3,031 28 W.Va. $3,313 23
Minn. $4,996 5 Wis. $3,442 18
Miss. $2,785 34 Wyo. $3,647 13
Mo. $2,148 49

Note: D.C. is included only in combined state and local data; see Table 6.
See Table 43 for people per household by state.

Sources: U.S. Census Bureau, “Annual Survey of State Government Tax
Collections”; Tax Foundation calculations.



Taxes & Tax Measures TABLE 5.

State Revenue per Capita
Fiscal Year 2019

Revenue per Revenue per

State Capita Rank State Capita Rank
U.s. $6,708 Mont. $6,903 22
Ala. $6,159 33 Nebr. $5,613 40
Alaska $11,893 1 Nev. $5,451 43
Ariz. $5,670 38 N.H. $5,569 41
Ark. $7,344 18 N.J. $7,933 16
Calif. $8,517 11 N.M. $9,810

Colo. $5,558 42 N.Y. $9,463 8
Conn. $8,697 10 N.C. $5,675 37
Del. $10,014 5 N.D. $11,165 2
Fla. $4,314 50 Ohio $6,133 34
Ga. $4,459 49 Okla. $6,042 35
Hawaii ~ $10,112 4 Ore. $8,262 13
Idaho $5,263 44 Pa. $7,291 19
. $5,869 36 R.I. $8,267 12
Ind. $6,345 32 S.C. $5,661 39
lowa $8,208 14 S.D. $5,019 47
Kans. $6,911 21 Tenn. $4,549 48
Ky. $6,866 24 Tex. $5,046 46
La. $6,568 30 Utah $6,638 28
Maine $6,868 23 Vit $10,326 3
Md. $7,259 20 Va. $6,505 31
Mass. $8,899 9 Wash. $6,843 25
Mich. $6,807 26 W.Va. $7,701 17
Minn. $8,106 15 Wis. $6,672 27
Miss. $6,630 29 Wyo. $9,547 7
Mo. $5,108 45

Note: “Revenue” refers to the U.S. Census Bureau'’s General Revenue
classification. This measure includes taxes, fees, licenses, and
intergovernmental revenue but excludes revenue from government
enterprises such as utilities and liquor stores, as well as insurance trust
revenue. D.C. is included only in combined state and local data. See Table
43 for people per household by state.

Sources: U.S. Census Bureau, “Annual Survey of State Government
Finances”; Tax Foundation calculations.



TABLE 6. Taxes & Tax Measures

State & Local Tax Collections per
Capita
Fiscal Year 2018

Collections Collections
State per Capita Rank  State per Capita Rank
u.s. $5,392 Mont. $4,263 83
Ala. $3,527 49 Nebr. $5,364 17
Alaska $4,817 26 Nev. $4,698 27
Ariz. $3,824 46 N.H. $5,272 18
Ark. $4,135 36 N.J. $7,423 4
Calif. $6,813 7 N.M. $4,134 37
Colo. $5,242 19 N.Y. $9,829 1
Conn. $8,494 2 N.C. $4,071 39
Del. $5,525 15 N.D. $7,611 S
Fla. $3,958 42 Ohio $4,640 28
Ga. $3,898 43 Okla. $3,850 45
Hawaii $7,332 5 Ore. $4,959 25
Idaho $3,860 44 Pa. $5,466 16
1. $5,946 11 R.I. $5,789 13
Ind. $4,091 38 S.C. $3,705 48
lowa $5,160 21 S.D. $4,327 32
Kans. $5,185 20 Tenn. $3,286 50
Ky. $3,974 40 Tex. $4,481 29
La. $4,378 31 Utah $4,147 35
Maine $5,540 14 Vit. $6,349 10
Md. $6,527 8 Va. $4,994 24
Mass. $7,006 6 Wash. $5,817 12
Mich. $4,424 30 W.Va. $4,165 34
Minn. $6,418 9 Wis. $5,017 23
Miss. $3,767 47 Wyo. $5,064 22
Mo. $3,970 41 D.C. $11,311 (1)

Note: D.C!s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in
parentheses indicates where it would rank if included. See Table 43 for
people per household by state.

Sources: U.S. Census Bureau, “Annual Survey of State and Local
Government Finances”; Tax Foundation calculations.



Taxes & Tax Measures TABLE 7.

State & Local Revenue per
Capita
Fiscal Year 2018

Collections Collections
State per Capita Rank  State per Capita Rank
u.s. $10,071 Mont. $9,228 26
Ala. $8,508 39 Nebr. $9,574 23
Alaska  $15,630 2 Nev. $8,261 42
Ariz. $7,662 47 N.H. $9,005 32
Ark. $8,652 37 N.J. $11,628 10
Calif. $12,657 5 N.M. $10,610 18
Colo. $9,731 21 N.Y. $16,163 1
Conn. $12,239 7 N.C. $8,474 40
Del. $11,324 11 N.D. $13,769 4
Fla. $7,816 46 Ohio $9,222 27
Ga. $7,241 49 Okla. $8,013 45
Hawaii ~ $12,604 6  Ore. $11,042 15
Idaho $7,363 48 Pa. $10,193 19
1. $9,768 20 R.I. $11,061 14
Ind. $8,709 36 S.C. $8,786 34
lowa $11,243 12 S.D. $8,168 43
Kans. $9,729 22 Tenn. $6,983 50
Ky. $8,611 38 Tex. $8,293 41
La. $9,385 25 Utah $8,749 35
Maine $9,493 24 Vit. $11,960 8
Md. $10,743 17 Va. $9,126 30
Mass. $11,908 9  Wash. $10,992 16
Mich. $9,164 28 W.Va. $9,151 29
Minn. $11,154 13 Wis. $8,938 33
Miss. $9,056 il Wyo. $14,838 3
Mo. $8,099 44 D.C. $19,169 (1)

Note: “Revenue” refers to the U.S. Census Bureau's General Revenue
classification. This measure includes revenue such as taxes, fees, licenses,
and intergovernmental revenue but excludes revenue from government
enterprises such as utilities and liquor stores, as well as insurance trust
revenue. D.C!s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in
parentheses indicates where it would rank if included. See Table 43 for
people per household by state.

Sources: U.S. Census Bureau, “Annual Survey of State and Local
Government Finances”; Tax Foundation calculations.



TABLE 8. Taxes & Tax Measures

Sources of State & Local Tax
Collections, Percentage of Total
from Each Source

Fiscal Year 2018

Other
General Individual Corporate Taxes

State Property Sales Income Income (a)
U.S. 31.1% 23.3% 24.2% 32%  18.1%
Ala. 16.9% 30.5% 23.4% 34%  25.9%
Alaska 45.6% 6.9% 0.0% 5.5%  37.6%
Avriz. 29.4% 40.5% 16.6% 1.4%  13.3%
Ark. 18.8% 37.8% 23.0% 3.1%  17.4%
Calif. 24.7% 19.7% 35.4% 4.6% 15.0%
Colo. 30.8% 26.7% 25.2% 22%  14.3%
Conn. 36.6% 14.9% 32.1% 2.6% 12.5%
Del. 16.8% 0.0% 31.0% 49%  49.2%
Fla. 34.8% 38.3% 0.0% 29%  24.2%
Ga. 30.9% 23.9% 28.4% 25%  14.4%
Hawaii 18.5% 36.7% 23.3% 1.4%  20.7%
Idaho 26.5% 26.6% 27.2% 3.6% 17.2%
111, 38.3% 18.4% 20.2% 34%  19.7%
Ind. 25.3% 28.5% 23.6% 2.6%  16.8%
lowa 33.0% 22.2% 24.6% 2.7%  18.0%
Kans. 30.9% 29.6% 22.6% 29%  14.7%
Ky. 21.3% 20.3% 33.9% 3.9%  21.1%
La. 20.4% 42.3% 15.9% 1.8%  20.4%
Maine 40.6% 20.6% 21.6% 2.5%  15.1%
Md. 25.9% 12.0% 37.8% 2.6%  21.5%
Mass. 36.6% 13.5% 33.8% 50% 11.5%
Mich. 33.1% 22.3% 24.5% 2.5% 17.3%
Minn. 25.7% 16.9% 33.0% 3.8%  20.9%
Miss. 28.2% 31.7% 16.5% 3.9% 19.9%
Mo. 27.0% 27.4% 28.5% 1.7%  15.6%

Mont. 40.1% 0.0% 28.8% 3.9%  27.7%



Taxes & Tax Measures TABLE 8, cont.

Sources of State & Local Tax
Collections, Percentage of Total
from Each Source

Fiscal Year 2018

Other
General Individual Corporate Taxes

State Property Sales Income Income (a)
Nebr. 37.5% 22.5% 22.9% 3.0%  13.6%
Nev. 22.2% 41.3% 0.0% 0.0%  36.4%
N.H. 63.8% 0.0% 1.5% 11.1%  22.8%
N.J. 45.5% 15.9% 22.8% 34%  11.7%
N.M. 20.1% 37.3% 14.5% 1.1%  25.2%
N.Y. 30.8% 16.6% 34.7% 54%  13.2%
N.C. 24.4% 26.2% 29.8% 1.8%  17.9%
N.D. 21.7% 20.1% 6.4% 1.9%  45.5%
Ohio 29.2% 26.8% 26.7% 0.5%  17.2%
Okla. 20.0% 32.7% 23.0% 1.5% 22.4%
Ore. 31.4% 0.0% 42.8% 43%  22.2%
Pa. 29.0% 17.0% 25.9% 42%  22.9%
R.I 42.0% 17.1% 21.7% 1.9%  16.5%
S.C. 32.7% 21.1% 23.5% 23%  18.8%
S.D. 36.6% 39.3% 0.0% 0.9%  22.5%
Tenn. 24.3% 40.7% 1.1% 74%  24.7%
Tex. 44.0% 34.5% 0.0% 0.0%  20.7%
Utah 25.8% 23.9% 30.5% 3.1%  16.8%
Vit. 43.1% 10.4% 20.7% 2.8%  23.6%
Va. 34.0% 13.0% 33.2% 2.0%  18.0%
Wash. 28.3% 36.4% 0.0% 0.0%  25.6%
W.Va. 22.8% 18.1% 26.0% 1.5%  30.0%
Wis. 33.5% 20.2% 28.0% 3.1%  15.5%
Wyo. 39.7% 26.5% 0.0% 0.0%  31.8%
D.C. 33.1% 18.8% 26.0% 7.2%  15.3%

(a) “Other Taxes” include excise taxes (such as those on alcohol, tobacco,
motor vehicles, utilities, and licenses), severance taxes, stock transfer
taxes, estate and gift taxes, and other miscellaneous taxes.

Note: Percentages may not add to 100 due to rounding.

Sources: U.S. Census Bureau, “Annual Survey of State and Local
Government Finances”; Tax Foundation calculations.



TABLE 9. Taxes & Tax Measures

Federal Aid as a Percentage of
State General Revenue

Fiscal Year 2018

Fed. Aid as a Fed. Aid as a
Percentage Percentage
of General of General
State Revenue Rank  State Revenue Rank
uU.s. 22.5% Mont. 44.4% 2
Ala. 35.8% 15 Nebr. 30.9% 32
Alaska 42.3% 4 Nev. 32.7% 25
Ariz. 40.8% 7 N.H. 31.6% 29
Ark. 36.6% 13 N.J. 25.9% 42
Calif. 30.9% 31 N.M. 41.4% 6
Colo. 30.2% 36 NY. 36.0% 14
Conn. 23.6% 46 N.C. 32.9% 24
Del. 27.5% 40 N.D. 21.9% 47
Fla. 30.5% 34 Ohio 34.5% 16
Ga. 33.7% 19 Okla. 31.5% 30
Hawaii 21.3% 48 Ore. 32.5% 26
Idaho 30.6% 33 Pa. 33.3% 20
1. 30.2% 37 R.I 33.2% 22
Ind. 37.0% 11 S.C. 34.2% 17
lowa 25.1% 45 S.D. 33.3% 21
Kans. 21.1% 49 Tenn. 38.8% 9
Ky. 40.7% 8 Tex. 31.9% 28
La. 45.1% 1 Utah 25.3% 44
Maine 33.8% 18 Vit. 33.1% 23
Md. 30.3% 35 Va. 20.0% 50
Mass. 28.3% 38 Wash. 27.7% 39
Mich. 32.0% 27 W.Va. 36.7% 12
Minn. 26.0% 41 Wis. 25.6% 43
Miss. 42.6% 8 Wyo. 42.1% 5
Mo. 38.0% 10

Note: Figures are calculated by dividing each state’s “Federal
Intergovernmental Revenue” by its “General Revenue.” “Federal
Intergovernmental Revenue” includes money transferred from the federal
government to states. “General Revenue” includes all tax revenue but
excludes utility revenue, liquor store revenue, and investment income
from state pension funds. D.C. is designated as a local entity by the U.S.
Census Bureau and is thus not included here.

Sources: U.S. Census Bureau, “Annual Survey of State and Local
Government Finances”; Tax Foundation calculations.



Taxes & Tax Measures TABLE 10.

Federal Income Tax Payments by
Income Percentile

Calendar Year 2018

Group's  Average
Income Taxes Group's Share of  Income

Income Paid Share of Income Tax

Percentile ($ millions) Total AGI Taxes Rate

All Taxpayers  $1,536,178 100.0% 100.0% 13.30%
Top 1% $615,716 20.90% 40.10% 25.40%
Top 5% $926,367 36.50% 60.30% 22.00%
Top 10% $1,096,343 47.70% 71.40% 19.90%
Top 25% $1,336,041 68.90% 87.00% 16.80%
Top 50% $1,491,041 88.40% 97.10% 14.60%
Bottom 50% $45,137 11.60% 2.90% 3.40%

Note: There were roughly 144.3 million total federal income tax filers in
2018. Total adjusted gross income (AGI) was roughly $11.6 trillion. The
top 1% of earners have AGI above $540,009; the top 5% have AG| above
$217,913; the top 10% have AGI above $151,935; the top 25% have AGI
above $87,044; and the top 50% have AGI above $43,614.

Sources: Tax Foundation, “Summary of the Latest Federal Income Tax
Data, 2021 Update”; IRS, Statistics of Income Division.



TABLE 11.

Taxes & Tax Measures

Selected Federal Tax Rates

Calendar Year 2021

Individual Income Tax

Single
Rates Brackets
10% > $0
12% > $9,950
22% > $40,525
24% > $86,375
32% > $164,925
35% > $209,425
37% > $523,600
Married Filing Jointly
Rates Brackets
10% > $0
12% > $19,900
22% > $81,050
24% > $172,750
32% > $329,850
35% > $418,850
37% > $628,300
Head of Household
Rates Brackets
10% > $0
12% > $14,200
22% > $54,200
24% > $86,350
32% > $164,900
35% > $209,400
37% > $523,600

Social Security and Medicare
Payroll Taxes (a)

Rates Brackets
15.3% > $0
2.9% > $142,800
3.8% > $200,000
Corporate Income Tax
Rates Brackets
21% > $0
Select Federal Excise Taxes (b)
Item Rate
Pistols & 10%
Revolvers
Other Firearms 11%
Ammunition 11%
Indoor Tanning 10%
Tackle Boxes 3%
Arrow Shafts 52¢ per
shaft
Air 7.5%
Transportation
Truck Bodies 12%

Lig. Natural Gas 24.3¢/gallon

4.4% or
$0.55/ton

Surface Coal

(a) These are total payroll tax rates. The Social Security tax is split evenly
between employer and employee (6.2% each) for all income levels up
to $142,800. The 1.45% Medicare tax is levied on both employers and
employees on all income levels. The Additional Medicare Tax of 0.9%
is levied only on households with wages and compensation exceeding

$200,000 in a calendar year.

(b) In state excise tax Tables 23-31, federal gasoline, alcohol, cell phone,
and tobacco excise taxes are included under the “Federal” line and are

in addition to any state taxes.

Sources: Tax Foundation; IRS; Bloomberg Tax; American Petroleum
Institute; Alchohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau.



Individual Income Taxes

TABLE 12.

State Individual Income Tax Rates

As of January 1, 2021

State Rates Brackets State Rates Brackets
Ala. 2% > $0 Ga. 1.00% > $0
(a. b) 4%> $500 2.00%> $750
5% > $3,000 3.00% > $2,250

Alaska None 4.00% > $3,750
Ariz. ()  2.59%> $0 5.00% > $5,250
3.34%>  $27,272 5.75% > $7,000

417%>  $54,544 Hawaii  1.40%> $0

4.50%> $163,632 3.20% > $2,400

8.00%> $250,000 5.50% > $4,800

Ark.(c,d)  2.0%> $0 6.40% > $9,600
4.0% > $4,000 6.80%>  $14,400

5.9%> $8,000 7.20%>  $19,200

Calif. (b,  1.0%> $0 7.60%>  $24,000
ce 2.0% > $8,932 7.90%>  $36,000
4.0%>  $21,175 8.25%>  $48,000

6.0%> $33,421 9.00% > $150,000

8.0%> $46,394 10.00%> $175,000

9.3%>  $58,634 11.00% > $200,000

10.3%> $299,508 Idaho 1.125% > $0

11.3%> $359.407 ©©  3125%>  $1,568

12.3%> $599,012 3.625% > $3,136

13.3% > $1,000,000 4.625% > $4,704

Colo. (b) 4.55%> $0 5.625% > $6,272
Conn. (f)  3.00% > $0 6.625% > $7,840
5.00%>  $10,000 6.925%>  $11,760

5.50%>  $50,000 Il 4.95% > $0

6.00%> $100,000 Ind.(b)  3.23%> $0

6.50%> $200,000 lowa 0.33% > $0

6.90%> $250,000 @b 0.67% > $1,676

6.99% > $500,000 2.25% > $3,352

Del. (b)  2.20% > $2,000 4.14% > $6,704
3.90% > $5,000 5.63%> $15,084

4.80%>  $10,000 5.96%>  $25,140

5.20%>  $20,000 6.25%>  $33,520

5.55%>  $25,000 7.44%>  $50,280

6.60%>  $60,000 8.53%> $75,420

Fla.

None




TABLE 12, cont. Individual Income Taxes

State Individual Income Tax Rates

As of January 1, 2021

State Rates Brackets State Rates Brackets
Kans. (b) 3.10% > $0 Mont. 1.0% > $0
5.25%> $15000 ¢ 20%>  $3,100
5.70%>  $30,000 3.0% > $5,500
Ky. (b) 5% > $0 4.0% > $8,400
La. (a) 2% > $0 5.0%> $11,300
4% > $12,500 6.0% > $14,500
6% > $50,000 6.9% > $18,700
Maine (c)  5.80% > $0 Nebr.(c) 2.46%> $0
6.75% > $22,450 3.51%> $3,340
7.15% > $53,150 5.01% > $19,990
Md. (b) 2.00% > $0 6.84%>  $32,210
3.00% > $1,000 Nev. None
4.00% > $2,000 N.H.(g) 5% > $0
4.75% > $3,000 N.J.(b) 1.400% > $0
5.00%> $100,000 1.750% >  $20,000
5.25%> $125,000 3.500%>  $35,000
5.50%> $150,000 5.525%>  $40,000
5.75%> $250,000 6.370%>  $75,000
Mass. 5% > $0 8.970% > $500,000
Mich. (b) 4.25% > $0 10.750% > $1,000,000
Minn. (c) 5.35%> $0 N.M. 1.7% > $0
6.80% > $27,230 3.2%> $5,500
7.85% > $89,440 4.7% > $11,000
9.85%> $166,040 4.9% > $16,000
Miss. 3% > $4,000 5.9%> $210,000
4% > $5,000 N.Y. 4.00% > $0
5% > $10,000 b, ) 4.50% > $8,500
Mo. (a, 1.5% > $107 5.25%>  $11,700
b.c e 20%>  $1,073 5.90%>  $13,900
25%>  $2.146 5.97%>  $21,400
3.0%>  $3.219 6.33%>  $80,650
35%>  $4.292 6.85%> $215,400
4.0%>  $5365 8.82%> $1,077,550
45%>  $6438 NC. 5.25%> $0
50%>  $7511 (o3 1.10%> $0
54%>  $8.584 2.04%>  $40,125
2.27%> $97,150
2.64%> $202,650
2.90%> $440,600




Individual Income Taxes TABLE 12, cont.

State Individual Income Tax Rates

As of January 1, 2021

State Rates Brackets State Rates Brackets
Ohio 2.850%>  $22,150 Wash. None
b€ 3306%>  $44250 Wyva. 3.0%> $0
3.802%>  $88,450 (b) 4.0%>  $10,000
4.413% > $110,650 4.5% > $25,000
4.797%> $221,300 6.0%>  $40,000
Okla. 0.5% > $0 6.5% > $60,000
1.0% > $1,000 Wis. (c) 3.54% > $0
2.0% > $2,500 4.65% > $12,120
3.0% > $3,750 6.27%>  $24,250
4.0% > $4,900 7.65%> $266,930
5.0% > $7,200  Wyo. None
Ore. 4.8% > $0 D.C. 4.00% > $0
@bd  fe%s 3650 6.00%>  $10,000
8.8% > $9,200 6.50% > $40,000
9.9% > $125,000 8.50%>  $60,000
Pa. (b) 3.07% > $0 8.75% > $350,000
R.1. (c) 3.75% > $0 8.95% > $1,000,000
4.75% > $66,200
5.99%> $150,550
S.C. 0% > $0
(ce) 3%>  $3,070
4% > $6,150
5% > $9,230
6% > $12,310
7%>  $15,400
S.D. None
Tenn. (g) 1% > $0
Tex. None
Utah 4.95% > $0
Vt. (c,e) 3.35%> $0
6.60%>  $40,350
7.60% > $97,800
8.75%> $204,000
Va. 2.00% > $0
3.00% > $3,000
5.00% > $5,000
5.75%> $17,000




TABLE 12, cont. Individual Income Taxes

State Individual Income Tax Rates
As of January 1, 2021

(a) These states allow some or all of federal income tax paid to be
deducted from state taxable income.

(b) Local income taxes are excluded. Eleven states have county- or city-
level income taxes; the average rates expressed as a percentage of
AGI within each jurisdiction are: 0.10% in Alabama; 0.36% in Indiana;
0.11% in lowa; 1.29% in Kentucky; 2.18% in Maryland; 0.17% in
Michigan; 0.22% in Missouri; 1.47% in New York; 1.59% in Ohio; and
1.15% in Pennsylvania; data are not available in Delaware, where
Wilmington imposes a municipal income tax. In California, Colorado,
Kansas, New Jersey, Oregon, and West Virginia, some jurisdictions
have payroll taxes; flat, dollar-denominated wage taxes; or interest
and dividend income taxes. See Jared Walczak, “Local Income Taxes in
2019, Tax Foundation.”

(c) Bracket levels are adjusted for inflation each year.

(d) Rates apply to individuals earning more than $79,300 in Arkansas. Two
special tax tables exist for low- and middle-income individuals: one
for individuals below $22,200 in income, and one for those between
$22,200 and $79,300.

(e) 2020 brackets due to data availability.

(f) Connecticut and New York have “tax benefit recapture,” by which many
high-income taxpayers pay their top tax rate on all income, not just on
amounts above the bracket threshold.

(g) In New Hampshire, tax applies to interest and dividend income only.

Note: Brackets are for single taxpayers. Some states double bracket
widths for joint filers (Ala., Ariz, Conn., Hawaii, Idaho, Kans., La., Maine,
Nebr., Ore.). California doubles all but the top two brackets. Oklahoma
doubles all but the top bracket. Some states increase but do not double
brackets for joint filers (Ga., Minn., N.M., N.D., N.Y., Vt., Wis.). Maryland
increases some but not all brackets. New Jersey adds a 2.45% rate and
increases some bracket widths. Consult the Tax Foundation website for
tables for joint filers.

Sources: Tax Foundation; state tax statutes, forms, and instructions;
Bloomberg Tax.



Individual Income Taxes TABLE 13.

State Individual Income Tax
Collections per Capita

Fiscal Year 2019

Collections Collections

State per Capita Rank State per Capita Rank
uU.s. $1,194 Mont. $1,322 16
Ala. $856 35 Nebr. $1,316 17
Alaska (a) $0 -- Nev. (a) $0 --
Ariz. $736 39 N.H. (b) $90 42
Ark. $998 30 N.J. $1,790 8
Calif. $2,533 2 N.M. $758 38
Colo. $1,419 14 N.Y. $2,791 1
Conn. $2,372 4 N.C. $1,264 23
Del. $1,788 9 N.D. $545 41
Fla. (a) $0 -- Ohio $797 37
Ga. $1,147 25 Okla. $901 88
Hawaii $1,814 7 Ore. $2,335 5
Idaho $934 31 Pa. $1,056 27
11l $1,305 18 R.I. $1,299 19
Ind. $900 34 S.C. $924 32
lowa $1,299 20 S.D.(a) $0 --
Kans. $1,297 21 Tenn. (b) $30 43
Ky. $1,036 28  Tex.(a) $0 -
La. $825 36 Utah $1,553 12
Maine $1,271 22 Vt. $1,379 15
Md. $1,665 11 Va. $1,742 10
Mass. $2,488 3 Wash. (a) $0 --
Mich. $1,016 29  WJVa. $1,170 24
Minn. $2,199 ) Wis. $1,504 13
Miss. $661 40  Wyo. (a) $0 --
Mo. $1,073 26

(a) State has no individual income tax.
(b) State does not tax wage income but does tax interest and dividend
income.

Note: D.C. is included only in combined state and local data; see Table 14.
See Table 43 for people per household by state.

Sources: U.S. Census Bureau, “Annual Survey of State Government Tax
Collections”; Tax Foundation calculations.



TABLE 14. Individual Income Taxes

State & Local Individual Income
Tax Collections per Capita

Fiscal Year 2018

Collections Collections
State per Capita Rank State per Capita Rank
uU.s. $1,303 Mont. $1,226 21
Ala. $827 36 Nebr. $1,226 22
Alaska (a) $0 -- Nev. (a) $0 --
Ariz. $635 38 N.H. (b) $78 42
Ark. $952 33 N.J. $1,692 10
Calif. $2,411 4 N.M. $599 40
Colo. $1,320 15 N.Y. $3,407 1
Conn. $2,725 2 N.C. $1,215 23
Del. $1,711 8 N.D. $485 41
Fla. (a) $0 -- Ohio $1,238 20
Ga. $1,108 28 Okla. $887 34
Hawaii $1,711 9 Ore. $2,123 7
Idaho $1,049 31 Pa. $1,416 12
11l $1,202 24 R.I. $1,256 19
Ind. $965 32 SE. $872 35
lowa $1,271 17 S.D. (a) $0 --
Kans. $1,173 26 Tenn. (b) $36 43
Ky. $1,347 14 Tex. (a) $0 --
La. $697 37 Utah $1,266 18
Maine $1,199 25 Vt. $1,312 16
Md. $2,470 3 Va. $1,659 11
Mass. $2,365 5  Wash. (a) $0 --
Mich. $1,082 29 W.Va. $1,081 30
Minn. $2,135 6 Wis. $1,404 13
Miss. $622 39 Wyo. (a) $0 -
Mo. $1,132 27 D.C. $2,946 (2)

(a) State has no individual income tax.
(b) State does not tax wage income but does tax interest and dividend
income.

Note: D.C!s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in
parentheses indicates where it would rank if included. See Table 43 for
people per household by state.

Sources: U.S. Census Bureau, “Annual Survey of State and Local
Government Finances”; Tax Foundation calculations.



Corporate Income Taxes

TABLE 15.

State Corporate Income Tax Rates

As of January 1, 2021

State Rates Brackets State Rates Brackets
Ala. 6.5% > $0 La. 4% > $0
Alaska 0% > $0 5% >  $25,000
2% >  $25,000 6% >  $50,000
3% > $49,000 7% > $100,000
4% >  $74,000 8% > $200,000
5% >  $99,000 Maine  3.50% > $0
6% > $124,000 7.93% > $350,000
7% > $148,000 8.33% >$1,050,000
8% > $173,000 8.93% >$3,500,000
9% > $198,000 Md. 8.25% > $0
9.4% > $222,000 Mass. 8% > $0
Ariz. 4.9% > $0 Mich. 6% > $0
Ark. 1.0% > $0 Minn. 9.8% > $0
2.0% >  $3,000 Miss. (g) 3% > $0
3.0% > $6,000 4% > $5,000
5.0% > $11,000 5% >  $10,000
6.0% >  $25,000 Mo. 4.00% > $0
6.2% > $100,000 Mont.  6.75% > $0
Calif. 8.84% > $0 Nebr. 5.58% > $0
Colo. 4.55% > $0 7.81% > $100,000
Conn.(a) 7.50% > $0 Nev. (b)
Del.(b)  8.7% > $0 N.H. 7.7% > $0
Fla. (c) 4.458% > $0 NJ.(h)  6.5% > $0
Ga.(d) 5.75% > $0 7.5% >  $50,000
Hawaii 4.4% > $0 9.0% > $100,000
5.4% >  $25,000 11.5% > $1,000,000
6.4% > $100,000 N.M. 4.8% > $0
Idaho  6.925% > $0 5.9% > $500,000
11l. (e) 9.5% > $0 NLY. 6.5% > $0
Ind. ()  5.25% > $0 N.C. 2.5% > $0
lowa 5.5% > $0 N.D. 1.41% > $0
9.0% > $100,000 3.55% >  $25,000
9.8% > $250,000 4.31% >  $50,000
Kans. 4% > $0 Ohio (b)
7% >  $50,000 Okla. 6% > $0
Ky. 5% > $0 Ore. (b) 6.6% > $0
7.6% >$1,000,000




TABLE 15, cont. Corporate Income Taxes

State Corporate Income Tax Rates
As of January 1, 2021

State Rates Brackets
Pa. 9.99% > $0
R.I. 7% > $0
S.C. 5% > $0
S.D. None

Tenn. (b) 6.5% > $0
Texas (b)

Utah 4.95% > $0
Vit. 6% > $0

7% > $10,000
8.5% >  $25,000

Va. 6% > $0
Wash. (b)

W.Va. 6.5% > $0
Wis. 7.9% > $0
Wyo. None

D.C. 8.25% > $0

(a) Connecticut charges a 10% surtax on a business's tax liability if it
has gross proceeds of $100 million or more, or if it files as part of a
combined unitary group.

(b) Nevada, Ohio, Texas, and Washington do not have a corporate income
tax but do have a gross receipts tax with rates not strictly comparable
to corporate income tax rates. See Table 18 for more information.
Delaware, Oregon, and Tennessee have gross receipts taxes in addition
to corporate income taxes, as do several states like Pennsylvania,
Virginia, and West Virginia, which permit gross receipts taxes at the
local (but not state) level.

(c) Florida’s corporate income tax rate will return to 5.5% for tax years
beginning on or after Jan. 1, 2022.

(d) Georgia’s corporate income tax rate will revert to 6% on January 1,
2026.

(e) lllinois’ rate includes two separate corporate income taxes, one at a 7%
rate and one at a 2.5% rate.

(f) Indiana’s rate will change to 4.9% on July 1, 2021.

(g) Mississippi continues to phase out the 3% bracket by increasing the
exemption by $1,000 a year. By the start of 2022, the 3% bracket will
be fully eliminated.

(h) In New Jersey, the rates indicated apply to a corporation’s entire net
income rather than just income over the threshold. A temporary and
retroactive surcharge is in effect from 2020 to 2023, bringing the rate
to 11.5% for businesses with income over $1 million.

Note: In addition to regular income taxes, many states impose other taxes
on corporations such as gross receipts taxes (Table 18) and capital stock
taxes (Table 36). Some states also impose an alternative minimum tax and
special rates on financial institutions.

Sources: Tax Foundation; state tax statutes, forms, and instructions;
Bloomberg Tax.



Corporate Income Taxes TABLE 16.

State Corporate Income Tax
Collections per Capita

Fiscal Year 2019

Collections Collections

State per Capita Rank State per Capita Rank
U.s. $147 Mont. $173 21
Ala. $140 29  Nebr. $219 15
Alaska $455 3 Nev. (b, c) $0 --
Ariz. $71 43 N.H. $612 1
Ark. $177 20 NJ. $456 2
Calif. $349 5 NM $97 39
Colo. $138 30 N.Y. $223 14
Conn. $253 8 N.C. $80 40
Del. (a, b) $298 7 N.D. $192 18
Fla. $145 28  Ohio (b, c) $1 --
Ga. $120 33  Okla. $77 42
Hawaii $135 31  Ore.(b) $216 16
Idaho $159 27  Pa. $231 18
I, $244 10 R $167 24
Ind. $112 35 S.C. $77 41
lowa $170 22 S.D.(c) $52 45
Kans. $167 23 Tenn. (b) $249 9
Ky. $130 32 Tex. (b, c) $0 -
La. $107 38 Utah $163 26
Maine $188 19 Vi $240 11
Md. $215 17 Va. $108 37
Mass. $428 4 Wash. (b, c) $0 --
Mich. $114 34 W.JVa. $111 36
Minn. $304 6 Wis. $234 12
Miss. $166 25  Wyo. () $0 --
Mo. $60 44

(a) Delaware collects both corporate income taxes and gross receipts
taxes.

(b) The U.S. Census Bureau does not classify revenue from gross receipts
taxes such as those in Delaware, Nevada, Ohio, Oregon, Tennessee,
Texas, and Washington as corporate tax revenue. See Table 18 for
gross receipts taxes.

(c) No corporate income tax. May include special taxes on financial
corporations.

Note: D.C. is included only in combined state and local data; see Table 17.
See Table 43 for people per household by state.

Sources: U.S. Census Bureau, “Annual Survey of State Government Tax
Collections”; Tax Foundation calculations.



TABLE 17. Corporate Income Taxes

State & Local Corporate Income
Tax Collections per Capita

Fiscal Year 2018

Collections Collections

State per Capita Rank State per Capita Rank
u.s. $172 Mont. $166 16
Ala. $118 28  Nebr. $163 17
Alaska $267 6  Nev. (a) $0 --
Ariz. $52 43 N.H. $584 1
Ark. $130 26  N.J. $252

Calif. $316 4 N.M. $44 44
Colo. $116 29 NY. $532 2
Conn. $218 11 N.C $72 39
Del. (b) $271 5 N.D. $142 22
Fla. $114 30  Ohio (b) $23 46
Ga. $96 36  Okla. $60 42
Hawaii $103 34  Ore. (b) $215 12
Idaho $138 25  Pa. $229 10
. $203 13 Rl $112 31
Ind. $104 e WSC $83 37
lowa $141 23  S.D.(a) $37 45
Kans. $150 20  Tenn. (b) $243 8
Ky. $156 19  Tex.(b) $0 --
La. $77 38  Utah $127 27
Maine $139 24Vt $177 14
Md. $171 15  Va.(b) $101 35
Mass. $350 3 Wash. (a, b) $0 --
Mich. $110 32 W.Va. $61 41
Minn. $242 9  Wis. $157 18
Miss. $147 21 Wyo. (a) $0 --
Mo. $67 40 D.C. $819 (1)

(a) No corporate income tax. May include special taxes on financial
corporations.

(b) The U.S. Census Bureau does not classify revenue from gross receipts
taxes such as those in Delaware, Nevada, Ohio, Oregon, Tennessee,
Texas, Virginia, and Washington as corporate tax revenue. See Table 18
for gross receipts taxes.

Note: D.C!s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in
parentheses indicates where it would rank if included. See Table 43 for
people per household by state.

Sources: U.S. Census Bureau, “Annual Survey of State and Local
Government Finances”; Tax Foundation calculations.



Corporate Income Taxes TABLE 18.

State Gross Receipts Taxes
As of January 1, 2021

State Name of Tax Range of Rates

Del.  Manufacturers' & Merchants' 0.0945% - 1.9914%
License Tax

Nev. Commerce Tax 0.051%-0.331%

Ohio Commercial Activities Tax (CAT) 0.26%

Ore. Corporate Activity Tax (CAT) 0.57%

Tenn. Business Tax 0.02% - 0.3%

Tex.  Franchise (Margin) Tax 0.331% - 0.75%

Va. (a) Business/Professional/ 0.02% - 0.58%

Occupational License Tax (BPOL)
Wash. Business & Occupation Tax (B&O) 0.13% - 3.3%

(a) Virginia's tax is locally levied and rates vary by business and
jurisdiction. Approximately half of counties do not levy the tax. Some
counties instead levy a capital stock tax.

Note: Gross receipts taxes are complex business taxes imposed at a low
rate but on a wide base of transactions, resulting in high effective tax
rates that can vary by industry. These taxes also often have minimum
taxes that can result in much higher effective rates for some small
businesses.

Sources: Bloomberg Tax; state revenue departments; Weldon Cooper
Center for Public Service.



TABLE 19. Sales Taxes

State & Local Sales Tax Rates
As of January 1, 2021

State Tax Logllg'l.'ax Combined

State Rate Rank Rate (a) Rate Rank
Ala. 4.00% 40 5.22% 9.22% 6
Alaska -- 46 1.76% 1.76% 46
Ariz. 5.60% 28 2.80% 8.40% 11
Ark. 6.50% 9 3.01% 9.51%

Calif. (b) 7.25% 1 1.43% 8.68%

Colo. 2.90% 45 4.82% 7.72% 16
Conn. 6.35% 12 0.00% 6.35% 33
Del. - 46 -- -- 47
Fla. 6.00% 17 1.08% 7.08% 22
Ga. 4.00% 40 3.32% 7.32% 19
Hawaii (c) 4.00% 40 0.44% 4.44% 45
Idaho 6.00% 17 0.03% 6.03% 37
11l 6.25% 13 3.51% 9.76% 1
Ind. 7.00% 2 0.00% 7.00% 24
lowa 6.00% 17 0.94% 6.94% 28
Kans. 6.50% 9 2.19% 8.69% 8
Ky. 6.00% 17 0.00% 6.00% 38
La. 4.45% 38 5.07% 9.52% 3
Maine 5.50% 29 0.00% 5.50% 42
Md. 6.00% 17 0.00% 6.00% 38
Mass. 6.25% 13 0.00% 6.25% 35
Mich. 6.00% 17 0.00% 6.00% 38
Minn. 6.875% 6 0.59% 7.46% 17
Miss. 7.00% 2 0.07% 7.07% 23
Mo. 4.225% 39 4.03% 8.25% 12
Mont. (d) -- 46 -- -- 47
Nebr. 5.50% 29 1.44% 6.94% 29
Nev. 6.85% 7 1.38% 8.23% 13
N.H. -- 46 -- - 47
N.J. (e) 6.625% 8 -0.03% 6.60% 30
N.M. (c) 5.125% 32 2.71% 7.83% 15
NY. 4.00% 40 4.52% 8.52% 10
N.C. 4.75% 35 2.23% 6.98% 26
N.D. (c) 5.00% 33 1.96% 6.96% 27

Ohio 5.75% 27 1.48% 7.23% 20



Sales Taxes TABLE 19, cont.

State & Local Sales Tax Rates
As of January 1, 2021

State Tax Lo?a\allg'i'ax Combined
State Rate Rank Rate (a) Rate Rank
Okla. 4.50% 36 4.45% 8.95% 7
Ore. == 46 == == 47
Pa. 6.00% 17 0.34% 6.34% 34
R.I. 7.00% 2 0.00% 7.00% 24
S.C. 6.00% 17 1.46% 7.46% 18
S.D. (c) 4.50% 36 1.90% 6.40% 32
Tenn. 7.00% 2 2.55% 9.55% 2
Tex. 6.25% 13 1.94% 8.19% 14
Utah (b) 6.10% 16 1.09% 7.19% 21
Vit. 6.00% 17 0.24% 6.24% 36
Va. (b) 5.30% 31 0.43% 5.73% 41
Wash. 6.50% 9 2.73% 9.23% 5
W.Va. 6.00% 17 0.50% 6.50% 31
Wis. 5.00% 83 0.43% 5.43% 43
Wyo. 4.00% 40 1.33% 5.33% 44
D.C. 6.00% (17) == 6.00% (38)

(a) City, county, and municipal rates vary. These rates are weighted by
population to compute an average local tax rate.

(b) Three states levy mandatory, statewide, local add-on sales taxes at
the state level: California (1.25%), Utah (1.25%), and Virginia (1%). We
include these in their state sales tax.

(c) The sales taxes in Hawaii, New Mexico, North Dakota, and South
Dakota have broad bases that include many business-to-business
services.

(d) Special taxes in local resort areas are not counted here.

(e) Certain jurisdictions are not subject to statewide sales tax rates and
collect a local rate of 3.3125%. New Jersey's average local rate is
represented as a negative.

Note: D.C.'s ranks do not affect states’ ranks, but the figures in
parentheses indicate where it would rank if included.

Source: Sales Tax Clearinghouse; Tax Foundation calculations.



TABLE 20. Sales Taxes

State General Sales Tax
Collections per Capita

Fiscal Year 2019

Collections Collections

State per Capita Rank State per Capita Rank
u.s. $967 Mont. (a) $0 --
Ala. $594 43 Nebr. $1,017 25
Alaska (a) $0 -- Nev. $1,786 3
Ariz. $1,148 17 N.H. (a) $0 --
Ark. $1,184 15 N.J. $1,221 12
Calif. $1,051 24 N.M. (b) $1,365 5
Colo. $586 45 N.Y. $790 37
Conn. $1,287 10 N.C. $807 35
Del. (a) $0 -- N.D. (b) $1,382 4
Fla. $1,304 8 Ohio $1,086 20
Ga. $589 44 Okla. $776 38
Hawaii (b) $2,690 1 Ore. (a) $0 -
Idaho $1,068 22 Pa. $918 30
1. $948 29 R.I $1,057 23
Ind. $1,201 13 S.C. $673 39
lowa $1,079 21 S.D. (b) $1,294 9
Kans. $1,145 18 Tenn. $1,149 16
Ky. $892 31 Tex. $1,315 7
La. $804 36 Utah $884 32
Maine $1,200 14Vt $661 40
Md. $809 34  Va. $639 41
Mass. $992 26  Wash. $2,186 2
Mich. $963 28 W.Va. $834 S3
Minn. $1,100 19 Wis. $978 27
Miss. $1,254 11 Wyo. $1,331 6
Mo. $608 42

(a) No state-level general sales tax.

(b) The sales taxes in Hawaii, New Mexico, North Dakota, and South
Dakota have broad bases that include many services, so figures are not
strictly comparable to other states.

Note: Some states levy gross receipts taxes in addition to sales taxes,
which the U.S. Census Bureau includes in sales tax collections data. See
Table 18 for information on gross receipts taxes. D.C. is included only
in state-local combined data; see Table 21. See Table 43 for people per
household by state.

Sources: Census Bureau, “Annual Survey of State Government Tax
Collections”; Tax Foundation calculations.



Sales Taxes TABLE 21.

State & Local General Sales Tax
Collections per Capita

Fiscal Year 2018

Collections Collections
State per Capita Rank State per Capita Rank
U.Ss. $1,258 Mont. $0 --
Ala. $1,075 30 Nebr. $1,207 21
Alaska (a) $335 46 Nev. $1,941 3
Ariz. $1,549 8 N.H. $0 --
Ark. $1,564 7 N.J. $1,177 23
Calif. $1,340 16 N.M. $1,540 10
Colo. $1,398 14 N.Y. $1,630 6
Conn. $1,269 18 N.C. $1,068 31
Del. $0 == N.D. $1,531 12
Fla. $1,514 13 Ohio $1,244 20
Ga. $930 38 Okla. $1,260 19
Hawaii $2,694 1 Ore. $0 --
Idaho $1,046 32 Pa. $927 39
1. $1,095 27 R.I. $991 34
Ind. $1,164 24 S.C. $783 41
lowa $1,146 25 S.D. $1,702 5
Kans. $1,535 11 Tenn. $1,338 17
Ky. $807 40  Tex. $1,546 9
La. $1,852 4 Utah $989 35
Maine $1,142 26 Vit. $660 44
Md. $781 42 Va. $651 45
Mass. $943 37 Wash. $2,118 2
Mich. $987 36  WVa. $753 43
Minn. $1,085 29 Wis. $1,014 33
Miss. $1,193 22 Wyo. $1,343 15
Mo. $1,088 28 D.C. $2,128 (2)

(a) While Alaska does not have a state-level sales tax, it allows sales taxes
on the local level.

Note: Some states levy gross receipts taxes in addition to sales taxes,
which the U.S. Census Bureau includes in collections data. See Table 18
for information on gross receipts taxes. D.C.'s rank does not affect states’
ranks, but the figure in parentheses indicates where it would rank if
included. See Table 43 for people per household by state.

Sources: U.S. Census Bureau, “Annual Survey of State and Local
Government Finances”; Tax Foundation calculations.



TABLE 22. Sales Taxes

State Sales Tax Breadth
Fiscal Year 2020

Sales Tax Sales Tax
State Breadth Rank State Breadth  Rank
Ala. 40% 15 Nebr. 36% 25
Alaska -- - Nev. 56% 4
Ariz. 38% 19 N.H. = =
Ark. 41% 12 N.J. 27% 38
Calif. 22% 44 N.M. (a) 70% 2
Colo. 34% 27 N.Y. 26% 41
Conn. 27% 39 N.C. 37% 21
Del. -- -- N.D. (a) 55% 5
Fla. 42% 9 Ohio 39% 17
Ga. 31% 31 Okla. 36% 23
Hawaii (a) 119% 1 Ore. -- --
Idaho 41% 13 Pa. 27% 37
1. 27% 36 R.I. 28% 35
Ind. 36% 22 S.C. 25% 42
lowa 36% 24 S.D. (a) 60% &
Kans. 34% 28 Tenn. 42% 10
Ky. 39% 16 Tex. 42% 11
La. 40% 14 Utah 38% 18
Maine 45% 8 Vit. 26% 40
Md. 28% 34 Va. 23% 43
Mass. 22% 45 Wash. 28% 33
Mich. 33% 29 W.Va. 36% 26
Minn. 32% 30 Wis. 38% 20
Miss. 46% 7 Wyo. 55% 6
Mo. 30% 32 D.C. 46% (8)

Mont. -- --

(a) The sales taxes in Hawaii, New Mexico, North Dakota, and South
Dakota have broad bases that include many business-to-business
services.

Note: Sales tax breadth is defined as the ratio of the implicit sales tax
base to state personal income.

Sources: U.S. Census Bureau; state revenue departments; Prof. John
Mikesell (methodology); Tax Foundation research.



Excise Taxes TABLE 23.

State Gasoline Tax Rates
(Cents per Gallon)

As of January 1, 2021

Other Taxes

State Excise Tax  and Fees Total Rank
Federal 18.4¢

Ala. 26¢ 3.21¢ 29.21¢ 31
Alaska 8.95¢ 4.84¢ 13.79¢ 50
Ariz. 18¢ 1¢ 19¢ 46
Ark. 24.5¢ 0.3¢ 248¢ 35
Calif. 50.5¢ 12.55¢ 63.05¢ 1
Colo. 22¢ 0¢ 22¢ 42
Conn. 25¢ 10.75¢ 35.75¢ 16
Del. 23¢ 0¢ 23¢ 39
Fla. 4¢ 38.46¢ 42.46¢ 9
Ga. 28.7¢ 5.26¢ 33.96¢ 19
Hawaii 16¢ 30.84¢ 46.84¢ 7
Idaho 32¢ 1¢ 33¢ 20
. 39¢ 13.46¢ 52.16¢ 3
Ind. 31¢ 11.16¢ 42.16¢ 10
lowa 30¢ O¢ 30¢ 28
Kans. 24¢ 0.025¢ 24.025¢ 36
Ky. 24.6¢ 1.4¢ 26¢ 34
La. 20¢ 0.01¢ 20.01¢ 43
Maine 30¢ 0.01¢ 30.01¢ 26
Md. 26.7¢ 9.6¢ 36.3¢ 15
Mass. 24¢ 2.54¢ 26.54¢ 33
Mich. 26.3¢ 15.68¢ 41.98¢ 11
Minn. 28.5¢ 2.1¢ 30.6¢ 24
Miss. 18¢ 0.79¢ 18.79¢ 48
Mo. 17¢ 0.42¢ 17.42¢ 49
Mont. 32¢ 0.75¢ 32.75¢ 22
Nebr. 28.7¢ 0.9¢ 29.6¢ 29
Nev. 23¢ 27.48¢ 50.48¢ 5
N.H. 22.2¢ 1.63¢ 23.83¢ 38
N.J. 10.5¢ 40.2¢ 50.7¢ 4
N.M. 17¢ 1.88¢ 18.88¢ 47
N.Y. 8.05¢ 34.65¢ 42.70¢ 8

N.C. 36.1¢ 0.25¢ 36.35¢ 14



TABLE 23, cont. Excise Taxes

State Gasoline Tax Rates
(Cents per Gallon)

As of January 1, 2021

Other Taxes
State Excise Tax  and Fees Total Rank
N.D. 23¢ 0¢ 23¢ 39
Ohio 38.5¢ 0.01¢ 38.51¢ 13
Okla. 19¢ 1¢ 20¢ 44
Ore. 36¢ 2.83¢ 38.83¢ 12
Pa. 0¢ 58.7¢ 58.7¢ 2
R.I. 34¢ 1¢ 35¢ 18
S.C. 22¢ 0.75¢ 22.75¢ 41
S.D. 28¢ 2¢ 30¢ 27
Tenn. 26¢ 1.4¢ 27.4¢ 32
Tex. 20¢ O¢ 20¢ 44
Utah 31.4¢ 0.01¢ 31.41¢ 23
Vit. 12.1¢ 18.36¢ 30.46¢ 25
Va. 21.2¢ 8.20¢ 29.40¢ 30
Wash. 49.4¢ 0O¢ 49.4¢ 6
W.Va. 20.5¢ 15.2¢ 35.7¢ 17
Wis. 30.9¢ 2¢ 32.9¢ 21
Wyo. 23¢ 1¢ 24¢ 37
D.C. 23.5¢ 5.3¢ 28.8¢ (32)

Note: Excise taxes are special taxes on specific goods or activities—such
as gasoline, tobacco, or gambling—rather than general tax bases such as
income or consumption. Excise taxes are often included in the final price
of products and services, and are hidden to consumers.

The American Petroleum Institute (API) has developed a methodology for
determining the average tax rate on a gallon of fuel. Rates may include
any of the following: excise taxes, environmental fees, storage tank

taxes, other fees or taxes, and general sales tax. In states where gasoline
is subject to the general sales tax, or where the fuel tax is based on the
average sale price, the average rate determined by APl is sensitive to
changes in the price of gasoline. States that fully or partially apply general
sales taxes to gasoline are California, Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana,
Michigan, and New York. D.C!s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the
figure in parentheses indicates where it would rank if included.

Source: American Petroleum Institute, “State Motor Fuel Taxes by State
(January 2021).”



Excise Taxes TABLE 24.

Share of State & Local Road
Spending Covered by State &
Local Tolls, User Fees, & User

Taxes
Fiscal Year 2018

Gasoline Total: Tolls,
& License Tolls & User User Fees, &

State Taxes Rank Fees User Taxes Rank
u.s. 42.3% 13.2% 55.6%

Ala. 34.1% 35 0.9% 35.0% 44
Alaska 6.7% 50 4.9% 11.5% 50
Ariz. 41.1% 22 1.4% 42.5% 88
Ark. 32.5% 40 0.6% 33.1% 45
Calif. 67.1% 2 10.4% 77.5% 2
Colo. 40.4% 23 12.8% 53.2% 21
Conn. 32.8% 39 4.0% 36.8% 39
Del. 24.7% 44 44.8% 69.5%

Fla. 44.9% 16 21.2% 66.1% 7
Ga. 49.8% 10 2.4% 52.2% 25
Hawaii 66.2% 4 1.8% 68.0% 6
Idaho 54.7% 7 4.4% 59.0% 14
11 40.0% 24 18.6% 58.6% 15
Ind. 68.7% 1 1.1% 69.8% 3
lowa 45.9% 15 1.0% 46.8% 30
Kans. 41.9% 19 8.5% 50.4% 27
Ky. 39.3% 26 4.5% 43.8% 31
La. 33.4% 36 3.2% 36.6% 41
Maine 36.9% 28 16.4% 53.4% 20
Md. 42.2% 18 23.6% 65.8% 9
Mass. 34.9% 32 31.1% 66.0% 8
Mich. 58.7% 6 4.7% 63.4% 11
Minn. 35.7% 29 6.1% 41.8% 35
Miss. 34.7% 33 1.2% 35.9% 42
Mo. 40.0% 25 2.5% 42.5% 34
Mont. 47.8% 12 4.2% 52.0% 26
Nebr. 35.3% 30 4.0% 39.3% 37
Nev. 39.2% 27 0.8% 40.0% 36
N.H. 34.2% 34 22.0% 56.2% 17
N.J. 21.9% 47 47.0% 68.9% 5
N.M. 46.3% 14 2.4% 48.6% 29

N.Y. 21.6% 48 33.2% 54.9% 19



TABLE 24, cont. Excise Taxes

Share of State & Local Road
Spending Covered by State &
Local Tolls, User Fees, & User

Taxes
Fiscal Year 2018

Gasoline Total: Tolls,
& License Tolls & User User Fees, &
State Taxes Rank Fees User Taxes Rank
N.C. 50.8% 9 1.9% 52.7% 24
N.D. 22.6% 46 1.4% 24.0% 49
Ohio 46.5% 13 6.5% 53.0% 22
Okla. 48.3% 11 13.1% 61.4% 13
Ore. 53.0% 8 9.2% 62.2% 12
Pa. 41.3% 21 16.5% 57.8% 16
R.I. 18.3% 49 8.8% 27.1% 47
S.C. 44.8% 17 8.2% 53.0% 23
S.D. 31.4% 43 1.6% 33.0% 46
Tenn. 64.3% 5 0.7% 64.9% 10
Tex. 41.7% 20 14.3% 56.0% 18
Utah 35.3% 31 1.3% 36.6% 40
Vit. 23.1% 45 1.6% 24.7% 48
Va. 31.6% 42 18.5% 50.1% 28
Wash. 66.5% 3 14.1% 80.6% 1
W.Va. 32.3% 41 11.0% 43.3% 32
Wis. 33.1% 38 5.4% 38.5% 38
Wyo. 33.4% 37 1.7% 35.0% 43
D.C. 22.4% (47) 0.9% 23.3% (50)

Note: D.C!s ranks do not affect states’ ranks, but the figures in
parentheses indicate where it would rank if included.

Source: Tax Foundation calculations from the U.S. Census Bureau, “Annual
Survey of State and Local Government Finances.”



Excise Taxes TABLE 25.

State Cigarette Excise Tax Rates
(Dollars per 20-pack)

As of January 1, 2021

State Tax Rate  Rank State Tax Rate  Rank
Fed. $1.0066 Mont. $1.70 25
Ala. $0.675 40 Nebr. $0.64 41
Alaska $2.00 16 Nev. $1.80 23
Ariz. $2.00 16 N.H. $1.78 24
Ark. $1.15 35 N.J. $2.70 11
Calif. $2.87 10 N.M. $2.00 16
Colo. $1.94 22 NY. $4.35 1
Conn. $4.35 1 N.C. $0.45 47
Del. $2.10 14 N.D. $0.44 48
Fla. $1.339 31 Ohio $1.60 27
Ga. $0.37 49 Okla. $2.03 15
Hawaii $3.20 6 Ore. $1.33 32
Idaho $0.57 45 Pa. $2.60 12
1. $2.98 9 R.I $4.25 3
Ind. $0.995 38 S.C. $0.57 45
lowa $1.36 30 S.D. $1.53 28
Kans. $1.29 33 Tenn. $0.62 42
Ky. $1.10 36 Tex. $1.41 29
La. $1.08 37 Utah $1.70 25
Maine $2.00 16 Vit. $3.08 7
Md. $2.00 16 Va. $0.60 43
Mass. $3.51 5 Wash. $3.025 8
Mich. $2.00 16 W.Va. $1.20 34
Minn. (a) $3.65 4 Wis. $2.52 13
Miss. $0.68 39 Wyo. $0.60 43
Mo. $0.17 50 D.C.(a) $5.00 (1)

(a) Rate includes special cigarette sales tax collected at the wholesale
level.

Note: Local taxes are not included and can be substantial. D.C.'s rank does
not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in parentheses indicates where it
would rank if included.

Sources: Bloomberg Tax; state revenue departments; Tax Foundation.



TABLE 26. Excise Taxes

State Vapor Excise Tax Rates
As of January 1, 2021

State Tax Rate

Calif. 59.93% of wholesale

Colo. 30% of manufacturing price

Conn. $0.40/ml closed tanks, 10% of wholesale for
other vapor products

Del. $0.05/ml

Ga. Open: 7% of wholesale; Closed: $0.05/ml

1. 15% of wholesale

Kans. $0.05/ml

Ky. Open: 15% of wholesale; Closed: $1.50/cartridge

La. $0.05/ml

Maine 43% of wholesale

Mass. 75% of wholesale

Minn. (a) 95% of wholesale

Nev. 30% of wholesale

N.H. Open: 8% of wholesale; Closed: $0.30/ml

N.J. Open: 10% of wholesale; Closed: $0.10/ml

N.M. Open: 12.5% of wholesale; Closed: $0.50 per pod

N.Y. 20% of retail

N.C. $0.05/ml

Ohio $0.10/ml

Ore 65% of wholesale

Pa. 40% of wholesale

Utah 56% of manufacturing price

Vit. 92% of wholesale

Va. $0.066/ml

Wash. Open: $0.09/ml; Closed: $0.27/ml

W.Va. $0.075/ml

Wis. $0.05/ml

Wyo. 15% of wholesale

D.C. 91% of wholesale

(a) Tax is on the wholesale cost of any product containing or derived from
tobacco. The tax on an e-cigarette starter kit is calculated on the total
cost unless the nicotine cartridges are sold separately and then the tax
is levied only on the value of the nicotine cartridge.

Note: Several states (Alaska, lllinois, and Maryland) impose local taxes

as well as general sales taxes on vapor products. Those are not included
here. Manufacturing value generally refers to the value paid by wholesale.
Wholesale value refers to either the price paid by the wholesaler or the
price paid by retail to wholesale.

Sources: State statutes; Bloomberg Tax.



Excise Taxes TABLE 27.

State Recreational Marijuana
Excise Tax Rates

As of January 1, 2021

State Tax Rate

Alaska $50/0z. mature flowers;
25/0z. immature flowers;
$15/0z. trim, $1 per clone

Ariz. 16% excise tax (retail price)

Calif. 15% excise tax (levied on wholesale at average
market rate);
$9.65/0z. flowers & $2.87/0z. leaves cultivation

tax;
$1.35/0z fresh cannabis plant

Colo. 15% excise tax (levied on wholesale at average
market rate);
15% excise tax (retail price)

11l 7% excise tax of value at wholesale level;
10% tax on cannabis flower or products with less
than 35% THC;
20% tax on products infused with cannabis, such as
edible products;
25% tax on any product with a THC concentration
higher than 35%

Maine 10% excise tax (retail price), $335/Ib. flower;
$94/1b. trim;
$1.5 per immature plant or seedling;
$0.3 per seed

Mass. 10.75% excise tax (retail price)

Mich. 10% excise tax (retail price)

Mont. (a) 20% excise tax (retail price)

Nev. 15% excise tax (fair market value at wholesale);

10% excise tax (retail price)

N.J. (a, b) Up to $10 per ounce, if the average retail price of
an ounce of usable cannabis was $350 or more;
up to $30 per ounce, if the average retail price of
an ounce of usable cannabis was less than $350
but at least $250;
up to $40 per ounce, if the average retail price of
an ounce of usable cannabis was less than $250
but at least $200;
up to $60 per ounce, if the average retail price of
an ounce of usable cannabis was less than $200

Ore. 17% excise tax (retail price)
S.D.(a)  15% excise tax (retail price)
Vt. (a) 14% excise tax (retail price)
Wash. 37% excise tax (retail price)

(a) As of January 2021, retail sale of recreational marijuana had not yet
started.
(b) Rates were determined as of February 22, 2021.

Note: District of Columbia voters approved legalization and purchase of
marijuana in 2014 but federal law prohibits any action to implement it.
In 2018, the New Hampshire legislature voted to legalize the possession
and growing of marijuana, but sales are not permitted. Alabama, Georgia,
Idaho, Indiana, lowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Nebraska,
North Carolina, South Carolina, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, and Tennessee
impose a controlled substance tax on the purchase of illegal products.
Several states impose local taxes as well as general sales taxes on
marijuana products. Those are not included here.

Sources: State statutes; Bloomberg Tax.



TABLE 28. Excise Taxes

State Spirits Excise Tax Rates
(Dollars per Gallon)

As of January 1, 2021

State Tax Rate Rank State Tax Rate Rank
Fed. $13.50 Mont. (a) $9.83 12
Ala. (a) $19.11 4 Nebr. $3.75 38
Alaska (b) $12.80 8  Nev. (b) $3.60 39
Ariz. $3.00 43 N.H. (a) -- --
Ark. (c, d) $8.33 17 N.J. $5.50 28
Calif. (b) $3.30 40 N.M. $6.06 24
Colo. $2.28 47 NJY.(b) $6.44 23
Conn. (b) $5.94 26  N.C.(a) $14.58 6
Del. (b) $4.50 34 N.D.(b,d) $5.12 31
Fla. (b) $6.50 22 Ohio (a) $9.83 13
Ga. (b) $3.79 37  Okla. $5.56 27
Hawaii $5.98 25  Ore.(a) $21.95 2
Idaho (a) $10.91 11 Pa. (a) $7.41 21
1. (b) $8.55 15 R.1. (b) $5.40 30
Ind. (b) $2.68 44  S.C.(c) $5.42 29
lowa (a) $13.03 7 S.D.(b,d) $4.73 33
Kans. $2.50 45  Tenn. (c) $4.46 35
Ky. (e) $8.41 16  Tex.(b) $2.40 46
La. (b) $3.03 42 Utah (a) $15.92 5
Maine (a) $11.96 9  Vt.(a) $7.68 19
Md. (b, d) $5.03 32  Va.(a) $19.89

Mass. (b) $4.05 36  Wash.(d, f) $35.31 1
Mich. (a) $11.95 10 WwJVa.(a) $7.62 20
Minn. (c, d) $8.61 14 Wis. $3.25 41
Miss. (a) $8.11 18  Wyo. (a) -- --
Mo. $2.00 48 D.C.(d) $6.20  (24)

(a) Control states, where the government controls all sales. Products can
be subject to ad valorem markup as well as excise taxes.

(b) Different rates also applicable according to alcohol content, place of
production, size of container, or place purchased (on- or off-premise or
onboard airlines).

(c) Includes case fees and/or bottle fees which may vary with size of
container.

(d) Includes sales taxes specific to alcoholic beverages.

(e) Includes the wholesale tax rate of 11%, converted to a gallonage excise
tax rate.

(f) Includes the retail (17%) and distributor (5%/10%) license fees,
converted into a gallonage excise tax rate.

Note: Rates are those applicable to off-premise sales of 40% alcohol by
volume (a.b.v.) distilled spirits in 750ml containers. At the federal level,
spirits are subject to a tiered tax system. Federal rates are $2.70 per proof
gallon on the first 100,000 gallons per calendar year, $13.34/proof gallon
for more than 100,000 gallons but less than 22.23 million and $13.50/
proof gallon for more than 22.23 million gallons. D.C.'s rank does not
affect states’ ranks, but the figure in parentheses indicates where it would
rank if included. The alcohol excise tax provisions of the Tax Cuts and
Jobs Act were made permanent as of Dec. 27, 2020.

Sources: Distilled Spirits Council of the United States; Alcohol and
Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau.



Excise Taxes TABLE 29.

State Wine Excise Tax Rates
(Dollars per Gallon)

As of January 1, 2021

State Tax Rate Rank State Tax Rate Rank
Fed. $1.07 Mont. (a) $1.06 20
Ala. (a) $1.70 5 Nebr. (a) $0.95 23
Alaska $2.50 2 Nev. (a) $0.70 30
Ariz. (a) $0.84 26 N.H. (a, €) -- --
Ark. (b,c) $1.47 11 N.J. $0.88 24
Calif. (a) $0.20 45 N.M. (a) $1.70 5
Colo. (a) $0.32 40 N.Y. $0.30 41
Conn. (a) $0.792 27 N.C. (a) $1.00 22
Del. $1.63 7 N.D. (a) $1.22 18
Fla. (a) $2.25 3 Ohio (a) $0.32 39
Ga. (a) $1.51 8 Okla. (a) $0.72 29
Hawaii (a) $1.38 14 Ore. (a) $0.67 31
Idaho (a) $0.45 37 Pa. (e) - --
1. (a) $1.39 13 R.I. (a) $1.40 12
Ind. (a) $0.47 36 S.C. (a) $1.08 19
lowa (a) $1.75 4 S.D. (a,¢) $1.33 15
Kans. (a) $0.30 41 Tenn. (b) $1.27 16
Ky.(d) $3.23 1 Tex. (a) $0.20 44
La. (a) $0.76 28 Utah (e) -- --
Maine (a) $0.60 32 Vt. (a) $0.55 33
Md. (c) $1.48 10 Va. (a) $1.51 8
Mass. (a) $0.55 33 Wash. (a) $0.87 25
Mich. (a) $0.51 35 W.Va. (a) $1.00 21
Minn. (b, ¢) $1.22 17 Wis. (a) $0.25 43
Miss. (a, €) -- -- Wyo. (e) -- --
Mo. $0.42 38 D.C. (a,c) $1.89 (4)

(a) Different rates also applicable to alcohol content, place of production,
size of container, place purchased (on- or off-premise or on board
airlines), or type of wine (carbonated, vermouth, etc.).

(b) Includes case fees and/or bottle fees which may vary with size of
container.

(c) Includes sales taxes specific to alcoholic beverages.

(d) Includes the wholesale tax rate of 10%, converted to a gallonage
excise tax rate.

(e) Control states, where the government controls all sales. Products can
be subject to ad valorem markup as well as excise taxes. Only license
state volume-based tax rates are shown.

Note: Rates are those applicable to off-premise sales of 11% alcohol by
volume (a.b.v.) non-carbonated wine in 750ml containers. Federal rates
vary by alcohol content and type of wine, ranging up to $3.15 for 21-24%
alcohol and $3.40 for sparkling wine. Federal rates also vary based on
number of gallons sold. D.C.'s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the
figure in parentheses indicates where it would rank if included.

Source: Distilled Spirits Council of the United States.



TABLE 30. Excise Taxes

State Beer Excise Tax Rates
(Dollars per Gallon)

As of January 1, 2021

State Tax Rate Rank State Tax Rate Rank
Fed. $0.58 Mont. $0.14 40
Ala. (a) $0.53 8  Nebr. $0.31 20
Alaska $1.07 2 Nev. $0.16 36
Ariz. $0.16 36 N.H. $0.30 21
Ark. (b, c) $0.34 19 N.J. $0.12 42
Calif. $0.20 30 N.M. $0.41 15
Colo. $0.08 46  N.. $0.14 39
Conn. $0.23 27 N.C.(d) $0.62 6
Del. $0.26 24 N.D.(d) $0.45 12
Fla. (d) $0.48 9  Ohio (d) $0.18 34
Ga. (a, d) $0.48 9  Okla. (d) $0.40 16
Hawaii (d) $0.93 3  Ore. $0.08 45
Idaho (d) $0.15 38 Pa. $0.08 46
1. $0.23 28 Rl (c) $0.12 41
Ind. $0.12 43 S.C. $0.77 5
lowa (d) $0.19 32 S.D. $0.27 22
Kans. $0.18 33  Tenn. (e) $1.29 1
Ky. (e) $0.89 4 Tex. (d) $0.20 31
La. $0.40 16  Utah (d) $041 14
Maine $0.35 18 Vi $0.27 23
Md. (b) $0.55 7 Va.(d) $0.26 26
Mass. $0.11 44 Wash. (d) $0.26 25
Mich. $0.20 29 W.Va. $0.18 35
Minn. (d, b) $0.46 11 Wis. (d) $0.06 48
Miss. $0.43 13 Wyo. $0.02 50
Mo. $0.06 49 D.C.(b) $0.72 (6)

(a) Statewide local rates exist in Alabama ($0.52/gallon) and Georgia
($0.53/gallon).

(b) Includes sales taxes specific to alcoholic beverages.

(c) Includes case fees and/or bottle fees which may vary with the size of
container.

(d) Different rates also applicable according to alcohol content, place of
production, size of container, or place purchased (on- or off-premise or
onboard airlines).

(e) Includes the wholesale tax rate in Kentucky (10%) and Tennessee
($35.60 per barrel), converted into a gallonage excise tax rate.

Note: Rates are those applicable to off-premise sales of 4.7% a.b.v. beer
in 12-ounce containers which have been imported from outside the state.
At the federal level, beer is subject to differing tax rates. Small domestic
brewers are taxed between $0.11/gallon and $0.516/gallon. All other
brewers are taxed at rates between $0.516/gallon and $0.58/gallon.
D.C!s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in parentheses
indicates where it would rank if included.

Sources: Distilled Spirits Council of the United States; Alcohol and
Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau; state revenue departments.



Excise Taxes TABLE 31.

State & Local Cell Phone Tax
Rates

As of July 1, 2020

Average Average
State-Local State-Local
State Tax Rate Rank State Tax Rate Rank
Fed. (a) 9.83% Mont. 6.73% 46
Ala. 11.05% 26  Nebr. 19.30% 4
Alaska 14.32% 16  Nevw. 3.46% 48
Ariz. 12.64% 19 N.H. 9.03% 36
Ark. 20.21% 2 N.J. 9.07% 35
Calif. 13.39% 17 N.M. 12.13% 21
Colo. 11.98% 23 NY. 18.75% 5
Conn. 7.92% 42 N.C. 8.98% 37
Del. 6.68% 47  N.D. 15.26% 10
Fla. 14.89% 13  Ohio 8.52% 40
Ga. 12.09% 22 Okla. 14.56% 14
Hawaii 7.83% 43 Ore. 2.98% 49
Idaho 2.71% 50 Pa. 16.48% 8
11l 22.37% 1 RIL 15.39% 9
Ind. 11.96% 24 S.C. 12.63% 20
lowa 9.79% 34 S.D. 14.39% 15
Kans. 16.68% 6  Tenn. 12.65% 18
Ky. 10.97% 27  Tex. 11.84% 25
La. 9.80% 33  Utah 16.64% 7
Maine 8.71% 39  Vt 8.90% 38
Md. 14.95% 11 Va. 7.03% 45
Mass. 10.32% 30  Wash. 19.83% 3
Mich. 10.18% 31  WVa. 10.42% 29
Minn. 10.72% 28  Wis. 7.72% 44
Miss. 9.85% 32  Wyo. 8.47% 41
Mo. 14.91% 12 D.C. 12.06%  (23)

(a) The federal tax listed is the federal Universal Service Fund (USF).

Note: The local tax rate is calculated as the average of the tax in the
largest city and the capital city. Figures include state and local general
sales taxes. D.C!s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in
parentheses indicates where it would rank if included.

Source: Tax Foundation, “Wireless Tax Burden Remains High Due to
Federal Surcharge Increase.”



TABLE 32. Excise Taxes

Sales Tax Treatment of
Groceries, Candy, & Soda

As of January 1, 2021

State Candy Soda
General Grocery Treated as Treated as

State Sales Tax Treatment Groceries? Groceries?
Ala. 4.00% Included in Base Yes Yes
Alaska - - -- --
Ariz. 5.60% Exempt Yes Yes
Ark. 6.50% 1.50% No No
Calif. (a) 8.25% Exempt Yes No
Colo. 2.90% Exempt No No
Conn. 6.35% Exempt No No
Del. - -- -- --
Fla. 6.00% Exempt No No
Ga. 4.00% Exempt Yes Yes
Hawaii 4.00% Included in Base Yes Yes
Idaho 6.00% Included in Base Yes Yes
1l 6.25% 1.00% No No
Ind. 7.00% Exempt No No
lowa 6.00% Exempt No No
Kans. 6.50% Included in Base Yes Yes
Ky. 6.00% Exempt No No
La. 4.45% Exempt Yes Yes
Maine 5.50% Exempt No No
Md. 6.00% Exempt No No
Mass. 6.25% Exempt Yes Yes
Mich. 6.00% Exempt Yes Yes
Minn. 6.875% Exempt No No
Miss. 7.00% Included in Base Yes Yes
Mo. 4.225% 1.225% Yes Yes
Mont. - - - -
Nebr. 5.50% Exempt Yes Yes
Nev. 6.85% Exempt Yes Yes
N.H. == == == ==
N.J. 6.625% Exempt No No
N.M. 5.125% Exempt Yes Yes
N.Y. 4.00% Exempt No No
N.C. 4.75% Exempt No No

N.D. 5.00% Exempt No No



Excise Taxes TABLE 32, cont.

Sales Tax Treatment of
Groceries, Candy, & Soda

As of January 1, 2021

State Candy Soda
General Grocery Treated as Treated as

State Sales Tax Treatment Groceries? Groceries?
Ohio 5.75% Exempt Yes No
Okla. 4.50% Included in Base Yes Yes
Ore. == == == ==
Pa. 6.00% Exempt Yes No
R.I. 7.00% Exempt No No
S.C. 6.00% Exempt Yes Yes
S.D. 4.50% Included in Base Yes Yes
Tenn. 7.00% 4.00% No Yes
Tex. 6.25% Exempt No No
Utah (a) 4.85% 1.75% Yes Yes
Vt. 6.00% Exempt Yes No
Va. (a) 5.30% 2.50% Yes Yes
Wash. 6.50% Exempt Yes No
W.Va. 6.00% Exempt Yes No
Wis. 5.00% Exempt No No
Wyo. 4.00% Exempt Yes Yes
D.C. 6.00% Exempt No No

(a) Three states levy mandatory, statewide, local add-on sales taxes at the
state level: California (1.25%), Utah (1.25%), and Virginia (1%). We include
these in their state sales tax.

Sources: Bloomberg Tax; state statutes.



TABLE 33. Excise Taxes

State & Local Excise Tax
Collections per Capita

Fiscal Year 2018

Collections Collections

State per Capita Rank State per Capita Rank
U.Ss. $613 Mont. $608 22
Ala. $648 15  Nebr. $359 48
Alaska $510 37 New. $1,072 2
Ariz. $328 50 N.H. $761 11
Ark. $519 34  N.J. $579 25
Calif. $612 21 N.M. $441 41
Colo. $525 33  NY. $725 12
Conn. $887 6 N.C. $450 40
Del. $624 19  N.D. $674 14
Fla. $607 23 Ohio $532 31
Ga. $438 42 Okla. $380 46
Hawaii $992 3  Ore. $538 28
Idaho $371 47  Pa. $831 10
. $843 8 R $629 18
Ind. $679 13  S.C. $393 45
lowa $532 30 S.D. $581 24
Kans. $505 38 Tenn. $519 35
Ky. $646 16 Tex. $615 20
La. $637 17  Utah $526 32
Maine $544 26Vt $1,134 1
Md. $968 4  Va. $543 27
Mass. $432 43 Wash. $862 7
Mich. $512 36 W.JVa. $834

Minn. $899 5  Wis. $495 39
Miss. $533 29  Wyo. $355 49
Mo. $406 44  D.C. $632 (18)

Note: Excise taxes are sales and other special taxes imposed on select
items, such as tobacco products, alcoholic beverages, and motor

fuels. This table also includes excise taxes, or selective sales taxes, on
amusements, insurance premiums, parimutuels, and public utilities. D.C.s
rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in parentheses indicates
where it would rank if included. See Table 43 for people per household
by state.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, “Annual Survey of State and Local
Government Finances”; Tax Foundation calculations.



Property Taxes TABLE 34.

Property Taxes Paid as a
Percentage of Owner-Occupied
Housing Value

Calendar Year 2019

Effective Effective
State Tax Rate  Rank State Tax Rate  Rank
U.s. 1.03% Mont. 0.74% 83
Ala. 0.37% 49 Nebr. 1.54% 7
Alaska 0.98% 21 Nev. 0.56% 42
Ariz. 0.60% 39 N.H. 1.89% 3
Ark. 0.61% 38 N.J. 2.13% 1
Calif. 0.70% 34 N.M. 0.59% 40
Colo. 0.52% 46 N.Y. 1.30% 14
Conn. 1.73% 5 N.C. 0.78% 32
Del. 0.59% 41 N.D. 0.88% 24
Fla. 0.86% 26 Ohio 1.52% 9
Ga. 0.87% 25 Okla. 0.83% 29
Hawaii 0.31% 50 Ore. 0.91% 23
Idaho 0.65% 35 Pa. 1.43% 11
. 1.97% 2 R.I. 1.37% 12
Ind. 0.81% 30 S.C. 0.53% 44
lowa 1.43% 10 S.D. 1.14% 17
Kans. 1.28% 15 Tenn. 0.63% 36
Ky. 0.78% 31 Tex. 1.60% 6
La. 0.51% 48 Utah 0.56% 43
Maine 1.20% 16 Vit. 1.76% 4
Md. 1.01% 20 Va. 0.84% 28
Mass. 1.08% 18 Wash. 0.84% 27
Mich. 1.31% 13 W.Va. 0.53% 45
Minn. 1.05% 19 Wis. 1.53% 8
Miss. 0.63% 37 Wyo. 0.51% 47
Mo. 0.96% 22 D.C. 0.58% (42)

Note: The figures in this table are mean effective property tax rates
on owner-occupied housing (total real taxes paid/total home value). As
a result, the data exclude property taxes paid by businesses, renters,
and others. D.C.'s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in
parentheses indicates where it would rank if included.

Sources: U.S. Census Bureau, “2019 American Community Survey”; Tax
Foundation calculations.



TABLE 35. Property Taxes

State & Local Property Tax
Collections per Capita

Fiscal Year 2018

Collections Collections

State per Capita Rank State per Capita Rank
u.s. $1,675 Mont. $1,711 14
Ala. $598 50  Nebr. $2,010 12
Alaska $2,195 10  New. $1,044 38
Ariz. $1,125 34 N.H. $3,362

Ark. $776 48 N.J. $3,378

Calif. $1,680 18 N.M. $832 46
Colo. $1,616 23 NY. $3,025 4
Conn. $3,107 3 N.C. $993 41
Del. $931 43  N.D. $1,649 20
Fla. $1,377 29  Ohio $1,356 31
Ga. $1,205 33  Okla. $771 49
Hawaii $1,358 30 Ore. $1,557 27
Idaho $1,022 40  Pa. $1,584 26
11l $2,277 8 R.I. $2,431 7
Ind. $1,033 39 s.cC. $1,211 32
lowa $1,702 15 S.D. $1,586 25
Kans. $1,605 24 Tenn. $799 47
Ky. $845 45 Tex. $1,973 13
La. $894 44 Utah $1,070 36
Maine $2,249 9 Vit $2,738 5
Md. $1,693 17 Va. $1,699 16
Mass. $2,565 6  Wash. $1,645 22
Mich. $1,465 28  WJVa. $950 42
Minn. $1,649 21 Wis. $1,680 19
Miss. $1,061 37  Wyo. $2,012 11
Mo. $1,073 35 D.C. $3,740 (1)

Note: D.C!s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in
parentheses indicates where it would rank if included. See Table 43 for
people per household by state.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, “Annual Survey of State and Local
Government Finances”; Tax Foundation calculations.



Property Taxes TABLE 36.

State Capital Stock Tax Rates
As of January 1, 2021

State Tax Rate ~ Max Payment
Ala. 0.175% $15,000
Ark. 0.3% Unlimited
g°g;‘ 0.26% $1,000,000
Del. 0.035% $200,000
Ga. (c) $5,000
1. (d) 0.1% $2,000,000
La. (e) 0.3% Unlimited
Mass. (a) 0.26% Unlimited
Miss. (f) 0.175% Unlimited
Nebr. (c) (g)
N.C. 0.15% Unlimited
Okla. 0.125% $20,000
S.C. 0.1% Unlimited
Tenn. 0.25% Unlimited
Wyo. 0.02% Unlimited

(a) Taxpayer pays the greater of corporate income tax or capital stock
tax liability.

(b) Tax will be fully phased out by January 1, 2024.

(c) Based on a fixed dollar payment schedule. Effective tax rates
decrease as taxable capital increases.

(d) The tax rate is 0.15% for the first year and 0.1% for all following
years. lllinois’ tax is being phased out by exempting increasing
amounts of capital stock liability. The 2021 exemption is $1,000.
The tax will be fully phased out by 2024.

(e) The rate is 0.15% for the first $300,000 of taxable capital.

(f) Tax will be fully phased out by Jan. 1, 2028.

(g) Nebraska’s Corporation Occupation Tax is due every other year.
The maximum tax is $23,990 for domestic (Nebraska) corporations
and $30,000 for foreign (out-of-state) corporations.

Note: Capital stock taxes are levied on net assets of a company or its
market capitalization.

Sources: State statutes; state revenue departments; Bloomberg Tax.



TABLE 37. Estate & Inheritance Taxes

State Estate Tax Rates &
Exemptions

As of January 1, 2021

State Exemption Rate (Min. to Max.)
Conn. (a) $7,100,000 10.8% - 12.0%
Hawaii $5,490,000 10.0% - 20.0%
1. $4,000,000 0.8% - 16.0%
Maine $5,800,000 8.0% - 12.0%
Md. (b)  $5,000,000 0.8% - 16.0%
Mass. $1,000,000 0.8% - 16.0%
Minn. $3,000,000 13.0% - 16.0%

N.Y. $5,850,000 3.06% - 16.0%
Ore. $1,000,000 10.0%-16.0%
R.I $1,579,922 0.8% - 16.0%
Vt. $5,000,000 16.0%
Wash. $2,193,000 10.0% - 20.0%
D.C. $4,000,000 11.2% - 16.0%

(a) Connecticut’s exclusion is scheduled to rise further, matching the
federal threshold by 2023.
(b) Maryland has both an estate and an inheritance tax. See Table 38.

Sources: Bloomberg Tax; state statutes.



Estate & Inheritance Taxes TABLE 38.

State Inheritance Tax Rates &
Exemptions

As of January 1, 2021

Rate
(Min. to
State Heir type Exemption Max.)
lowa (a) Class A 100% exempt 0%
Class B No exemption 5% - 10%
Class C No exemption 10% - 15%
Class D No exemption 15%
Class E No exemption 10%
Class F No exemption 5%
Class G 100% exempt 0%
Ky. Class A 100% exempt 0%
Class B $1,000 4% - 16%
Class C $500 6% - 16%
Md. (b) Spouse/Lineal Heirs 100% exempt 0%
All others No exemption 10%
Nebr. (c) Spouses 100% exempt 0%
Immediate Relatives ~ $40,000 1%
Remote Relatives $15,000 13%
All others $10,000 18%
N.J. (d) Class A 100% exempt 0%
Class C $25,000 11% - 16%
Class D No exemption 15% - 16%
Class E 100% exempt 0%
Pa. (e) Spouses 100% exempt 0%
Lineal Heirs No exemption 4.5%
Siblings No exemption 12%
Others No exemption 15%

(a) Class B also includes siblings; Class D is for-profit organizations; Class
E, foreign charitable organizations; Class F, unknown heirs; and Class
G, recognized charities.

(b) Maryland has both an estate tax and an inheritance tax. See Table 37.

(c) Nebraska’s inheritance tax is levied at the county level.

(d) New Jersey’s inheritance tax only applies to estates over $1 million.
Class C is for non-immediate family members; Class D, non-related
individuals; Class E, charitable organizations.

(e) Parent-to-child transfers to children 21 years and under, transfers of
farms and farming equipment, and transfers of some family-owned
businesses are exempt.

Note: Inheritance taxes are levied on the posthumous transfer of assets
based on relationship to the decedent. Generally, Class A beneficiaries
are spouses, children, and often siblings. Class B beneficiaries are non-
immediate family members. Class C beneficiaries are non-family members.
Unlike estate taxes, the term “exemption” here applies not to the size of
the estate but to the size of the gift itself.

Sources: Bloomberg Tax; state statutes.



TABLE 39. State Debt

State Debt per Capita
Fiscal Year 2019

Debt per Debt per

State Capita Rank State Capita Rank
u.s. $3,578 Mont. $2,488 83
Ala. $2,059 39  Nebr. $1,173 48
Alaska $8,285 4 Nevw. $1,074 49
Ariz. $1,871 42 N.H. $5,589 10
Ark. $2,381 37 N.J. $7,197 6
Calif. $3,677 20 N.M. $3,486 23
Colo. $3,341 26 N.Y. $7,749 5
Conn. $11,730 1 N.C $1,425 45
Del. $5,098 12 N.D. $4,429 15
Fla. $1,212 47  Ohio $2,392 36
Ga. $1,283 46  Okla. $2,414 35
Hawaii $7,064 7  Ore. $3,635 21
Idaho $1,892 41 Pa. $3,824 18
. $5,151 11 Rl $8,756 3
Ind. $3,333 27 S.C. $2,496 32
lowa $1,960 40 S.D. $3,967 16
Kans. $2,546 31  Tenn. $986 50
Ky. $3,435 24 Tex. $1,855 43
La. $3,753 19  Utah $2,151 38
Maine $3,493 22Vt $5,594 9
Md. $4,784 13 Va. $3,411 25
Mass. $11,413 2 Wash. $4,673 14
Mich. $3,201 28  W.Va. $5,898 8
Minn. $3,035 29 Wis. $3,893 17
Miss. $2,428 34  Wyo. $1,525 44
Mo. $2,781 30

Note: This shows total outstanding debt at the end of the fiscal year. D.C.
is included only in combined state and local data; see Table 40. See Table
43 for people per household by state.

Sources: U.S. Census Bureau, “Annual Survey of State Government
Finances”; Tax Foundation calculations.



State Debt TABLE 40.

State & Local Debt per Capita
Fiscal Year 2018

Debt per Debt per
State Capita Rank State Capita Rank
U.S. $9,591 Mont. $5,371 45
Ala. $6,211 40 Nebr. $7,654 27
Alaska $12,519 6  Nev. $9,401 17
Ariz. $6,453 38 N.H. $7,595 30
Ark. $6,362 39 N.J. $10,666 12
Calif. $12,553 5 N.M. $7,625 28
Colo. $9,894 15 NY. $18,168 1
Conn. $14,472 2 N.C. $4,444 48
Del. $7,880 24 N.D. $10,952 11
Fla. $6,078 42 Ohio $7,760 25
Ga. $5,577 44 Okla. $5,006 46
Hawaii $11,994 8 Ore. $9,220 18
Idaho $3,494 49 Pa. $9,945 14
1. $12,981 4 R.I. $11,064 9
Ind. $7,543 31 S.C. $7,241 34
lowa $6,021 43 S.D. $7,476 32
Kans. $8,759 20 Tenn. $6,465 37
Ky. $10,968 10 Tex. $10,242 13
La. $7,971 23 Utah $7,193 35
Maine $6,192 41 Vit. $7,713 26
Md. $8,878 19 Va. $8,116 22
Mass. $14,209 3 Wash. $12,227 7
Mich. $7,281 33 WwVa. $6,717 36
Minn. $9,579 16 Wis. $8,127 21
Miss. $4,755 47  Wyo. $3,325 50
Mo. $7,609 29 D.C. $23,031 (1)

Note: This shows total outstanding debt at the end of the fiscal year.
D.C!s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in parentheses
indicates where it would rank if included. See Table 43 for people per
household by state.

Sources: U.S. Census Bureau, “Annual Survey of State and Local
Government Finances”; Tax Foundation calculations.



TABLE 41. State Debt

Funded Ratio of Public Pension
Plans

Fiscal Year 2019

Funded Funded

State Ratio Rank State Ratio Rank
Ala. 69% 28  Mont. 73% 24
Alaska 67% 31  Nebr. 91% 5
Ariz. 67% 31  Nev. 77% 18
Ark. 79% 16  N.H. 65% 34
Calif. 72% 25  NJ. 36% 50
Colo. 55% 42 N.M. 68% 30
Conn. 46% 46 NY. 92% 4
Del. 83% 11 N.C. 87% 7
Fla. 77% 18 N.D. 75% 22
Ga. 79% 16  Ohio 75% 22
Hawaii 55% 42 Okla. 80% 14
Idaho 94% 3  Ore. 80% 14
111, 39% 49  Pa. 56% 41
Ind. 44% 48 Rl 53% 45
lowa 85% 8 S.C. 55% 42
Kans. 70% 27 S.D. 99%

Ky. 46% 46  Tenn. 91% 5
La. 65% 34  Tex. 67% 31
Maine 83% 11 Utah 84% 10
Md. 72% 25  Vt 61% 37
Mass. 59% 40 Va. 77% 18
Mich. 61% 37  Wash. 77% 18
Minn. 85% 8  W.JVa. 82% 13
Miss. 62% 36  Wis. 96% 2
Mo. 61% 37  Wyo. 69% 28

Note: Funded ratio is defined as the level of assets in proportion to
accrued pension liability.

Source: Truth in Accounting.



Data TABLE 42.

Income per Capita by State
Calendar Year 2019

Income per Income per
State Capita Rank State Capita Rank
u.s. $56,490 Mont. $49,747 32
Ala. $44,145 46  Nebr. $54,515 20
Alaska $62,806 9  Nev. $51,161 29
Ariz. $46,058 42 N.H. $63,502 8
Ark. $44,629 45 N.J. $70,471 4
Calif. $66,619 5 NM. $43,326 48
Colo. $61,157 11 NJ. $71,717 3
Conn. $77,289 1 N.C $47,766 39
Del. $54,485 21  N.D. $57,232 16
Fla. $52,426 27  Ohio $50,199 31
Ga. $48,236 38  Okla. $47,341 41
Hawaii $57,015 17 Ore. $53,191 25
Idaho $45,968 43  Pa. $58,032 15
1. $58,764 14 R $56,361 18
Ind. $48,678 36 S.C. $45,438 44
lowa $51,865 28 S.D. $53,962 22
Kans. $53,426 23 Tenn. $48,684 35
Ky. $43,770 47  Tex. $52,813 26
La. $47,460 40  Utah $48,939 34
Maine $50,634 30 Vt $55,293 19
Md. $64,640 7  Va. $59,657 12
Mass. $74,187 2 Wash. $64,758 6
Mich. $49,228 33  W.Va. $42,315 49
Minn. $58,834 13 Wis. $53,227 24
Miss. $38,914 50 Wyo. $62,189 10
Mo. $48,656 37 D.C. $83,406 (1)

Note: Per capita personal income is total personal income divided by
total midyear population. All dollar estimates are in current dollars (not
adjusted for inflation). D.Cs rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the
figure in parentheses indicates where it would rank if included.

Source: U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis.



TABLE 43.

Data

People per Household by State

2018-2019
State 2018 2019 State 2018 2019
U.s. 2.63 2.61 Mont. 2.40 2.38
Ala. 2.57 2.52 Nebr. 2.45 2.44
Alaska 2.79 2.79 Nev. 2.65 2.66
Ariz. 2.68 2.67 N.H. 2.47 2.44
Ark. 2.53 2.52 N.J. 2.69 2.65
Calif. 2.96 2.94 N.M. 2.58 2.59
Colo. 2.56 2.52 N.Y. 2.57 2.54
Conn. 2.51 2.51 N.C. 2.52 2.52
Del. 2.56 2.52 N.D. 2.30 2.28
Fla. 2.67 2.66 Ohio 2.43 2.40
Ga. 2.70 2.69 Okla. 2.58 2,57/
Hawaii 3.02 2.95 Ore. 2.50 2.50
Idaho 2.69 2.68 Pa. 2.44 2.42
1. 2.56 2.54 R.I. 2.50 2.50
Ind. 2.50 2.52 S, 257/ 2.54
lowa 2.41 2.38 S.D. 2.46 2.40
Kans. 2.50 2.49 Tenn. 2.54 2,51
Ky. 2.50 2.48 Tex. 2.87 2.84
La. 2.61 2.60 Utah 3.12 3.08
Maine 2.28 2.28 Vit. 2.30 2.28
Md. 2.66 2.65 Va. 2.61 2.60
Mass. 2.54 2.51 Wash. 2.55 2.55
Mich. 2.47 2.46 W.Va. 2.3 2.40
Minn. 2.50 2.48 Wis. 2.39 2.38
Miss. 2.61 2.62 Wyo. 2.45 2.42
Mo. 2.44 2.43 D.C. 2.31 2.29

Note: This does not include persons living in institutionalized housing,
defined as adult or juvenile correctional institutions, some medical and
military facilities, hospitals, and psychiatric facilities.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau.
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