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Section 1: Findings 

Establishes the chronology of the severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2), which led 

to outbreaks of the novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19), and the State of Alaska response to the imminent 

threat and outbreak of COVID-19 in Alaska. This section also includes a description of federal agency actions 

in approving an Emergency Use Authorization (EUA) for the immediate nationwide distribution of a COVID-

19 vaccination, which occurred on December 11, 2020, and the need for a statewide response under AS 

18.15.390 to address the public health disaster emergency and aid in vaccine distribution across the state. 

 

Section 2: Extension of Disaster Emergency 

Extends the Public Health Disaster Emergency issued on January 15, 2021 to September 30, 2021.  

 

Provides that the Commissioner of the Department of Health & Social Services (DHSS) may certify to the 

Governor that there is no longer a present outbreak of COVID-19 or a credible threat of an imminent outbreak 

and upon receiving, shall submit a proclamation to the Legislature that indicates that the public health disaster 

emergency no longer exists. 

 

Section 3: Financing Plan 

1. Appropriations made in Section 8 of HB 206 (Ch.2, SLA 2020) 

2. Appropriations made in Section 10 of HB 234 (Ch. 7, SLA 2020) 

3. Appropriations made in Section 28 of HB 205 (Ch. 8, SLA 2020) – of federal receipts received during 

FY 2021 for Medicaid Services and federal receipts received for responding to the public health 

disaster emergency 

4. Appropriations made in Section 38 of HB 205 (Ch. 8, SLA 2020) to the Disaster Relief Fund 

5. Appropriations made in Section 37(a) of HB 205 (Ch. 8, SLA 2020) excess federal receipts received 

during FY 2021 

6. The authorization for expenditure of federal CARES Act receipts that were ratified in HB 313 (Ch. 

32, SLA 2020) 

7. Federal receipts received by any state agency for purposes of mitigating the public health disaster 

emergency that may be requested to include in an appropriation bill if the Legislature is in session, or 

using the process proscribed under AS 26.23.020(k)(2) if the Legislature is not in session 

8. Any future appropriations made for FY 2021 and FY 2022 

9. The Governor may not spend more than $10 million from the Disaster Relief Fund for the emergency 

declared on January 15, 2021 and extended to September 30, 2021 

 

Section 4: Report to the Legislature  

Requires the Office of Management and Budget to submit a monthly report to the Legislative Finance 

Division that lists the total expenditures incurred by the State in its response to the public health emergency 

disaster including expenditures aimed at mitigating, preventing, and controlling COVID-19.   
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The report will include cumulative expenses incurred since March 11, 2020, the date the Governor issued an 

initial declaration of a public health disaster emergency. This section further provides for a final report due to 

the Legislative Finance Division no later than November 30, 2021 or 60 days after the Governor determines 

that a public health disaster emergency no longer exists, whichever is earlier. 

Section 5: Professional and Occupational Licensing  

Provides that a professional or occupational licensing board, or the Director of Corporations, Business and 

Professional Licensing (CBPL):  

1. May not increase licensing fees during the public health disaster emergency declaration;  

2. May grant a license, permit or certificate on an expedited basis, if an individual holds a corresponding 

license, permit, or certificate in good standing in another jurisdiction. A license expedited under this 

section, expires September 30, 2021 or on the date that the Governor determines a public health 

disaster emergency no longer exists;  

3. May temporarily waive or modify continuing education requirements for licensees who need to renew 

a professional license permit or certificate in calendar year 2021;  

4. May require an individual who receives a license, permit, or certificate under this section to arrange 

and agree to supervision by an individual who holds a license, permit or certificate in good standing 

for an applicable profession or by an administrator of facility licensed under AS 47.32.  

 

Further, this section provides that a licensed professional seeking or holding an expedited license, permit or 

certificate under this section who travels to Alaska from outside of Alaska, must comply with travel 

restriction orders or guidelines recommended by CDC, federal HHS and that are in effect when the individual 

travels. 

 

Section 6: Telehealth and Telemedicine  

Allows for a health care provider licensed, permitted or certified in another jurisdiction to practice telehealth 

in Alaska, without first conducting an in-person physical examination or being licensed in Alaska. The 

telehealth services provided must be within a provider’s authorized scope of practice. If the provider 

determines that the encounter will extend beyond the scope of practice or services, the provider must notify 

the patient and recommend that the patient contact a health care provider licensed in Alaska. The health care 

provider cannot charge unreasonable fees and the fees must be consistent with the ordinary fees charged for 

that service and may not be more than 5% above the ordinary fees typically charged.  

 

Section 7: Fingerprinting  

DCCED shall coordinate with DHSS and DPS to expedite the process for licensing for certain license 

applicants to submit fingerprints. 

 

Section 8: Meeting of Shareholders; Notice of Shareholder Meetings  

Allows for meetings of shareholders, shareholders of Native corporations, and members of a nonprofit 

corporation, to be held by electronic communication, in compliance with guidelines adopted by the each of 

the type of entities board of directors.   

Section 9: Charitable Gaming Online Ticket Sales 

Allows for certain charitable gaming activities to be conducted online during the public health disaster 

emergency declared by the Governor on January 15, 2021 and extended by this Act. Permittees and operators 

may sell tickets and draw the winning ticket online for a raffle or lottery, dog mushers’ contest, derby, or a 

type of classic. The seller must verify that the purchaser is of legal age to purchase, physically present in 

Alaska, and not within an area where charitable gaming is prohibited. The Department of Revenue is 

responsible for establishing standards for online ticket sales. 
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Section 10: Amends Section 37, Chapter 10, SLA 2020 

Repeals Section 29 of SB 241 Purchase of seafood for distribution, effective March 11, 2021. 

Repeals Section 31 of SB 241 Tolling of Office of Administrative Hearings, effective March 11, 2021. SB 

241 provided a sunset date for these sections of March 11, 2021.  

 

Section 11: Repeals sections of SB 241 

Repeals Section 25 – Witnessing of will signing by videoconference; Section 26 Unfair or deceptive trade 

practices; and Section 28 State access to federal education stabilization funds on September 30, 2021. SB 241 

provided a sunset date for these sections of March 11, 2021.  

 

Section 12: Repeals Sections of this Act 

Sections 1 – 3 and Sections 5-12 of this Act are repealed on the earlier of September 30, 2021 or when the 

Governor determines a public health disaster emergency no longer exists.  

 

Section 13: Effective Date 

If Sections 1-10 and Section 12 take effect after February 14, 2021, the sections are retroactive to February 

14, 2021.  

 

Section 14: Effective Date 

The underlying bill has an immediate effective date clause.  

 

 

 

 

 


