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’

“An Act relating to the registration of commercial vessels, and providing for an effective date.’

SECTIONAL ANALYSIS
(Revised 4.2.21)

Section One
Amends AS 05.25.055(i) to exempt commercial vessels with a valid license issued by the
Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission, under AS 16.05.490 or AS 16.05.530, from the
provision that requires owners to register their vessel with the Division of Motor Vehicles and
display the registration number issued by the Division.

Section Two
Amends AS 05.25.056(a), the existing Division of Motor Vehicles titling statute, to clarify that
undocumented registered Commercial Fishing Entry Commission licensed vessels, will still be
required to title through the Division of Motor Vehicles.

Section Three
Adds a new section to AS 16.05.475, that assesses an annual $8 registration fee for vessels
licensed with the Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission, beginning January 1, 2022. This is
in lieu of the current 3-year $24 fee collected by the Division of Motor Vehicles at the time of
registration or registration renewal.

The fee will be accounted for separately for as provided in AS 05.25.096(b), to be made
available for use by the Departments of Administration, Natural Resources and Commerce,
Community and Economic Development.

Section Four
Adds a new section to the uncodified law of the State of Alaska which requires the Commercial
Fisheries Entry Commission waive the $8 dollar registration fees for calendar year 2022 for
vessel owners that already paid the registration fee to the Division of Motor Vehicles for 2020.

Additionally, the commission will waive the $8 registration fee for both calendar year 2022 and
2023 if a vessel owner has paid their registration fee to the Division of Motor Vehicles in 2021.
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This section ensures that as vessel owners’ transition to paying an extra $8 to register with the
Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission, that do not pay the Commission for the years they
have already registered for with the Division of Motor Vehicles.

Section Five
Adds a new section to the uncodified law of Alaska to make section one of this act retroactive to
January 1, 2021.

Section Six
Establishes an immediate effective date for the remainder of the bill.



