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Fraud
Alaska law provides severe penalties for 

attempting to collect benefits to which you are 
not entitled. For UI purposes, fraud is knowingly 

making a false statement, misrepresenting 
a material fact or withholding information to 

obtain benefits. You will be required to repay the 
benefits. All fraud cases are subject to criminal 

prosecution, fines and imprisonment.

CLAIM CENTERS
If you need assistance regarding your claim, visit 
us online:

labor.alaska.gov/unemployment/
call-centers.htm

Anchorage  UI Claim Center	 (907) 269-4700
Fairbanks UI Claim Center	 (907) 451-2871
Juneau UI Claim Center	 (907) 465-5552
Toll free for remote locations:	 (888) 252-2557
	 (888) 25CALLS
Fax	 (888) 353-2937/(888) 35FAXES
Telephone hours are 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Monday-Friday (except holidays).

Alaska Relay for the hearing impaired:
If you need assistance with your UI claim, dial  
711 from inside Alaska or (800) 770-8255  

(toll-free) from outside the state.

We are an equal opportunity employer/program. 
Auxiliary aids and services are available for 

individuals with disabilities.
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Waiting week
The first eligible week of your claim is called a 
waiting week. You do not receive payment for this 
week, yet you must file to get credit for the week 
before benefits can be paid.

How wages affect your benefits
You can earn $50 weekly without reducing your 
benefit check, but you must report the wages 
in the week you earn them even if you have not 
been paid yet. Your benefit check will be reduced 
by $.75 for each dollar you earn over $50. Wages 
include room and board, tips, commission, goods, 
barter, stipend, honorarium, per diem, COLA, 
payment for jury duty, and back pay awards.

Payment of benefits
All UI benefit payments will be disbursed electronically 
by direct deposit or debit card, which you can sign up 
for online. If direct deposit is not established, a debit 
card will be sent. Electronic payment is deposited 
approximately five days after filing biweekly certificates. 

Benefits are taxable
UI benefits are taxable income. You may request 
that 10 percent of benefits be withheld for taxes. 

Registration for work
If you are in Alaska and advised to do so, you must 
register for work. Go online to the Alaska Labor  
Exchange System (ALEXsys) — alexsys.dol.
alaska.gov — and create and post an online 
resumé. Your resumé must remain online for 
continued eligibility. This must be completed within 
seven days of filing your new or re-opened claim. 
If you previously had a resumé online in ALEXsys, 
you must log in to verify the resumé is online and 
active for division staff and employers to see.

Reemployment Services
Reemployment Services are available for job 
seekers, especially UI claimants, who are seeking 
information that will lead to the rapid return to 
suitable work. Employment and training resources 
are available through the Alaska job centers. 
Register on ALEXsys and view the Reemployment 
Services Orientation from the profile page.
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This pamphlet provides 
a brief overview of the 

Unemployment Insurance (UI) 
program and how to file for UI.

Information you need  
before filing 

•	 Your Social Security Number 
•	 If not a U.S. citizen, your alien registration 

number, work permit type, passport number 
and expiration date 

•	 Name of last employer, mailing address and phone
•	 Dates of employment 
•	 Hours and gross wages earned in your last 

week of work
•	 Gross amount of holiday, vacation, severance  

or bonus received the last week you worked
•	 If you worked for the federal government in 

the past 18 months you will need SF8 or SF50
•	 If you were active duty military in the past 18 

months, copy 4 of your DD214
•	 Retirement information if currently receiving 

retirement payments

Eligibility requirements

•	 You must be able and available to accept full-time 
work in any occupation that is consistent with 
your prior training and experience.

•	 You must have transportation (car, bus, walk, 
etc.), and child care available if work is offered. 

•	 Employers and the Alaska job center both must 
be able to contact you.

•	 You are required to actively seek suitable work 
and report valid work search contacts for each 
week you are claiming benefits, unless you have 
been instructed otherwise.

•	 You can travel in search of work for up to four 
weeks, provided you make a reasonable effort 
to find work, which includes two documented 
in-person work searches each week.

•	 You may be eligible to receive benefits while 
attending approved vocational or academic 
training.

•	 A benefit year is typically 52 weeks, 
sometimes 53 weeks, following the effective 
date of your claim.

•	 For questions, contact the claim center 
or visit us online at labor.alaska.gov/
unemployment.

Amount/duration of benefits
The maximum weekly benefit amount in Alaska 
is $370. The minimum weekly benefit amount is 
$56. Your claim is based on wages paid to you in 
the first four of the last five completed calendar 
quarters from when you file your claim.

If you do not qualify, we will use wages earned 
in the last four completed calendar quarters from 
when you file your claim. The duration of benefits 
is 16 to 26 weeks depending on the amount and 
distribution of wages paid in the base period.

Online filing
UI services are provided through the Internet 24 
hours a day, seven days a week. 

To file online, log on to  
my.alaska.gov and click on 

“Unemployment Insurance Benefits.”

From this website you can:
•	File a new claim, reopen an existing claim
•	File for biweekly benefit payments — 

Benefits are paid biweekly. Once you have 
opened a claim, you need to file every two 
weeks to receive payments. Each week starts 
on Sunday and ends at midnight on Saturday.

•	View claim status — last payment, 
current mailing address and account status

•	Direct deposit — start, change or  
verify direct deposit account

•	Debit card — enrollment
•	ALEXsys — get help finding a job
•	1099/Tax information

Filing a new claim 
•	 The effective date of your claim is Sunday of 

the week in which you file your claim. 

Allowance for dependents 
You may be eligible to receive an additional 
allowance of $24 per week per child for up to three 
children. A dependent is your unmarried child, 
stepchild, legally adopted child or court-appointed 
legal ward. Your dependent must be under the age 
of 18, unless he or she has a long-term disability.

A dependent must live with you, or you must 
certify that you provide more than 50 percent 
of the dependent’s support over the past 12 
months or since the loss of custody. You may 
be requested to provide documentation for 
dependent allowance eligibility.
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