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March 3, 2021 
 
Representatives Zack Fields and Ivy Sponholz, Co‐Chairs and  
Members of the House Labor and Commerce Committee 
Alaska State Capitol  
Juneau, Alaska 99801       SENT BY EMAIL: House.Labor.And.Commerce@akleg.gov 

Representative.Zack.Fields@akleg.gov  
Representative.Ivy.Spohnholz@akleg.gov  

RE:  OPPOSE HB 30  
 
Dear Representatives Fields, Sponholz and Members of the House Labor and Commerce Committee,  
 
Please join me and the 157 members of the Alaska Municipal League Joint Insurance Association (AMLJIA) 
in opposing HB 30 (An Act relating to workers’ compensation benefits) as currently drafted. It increases 
workers’ compensation costs for Alaskan employers.  
 
The AMLJIA is a Joint Insurance Arrangement, formed under AS 21.76, which permits public entities to 
pool together to share costs and purchase insurance on a group basis. We are a not‐for‐profit 
administrator of a pool of 157 Alaska municipalities and school districts. If it passes, HB30 will affect our 
members and their employees, as well as the State of Alaska’s and your employees.  
 
Section 4 of the bill amending .215 (a), requires the employer to provide notification of the death to the 
personal representative (PR), who is often unknown for some time.  This notice includes imposing a 
requirement to provide the PR with a list of legal counsel and grief counselors.  Providing these lists would 
be more appropriately a function of the Division of Workers’ Compensation.  Employers are prohibited 
from directing medical care and similarly should not be held responsible for advising the PR regarding 
legal counsel or grief counselors.    
 
Extending the death benefits to age 23 is a significant jump from the current age of 19 (and a significant 
increase in liability).  Currently, dependent’s death benefits continue for up to 4 years of schooling after 
age 19.  Additionally, moving from $20,000 to $150,000 for dependent extended family members under 
AS 23.30.215 (a) (4) is an excessive increase.   
 
Section 2 of the bill increases the amount paid in the event of permanent disability or death of an 
employee.  The amounts paid for permanent partial impairment have not changed in many years, and it is 
appropriate for them to be updated and inflation‐proofed. That said, increasing these payment amounts 
will result in higher costs for Alaska’s employers in the form of higher workers’ compensation premiums.  
 
Sincerely, 

 

 
Kevin Smith 
Executive Director 


