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February 11, 2020 
 
The Honorable Jennifer Johnston 
Alaska State Legislature 
State Capitol, Room 511 
Juneau, AK 99801-1182 
 
Dear Representative Johnston: 
 
On February 6, 2020, the Department of Health and Social Services received the following 
questions from the House Health and Social Services Finance Subcommittee regarding the 
Public Assistance and Public Health presentations: 
 

• Rep. Tarr – Provide any historical information about how eligibility criteria for APA 
has changed over the years. 

Other than the annual cost of living increase that may occur each January, the eligibility criteria for Adult 
Public Assistance (APA) has remained generally the same since the program was started in 1982. New 
policy is added to the program as necessary, such as when Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) 
accounts were added in December of 2016 due to Alaska legislation. As a Supplemental Security Income 
(SSI) State, Alaska policy follows the Social Security Code of Federal Regulations, with limited 
exceptions. 

The limit for countable resources is $2,000 for an individual and $3,000 for a couple.  

§ 416.1205. Limitation on resources. 

(a) Individual with no eligible spouse. An aged, blind, or disabled individual with no spouse is 
eligible for benefits under title XVI of the Act if his or her non-excludable resources do not exceed 
$1,500 prior to January 1, 1985, and all other eligibility requirements are met. An individual who is living 
with an ineligible spouse is eligible for benefits under title XVI of the Act if his or her non-excludable 
resources, including the resources of the spouse, do not exceed $2,250 prior to January 1, 1985, and all 
other eligibility requirements are met. 

(b) Individual with an eligible spouse. An aged, blind, or disabled individual who has an eligible 
spouse is eligible for benefits under title XVI of the Act if their non-excludable resources do not exceed 
$2,250 prior to January 1, 1985, and all other eligibility requirements are met. 

https://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/cfr20/416/416-1205.htm
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(c) Effective January 1, 1985 and later. The resources limits and effective dates for January 1, 

1985 and later are as follows: 

Effective date Individual Individual and spouse 

Jan. 1, 1985 $1,600 $2,400 

Jan. 1, 1986 1,700 $2,550 

Jan. 1, 1987 1,800 $2,700 

Jan. 1, 1988 1,900 $2,850 

Jan. 1, 1989 2,000 $3,000 

 

The following are examples of exempt resources, outlined in § 416.1210 : 

• the home they live in and the land it is on; 
• household goods and personal effects; 
• burial spaces for the immediate family; 
• burial funds, each valued at $1,500 or less; 
• life insurance policies with a combined face value of $1,500 or less; 
• one vehicle, regardless of value, if it is used for transportation for a member of the household; 
• retroactive SSI or Social Security benefits for up to nine months after they receive them; 
• grants, scholarships, fellowships, or gifts set aside to pay educational expenses for 9 months after 

receipt; 
• up to $100,000 of funds in an Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) account established 

through a State ABLE program. 
• property essential to self–support; 
• resources that a blind or disabled person needs for an approved plan for achieving self-support 

(PASS); 
• money saved in an Individual Development Account (IDA); 
• support and maintenance assistance and home energy assistance; 
• health flexible spending arrangements (FSAs); 
• earned income tax credit payments are not counted for 9 months; 
• dedicated accounts for disabled or blind children;  
• disaster relief assistance; 
• cash received for the purpose of replacing an excluded resource (for example, a house) that is 

lost, damaged, or stolen is not counted for 9 months; 
• all Federal tax refunds and advanced tax credits received on or after January 1, 2010 are not 

counted for 12 months; 
• Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act (ANCSA) Assets, which includes fund distributions;  
• permanent Fund Dividend (PFD); and 
• some trusts. 

 

https://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/cfr20/416/416-1210.htm
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The following are examples of exempt income: 

Principal earned income exclusions, outlined in § 416.1112 : 

• the first $65 per month plus one-half of the remainder; 
• impairment-related work expenses of the disabled and work expenses of the blind; 
• income set aside or being used to pursue a plan for achieving self-support (PASS) by a disabled 

or blind individual; and 
• the first $30 of infrequent or irregularly received income in a quarter. 

 

Principal unearned income exclusions, outlined in § 416.1124: 

• the first $20 per month; 
• income set aside or being used to pursue a plan for achieving self-support (PASS) by a disabled 

or blind individual; 
• State or locally funded assistance based on need; 
• rent subsidies under HUD programs and the value of SNAP;  
• Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act (ANCSA) payments;  
• Permanent Fund Dividend (PFD); and 
• the first $60 of infrequent or irregularly received income in a quarter. 

 

General earned income exclusion 
The first $65 of any monthly earned income plus one-half of remaining earnings are excluded for benefit 
computation purposes. This general earned income exclusion is intended to help offset expenses incurred 
while working. 

Lawmakers are currently looking to increase the SSI resource limit to $10,000 for an individual and 
$20,000 for couples. The Supplemental Security Income Restoration Act (H.R. 4280 and S. 2753) would 
also increase the amount of disregarded income and repeal penalties for marrying or receiving financial, 
food, and housing assistance from family members. If the Social Security Administration raises these 
limits, the state’s limits will be increased to match. 

• Rep Zulkosky – What percentage of the 25% of the Marijuana Education and 
Treatment Fund that is allocated to DPH goes directly to the afterschool program? 

The Marijuana Education and Treatment Fund receives 25% of the collected Marijuana taxes. The portion 
of the Marijuana Education Treatment Fund that was appropriated to Public Health in FY2020 is 
$2,313,000.  Of this, $1,250,000 (or 54%) is distributed through grants to 7 grantees serving 40 
communities. 

 
• Rep Zulkosky – Please provide the list of the 7 grantees and the 40 communities being 

served by the after school program? Were the allocations equal among grantees or 
higher for a statewide grantee?  Can you provide the breakdown? 

Please see attachment titled “DHSS Fiscal Year 2020 Grant Book”. 

https://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/cfr20/416/416-1112.htm
https://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/cfr20/416/416-1124.htm
https://www.congress.gov/bill/116th-congress/house-bill/4280
https://www.congress.gov/bill/116th-congress/senate-bill/2753?s=1&r=1
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 Anthony Newman, Legislative Liaison 
 Sarah Brinkley, Deputy Legislative Liaison 
 Shawnda O’Brien, Director, Division of Public Assistance 
            Heidi Hedberg, Director, Division of Public Health 
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