ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT

For departmental use only
[ GENERAL DUTIES WORK PERMIT
APPROVED FOR:
[] 16 & 17 YEAR OLD MINORS; OR
U] 14-17 YEAR OLD MINORS

For departmental use only

(] INDIVIDUAL WORK PERMIT APPROVED
[] APPROVED AS AMENDED:

By: Date:
[J DENIED GENERAL DUTIES WORK PERMIT:
By: Date: 1. Employer completes and signs Section A.
2. Employer submits work permit to Wage and Hour office.
INDIVIDUAL WORK PERMIT: _ 3. The approved duties are returned to the employer.
1. Employer completes and signs Section A. 4. Employer obtains the signature of the minor’s parent or
2. Parent or guardian completes and signs Section B. guardian in Section B, verifies minor’s age and agrees to keep a
3 Employer verifies minor’s age, agrees to keep a copy of the copy of the proof of age on file at the employer’s premises. The
proof of age on file at the employer’s premises and submits minor may then begin work.
work permit by email, fax or in person. 5. Employer must return a copy of the completed work
4. When the approved work permit is returned from the permit to the department within seven (7) calendar days
depar‘[ment, the minor may begin work. of minor beginning to work.

Section (A) to be completed by EMPLOYER

Name of Employer: DBA:
Employer Email: Employer Telephone Number: Employer Fax Number:
Employer Local Mailing Address: City and State: Zip:
Location of Employment (Physical Address): City and State: Zip:
Duties to be performed by minor: Tools, Equipment or Machinery to be used by minor:

Hourly Rate: Pay Periods:
Will the minor be working at an establishment that serves alcohol? LIvyEs L[INO RDP number:
If yes, is there a valid Restaurant Designation Permit (RDP) filed with the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board? Lves [ No

v SEE REVERSE SIDE - FEDERAL LIMITATIONS MAY BE MORE STRICT.
HOURS OF WORK FOR YOUTHS AGES 14 AND 15 YEARS WILL BE RESTRICTED AS INDICATED BELOW:
When school is in session, hours will be limited to a combined total of nine hours of school attendance plus employment in any one day; work will be performed only
between the hours of 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. Total hours worked in one week will be limited to 23 hours.
During school vacations, work hours will be limited to a maximum of 8 hours per day and a maximum of 40 hours per week; work will be performed only between the
hours of 5 a.m. and 9 p.m.
Alaska law (AS 23.10.350 (c)) states that a minor under 18 years of age:
(i) May not be employed or allowed to work more than six days a week;
(ii) wWho works for five (5) consecutive hours without a documented, 30 consecutive minute break is to have a documented break of at least 30 consecutive minutes
before continuing to work.
| affirm and agree that such working conditions will be maintained and that any and all changes shall have the prior approval of the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce
Development. | also affirm that | have verified and will keep on file valid proof of age of this minor employee at the employment premises.

Printed Name of Employer or Agent Acting for Employer Signature Date
Section (B) to be completed by PARENT or GUARDIAN prior to employment of minor
Name of Minor (Print): Address: Date of Birth:

I affirm that 1 am the [ ] parent/stepparent or the [ non-parent legal guardian of the above-named minor and that such minor has my consent to be employed in any
occupation authorized by the Alaska child labor laws, Alaska Statutes 23.10.325-370.

Printed name of parent/legal guardian Signature (Legal guardian must attach documentation)  Telephone Number Date

NOTICE: All information requested is required to process this work permit. Records of the Department are public records and may be subject to inspection and
copying under AS 40.25.110-220 or be provided to other State agencies (see AS 44.99.310).



DOLWD - LSS DOLWD - LSS DOLWD - LSS

Wage and Hour Administration Wage and Hour Administration Wage and Hour Administration
PO Box 111149 1251 Muldoon Road, Suite 113 675 7' Avenue, Station J-1
Juneau, Alaska 99811-1149 Anchorage, Alaska 99504 Fairbanks, AK 99701
Phone: 907-465-4842 Phone: 907-269-4909 Phone: 907-451-2886
FAX: 907-465-3584 FAX: 907-269-4915 FAX: 907-451-2885

i Statewide.wageho alaska.go
Statewide.wagehour@alaska.gov Statewide.wagehour@alaska.gov wide.wagehour@ gov

EMPLOYERS PLEASE NOTE:
OCCUPATIONS PROHIBITED TO ALL MINORS UNDER 18: IF UNDER 16 THESE ADDITIONAL OCCUPATIONS ARE
ALSO PROHIBITED:

1. Occupations in manufacturing, handling, or use of explosives.

2. Occupations of motor vehicle driver or helper (limited exceptions.) L ) - _ .

3 Mining operations including coal. 1. Occupations in manufacturing, mining, or processing, mc!udlng work rooms or

4. Logging or occupations in the operations of any sawmill, lath mill, shingle mill or places W_hefe_ goods are manufactured, .mllned, or othervw_se proces§ed.
cooperage. 2. Occupaltlons |nvqlved in operation of hoisting or power-driven machinery other

5. Operations of power-driven woodworking machines. than ofﬂce machines. . . .

6.  Occupations with exposure to radioactive substances and to ionizing radiation. f" gpglfatlon of motor vehicle o service as helper on motor vehicle.

7. Occupations involving exposure to bloodborne pathogens. ' ublic messenger Service. ) . . . -

8 Operation of elevators or other power-driven hoisting apparatus. 5. Occupa_tlons in or about canneries, seaf_ood plants, |n_c|ud|ng cuttmg, slicing, or

9. Operation of power-driven metal forming, punching, and shearing machines. butcherlng, or the operation of any floating plant and including loading or

10.  Occupations involving slaughtering, meatpacking or processing, or rendering. Wlosdlng. . i .

11. Occupations involved in the operation and cleaning of power-driven bakery 6. ork performed in or about boilers, engine rooms, or reforts.

7. Work involved with maintenance or repair of the establishment's machines or

machines. !
12. Occupations involved in the operation of power-driven paper products equipment.
mach?nes P P paperp 8. Occupations that involve working from window sills, ladders, scaffolds, or their
| substitutes.

13. Occupations involved in the manufacture of brick, tile, and kindred products.

14, Occupations involved in the operation and cleaning of circular saws, band saws
and guillotine shears.

15. Occupations involved in wrecking, demolition, and shipbreaking operations.

16.  Occupations involved in roofing operations.

17. Occupations involved with excavation operations.

18.  Electrical work with voltages exceeding 220, or outside erection or repair, and
meter-testing, including telegraph and telephone lines.

19.  Occupations involved in canvassing, peddling, door-to-door solicitation, or sales.

9. Occupations which involve operating, setting up, adjusting, cleaning, oiling, or
repair of power-driven food slicers, grinders, choppers, cutters, and bakery-type
mixers.

10.  Work in freezers, meat coolers, or preparation of meat for sale.

11, Loading or unloading to and from trucks, railroad cars, or meat conveyors.

12.  Occupations in warehouses except office and clerical work.

13. Occupations involving use of sharpened tools.

14.  Occupations in transportation of persons or property, warehousing and storage,
construction (including demolition and repair) except office or sales work in
connection with these occupations.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________|

The federal prohibition on the hours 14 and 15 year old minors may be allowed to work is stricter than Alaskan law. Due to this conflict, an employer of 14 or 15 year old minors may find

that they are in compliance with State law, but in violation of federal law. For example:

Federal Law State Law
Children 14 and 15 years old may only work: Chlldren 14 and 15 years old may work:
1.~ Outside school hours. A total of 9 hours of school and work combined in one day.
2. No more than 40 hours in any one week when school is not in session. 2_ Only between the hours of 5 a.m. to 9 p.m.
3. Notmore than 18 hours in any week when school is in session. 3. Nomore than 23 hours per week outside of school hours (domestic work and
4. Not more than 8 hours in any one day when school is not in session. babysitting excepted).
5. Notmore than 3 hours in any one day when school is in session. 4. No more than 6 days per week.
6. Between7a.m.and 7 p.m.in any one day except during the summer (June 1

through Labor Day), when the evening hours will be 9 p.m.

There are certain exceptions to the federal law; for example, children in work-study programs through their schools are exempt from some or all of the hour restrictions. For further information
on the federal law, contact the United States Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Telephone: 1-866-487-9243. Or in Anchorage: (907) 271-2867

TITLE 4 ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES and MARIJUANA/CANNABIS-- ALASKA STATUTES

AS 04.16.049. Access of persons under the age of 21 to licensed premises:
(a) A person under the age of 21 years may not knowingly enter or remain in premises licensed under this title unless:
(1) accompanied by a parent, guardian or spouse who has attained the age of 21 years;
(2) the person is at least 16 years of age, the premises are designated by the board as a restaurant for the purposes of this section, and the person enters and remains only for
dining; or
(3) gthe person is under the age of 16 years, is accompanied by a person over the age of 21 years, the parent or guardian of the underaged person consents, the premises are
designated by the board as a restaurant for the purposes of this section, and the person enters and remains only for dining.
(c) Notwithstanding any other provision in this section, a person between 16 or 17 years of age may enter and remain within the licensed premises of a hotel, restaurant, or eating
place in the course of employment if
(1)  the employment does not involve the serving, mixing, delivering, or dispensing of alcoholic beverages;
(2)  the person has the written consent of a parent or guardian; and
(3)  an exemption from the prohibition of AS 23.10.355 is granted by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development. The board, with the approval of the governing body
having jurisdiction and at the licensee's request, shall designate which premises are hotels, restaurants, or eating places for the purposes of this subsection.
(d) Notwithstanding any other provision in this section, a person 18, 19, or 20 years of age may be employed within the licensed premises of a hotel, restaurant, or eating place, may
enter and remain within those premises for the purpose of employment, but may not in the course of employment, sell, serve, deliver, or dispense alcoholic beverages.
AS 17.38.070 restricts the employment of employees under the age of 21 from working in all branches of the cannabis/marijuana industry, including but not limited to planting, cultivating
harvesting, processing, packaging, transporting or selling.

TOBACCO and PULL-TABS

AS 11.76.106 restricts access to areas where tobacco and tobacco products are sold. Minors under 19 years may not sell tobacco or tobacco products in the course of their employment.
15 AAC 160.480(b) prohibits the sale of pull-tabs by anyone under the age of 21.

THIS FORM IS AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET AT: www.labor.state.ak.us/Iss/forms/workpermit.pdf



http://old-www.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/stattx03/query%3D%5bJUMP%3A%27AS2310355%27%5d/doc/%7b%401%7d?firsthit
http://www.labor.state.ak.us/lss/forms/workpermit.pdf

