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April 4, 2019

Representative Matt Claman
Room 118 Capitol Building
Juneau, Alaska 99801

Re: HB 98 which allows for the
aggregation of property offenses
that occur within a period of 180 days

Dear Representative Claman:

Thank you for speaking with me about HB 98 which allows for the aggregation of
property offenses that occur within a period of 180 days. As I noted, under current law,
amounts involved in property crimes can be aggregated if they are committed under “one
course of conduct.”! Case law has provided for the aggregation of offenses which have
occurred over a greater time period than 180 days.> HB 98 removes the “one course of
conduct” requirement as long as the offenses occur within a 180 day time frame.

In order to avoid a potential conflict in the law, the Department of Law
recommends amending AS 11.46.980 to include the proposed aggregation language in
section 1 of HB 98 rather than locating it in the theft in the second degree offense itself.’
Locating all of the aggregation language in one statute will make it clear that the
legislature intended for there to be both an aggregation provision which requires “one
course of conduct,” as is provided in current law, as well as a provision which does not
require “one course of conduct” but is limited to a 180 day time period. Amending
AS 11.46.980 will also make it easier for practitioners to locate all of the relevant
aggregation language.

! See 11,46.980(c).

. See Buckwalter v. State, 23 P.3d 81 (Alaska App. 2001).

. The current version of HB 98 has the proposed aggregation language in the
offense of theft in the second degree (AS 11.46.130).
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You also asked about the historical changes to the felony threshold for the crime
of fraudulent use of an access device.? The crime of fraudulent use of an access device
was first enacted in 1978, however, there were no dollar amounts included in this initial
version of the offense.’ The statute was amended in 2000, at which time the legislature
specified that if the value of property or services taken was less than $50 the offense
would be a class B misdemeanor, if the value of property or services taken was $50 or
more but less than $500 it was a class A misdemeanor, if the value of property or services
taken was $500 or more but less than $25,000 it was a class C felony, and anything over
$25,000 would be a class B felony.®

In 2005, the legislature made additional changes to crimes involving the theft of
access devices in HB 131. First, the crime of theft in the second degree was amended to
include the theft of an access device.” Therefore, the taking of an access device,
regardless of whether it was used, was made a class C felony. Second, the felony level
threshold for fraudulent use of an access device was reduced to $50 or more.*

According to testimony provided in committee on HB 131, these types of offenses
had increased 100 percent nationwide. ° Numerous states had lowered or eliminated the
value level needed for a felony level threshold for these types of offenses.!® There was
also testimony that $50 was the median used by other states for similar crimes.!' When
comparing the fifty dollar threshold to other crimes in Alaska, it was noted that the crime
of forgery is a felony regardless of the amount that is forged.'> Therefore, if a person
forges a check for five dollars, that conduct is a felony.'

4 AS 11.46.285.

3 Sec. 4, ch. 166, SLA 1978. (In 1978 the crime was called “obtaining a credit card
by fraudulent means.”)

. Sec. 4, ch. 65, SLA 2000.

7 Sec. 3, ch. 67, SLA 2005.

8 See sec. 3, ch. 67, SLA 2005. If the amount of property or services taken was less
than $50 it was a class A misdemeanor, but the B misdemeanor level offense for
fraudulent use of an access device was repealed.

? Testimony Ben Mulligan, Staff to Representative Stoltze at 1:15:28 PM, Hearing
on HB 131 before the Senate Finance Comm. 24™ Leg., Ist Sess. (May 2, 2005).

10 Id.

" Testimony of John Skidmore, Assistant District Attorney, 3™ Judicial District,
Department of Law at 9:26:42 AM, Hearing on HB 131 before the Senate Judiciary
Comm. 24" Leg., Ist Sess. (April 21, 2005).

12 Testimony of John Skidmore, Assistant District Attorney, 3™ Judicial District,
Department of Law at 1:12:29 PM, Hearing on HB 131 before the House Judiciary
Comm. 24 Leg., Ist Sess. (March 18, 2005).

& Id.
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In 2014, the legislature again amended the felony threshold for fraudulent use of
an access device and brought it up to $750.'% This change brought the felony level
threshold in [ine with other property offenses which were amended at the same time.
Since 2014, the felony level threshold for property offenses has changed a couple of
times and is currently at $750."

I hope the above information is helpful. Please let me know if we can be of any
further assistance.

Sincerely,

KEVIN G. CLARKSON
ATTORNEY GENERAL

By:
Kaci Schroeder
Assistant Attorney General

i Sec. 11, ch. 83, SLA 2014.
15 See sec. 13, ch. 36, SLA 2016 and sec. 6, ch. 1, 4SSLA 2017.



