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You asked about workers’ compensation death benefits payable to estates when no family 
member survives the deceased worker.  Specifically, you wished to know if other states provide this 
benefit and the costs associated with death benefits to employees with no dependents. 

Generally, death benefits are paid to dependents of a deceased worker to replace a portion of family income lost due to a 
workplace fatality.  Some states provide monetary compensation to a worker’s estate and/or nondependent parents or 
children when a worker dies with no eligible dependents.  No state allows an employee to choose his or her own beneficiary 
to receive death benefits.1      
 
Death benefits are designed to provide monetary support for those people who will suffer most from a worker’s death. 
Typically, these benefits are comprised of two components:  funeral and burial expenses, and monetary benefits to 
dependent family members to compensate for lost income.2  The majority of states, including Alaska, do not pay death 
benefits other than burial or medical expenses, unless the deceased worker has an eligible dependent.  In Alaska, the insurer 
is required to pay up to $10,000 for funeral expenses, and monetary compensation to the worker’s dependents based on a 
percentage of his or her earnings, as well as a $5,000 one-time death benefit.  Dependents include the widow or widower; 
children; and if there is no widow, widower, or children, other family members such as parents and siblings if they were 
financially dependent upon the deceased at the time of death (AS 23.30.215).  Additionally, if an employee with no 
dependents dies due to a workplace injury, the employer or insurer must pay $10,000 to the Second Injury Fund (AS 
23.30.040[c]).3  
 
Nonetheless, some states do pay some, or all, of any remaining permanent disability benefits and/or death benefits to 
nondependent parents or children, or the worker’s estate.  One reason given for such provisions is that workers with no 
statutory dependents may still have remaining financial obligations when they die unexpectedly; therefore, some 
compensation to a deceased worker’s nondependent parents or estate is reasonable.   
 
In Table 1 we provide examples from 13 states that offer monetary compensation when a worker who has no eligible 
dependents dies from a work-related injury or illness.  You will note that Alabama, Minnesota, and Tennessee provide a lump 
sum payment to the deceased workers’ estate.  In New York, if the deceased worker has no surviving parents, his or her estate 
receives a $50,000 payment.  Laws in Hawaii, South Carolina, Texas, and Wisconsin allow the deceased worker’s 
nondependent children or parents to receive a portion of death benefits, and any remaining benefits are transferred to a state 
fund.  Six states—Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, New Mexico, New York, and Oregon—provide that if a worker with no statutory 

                                                           
1 While death benefits may function as a form of life insurance, an employee covered by workers’ compensation does not designate a 

beneficiary in the same way a person does when he or she obtains or purchases a life insurance policy.        
2 The majority of states provide some amount of reimbursement for burial costs to the person who paid the bill or directly to the funeral 

home.  Some states pay a lump sum amount to help cover the expenses.  In addition, many states require employers to pay any medical costs 
associated with a work-related death.   

3 The Second Injury Fund provides reimbursements to employers for certain injured employees. 
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dependents dies before his or her permanent partial disability benefit is paid in full, the insurer must pay the full amount of 
the remaining award to the worker’s estate.  
 

State Citation Summary of Benefits 

Alabama Code of Ala . § 25-5-60 Pays  a  lump sum of $7,500 to the deceased worker's  estate.

Colorado C.R.S § 8-42-115 Pays  remaining permanent disabi l i ty benefi ts  to the estate.

Hawai i
HRS §§ 386-34 and 

 386-41

Pays  25 percent of 312 times  the effective maximum weekly death benefi t 
rate to the nondependent parents .  If there are no such parent(s ), this  
amount i s  depos i ted in the specia l  compensation fund.

Idaho Idaho Code § 72-431 Pays  remaining disabi l i ty benefi ts  to the personal  representative.

Louis iana La. R.S. § 23:1231
Pays  a  lump sum of $75,000 to be divided among any surviving 
nondependent chi ldren; i f there are no surviving nondependent chi ldren, 
each surviving parent receives  $75,000.

Minnesota
Minn. Stat.

 § 176.111(22) 
Pays  a  lump sum of $60,000 to the estate.

New Mexico
 N.M. Stat. Ann.

 § 52-1-46
Pays  remaining permanent disabi l i ty benefi ts  to the estate.

New York
NY CLS Work Comp

 § 16 and § 236

Pays  $50,000 to the parents  or to the decedent's  estate, i f there are no 
surviving parents .  Any remaining permanent disabi l i ty benefi ts  are pa id 
to the worker's  estate.

Oregon ORS § 656.208
Any remaining permanent partia l  disabi l i ty benefi ts  are pa id to the 
estate, as  wel l  as  any unpaid ba lance from the buria l  and funera l  
account.

South Carol ina
S.C. Code Ann. 

§ 42-9-140

Benefi ts  fi rs t go to any surviving nondependent chi ldren.  If the deceased 
worker leaves  no chi ldren, then benefi ts  are pa id to his  or her parents .  If 
the workers  leaves  no dependents , nondependent chi ldren, or parents , 
the personal  representative for the estate wi l l  receive probate 
adminis tration and buria l  expenses .  The remaining amount of death 
benefi ts  i s  depos i ted in the South Carol ina  Injury Fund.

Tennessee
Tenn. Code Ann. 

§ 50-6-209
Pays  a  lump sum of $20,000 to the estate.

Texas
 Tex. Labor Code 

§ 408.182 

Up to 104 weeks  of death benefi ts  are pa id to the deceased worker's  
parents ; i f his  or her parents  are no longer a l ive, the remaining benefi ts  
are depos i ted in the Subsequent Injury Fund. 

Wiscons in
Wis . Stat. §§ 102.48 

and 102.49(5)(b)

Pays  a  lump sum of $6,500 to unestranged nondependent parents .  Any 
remaining amount of death benefi ts  i s  depos i ted into the Work Injury 
Supplementa l  Benefi ts  Fund.

Table 1:  Payment of Death Benefits under Workers' Compensation Laws in Selected States When the Deceased 
Has No Statutory Dependents 

Notes:  This table provides examples of state laws offering some form of death benefits to workers with no statutory dependents 
and is not meant to be exhaustive of all such laws. 
Source:  LexisNexis.  

Costs of Implementing Death Benefits Paid to Estates 

In 2009, Oregon enacted legislation (SB 110) that allowed any remaining permanent partial disability benefits, as well as any 
unpaid balance from the burial and funeral account, to be paid to the deceased worker’s estate if he or she had no statutory 
dependents.  In a report to the Oregon Legislature in 2009, the Workers’ Compensation Management-Labor Advisory 
Committee estimated such a change in benefits would not “materially affect” workers’ compensation premium rates, due to 
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the small number of compensable deaths each year.4  Karen Howard, Oregon Department of Consumer and Business 
Services, Workers’ Compensation Division, confirmed that the extension of benefits to a deceased workers’ estate has not 
impacted premium rates or led to any appreciable costs.5  She credited this to the small number of compensable fatalities 
each year and the even smaller subset of workers with no dependents (maybe one or two, annually).6  In 2015, Oregon’s 
Workers’ Compensation Division received notification of 27 compensable fatalities, which was lower than the 10-year average 
of 31.2 fatalities.  In New Mexico, in 2015, benefits were paid in response to 12 fatalities, of which, benefits paid to a workers’ 
estate comprised only a small number, if any, in that year.7  By comparison, 22 fatalities were reported to the Alaska Workers’ 
Compensation Division in 2015.8  
 
As discussed above, in Alaska, when an employee with no dependents dies due to a workplace injury, the employer or insurer 
must pay $10,000 to the Second Injury Fund.  We note that in the past the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Division has 
suggested that if the $10,000 that is currently deposited in the Second Injury were repealed, that money could be used by the 
employer to mitigate the cost of providing death benefits to a worker’s estate, should Alaska enact such a law.  
 
We hope this is helpful.  If you have questions or need additional information, please let us know.   

                                                           
4 Oregon workers’ Compensation Management-Labor Advisory Committee, “Death Benefit Study Report,” January 2009, p. 5.  The document 

can be accessed at http://library.state.or.us/repository/2009/200903240944472/.  
5 Ms. Howard can be reached at 503-947-7364. 
6 Ms. Howard notes that it is difficult to tease out the exact amount of benefits paid to estates, because data are compiled under death 

benefits and do not distinguish between a worker’s dependents and a worker’s estate.  
7 New Mexico Workers’ Compensation Administration 2015 Annual Report, 

http://www.workerscomp.state.nm.us/research/ar15/wca_annual2015.pdf.  
8 Department of Labor and Workforce Development, State of Alaska Division of Workers’ Compensation 2015 Annual Report, at 

http://labor.alaska.gov/wc/forms/2015AR.pdf.  
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