## ALASKA STATE LEGISLATURE



## REPRESENTATIVE DELENA JOHNSON

## Sponsor Statement

## **House Joint Resolution 9**

In 2000, the US Mint released the Sacagawea Golden Dollar which featured a portrait of Sacagawea carrying her infant son, Jean-Baptiste. In 2009, the United States Mint began minting and issuing \$1 coins featuring designs celebrating the important contributions to the history and development of the United States made by Native American tribes and individual Native Peoples.

In 2020, the Native American Coin will feature Native rights activist, Elizabeth Peratrovich, of the Tlingit Nation. Elizabeth Peratrovich advocated for the first antidiscrimination law in the United States in 1945.

Through House Joint Resolution 9, the Alaska State House of Representatives is asking the United States President, Vice President, and the US Secretary of Treasury to mint not less than a full run of 5,000,000 Elizabeth Peratrovich \$1 coins and to deliver them to the Seattle branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco for distribution throughout the State of Alaska and to coin collectors.

I urge you to support this legislation.

Please contact Marcy Herman in my office with any questions: 465-4958 or <u>marcy.herman@akleg.gov</u>.