CS FOR HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 27(MLV)

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

THIRTY-FIRST LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION

BY THE HOUSE SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON MILITARY AND VETERANS' AFFAIRS

Offered: 3/13/20

Referred: House Special Committee on Arctic Policy, Economic Development, and Tourism

Sponsor(s): REPRESENTATIVES FIELDS, Shaw, Tuck, Thompson, Spohnholz, Rauscher

A RESOLUTION

1 Requesting the United States Department of Defense to invest in the Port of Alaska.

2 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

- WHEREAS the Port of Alaska is one of 17 seaports designated as commercial strategic seaports by the United States Department of Defense; and
- WHEREAS commercial strategic seaports are significant transportation hubs that are important to the readiness and cargo handling capacity of the United States Department of
- 7 Defense; and
- 8 WHEREAS the Port of Alaska is one of only two commercial strategic seaports
- 9 located outside of the contiguous United States, and is strategically located near Arctic
- shipping channels; and
- WHEREAS the designation of the Port of Alaska as a Commercial Strategic Seaport
- 12 includes a port readiness committee to provide the means to coordinate efficient port
- operations during peacetime and actual national defense emergencies; and
- 14 WHEREAS the port readiness committee for the Port of Alaska includes
- 15 representatives from nine federal agencies and organizations, including the United States
- Maritime Administration, the United States Coast Guard, the Military Sealift Command, the

1	United States Transportation Command, the United States Army Corps of Engineers, the
2	United States Northern Command, the Transportation Security Administration, and the
3	Military Surface Deployment and Distribution Command; and
4	WHEREAS the Port of Alaska supports four major United States Department of
5	Defense installations, including Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson, Fort Wainwright, Eielson
6	Air Force Base, and Fort Greely; and
7	WHEREAS Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson, Fort Wainwright, Eielson Air Force
8	Base, and Fort Greely are undergoing critical expansions for fighter jet and missile defense
9	capacity, and the necessary material for these projects is entering the state primarily through
10	the Port of Alaska; and
11	WHEREAS the Port of Alaska provides the only fully operational port for handling
12	containers and roll-on-roll-off cargo twice a week and provides goods and commodities that
13	are necessary for base operations and the daily needs of service members; and
14	WHEREAS the Port of Alaska is the critical fuel distribution hub for aviation fuel for
15	operations at Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson and Eielson Air Force Base; and
16	WHEREAS the Port of Alaska is already implementing significant tariff increases to
17	maximize consumer and business contributions to port infrastructure improvements, and the
18	tariffs will not be adequate to fund the critical maintenance that is essential to replace
19	corroded and earthquake-damaged components of the Port of Alaska; and
20	WHEREAS, in November of 2019, the Port of Alaska suffered infrastructure damage
21	in a major earthquake, which exacerbated preexisting damage from corrosion; and
22	WHEREAS the state's fiscal situation prevents the state from being the sole or
23	primary funder of upgrades to the Port of Alaska;
24	BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature requests that the United States
25	Department of Defense augment existing public and private funding of the Port of Alaska to
26	ensure that the Port of Alaska remains operational and can withstand potential future
27	earthquakes and to guarantee continued support of operations at Joint Base Elmendorf-

of the United States; the Honorable Michael R. Pence, Vice President of the United States and

President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the U.S. House of

Richardson, Fort Wainwright, Eielson Air Force Base, and Fort Greely.

28

29

30

31

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Donald J. Trump, President

- 1 Representatives; the Honorable Mark Esper, United States Secretary of the Department of
- 2 Defense; the Honorable Elaine L. Chao, United States Secretary of Transportation; and the
- 3 Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senators, and the
- 4 Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.