Policy SB 54 Introduced Passed Senate H.JUD H.FIN Passed House
Recommendsd by the Alaska Criminal Justice Amended on Floor
Commission
First-time class C felonies 0-90 days 0-1 year No change. No change. 0-2 years
Second-time class C felonies 1-4 years
Third+ class G felonies 2-5 years
Theft 4 First = no change First = 0-5 days suspended First = 0-5 days suspended First = 0-5 days suspended First = 0-5 days prison
Second = no change Second = 0-5 days prison Second = 0-5 days prison Second = 0-5 days prison Second = 0-10 days prison
Third+ = 0-10 days prison Third+ = 0-10 days prison Third+ = 0-10 days prison Third+ = 0+10 days prison Third = 0-15 days prison
Third (within § years) = 0-30 days prison Fourth (within 5 years) = 0-30 Fourth (within 5 years) = 0-30 days
days prison prison
VCOR Retums VCOR to a crime. No change No change No change No change
Sex Trafficking Eliminates lcophole. No change No change No change No change
SO Probation Establishes mandatory minimum No change No change No change No change
probation term lengths for felony sex
offenses.
Class-A Misdemeanor Increase the allowable sentence for No change No change No change First = 0-30 days (w/ exceptions)
Sentencing second-time class A misdemeanors: Second = 0-365 days
First = 0-30 days (w/ exceptions) Third+ = 0-365 days
Second = 0-80 days
Third+ = 0-365 days
Pretrial Detention Allaws a number of low-risk class C felons to be Adds to the list of class C No change
held for 48 hours pre-arraignment, rather than 24 felons able 1o be held up to 48
hours. hours pre-arraignment.
Administrative Parole Eliminates administrative parole. No change No change
A-Felony Sentencing Increased the sentence for class A felonies, without Na change No change
priors, when the conduct constituting the offense Is
directed at a peace officer or first responder, from
5-9 years, to 7-11 years.
Disorderly Conduct Increased the sentence for disorderly conduct from Decreased the sentence for No change
up to 24 hours to 0-5 days. disorderty conduct back down
to up to 24 hours.
ASAP Expanded ASAP referrals to ALL misdemeanants Minimal change. No change.
charged or convicted of a misdemeanor invoiving
the use of aicohol or a cantrolled substance.
Drugs “pink® and Tramadcl were classified as controlled Na change. No change.
substances.
Felony Theft Threshold Reduces the felony theft No change
threshald from $1,000 to $750.
Earned Compliance Credits Limits earned compliance No change
credits for sex offenders and
DV offenders in a way that
prevents credits resulting in
discharge until they have
completed any required
treatment,
Probation Officer Caseloads Probation caseloads capped No change
at an average of 75,
Community Work Service Mandatory 25 hours of community work
sarvice for every peraon convicted of:
- Criminal Mischief in the First
Degree
- Criminal Mischief in the Second
Degree
- Criminal Mischief in the Third
Degree
- Criminal Mischief in the Fourth
Degree
+ = Criminal Mischief in the Fifth
Degree
Alaska Criminal Justice Adds a nan-voting member (HSS) to the
Commission Alaska Criminal Justice Commission.
Electronic Monltoring Clarifies that a persan may not serve on
electronic monitoring post-conviction anc
pre-sentencing.
Mental States Changes the mental state (from
knowingly to w/ criminal negligence)
required to convict & person of rdingin s
stolen car, which Is criminal mischief in
the 5th degree.
Early Discharge Increases the length of ime a non-sex,
non-DV, class C felony probationer mus
sarve on probation before discharge,
from 1 year to 18 months, despite having
zero probation violations and having
completed all required treatment
programs.
Other Problems:

- The immediate effective date of the bill is problematic to a number of agencies.

- No direct court rule change to bail schedule change.
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