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Executive Summary 
 

The Alaska Legislature has asked the Alaska Criminal Justice Commission to provide a report 

on ways to improve the payment and collection of victim restitution. In preparing this report, 

the Commission found that Alaska’s restitution recovery rates seem to be comparable to 

those in other states, though there is certainly room for improvement.  

The Commission also notes the collection of restitution in Alaska will change significantly over 

the next year as the Department of Law’s Restitution Collection Unit winds down operations 

and the Alaska Court System assumes that unit’s responsibilities. Because of this change, there 

is some uncertainty in how effectively restitution collection will operate in the future, and the 

Commission has limited information on which to base recommendations for improvement. 

However, the Commission did identify several specific areas for improvement which may be 

addressed now. The following is a summary of the Commission’s recommendations; the rest 

of the report explains the Commission’s findings and recommendations in full. Two 

appendices provide the reader with additional research. 

Proposal 1:  Increase opportunities for victims to request restitution. 

1.a. Modify the judgment form used by the court system to automatically include a 

provision that states that the matter of victim restitution will be left open for 90 days, with 

an “opt-out” box that the judge can check in cases where restitution does not apply. 

1.b. Require prosecutors to contact victims and inform them of this 90-day deadline. 

1.c. Ensure that the DAs send clear restitution instructions to all victims. 

Proposal 2: Establish payment plans and a tracking and reminder system. 

2.a. Encourage DOC and the court system to work with victims’ advocates to find ways to 

monitor the restitution obligations of those not on felony parole. 

Proposal 3: Amend AS 12.55.045 to remove the requirement that a defendant provide a 

financial statement. 

Proposal 4: Amend the civil compromise statute for misdemeanors to allow the compromise 

of larceny offenses. 
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Proposal 5: Streamline Civil Execution. 

Proposal 6: Expand opportunities for victims to receive “bridging” restitution funds. 

6.a. Create an entity that will enable more victims to obtain bridging funds. 

6.b. Increase funding or create a funding mechanism to provide more victims with bridging 

funds.  

Proposal 7: Use technology to encourage defendants to make immediate in-person 

payments and online payments of restitution.  

Proposal 8: Increase Defendants’ Assets Available for Execution 

8.a. Change the law to allow defendants who serve only short prison sentences to retain 

their PFD eligibility. 

8.b. Require defendants to apply for the PFD each year they are eligible until restitution is 

paid in full. 
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Introduction 
 

When the Alaska State Legislature initially created the Alaska 

Criminal Justice Commission, the legislature required the 

Commission to, among other things, “evaluate the effect of 

sentencing laws and criminal justice practices on the criminal 

justice system to evaluate whether those sentencing laws and 

criminal justice practices provide for … restitution from the 

offender.”  

In 2016, the legislature further required the Commission to 

report on: 

 … the implementation of a financial recovery 

and victim's restitution program and [to] make 

recommendations for statutory changes to 

improve the payment and collection of victim's 

restitution.  The report must include recommen-

dations regarding restitution for crimes against a 

person and for property crimes against businesses 

and members of the public.1  

This report contains background information about the 

current operation and effectiveness of the restitution process, 

identifies problems with the current process, and proposes 

potential cost-effective and evidence-based solutions to 

increase restitution recovery. 

  

                                                 
1 2016 SLA Ch. 36 (“SB 91”), sec. 183. This report is due on December 1, 2016. 

The Alaska 
Criminal Justice 
Commission 
The Alaska State Legislature 
created the Alaska Criminal 
Justice Commission in 2014.  

The Commission consists of 13 
members: 

o Gregory P. Razo,  
Chair, representing the 
Alaska Native Community 

o Alexander O. Bryner,  
designee of the Chief 
Justice 

o John B. Coghill,  
Senate, Non-Voting 

o Wes Keller, House,  
Non-Voting (until Jan. 
2017) 

o Jahna Lindemuth,  
Attorney General 

o Jeff L. Jessee,  
Alaska Mental Health Trust 
Authority 

o Walt Monegan,  
Department of Public 
Safety Commissioner 

o Stephanie Rhoades,  
District Court Judge 

o Kristie L. Sell,  
Municipal Law 
Enforcement 

o Brenda Stanfill,  
Victims’ Rights Advocate 

o Quinlan G. Steiner,  
Public Defender 

o Trevor N. Stephens,  
Superior Court Judge 

o Dean Williams,  
Department of 
Corrections Commissioner 
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Methodology 
 

For this report, the Alaska Criminal Justice Commission created a Restitution Work Group 

composed of experts from the courts, victims’ advocates, executive branch agencies, and 

the Municipality of Anchorage. The Restitution Work Group met four times, each time 

discussing relevant research, legal and operational information from key stakeholders, and 

historical data on restitution payment patterns in Alaska and elsewhere. The Restitution Work 

Group developed recommendations and forwarded them to the Criminal Justice 

Commission; the Commission considered the Restitution Work Group’s information and 

adopted the recommendations in this report at its meeting on November 29, 2016. 

In formulating the recommendations, the Restitution Work Group relied on prior legislative 

research, studies and research from other states, legal and operational information from key 

stakeholders in Alaska, and data about restitution payments (primarily provided by the 

Department of Law’s collections unit). Each of these sources is described in more detail 

below.  

Research Review. A 2013 research brief authored by Susan Haymes, a legislative analyst, 

outlines victim restitution laws and policies in Alaska.2 That report, available at 

 http://www.ajc.state.ak.us/sites/default/files/imported/acjc/restitution/statvctak.pdf,  

provides important baseline information for understanding restitution in Alaska. Haymes 

concluded that there are “inherent challenges in collecting restitution from offenders who 

have limited or no financial resources because they may be incarcerated or have limited 

employment opportunities.” She also noted that regardless of offenders’ lack of financial 

resources, multiple individuals “cited the lack of communication and coordination among 

agencies that deal with victim restitution as the main problem in the [restitution recovery] 

process.” 

                                                 
2 The relevant state statutes and rules which may pertain to restitution are: 
AS 12.45.120: Authority to compromise misdemeanors for which victim has civil action  
AS 12.55.045: Restitution and Compensation 
AS 12.55.015: Authorized sentences; forfeiture 
AS 43.23.005: PFD Eligibility 
Cr. Rule 32: Sentence and Judgment 
Cr. Rule 32.6: Judgment for Restitution 

http://www.ajc.state.ak.us/sites/default/files/imported/acjc/restitution/statvctak.pdf
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Interviews with Stakeholders. For her 2013 report, Susan Haymes interviewed multiple key 

stakeholders, including representatives of the Department of Corrections (DOC), the Office 

of Victims’ Rights (OVR), the Violent Crime Compensation Board (VCCB), and Department of 

Law (DOL) Collections Unit. 

The Commission followed up with the same people, or those who have replaced them in their 

positions, to determine if the situation had changed over the last three years. Staff spoke with 

Stacey Steinberg, Assistant Attorney General, DOL; Taylor Winston, OVR Executive Director; 

Trina Sears and Katherine Hansen, OVR Victims’ Advocate Attorneys; Carrie Belden, DOC 

Director of Parole and Probation; April Wilkerson, DOC Director of Administrative Services; 

Kate Hudson, VCCB Executive Director; Robyn Langlie, Victims for Justice Executive Director; 

Seneca Theno, Municipality of Anchorage (MOA) Municipal Prosecutor; Lori Brumfiel, MOA 

Collections Unit Senior Administrative Officer; Dorne Hawxhurst, Alaska Court System (ACS) 

Administrative Attorney; and Charlene Dolphin, ACS Special Project Coordinator. 

Data Collection. Commission staff collected information from DOL about how much 

restitution it collected on behalf of victims, and from the VCCB about how much restitution it 

was awarded and collected annually for the past several years, and from the court system. 

 

What is Restitution? 
Alaska’s governing statute on restitution, AS 12.22.045, directs judges to order defendants 

convicted of a crime to make restitution to the victim “when presented with credible 

evidence.”3 In determining the amount of restitution, judges are directed to consider the 

financial burden placed on the victim and others as a result of the defendant’s criminal 

conduct.4  

Historically, Alaska’s courts have interpreted the restitution statute quite broadly.5 The 

legislature’s stated intent in enacting the restitution statute was “to make full restitution 

available to all persons who have been injured as a result of criminal behavior, to the greatest 

extent possible, by ... allowing courts to order that restitution be made to all persons who have 

                                                 
3 AS 12.55.045(a). 
4 AS 12.55.045(a)(2). 
5 See, e.g. Yanello v. State, 2014 WL 1691542 (Alaska App. April 23, 2014). 
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suffered a loss as a result of a defendant's conduct.”6 Judges award restitution to victims 

without regard to the defendant’s ability to pay.7 Restitution, then, is a mechanism intended 

to fully compensate victims for the harm a crime has caused. 

Restitution is a restorative justice principle 
In January 2016, the Alaska Criminal Justice Commission identified restorative justice and 

restitution as two of its top priorities. Commission members felt that restitution can be a 

powerful mechanism for achieving the goals of restorative justice. 

Restorative justice views crime as a violation of people and interpersonal relationships. These 

violations are viewed as creating obligations and liabilities – for the offender to make things 

right, and for the community to support victims and help rehabilitate offenders. The main goal 

of restorative justice is to repair the harm a crime has caused to the victim and to fabric of 

the community. Victim restitution serves as an important tool to accomplish these goals with 

respect to both victims and offenders (Ruback & Bergstrom, 2006). According to McGillis 

(1986) restitution serves three different purposes: 1) compensation for victims, 2) punishment 

for the offender, 3) rehabilitation. 

For Victims: Restitution is intended to compensate victims for their loss and the harm caused 

by a crime.  In addition, restitution also serves as a public acknowledgement of the harm and 

the loss the victim experienced.  This is important because the conventional criminal justice 

system’s primary focus is on punishing the offender.  In this process victims are often neglected 

and excluded from the process.  This can lead to dissatisfaction and reduce trust in the justice 

system.  Therefore, ensuring victims’ involvement in the criminal justice process is important to 

ensure victims feel treated fairly.  Studies on victimization have shown that restitution serves 

an important role in reducing the long-term harm caused to victims (Haynes, Cares, & 

Ruback, 2015). In fact, research findings also indicate that restitution payments help foster 

victims’ trust in the justice system and increase victims’ willingness to report crimes in the future 

(Ruback, Cares, & Hoskins, 2008). 

For Offenders: While restitution is intended to compensate victims for the harms and losses 

they experienced as a result of the crime committed by the offender, restitution may also 

have a rehabilitative influence on offenders. Making restitution payments holds offenders 

accountable for their actions and gives them a chance to make things right. However, 

                                                 
6 Lonis v. State, 998 P.2d 441, 447 n. 18 (Alaska App. 2000) (quoting ch. 71, § 1, SLA 1992). 
7 AS 12.55.045(g). 
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research has shown that offenders often do not understand payment systems, what their 

payments are for, or how much they owe (Ruback, Hoskins, Cares, and Feldmeyer, 2006).  To 

ensure the rehabilitative effect of restitution for offenders, it should be ensured that offenders 

make their restitution payments regularly. 

Victims are entitled to restitution 
In 1994, voters adopted an amendment to the state constitution to provide crime victims in 

Alaska with the right to restitution from an offender.8 State law requires the court to order a 

defendant to make restitution, as long as credible evidence is presented.9 The court makes 

the restitution award without regard to the defendant’s ability to pay.10 

 

Awarding and Enforcing Restitution Orders for Crime 
Victims 
Procedures for establishing restitution awards 
Under Criminal Rule 32.6, when a sentence includes a requirement for restitution, the 

sentencing judge either enters the order on a separate restitution judgment form (form CR-

465), or directly on the criminal judgment form. Either method creates an enforceable 

judgment for restitution. The court may set a due date or set a schedule for installment 

payments; if no due date is set, the total amount becomes due immediately. 

If the amount of restitution is known by the time of the sentencing hearing, the court enters 

the restitution order at sentencing.11 If the amount is unknown at sentencing, the prosecutor 

can delay a request for restitution up to 90 days after sentencing; an additional 30 days is 

then allowed for the defendant to file an objection.12  If the defendant does not object, the 

restitution decision will be issued in writing. If the defendant objects, the court will hold a 

hearing.13 

Stakeholders identified two main sources of difficulty for victims in requesting restitution. First, 

victims are often unaware of the full extent of their losses for some time after the crime has 

                                                 
8 Alaska Const., Art I, sec. 24. 
9 AS 12.55.045. 
10 AS 12.55.045(g). 
11 Cr. R. 32.6(c)(1). 
12 A judge may use Criminal Rule 53 to relax the 90-day deadline in cases of manifest injustice. See O'Dell v. 
State, 366 P.3d 555, 556 (Alaska App. 2016). 
13 Cr. R. 32.6(c)(2). 
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been committed. They may, for example, still be in treatment or not have been billed by their 

medical providers. Second, defendants charged with misdemeanor offenses may resolve 

their cases at the first appearance (defendants charged with felonies may not resolve their 

case until after the first appearance). Although the victim has the right to notice of any 

hearing at which the defendant has the right to be present, as a practical matter victims 

often do not attend these hearings. If the victim is not present, she or he cannot inform the 

court about the desire for restitution.  

Where a defendant’s sentence includes suspended time, the requirement to pay restitution 

is included as a condition of probation.14 Probation conditions for convicted felons are 

actively monitored by a probation officer; convicted misdemeanants are not actively 

monitored. 

Another means by which restitution can be addressed is through civil compromise. AS 

12.45.120 allows a judge to dismiss a misdemeanor case (unless the crime was committed 

“larcenously”) if the victim of a crime has been paid for his or her losses. Note that spouses, 

former spouses, relatives, and household members of the defendant are not allowed to use 

the civil compromise statute.15  

A final means of addressing restitution is through pretrial diversion. For example, victims of 

property crimes might agree to have the prosecutor drop the charges if they can recover 

their property. The Municipality of Anchorage has had such a program for many years, and 

reports that it is a very useful tool that allows the Municipality to use its resources more 

effectively. Although no state pretrial diversion programs have existed in Alaska for a number 

of years, the Department of Law announced in 2015 that it was beginning an initiative to 

authorize local district attorneys to begin experimental pretrial diversion programs. 

Procedures for enforcing a restitution award 
Restitution ordered in a criminal case is enforceable as a civil judgment, as a condition of 

probation, and as a part of the defendant’s sentence.  

Civil Judgment A restitution judgment becomes due in full immediately upon disposition 

unless the judge orders installment payments. A restitution judgement that is due in full is 

                                                 
14 AS 12.55.045(i). 
15 AS 12. 45.120(5). 
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thereafter collectable through any procedure authorized by law for the enforcement of a 

civil judgment.16 

The simplest way to collect a restitution judgment through the civil judgment collection 

process is to levy against a defendant’s right to receive a Permanent Fund Dividend. While 

the PFD often provides a ready source of recovery, several problems exist. Civil enforcement 

against the PFD is not always productive because the defendant may not be eligible to 

receive a PFD,17 the defendant may owe child support which always takes priority over victim 

restitution,18 and the amount available for recovery from the PFD may fall short of the amount 

owed.  

A restitution judgment can also be collected through wage garnishments; however, the 

process is complicated. Seizure of assets also is possible, although again the procedure is 

complex. The court system has published booklets for judgment creditors on how to garnish 

both PFDs and non-PFD assets for civil execution, and these booklets also apply to victims 

who are owed restitution.19 

Victims may also seek restitution in civil court proceedings.20 

Condition of Probation The restitution judgment also is enforceable as a condition of 

probation. A failure to make restitution payments while on probation may be punished by the 

imposition of suspended jail time, though anecdotally this is rare. 

Two goals of SB91’s reduction of lengthy prison terms and offer of incentives for probation 

compliance were to emphasize the importance of fines and restitution as an alternative 

means of holding defendants accountable, and to improve the rate of voluntary and other 

restitution payments to crime victims. 

Direct Sentence Because the order to pay restitution is a part of the defendant’s sentence, it 

could be enforced by the court with its contempt powers. Under this procedure, the court 

                                                 
16 AS 12.55.045(l). 
17 According to AS 43.23.005, people who have been sentenced or incarcerated as a result of either a felony 
conviction or a misdemeanor conviction with one prior felony conviction or two prior misdemeanor 
convictions during the qualifying year are not eligible for the PFD. 
18 PFD garnishments for restitution payment are second in line to garnishment for child support payments. See 
43.23.065 and Criminal Rule 32.6(g)(2). 
19 See Execution Procedure: Judgment Creditor Booklet available at http://www.courtrecords.alaska.gov/ 
webdocs/forms/civ-550.pdf and Executing on the Permanent Fund Dividend: Creditor Instructions available 
at http://www.courtrecords.alaska.gov/webdocs/forms/civ-503.pdf.  
20 AS 12.55.045(b). 

http://www.courtrecords.alaska.gov/webdocs/forms/civ-550.pdf
http://www.courtrecords.alaska.gov/webdocs/forms/civ-550.pdf
http://www.courtrecords.alaska.gov/webdocs/forms/civ-503.pdf
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would issue an order to show cause why the defendant should not be sentenced to 

imprisonment for nonpayment.21 Under Alaska case law on contempt, however, this option 

would be available only if the court finds the failure to pay was intentional or the result of bad 

faith.22 Because this is difficult to prove, this option is not often used. 

 

Collection entities 
Restitution judgments are collected on behalf of victims by the Department of Law’s 

Collections Unit, by the Violent Crimes Compensation Board, indirectly through the probation 

monitoring process by the Department of Corrections’ probation officers, or by the victim 

him/herself. 

Department of Law The Department of Law is authorized to collect restitution on behalf of a 

victim in state cases.23 Victims are automatically enrolled in the Department of Law’s 

recovery services, and they can opt out within the first 30 days of the date the judgment was 

issued. However, budget cuts to the Department of Law enacted in 2016 have necessitated 

the closing of the DOL’s victim restitution collection unit by the end of the fiscal year in 2017. 

The court system will take on this responsibility once the unit closes down. 

Violent Crimes Compensation Board The Violent Crimes Compensation Board (VCCB) 

reimburses victims of violent crime for costs associated with the crime (medical bills, for 

example). A victim can claim compensation from the VCCB just after the crime is committed, 

and the VCCB will typically compensate victims within 90 days of their claim. Therefore the 

VCCB provides victims with funds earlier than if the victim had waited for the court to order 

the defendant to pay the victim restitution. (These funds are sometimes known as “bridging 

funds.”) Eligibility restrictions apply to VCCB’s services. For example, victims of property crimes 

are not eligible, and the maximum award is capped at $40K. 

In cases where the VCCB has paid monies on behalf of victims, courts order the defendant 

to make restitution to the VCCB. The VCCB then seeks reimbursement from defendants.  

Collection by Victim Victims in municipal cases collect restitution on their own. A victim in a 

state case may decline to use the Department of Law’s collections services and execute on 

the civil judgment him or herself. Victims collecting on their own could use a private collection 

                                                 
21 See AS 12.55.051(a). 
22 See Lominac v. Municipality of Anchorage, 658 P.2d 792 (Alaska App. 1983). 
23 AS 12.55.051(e). The DOL has not collected restitution in municipal cases. 
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agency, or could attempt on their own to complete the paperwork to levy on PFDs or garnish 

wages. 

Court procedures AS 12.30.075(c) requires the court to apply any forfeited bail money to 

restitution. In other words, in cases where the defendant has forfeited bail money used to 

secure pre-trial release, that forfeited bail will be applied to the defendant’s restitution 

obligation. (In cases where there is no restitution obligation, forfeited bail money is transferred 

to the state’s general fund.) 

It is also possible for a defendant to assign their PFD to a victim ahead of time. There is a court 

form that the defendant can fill out at sentencing to assign their PFD rights as a restitution 

payment. This form is only accepted by the PFD Division between April 1st and August 31st of 

the current PFD year. 

 

Effectiveness of Alaska’s Restitution Collection Efforts 
Collection by Department of Law  
For many years, the State of Alaska provided funds to the Department of Law to run a 

Collections Unit to recover restitution from defendants in state cases. The Unit was funded to 

garnish PFDs rather than to pursue active recovery; therefore, it did not have resources for an 

active recovery program.24 Although it is not possible to know exactly how many victims used 

the Department of Law’s restitution recovery services, information from DOL suggests that 

most victims in state cases (around 95%) relied on DOL rather than attempting to collect 

restitution themselves. 

Because the processes for wage garnishment is time consuming, the Department of Law 

generally did not pursue wage garnishments unless the defendant was known to have a 

steady and sizeable income.  It did not pursue asset seizure due to the complicated and 

resource-intensive process to seize and sell the asset. The Department of Law’s standard 

procedure is to record liens for any restitution judgments over $10,000. 

                                                 
24 In certain cases, the DOL did pursue active recovery, for example when it learned of a readily available 
liquid asset subject to execution. 
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Recovery Rates The Department of Law’s records show that it has collected millions of dollars 

of restitution annually on behalf of victims.25 Since 2002, the Department of Law’s overall 

recovery rate for both adult and juvenile restitution awards is 24%; this includes an overall 

adult restitution recovery rate of 19% and an overall juvenile restitution recovery rate of 80%. 

Please note the adult restitution recovery rate is skewed by a $17.3 million restitution amount 

owed to Alyeska Pipeline (the defendant shot a hole in the pipeline). If $17.3 million outlier is 

removed, the adult restitution recovery amount is approximately 23%.26 A review of literature 

shows Alaska’s recovery rate is comparable to rates reported by other states, with the 

majority of other states reporting recovery rates ranging from 20-30%, and a few reporting 

rates upwards of 40-50%.27 

Average Award Amounts For all current and pending DOL accounts, the average amount of 

restitution awarded was $7,085.71. However, this amount is skewed by several large awards. 

The median (midpoint) amount was $782.20, and the mode (most common) amount was 

$500. Over half (56.9%) of the restitution ordered was small - $1000 and below. For defendants 

ordered to pay restitution who had a balance of $0.00 as of September 2016, 82.9% had an 

initial restitution amount owed of $1,000 and below, 13.6% had an initial amount of $1,001 to 

$9,999 and 3.4% had an initial amount owed of $10,000 and over. 

In 2017, the Department of Law’s restitution recovery unit will be closed due to lack of funding. 

The court system has agreed to take over restitution collection from DOL. The court system 

and DOL are conferring to work out the details of how new and existing restitution accounts 

will be serviced going forward.28 

Collection by Violent Crime Compensation Board  
The VCCB is funded through state appropriations (an RSA from the Permanent Fund Criminal 

Fund), and a federal grant. VCCB historically has used the services of the Department of 

Law’s Collections Unit to pursue defendants. VCCB reports that it recovers significantly less 

from defendants than it awards to victims. VCCB has been exploring the idea of creating its 

                                                 
25 For example, the Department of Law collected over $2 million in victim restitution payments in FY2015. 
See Appendix A, table 5. These figures do not include amounts that individual victims collected on their 
own without the assistance of the DOL. 
26 See Appendix A for recovery rates and PFD garnishment amounts. Interestingly, only about half of the total 
collected by DOL in FY15 was garnished from PFDs. 
27 For example, Vermont reported a 24% recovery rate and Minnesota reported 25%, while Colorado 
reported 43% between 2009-2013. See Appendix B for more detailed information on restitution recovery 
processes in other states. 
28 Note that fines and fees from state criminal cases will continue to be collected by DOL. 
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own active recovery program; however, that will require a significant increase in capabilities 

and staffing to be successful. 

Role of Office of Victims’ Rights 
OVR was created in 2001 as an independent agency within the legislative branch to help 

crime victims enforce their constitutional and statutory rights. OVR does not collect restitution 

for victims, but it does advise crime victims of their right to restitution and can provide 

technical assistance in obtaining restitution. 

Enforcement by DOC  
Currently, probation officers rely on the Department of Law’s Collections Unit to inform them 

about fines, fees, and restitution owed by their supervisees. Anecdotally, petitions to revoke 

probation for failure to pay restitution have been relatively infrequent. 

Starting in 2017, DOC probation officers will be required to “create a restitution payment 

schedule based on the probationer’s income and ability to pay if the court has not already 

set a restitution payment schedule.”29 This requirement will apply to felony probationers, who 

are actively supervised by officers at the Department of Corrections. 

Also beginning in 2017, felony probationers who are in compliance with their probation 

requirements for a month at a time will be able to earn a month off their total probationary 

term.30 Although the details are still being worked out, it seems likely that this provision will 

incentivize probationers to keep up with restitution payments. Further, probation officers will 

have available to them a series of administrative sanctions and incentives short of petitioning 

the court, to help ensure compliance.31 Giving probation officers these additional tools may 

increase their ability to promote compliance with restitution payments. 

On the other hand, starting in July of 2016, maximum probation terms will be shorter for many 

offenses.32 Shorter probation terms will mean less time during which restitution requirements 

can be enforced as conditions of probation. 

                                                 
29 SB 91, Section 115, effective January of 2017. 
30 SB 91, Section 114, effective January of 2017. 
31 SB 91, Section 114, effective January of 2017. 
32 SB 91, Section 79, effective July of 2016. Probation is limited to one year for a misdemeanor offense, 
except the limit is 2 years for a second DUI/Refusal, and 3 years for assault, domestic violence, or sex 
offenses. 
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Misdemeanant probationers, who are not actively supervised, do not receive assistance from 

DOC in setting up a restitution payment schedule. Judges have the authority to set up a 

schedule at sentencing; it is not known how often this occurs. 

The court system will assume restitution collection responsibilities in 2017 
The Department of Law’s restitution recovery unit was de-funded in 2016. Starting in 2017, the 

court system has agreed to take on restitution collection from the DOL, and has been working 

with the DOL and the DOC to plan for this transition. The court system also plans to assume 

responsibility for collecting restitution payments from misdemeanor offenders (who will not be 

actively monitored by the DOC) and from municipal offenders. 

What Works to Increase Payment of Restitution 
Awards 
A study conducted by Ruback, Gladfelter, and Lantz (2014), showed that merely sending 

monthly reminder letters to probationers over a period of six months stating how much they 

were ordered to pay, how much they had payed, and how much they still owed significantly 

increased the number of voluntary payments and the restitution amounts collected. 

Another action that can increase victim recovery is to establish a payment plan. Alaska 

Criminal Rule 32.6 authorizes a judge to establish a schedule for installment payments of 

restitution, but it is unknown how often judges do so. As a practical matter, judges with busy 

dockets may not have time to craft individual payment plans at each sentencing hearing. 

Beginning in 2017, felony probationers who owe restitution will be required to have a 

restitution payment schedule based on the probationer’s income and ability to pay; 

however, no such assistance will be given to misdemeanant probationers. 

Proposals for Improving the Effectiveness of Alaska’s 
Victim Restitution Process 
Based on the research, data, and analysis set forth above, the Criminal Justice Commission 

formulated eight proposals to improve victim restitution in Alaska. 

Proposal 1:  Increase opportunities for victims to request restitution. 
Under current law and procedure, a victim must alert the judge or prosecutor that restitution 

is requested either before or at the defendant’s sentencing hearing. Victims sometimes miss 
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this window of opportunity because they are not aware that they can request restitution, or 

because the defendant is sentenced before they are ready or able to pursue their claim.  

1.a. Modify the judgment form used by the court system to automatically include a provision 

that states that the matter of victim restitution will be left open for 90 days. Underneath 

this language, include a check box, which the judge can check in cases where 

restitution does not apply. Next to the check box, include a line so that the judge can 

explain the reason restitution does not apply. 

1.b. Require prosecutors to contact victims and inform them of this 90-day deadline by 

which to seek restitution. 

1.c. Ensure that the prosecutors send clear restitution instructions to victims, so victims know 

that they can request restitution for any expenses caused by the crime, and ensure that 

all victims receive these instructions. The following language is proposed to modify the 

Department of Law’s existing forms: 

Restitution will be ordered only for expenses caused by the 
crime.  These may include medical expenses, counseling, lost 
wages, temporary housing, replacement of clothing or bedding 
taken for evidence, stolen or damaged property, relocation costs, 
and any other type of expense incurred as a result of the crime.  It 
is important to make your claim and supporting 
documents/explanation as easy to understand as possible, and to 
remember that the court may not necessarily order restitution for all 
expenses if they do not appear to be sufficiently related to the 
crime. 

Proposal 2: Establish payment plans and a tracking and reminder system for 
misdemeanants. 
Research suggests that payment plans and reminder letters can increase defendants’ 

restitution payments. Currently, judges may set payment schedules at sentencing, but is not 

known how often judges do this. In the past, the DOL Collections Unit has been able to 

negotiate installment agreements on behalf of victims in state cases, but this service will end 

when the Collections Unit stops administering restitution in 2017.  

Probation officers will soon be required to set up installment payments;33 however, that tool is 

not available to misdemeanants and flat-timed (i.e. non-probation) felony offenders. District 

                                                 
33 See SB91 Section 114. 
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courts may soon see a higher proportion of misdemeanor property offenders caused by the 

increase in the felony property threshold, and misdemeanor probation terms are relatively 

short. While these shorter jail terms should improve offenders’ abilities to make restitution 

payments (because they will be able to return to work sooner), the shorter probation terms 

could limit the time within which missed restitution payments would be enforced by a petition 

to revoke probation and imposition of suspended time. 

Starting in 2017, the court system will take over payment schedules for offenders not 

supervised by the probation system. The court system is currently in the planning process for 

this and has consulted with the DOC and the DOL regarding this transition. 

2.a. Encourage DOC and the court system to work with victims’ advocates to find ways to 

monitor the restitution obligations of misdemeanants and non-probation felony offenders 

and explore whether using an electronic tracking and reminder system might be feasible. 

Proposal 3: Amend AS 12.55.045 to remove the requirement that a 
defendant provide a financial statement. 
The restitution statute, AS 12.55.045, currently requires defendants to submit financial 

statements to the court in cases where restitution may be ordered. The statute requires those 

convicted of a felony to submit the statement 30 days after conviction (in advance of the 

preparation of the presentence report) and requires those convicted of a misdemeanor to 

submit the form when opposing a prosecutor’s motion for a restitution order.  

In practice, stakeholders report that the financial statements are rarely required by judges. 

Requiring defendants to submit financial statements directly after conviction and before the 

restitution order has little real purpose, because AS 12.55.045 prohibits the court from 

considering the defendant’s ability to pay in ordering the amount of restitution, and the 

defendant’s financial situation will likely be in flux after incarceration. 

3.a Amend AS 12.55.045 to omit the bracketed text:  

AS 12.55.045. Restitution and compensation. 

**** 

(j) A defendant who is convicted of an offense for which restitution 
may be ordered shall submit financial information as ordered by the court. 
The Alaska Court System shall prepare a form, in consultation with the 
Department of Law, for the submission of the information; the form must 
include a warning that submission of incomplete or inaccurate information 
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is punishable as unsworn falsification in the second degree under AS 
11.56.210. [A DEFENDANT WHO IS CONVICTED OF (1) A FELONY SHALL SUBMIT 
THE FORM TO THE PROBATION OFFICE WITHIN 30 DAYS AFTER CONVICTION, 
AND THE PROBATION OFFICER SHALL ATTACH THE FORM TO THE 
PRESENTENCE REPORT, OR (2) A MISDEMEANOR SHALL FILE THE FORM WITH 
THE DEFENDANT’S RESPONSE OR OPPOSITION TO THE RESTITUTION AMOUNT. 
THE DEFENDANT SHALL PROVIDE A COPY OF THE COMPLETED FORM TO THE 
PROSECUTING ATTORNEY.] 

 (k) The court, on its own motion or at the request of the prosecuting 
authority or probation officer, may order a defendant on probation who has 
been ordered to pay restitution to submit financial information to the court 
using the form specified in (j) of this section. The defendant shall file the 
completed form with the court within five days after the court’s order. The 
defendant shall provide a copy of the completed form to the prosecuting 
authority and the person’s probation officer, if any. 

Proposal 4: Amend the civil compromise statute for misdemeanors to allow 
the compromise of larceny offenses. 
AS 12.45.120 allows a judge to dismiss a misdemeanor case if the victim of a crime has gotten 

paid for his losses. The victim must submit a signed statement to the court saying that 

“satisfaction has been received for the injury.”34 The current version of Alaska’s civil 

compromise statute excludes the compromise of larceny offenses.  

4.a. Recommend that the legislature amend AS 12.45.120 to allow civil compromise in 

misdemeanor larceny cases. 

Proposal 5: Streamline Civil Execution. 
Research whether the civil execution statutes could be simplified to be easier for victims to 

use. 

Proposal 6: Expand opportunities for victims to receive “bridging” 
restitution funds 

In 1964, the Alaska Constitution was amended to require 
restitution to Alaska victims. The enabling statues made the 
restitution of victims the highest priority of the use of available 
funds second only to child support. The "Criminal Fund” monies 
should go annually to the restitution of victims before any monies 
flow to State agencies. The use of this fund as "bridging funds" 

                                                 
34 AS 12.45.130. Note that spouses, former spouses, relatives, and household members of the 
defendant are not allowed to use the civil compromise statute. AS 12. 45.120(5). 
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should not relieve the perpetrator of any obligation to pay 
restitution to the victim or reimburse the Criminal fund. 

-Sen. Fred Dyson 

Typically, victims must wait months or years to be paid restitution in full, because restitution is 

ordered at sentencing (which for serious offenses takes place many months after the crime 

occurs), and because offenders often need to pay restitution in installments. The Violent 

Crimes Compensation Board provides certain victims with an opportunity to recover costs 

sooner. Victims become eligible for compensation as soon as they report the crime to the 

police, and will typically receive compensation within 90 days of making a claim to the VCCB 

(with limited funds available sooner on an emergency basis). The VCCB then claims restitution 

from the offender directly at sentencing.  

However, the VCCB provides compensation only to victims of violent crimes, and will 

compensate only certain costs and expenses. Victims of property crimes are not covered by 

VCCB’s statute. The VCCB has a small staff and currently operates at capacity. The VCCB is 

also limited by its meeting schedule; the all-volunteer Board meets only 5-6 times per year to 

approve claims.  

6.a. Create an entity that will enable more victims to obtain bridging funds. Either: 

• Change the mandate of the VCCB also to compensate victims of property crimes, 

including small business owners. This will also require changing the composition of the 

Board and increasing the VCCB’s staff and capacity, or 

• Create a Property Crime Compensation Board [or other name/entity] to compensate 

victims of property crime who are not covered by the VCCB. 

If the legislature chooses to expand the VCCB/ create a PCCB, additional funding would be 

required. One option would be to increase the capacity of the VCCB to collect restitution it 

is owed. Currently the VCCB does not pursue restitution from defendants on its own, although 

has been looking into creating an active recovery program. This would likely require a 

change to VCCB’s enabling statute. 

The VCCB is funded through an RSA from the Permanent Fund Criminal Fund (which is funded 

by tabulating the PFDs that would have gone to incarcerated individuals had they not been 

incarcerated), in combination with a federal grant. Most of the Permanent Fund Criminal 

Fund money goes toward the Department of Corrections. 
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The court system accepts prepayment of restitution from defendants (restitution paid in 

advance of judgment) but this money is not always claimed, because the victims to be paid 

have not come forward and/or have not been identified. The court system pays for search 

services to find victims, but despite this, there is around $280,000 in unclaimed prepaid 

restitution sitting in the court system. Eventually these unclaimed funds escheat to the state. 

A victim can still recover his or her restitution even after it’s escheated.  

6.b. Increase funding or create a funding mechanism to provide more victims with bridging 

funds. Either:  

• Increase funding and capacity for the VCCB (or PCCB) to create its own active 

recovery program, or 

• End the current practice appropriating money from the Permanent Fund Criminal 

Fund to the Department of Corrections, and instead authorize that funding to go to 

the VCCB (or PCCB), or 

• Transfer unclaimed restitution to the violent crimes compensation fund instead of 

letting it escheat to the state.  

Proposal 7: Use technology to encourage defendants to make immediate 
in-person payments and online payments of restitution.  
7.a. Equip in-court clerks with Foursquare or similar technology to take credit and debit card 

payments immediately after the sentencing hearing (this could help with fines and 

surcharges as well). 

7.b. Use Courtview to generate a form to hand to the defendant at the close of the 

sentencing hearing showing the restitution amount, installment payments, and how and 

where to pay. 

7.c. Review the court system website to make it clear that restitution payments are among 

those that can be paid online with credit and debit cards. Compare, e.g., Florida DOC 

page about Court Ordered Payments.  

Proposal 8: Increase Defendants’ Assets Available for Execution 
The Department of Law’s records show that half or more of restitution awards are satisfied by 

execution on the defendant’s permanent fund dividend. Satisfaction of restitution judgments 

could thus be improved by decreasing the number of defendants who become ineligible for 

a PFD based on incarceration. 

http://www.dc.state.fl.us/oth/cc/copspay.html
http://www.dc.state.fl.us/oth/cc/copspay.html
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8.a. Change the law to allow defendants who serve only short prison sentences to retain their 

PFD eligibility. 

8.b. Require defendants to apply for the PFD each year they are eligible until restitution is paid 

in full. 

Conclusion 
This report examines the restitution process in Alaska and identifies statutory, procedural, and 

recovery problems. The report identifies possible solutions and evidence-based ways to 

improve restitution recovery. In addition, Appendix A provides a current picture of Alaska’s 

restitution recovery rates, and programs which have shown to be successful in other states 

are highlighted in Appendix B. We hope this report is helpful to policy makers and will enable 

an informed discussion about restitution related issues in Alaska and facilitate the 

Commission’s task to improve restitution recovery. 
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Appendix A 
 

Restitution Recovery Rates 
 

 
Restitution Recovery Rates and Amounts for the Department of Law Collections Unit 
 
The following information and data were provided by Stacey Steinberg at the Department of 
Law Collections Unit. This data applies only to state cases; restitution recovery rates for 
municipal cases are not tracked and unknown. 
 
Since 2002, the overall recovery rate to date for both adult and juvenile restitution recovery is 
24%; this includes an overall adult restitution recovery rate of 19% and an overall juvenile 
restitution recovery rate of 80%. Please note the adult restitution recovery rate is skewed by a 
$17.4 million restitution amount owed to Alyeska Pipeline (defendant shot a hole in the 
pipeline). If this outlier is removed, the adult restitution recovery amount is approximately 23%. 

 
See Table 1 for restitution recovery rates and amounts to date for both adult and juvenile cases 
since 2002. 
 
Table 1: Restitution Recovery Rates and Amounts Since 2002  

Account  
Type 

Total to Date (Since 2002) 
# of 

accounts Amount owed Amount paid % 
Restitution -
Adult 17443 $106,115,288.291 $20,422,815.47  19% 
Restitution - 
Juvenile 2417 $8,268,891.54 $6,614,259.08 80% 

Total  19860 $114,384,179.83 $27,037,074.55 24% 
 
The juvenile recovery rate is higher because juvenile cases are generally joint cases with other 
juveniles and the parents can also be held liable. Therefore, this increases the amount of PFDs 
that can be garnished and incomes available from parents. Juveniles typically also have no other 
garnishments, whereas adult PFDs may have other garnishments, such as money owed to the 
IRS or child support. (See Figure 4 and Tables 4 and 5, below.) 
 
For all current and pending accounts, the average amount of restitution awarded to victims was 
$7,085.71. However, this amount is skewed by several large amounts of restitution ordered to 
victims. The median (midpoint) amount was $782.20 and the mode (most common) amount was 
$500. Over half (56.9%) of the restitution ordered was $1,000 and below, 34.8% was between 
$1,001 to $9,999, and 8.3% of the restitution orders were over $10,000 (see Figure 1). 
 
 



  ACJC Victim Restitution Report- Draft 
 

22 

 
      Source: Data from Alaska Department of Law, August 9, 2016 
For individuals who, at the time the report was generated, had a balance of $0.00: 82.9% had an 
initial restitution amount owed of $1,000 and below, 13.6% had an initial amount of $1,001 to 
$9,999 and 3.4% had an initial amount owed of $10,000 and over. 
 
Victim Types 
 
The victim types were coded into three categories: government, business, and people. The 
government category included city, state, and federal agencies. The business category included 
large and small businesses, corporations, and insurance companies. The people category 
included one or more individuals. Government agencies accounted for 11.1% of the victims, 
businesses accounted for 44.5% of the victims, and people accounted for 44.5% of the victims 
(see Figure 2). 

 
Source: Data from Alaska Department of Law, August 9, 2016 

$1,000 and 
below
56.9%

$1,001 to $9,999
34.8%

$10,000 and over
8.3%

Figure 1: Restitution Amounts

Government
11.1%

Businesses
44.5%

People
44.5%

Figure 2: Type of Victim 
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Government agencies were owed an average restitution amount of $11,488.78 (with a maximum 
amount of $1,628,023.33); 46.7% of the government agencies were owed $1,000 or less, 38.2% 
were owed $1,001 to $9,999, and 15.2% were owed $10,000 or more. The median (midpoint) 
amount was $1,200.00 and the most common (mode) amount was $1,000.00. Businesses were 
owed an average restitution amount of $9,078.83 (with a maximum amount of $17,371,386.63); 
59.6% were owed $1,000 or less, 31.6% were owed $1,001 to $9,999, and 8.8% were owed 
$10,000 or more. The median (midpoint) amount was $639.82 and the most common (mode) 
amount was $100.00. People were owed an average restitution amount of $3,996.82 (with a 
maximum amount of $1,000,000); 56.8% were owed $1,000 or less, 37.1% were owed $1,001 
to $9,999, and 6.1% were owed $10,000 or more. The median (midpoint) amount was $800.00 
and the most common (mode) amount was $500.00. See Table 3 for this information in tabular 
form. 
 
Table 3: Restitution by Victim Type (rounded to the nearest dollar) 

Victim 
Type M Median Mode Maximum 

$1,000 
or less 

$1,001-
$9,999 

$10,000 
or more 

Government $11,489 $1,200 $1,000 $1,628,023 46.7% 38.2% 15.2% 
Businesses $9,079 $640 $100 $17,371,387 59.6% 31.6% 8.8% 
People  $3,997 $800 $500 $1,000,000 56.8% 37.1% 6.1% 

Source: Data from Alaska Department of Law, August 9, 2016 
 
 

PFD Garnishments and Voluntary Payments for Restitution  
 
 For FY 2016, $1.31 million was garnished from PFDs for adult restitution and $25,839 
was the estimated amount refunded due to overages, which resulted in a net estimate of $1.29 
million in PFD garnishments (51.8%).  The total amount of estimated voluntary payments was 
$1.2 million (48.2%). The total amount of PFDs garnished from juveniles was $387,770 and 
$76,126 was the estimated amount refunded, which resulted in a net PFD estimate of $311,644 
(85.0%). The total amount of estimated voluntary payments was $55,005 (15.0%). See Figures 3 
and 4 below. See Table 4 and Table 5 for detailed information on FY15 and FY16 PFD 
garnishment and voluntary payment amounts.   
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Source: Based on estimated amounts, Alaska Department of Law, September 7, 2016 

 

 
Source: Based on estimated amounts, Alaska Department of Law, September 7, 2016 

   

Please note the amount garnished from PFDs is considered a “gross” amount; this applies more 
to juvenile cases where multiple juveniles’ and parents’ PFDs will be garnished and then refunds 
are issued for the overages, as the DOL does not know when they initially garnish the PFDs 
whose they will eventually get. 
 
The juvenile PFD garnishment percentage is higher because juvenile cases are generally joint 
cases with other juveniles and the parents can also be held liable. Therefore, this increases the 
amount of PFDs that can be garnished. Juveniles typically also have no other garnishments, 
whereas adult PFDs may have other garnishments, such as money owed to the IRS or child 
support. 

PFD 
Garnishment 

51.8%

Voluntary 
Payment
48.2%

Figure 3: FY16 PFD Garnishments and Voluntary 
Payments - Adult Restitution

PFD 
Garnishment 

85.0%

Voluntary 
Payment 15.0%

Figure 4: FY16 PFD Garnishments and Voluntary 
Payments - Juvenile Restitution
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Table 4: PFD Garnishments for Restitution FY16 and FY15 

 
Total Garnishment 

Counts 
Gross PFD 

Garnishments 
Refunds 
Estimate 

Net PFD 
Estimates 

FY16 
Adult 1,036 $1,311,434 $25,839 $1,285,595 
Juvenile 283 $387,770 $76,126 $311,644 
FY15 
Adult 1,096 $1,258,858 $31,639 $1,227,219 
Juvenile  299 $405,016 $79,279 $325,737 

Source: Alaska Department of Law, August 9, 2016 & September 7, 2016 
 
Table 5: Total Restitution Collected, Voluntary Payments, and PFDs Garnished FY16 and FY15 

  
Total 
Payments 

Net PFD 
Estimate 

Voluntary 
Payment 
Estimate 

PFD 
Garnishment 
% Estimate 

Voluntary 
Payment % 
Estimate 

FY16 
 Adult $2,481,623 $1,285,595 $1,196,028 51.8% 48.2% 
 Juvenile $366,649 $311,644 $55,005 85.0% 15.0% 
FY15 
 Adult $2,373,475 $1,227,219 $1,146,256 51.7% 48.3% 
 Juvenile $413,359 $325,737 $87,622 78.8% 21.2% 

Source: Alaska Department of Law, September 7, 2016 
 
Violent Crimes Compensation Board Recovery Rates 
 
The VCCB tracks how much restitution was awarded to the VCCB in restitution judgments and 
how much restitution it has collected from defendants per fiscal year (see Table 6). Note: 1) The 
VCCB provides assistance only to certain crimes, some of which are federal crimes (e.g., 
trafficking); 2) the VCCB is not able to determine how much of the amount awarded in a 
certain fiscal year was collected in the following fiscal years. For example, in FY12 the VCCB 
was awarded $637,154; it is unclear how much of this sum was collected in FY12, FY13, FY14, 
etc.  

 

Table 6: VCCB Restitution Amounts Awarded and Amounts Received 
 

Year 
Total 

Compensation 
Paid 

 
Awarded 

 
Received 

FY12 $2,246,603 $637,154 $47,652 
FY13 $2,239,442 $316,600 $71,707 
FY14 $2,072,247 $279,378 $125,606 
FY15 $1,805,926 $322,858 $96,381 

FY16 $1,698,576 
(estimated) $319,028 $71,510 

Note: Not everything of the total amount paid is recoverable through restitution via statute.  
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Appendix B 
 

Evidence-Based Ways to Improve Restitution Recovery 

Research has shown that offenders often do not understand how the criminal justice system works, 
know how much they owe, or know what their payments are for (Ruback, Hoskins, Cares, and 
Feldmeyer, 2006). It is thus important to ensure that offenders are informed and encouraged to 
make payments, preferably before they fall behind in their payments. A study conducted by 
Ruback, Gladfelter, and Lantz (2014), showed that merely sending monthly reminder letters to 
probationers over a period of six months stating how much they were ordered to pay, how much 
they had payed, and how much they still owed significantly increased the number of voluntary 
payments and the restitution amounts collected. In fact, a cost-benefit analysis concluded that for 
every dollar spent, around $6.44 in restitution was received (Ruback et al., 2014). The authors 
concluded that presenting offenders merely with information about the status of their payments 
increased their internal motivation. Offenders were more likely to take accountability and make 
voluntary payments. It is important to note that the letters did not threaten offenders with any form 
of punishment. 

The American Probation and Parole Association (2013) lists strategies to increase the payment of 
restitution that can be implemented without additional resources: (1) treat court-ordered debts the 
same as any other condition of supervision, (2) discuss restitution at every contact with the 
offender, (3) problem solve with the offender about assets and disposable income that can be 
tapped for payment of restitution, (4) use a system a graduated sanctions for nonpayment, (5) 
provide incentives and support for payment, and (6) document all steps taken to increase 
compliance of payment.   

Restitution Collection in Other States 

A review of literature shows a broad range of restitution recovery rates, with the majority ranging 
from 20-30%, and some states reporting upwards of over 40% recovery rates. One county in 
Arizona reports a restitution collection rate of 80%. 

Vermont. The overall collection rate of the Restitution Unit in Vermont is 24% (National Victims 
of Crime, 2011). The restitution collection rate increases with time; the FY 09 collection rate is 
14% and the FY 05 collection rate is 35%. Restitution is collected in two main ways; through the 
use of a Restitution Fund and a Restitution Unit. The Restitution Fund is funded by a 15% 
surcharge on all criminal and traffic fines. Crime victims can be paid from the Restitution Fund up 
to a $10,000 cap. The Fund allows victims to be paid at the time restitution is ordered and not have 
to wait until the offender is no longer incarcerated. In FY 09, only 3% of restitution orders were 
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over $10,000, so the majority of individual crime victims receive all of the restitution owed to 
them. Business victims and victims who are owed more than $10,000 get paid as the Unit collects 
restitution from the offender. Collection analysts in the Unit maintain a caseload of offenders and 
make regular contact with them to encourage restitution payments. In Vermont, the restitution 
order can also become a civil judgment and be sent to Superior or Small Claims Court. If the court 
finds the offender has not complied with the restitution order, the court can change the payment 
schedule, place liens on property, order the sale of assets, or order the withholding of wages. The 
Unit’s two most useful collection tools from offenders are intercepting lottery winnings and state 
tax returns. A strategy that had worked in the past, but was removed, was coupling restitution 
collection with probation.  

Oregon. The overall collection rate of restitution and fines is 24% in Oregon (Oregon Judicial 
Department, 2014). The District Attorney’s office works with the victim to determine the nature 
and amount of the damages. The defendant can pay in full or establish a payment plan. A payment 
plan can be set up with the court clerk at sentencing or it can also be set up during the probation 
period. Most restitution balances are referred to the Department of Revenue’s Tax Offset Program 
which intercepts any tax refunds a defendant may receive to apply that refund to the restitution 
owed. After 30 days, a letter is mailed to the defendant and/or a court hearing is held. After 45 
days, a referral is made to collections, a warrant can be issued, their license can be suspended, their 
wages can be garnished, or a more aggressive payment plan can be set up. The driver’s license can 
be reinstated once the defendant makes consistent payments.  

Clackamas County, Oregon set up an active recovery program, referred to as a restitution court, in 
2004. The program’s overall collection rate of restitution and fines is 32%. The court clerk 
investigates the defendant’s ability to pay and works closely with probation to set up a payment 
plan. If the defendant becomes delinquent, the court is notified, and the court clerk notifies the 
defendant to discuss payment options (e.g., liquidate assets, pay on a credit card, take out a second 
mortgage, etc.) and what will happen if a payment is not made. The court may also order the 
defendant to appear at restitution court if the clerk determines the defendant continues to be 
delinquent in making payments. The judge reviews the defendant’s assets and debts and 
recommends ways the defendant can cut expenses and make payments. The judge can also order 
certain conditions the defendant must fulfill, such as getting a job. The clerk continues to monitor 
the defendant’s payments and probation; the judge can extend probation to require the defendant 
to pay restitution. The DA’s office continues to advocate on behalf of the victim.   

Minnesota. In Minnesota, the restitution payment collection rate is 25% (Minnesota Office of 
Justice Programs, 2015). If an offender fails to pay the restitution amount in full, at the time it is 
ordered, or misses a payment, the case is sent to the Minnesota Department of Revenue for 
collections. If the restitution is a condition of probation, a prosecutor, probation officer, or victim 
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can request a hearing to review the restitution payment. Probation can be changed or revoked if a 
payment is missed and the court determines the failure is purposeful. The Minnesota Department 
of Corrections has procedures for inmates to make payments towards restitution, including 
deductions from prison wages and surcharges on commissary purchases.       

Texas. Texas’ active recovery restitution program has achieved an estimated restitution collection 
rate of 41%, according to Matthew Chambers, Program Supervisor III in the Restitution Program 
within the Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ). He noted that if unemployed offenders 
were removed, the collection rate is 80-95%. The TDCJ recently focused its restitution collection 
efforts on evidenced-based practices. One of the main successful practices has been a flat 10% rate 
that is garnished from the offender’s income. If the offender has a higher income, a larger 
percentage can be garnished. A crime victim can also place a lien on the offender’s property until 
the restitution is paid. Another successful practice the TDCJ has implemented is a stronger focus 
on restitution as part of probation/parole visits. If an offender does not make restitution payments, 
then the officer will increase the amount contacts made with the offender through office or home 
visits. The officers will also speak with family members to encourage the offender to make 
payments. Mr. Chambers noted TDCJ does not revoke probation/parole for non-payment. He 
stated the goal is not to threaten the offender, but to make the process more inconvenient for them.        

Colorado. Between 2009 and 2013, the State of Colorado collected the full amount of restitution 
in 43% of the cases using an active recovery program (State of Colorado Office of State Auditor, 
2014). The Colorado Judicial Branch is responsible for collecting restitution from offenders who 
are on supervised or unsupervised probation. The Judicial Branch works with the offender to set 
up a payment plan and monitor payments. If the offender is unable to pay the full amount on the 
day it is ordered, the case is sent to a collections investigator who investigates the offender’s 
finances and obligations. State tax refunds, gaming winnings, and lottery winnings are also 
intercepted. If the offender does not pay according to the payment plan, the Judicial Branch charges 
late fees or garnishes the offenders wages or bank deposits. If the offender is delinquent in making 
payments, the collections investigators can place a lien on the offender’s property, send the balance 
to a private debt collector, or request the court to revoke or extend probation. The Judicial Branch 
and the probation officers coordinate and monitor payments together. For example, if an offender 
becomes employed the probation officer would communicate with the collections investigator to 
revise the payment plan.    

The Colorado Department of Corrections is responsible for collecting restitution from offenders 
who are incarcerated or on parole. The Department of Corrections automatically garnishes 20% of 
all income for incarcerated offenders, which includes any earnings and bank deposits from outside 
sources, such as family members. Parole officers investigate the offenders’ finances and 
obligations and set up a payment schedule. Parole officers require offenders to pay 20% of all 



  ACJC Victim Restitution Report- Draft 
 

29 

deposits. Restitution is monitored as a condition of parole and if the parolee is not in compliance 
with the payments, parole may be revoked and the offender returned to the correctional facility.  

Maricopa County, Arizona. A specialized unit in Maricopa County, Arizona called the Financial 
Compliance Unit (FINCOM) is responsible for the collection of court-ordered payments 
(American Probation and Parole Association, 2012). A representative from FICOM reported their 
average recovery rate for restitution is currently 63%. The unit uses a business model for 
collections and is staffed by specially trained probation officers and collections officers. The 
FICOM representative reported there is a staff of 14 collectors on the unit who focus strictly on 
collections. He reported some specific collection efforts that are particularly effective in restitution 
collection are frequent contacts through emails, phone calls, letters, and face-to-face meetings in 
conjunction with the probation officer. He reported these types of frequent communications keep 
the payment of restitution a priority and at the forefront of the probationers’ mind. There is a range 
of incentives and services to support offenders in court-ordered payments, along with a system of 
graduated sanctions for those who are delinquent with their payments. Personal finance courses, 
employment readiness and placement services are available to help offenders meet their financial 
obligations. Incentives to offenders who are current on their payments are travel permits, less 
frequent reporting to probation, and early termination of probation. Sanctions placed on offenders 
are mandatory personal finance courses, referral to a collection agency, interception of tax refunds, 
and revocation of probation. The FICOM representative reported helping probationers with a 
budget or payment plan is also effective. A specialized restitution court was also developed to 
focus on restitution collection. Probationers who are delinquent in their payments are referred to 
the court by FINCOM staff. If judge determines if the defendant has willfully failed to pay 
restitution, the defendant can be incarcerated if the full amount is not paid. The FINCOM 
representative reported that probationers are infrequently taken into custody for non-payment, but 
the “threat” is effective in payment compliance. 

Idaho. In Idaho, the Crime Victims Compensation (ICVC) program was established in 1998 and 
collects restitution through its website. In 2012, the program implemented a monthly billing system 
which notifies offenders when they have an outstanding restitution payment and directs them to 
make payments to their district’s Clerk of Court. Through this system Idaho was able to collect 
large amounts of money from offenders who sometimes were unaware of their outstanding 
payments. In addition, the probation/parole officers receive notice of any missed payments, so they 
can assist the offender in establishing a payment plan. Idaho reports that as a result of its program 
the overall restitution recovery rate has increased. The program now regularly assists and mentors 
other states that want to build their internal capacity to collect restitution. 
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