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July 1, 2015

Dear licensee:

Enclosed is your application for license renewal. In addition, I would like to preview some changes to manicurist licensure
that were signed into law by Governor Walker on May 29, 2015. This legislation was initiated by the Boatd of Batbers and
Hairdressers to increase the safety and sanitation of nail care in Alaska,

Below is a summary of the changes to manicuring licensing, manicuring schools, training, and scope of practice. The boatd
will meet to discuss and propose regulations this summer to implement these changes. All affected licensees will receive a
copy of the proposed regulations, and they will be posted to the board’s web page at

www. professionallicense.alaska.gov/boardofbarbershairdresscrs.

A person licensed to practice manicuring in the state may use the title “licensed nail technician.” It is the same scope
of practice.
Manicurists who ate not licensed by 12/31/2015 must:

o successfully complete 250 hours of instruction in manicuting from a school licensed by the board, and

© pass the board-approved exam to be licensed as a nail technician.
A 12-hour safety and sanitation course will no longer satisfy requirements for a manicurist/nail technician license on
or after 1/1/2016.
A person with a current advanced manicurist endotsement on or after 1/1/2016 is eligible to receive a new nail
technician license which will expire 8/31/2017 unless renewed.
A person who obtained a current manicurist license in another state, which required at least 250 hours of training in a
school and passing a state written exam, may:

o apply for a nail technician license after 1/1/2016, or

o apply to have the advanced manicurist endorsement added to a current Alaska manicurist license no later than

12/31/2015.

A manicurist working with a current license issued on or before 12/31/2015 may work with the license until
8/31/2017. At the 8/31/2017 renewal, this manicurist may renew one additional time through 8/31/2019 if the
licensee can show proof of:

o 250 hours of wotk expetience as a manicurist, and

o passing the board-approved exam to be licensed as a nail technician.
Hairdressers licensed before 1/1/2016 may provide manicurist services under the scope of their license until 1t
normally expites on 8/31/2017 and renew one additional time through 8/31/2019 with proof of:

o 250 hours of work experience as a manicurist, and

O passing the board-approved exam to be licensed as a nail technician.
Schools of manicuring may only continue to operate after 1.1/2016 if the school complies with 1S 08.13 as amended
and provides a curriculum that meets the regulatory standards for an advanced manicuring license as AS 08.13.110/c}
existed before 1/1/2016, or until new regulations are adopted b the Board of Barbers and Hairdresser:
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e Schools providing the 250-hour course for the new license must first be accredited through the Alaska Commission of
Postsecondary Education (ACPE) and issued a license by the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers.

e Instructors for the 250-hour manicuring course must have three years of experience as a licensed manicurist, pass the
National Nail Technician written exam and instructor exam, and be issued an instructor license to provide the
manicurist training,

® On orafter 1/1/2016, a person must be a licensed hairdresser or barber to perform shampooing.

® On or after 1/1/2016, a person applying to be a hairdresser or batber may not combine apprentice training and
school hours to satisfy the training requirements. They must complete either a 2000 hour apprenticeship under a
licensed instructor or 1650 houts of training in a licensed school.

Please check the web page at www.professionallicense.alaska.gov /boardofbarbershairdressers for additional information.






