Alaska Veterans Advisory Council (AVAC)

The council consists of 13 members appointed by the governor. One or more persons appointed to the council will be from a veterans organization, one or more persons from a state agency that manages programs affecting veterans, and one or more persons from the general public who are familiar with veterans issues.

The council advises the Department of Military and Veterans Affairs and, through the governor, other departments and agencies of the state on matters concerning state veterans, their dependents, and their survivors.

The council makes recommendations to the governor and the Department concerning the needs of and benefits for the state's veterans, for developing public and private partnerships to meet those needs, for providing information regarding veterans' benefits and services, for improving recognition of state veterans, and on other matters; and hold meetings and establish committees and internal procedures as necessary and appropriate to carry out its duties.

AVAC Highlights

- Veteran status on Alaska driver's licenses and ID cards
- Purple Heart, Goldstar & Disabled veteran license plates
- Education benefits for spouses/dependents of those that died on active duty
- Designation a veteran seat on the AWIB
- Established the Veteran Pioneer Home
- Veteran Summits

Future

- Through the AVAC charter, we will monitor the following:
 - o VA Healthcare
 - o VA Benefits
 - o Additions/Changes to State benefits

AVAC Members

Pamela Beale, Chair (Anchorage) Suellyn Wright Novak, Vice Chair (Eagle River) Gerald "Butch" Diotte (Wasilla) James Hastings (Wasilla) Phillip Hokenson (Fairbanks) Steven Hovenden (Fairbanks) (excused absence) Ronald Huffman (Nome) Robert "Ski" Marcinkowski (Fairbanks) Terrance Pardee (Haines) Ronald Siebels (Anchorage) William Sorrells (Eagle River) Irene Washington (Bethel) Steven Williams (Juneau)

OVA Staff in Attendance

Verdie Bowen, Director Mercedes Angerman