
1. Administrative Summary for Postsecondary Institutional Authorization (Appendix A)

2. Supporting documentation for Appendix A:  
 a. mission statement (identify the institution's purpose, goals, and objectives) 
 b. identified need for the institution and prospective student pool 
 c. if Corporation, a copy of the Articles of Incorporation and bylaws 
 d. if 501(c)(3), a copy of the IRS Letter of Determination 
 e. brief summary of the institution's historical development and background  
 f. evidence of accreditation or other affiliations 
 g. list of the institution's governing board members board of directors, and, if applicable, a list of all shareholders   
     holding 10% or more of outstanding shares

Institutional Overview

Instructions: The Application for Initial Authorization to operate a postsecondary institution in Alaska must be submitted in its entirety 
using the checklist below. A list of all required documentation is provided within each section. If an item does not apply to the 
institution, leave the section blank. 

Submit the application, fee, and all supporting materials to the address above at least 90 days prior to the quarterly Commission 
meeting at which the application will be considered (meetings are scheduled in January, April, July and October). In addition to 
reviewing the application materials, Commission staff will schedule a site visit once the completed application has been received.  

NOTE: Full text of the laws governing the delivery of postsecondary education in Alaska is contained in Alaska Statute 14.48 and the 
Alaska Administrative Code, Title 20, Chapter 17. All institutions should become familiar with those statutes and regulations. 

Application for Initial Authorization

Initial Application Fee
$2,500.00 (non-refundable); check payable to: Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education 
  
NOTE: Fee will be waived for institutions which are tax-exempt under U.S.C 501(c)(3) and have an annual enrollment of less 
than 30 students.

Administrative Overview
3. List of key administrative positions and organizational structure

4. Resumes/Curricula Vitae for senior administrators

5. Consent for Release of Information (Appendix B) for all owners and senior administrative officials

6.  If an institution has not operated as a business prior to this application, submit a business plan and budget for the first 
year of operation

Institution Name:

Individual Completing Form: Phone Number:
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Email Address: Fax Number:

Faculty/Instructor
7. List of supervisors and faculty with documentation of qualifications, including applicable licenses to teach (if 20 or more 
faculty, submit hiring standards and procedures in place to verify qualifications for instructors)

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp?title=14#14.48.060
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp?title=14#14.48.060
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp?title=14#14.48.060
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac


Facilities & Equipment
12. Site Information Form (Appendix C) 

13. Supporting documentation for Appendix C:  
 a. building safety inspection report 
 b. zoning report 
 c. health/sanitation report 
 d. lease, contractual agreement, or evidence of site ownership 
 e. detailed facility floor plan, including dimensions, functional use, and number of students to be accommodated

14. Fire Safety Inspection Checklist (Appendix D)

15. List of equipment by program, including owned or leased status, as required under 20 AAC 17.095(c)

Finances
18. CPA audited financial statements for the most recently completed fiscal year, with the following exceptions (check any 
that apply):  
   
          An institution with annual tuition revenues of less than $300,000 (from all sources) may submit an independent  
          licensed certified public accountant’s review report stating that the institution’s financial statements for the most  
          recently completed fiscal year were prepared in conformity with GAAP 
  
          An institution with annual tuition revenues of less than $200,000 (from all sources) may submit a compilation  
          report with full disclosure, including an accountant’s cover letter stating that the institution’s financial statements   
          for the most recently completed fiscal year were prepared in conformity with Generally Accepted Accounting  
          Principles (GAAP); the report must be prepared by an independent accounting service that is licensed as a business  
  
          A sole proprietorship or partnership and has annual tuition revenues of less than $100,000 (from all sources) may 
          submit a compilation report, with full disclosure, for the most recently completed fiscal year, including an   
          accountant’s cover letter stating the method of presentation and the scope of the accounting services provided; 
          the report required must be prepared by an independent accounting service that is licensed as a business 
  
NOTE: Financial statements must include, at a minimum:  
   (1) an accountant's opinion letter;  
   (2) a balance sheet;  
   (3) an income statement;  
   (4) a statement of cash flows; and  
   (5) notes to the financial statements. 

Library and Learning Resources (Collegiate Institutions Only)
16. Description of location and availability

17. List of holdings, including volumes, periodicals, computer terminals, software, etc. 
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Faculty/Instructor (Continued)

10. Employment policy for interim, substitute, and temporary instructors 

11. Advanced degree credentials for all faculty members per 20 AAC 17.245  - Degree-granting institutions only

8. Selection criteria for new faculty/instructors

9. Evaluation plan for faculty/instructors

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=[Group+!2720+aac+17!2E095!27!3A]/doc/{@1}/hits_only?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=20+aac+17!2E240/doc/{@1}?firsthit


Student Resources
22. School Catalog Checklist (Appendix F) - attach to school catalog or brochure

23. School Handbook (if applicable)

24. Program Summary Form (Appendix G) 

25. Enrollment Contract Checklist (Appendix H) - Non-collegiate institutions only; attach to enrollment contract sample

26. Meningitis Form (Appendix I) with institution's letterhead

27. Provide a copy of the institution's Exit Survey per 20 AAC 17.062(b)

Marketing Materials
28. Institutional marketing plan and samples of marketing documents

29. Specimen of copies of published materials, including: 
 a. schedule of classes   
 b. enrollment/registration forms  
 c. admission application 
 d. tuition/fee/payment contracts or promissory notes 
 e. academic transcript/student records 
 f. grade report forms 
 g. leave of absence forms (optional) 
 h. drop/add/program amendment forms 
 i. certificate of completion or diploma 
 j. entrance examinations (optional)

Evidence of Liability and Other Appropriate Insurance Coverage
19. Determination of Institutional Liability Worksheet (Appendix E)

20. Supporting documentation for Appendix E: 
 a. Surety Bond: If posting a bond, complete page 2 of Appendix E and attach the original bond document 
 b. Certificate of Deposit (CD): If assigning a CD, complete page 3 of Appendix E and attach the original CD

21. Certificate of General Liability Insurance; ACPE must be listed as certificate holder on general liability insurance and for 
additional liability or accident insurance required for institutions delivering occupational programs

I certify that all information listed in the checklist above and included as part of this application is complete and accurate. 

Certification

Initial Authorization Application Checklist (Rev. 12/14) Page 3 of 3

Date:

Printed name and title of administrative official: 

Signature of owner or administrative official:

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=20+aac+17!2E062/doc/{@1}?firsthit


Instructions: Please complete the following administrative summary and attach all required supporting documents.

Administrative Summary for Postsecondary Institutional Authorization

Administrative Summary

Fiscal Year: 

Institution Name:

Institution's Web Address:Contact E-mail Address: 

Business License Number:Institution Type: 

Accreditation or Approval Body: 

Licensing or Approval Body: 

Start Date: End Date: Start Date: End Date: 

Phone Number:Name of Owner or CEO:

Phone Number:Administrative Contact Official: 

Address Information

Physical Address: City: State: Zip: 

Contact Information

Administrative Year: 

Supporting Documentation

Provide the following information as separate documentation and attach to this form. 

Historical development and backgroundMission (identify the institution's purpose, goals, and objectives)

Mailing Address: City: State: 

List of the institution's Governing Board or Board of 
Directors, and, if applicable, a list of all shareholders 
holding 10% or more of the shares outstanding

I certify that all information provided above is complete and accurate.

Certification

If corporation, a copy of the Articles of Incorporation and bylaws Evidence of accreditation or other affiliations

If 501(c)(3), a copy of the IRS Letter of Determination

Zip: 
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Signature of owner or administrative official: Date:

Printed name and title of administrative official: 



 Consent for Release of Information 
Instructions: This form must be filled out and submitted for all owners and senior administrative officials. NOTE: A photocopy of this 
release is to be honored as if it were an original.

I,                                                                                                                                          hereby authorize the Alaska Commission on 
Postsecondary Education (ACPE) and/or its agents to obtain a credit report and make an independent investigation of my background, 
references, character, criminal, or police records, including those maintained by both public and private organizations and all public 
records for the purpose of confirming evidence of satisfactory reputation of business and professional integrity. 
  
As an owner or a senior official of:

(Name of Institution/Corporation)

I release ACPE or its agents and any person or entity, which provides information pursuant to this authorization, from any and all 
liabilities, claims, or lawsuits relative to the information obtained from any and all of the above referenced sources used. 

(Complete Name)

Signature: Date:

I certify that all information provided is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. I release ACPE or its agents and any person or 
entity, which provides information pursuant to this authorization, from any and all liabilities, claims, or lawsuits in regards to the 
information obtained from any and all of the above referenced sources used.

First Name: Middle Name: Last Name:

Maiden Name or Other Names Used: 

Date of Birth:  SSN: State:Driver's License #:

Present Street Address: How long?

City: State: Zip: 

Former Street Address: How long?

City: State: Zip: 

Certification

E-mail Address: Phone Number:

2. Address Information

3. Contact Information

1. Personal Information
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Site Information Form 
Instructions:  Please complete this form and attach all required materials for each school site, including student housing, if applicable. 

Site Name:

Alternate Address:

Street Address:

Site Address

List the approval authority, contact number, and approval dates for any inspection report or certification for this site, and attach copy. 
If none, provide name and agency phone number of the approval authority to confirm information. 

Approval Authority Contact Number Date Attached?

Building Safety

Zoning

Health/Sanitation 
(if applicable)

Equipment or Hazardous Materials

Other:

Other:

I certify that the information on this form is complete and accurate, and that the above-named institution, per AS 14.48.060(7), “…is 
maintained and operated in compliance with all pertinent ordinances and laws relating to the safety and health of persons upon the 
premises of the institution,” including all applicable federal, state and municipal licensing, zoning, health, safety and fire code 
requirements.

Site Health and Safety Verification

Certification

Lease, contractual agreement, or evidence of ownership

Detailed Floor Plan - including dimensions, functional use, and number of students to be accommodated

Provide the following information as separate documentation and attach to this form.

City: State: Zip: 

If yes, owned or leased status?Does the institution have student housing?
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Signature of owner or administrative official: Date:

Printed name and title of administrative official: 



Instructions: All postsecondary institutions must meet municipal, state, and federal fire safety requirements as stated under 
20 AAC 17.060(h). If there are fire  protection systems, complete Section A of this form. An independent third-party service must 
inspect all fire protection systems. In addition, a fire safety inspection report must be completed by the fire marshal in your area and 
attached to this form; if a fire marshal is not available, complete Section B. Please verify compliance by selecting the check box next to 
each item and, if necessary, attach additional pages as documentation. If the item does not apply, leave the check box blank. 

Fire Safety Inspection Checklist

Institution Name:

Facility Contact Person : Phone Number:

Street Address:

1. At least one fire extinguisher (classification 2a 10BC) is provided for every 75 feet of direct travel distance

2. All fire extinguishers have been serviced within the last 12 months (attach copy of receipt or service report)

3. Sprinklers are provided throughout all basements used for training

4. Sprinkler system has been serviced within the last 12 months (attach copy of service report)

5. Fire alarm system is present and operable when the total number of occupants exceeds 50

6. Fire alarm system has been serviced within the last 12 months (attach copy of service report)

7. Operating smoke detectors are located in all training areas

8. Kitchen hood suppression system has been serviced within the last six months (attach copy of service report)

SECTION A: Fire Protection Systems

Fire Marshal Inspection Report

Re-Inspection Report (If any violations were found during a prior inspection)

If a fire safety inspection by a municipal or borough agency is available in your area, attach the following forms:

1. Changes in use or construction have been approved by the State Fire Marshal

2. All exit ways, including halls, corridors, aisles, and doorways are clear of obstructions

3. All exit and exit access doors are marked by an approved exit sign, illuminated and operational at all times. 

4. All exit doors are unlocked during hours of occupancy.

5. All exit doors open from the inside without a key or special knowledge and are free of dead bolts or other special locks.

6. Panic hardware installed on doors is operational. 

7. Working space of not less than 30 inches in width, 36 inches in depth, and 78 inches in height has been provided in front of 
all electrical service equipment (panels). 

8. Extension cords and flexible cords are not being used as substitute for permanent wiring. 

9. All electrical switches, outlets, and junction boxes are adequately covered by approved covers. 

SECTION B: Fire Safety Self-Inspection Report (only for use if fire marshal is unavailable in area)
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I certify that all information listed in the checklist above and included as part of this application is complete and accurate. 

Certification

10. All storage is maintained 24 inches below the ceiling in non-sprinkler areas, or 18 inches below sprinkler head deflectors in 
areas with sprinklers. 

11. Boiler, mechanical, and electrical equipment rooms are free of combustible storage.

12. Fire-rated doors and doors to hazard areas are kept closed at all times. 

13. All storage of combustible materials is kept orderly and is separated from heat sources by a distance so that ignition  
cannot occur.  

14. Holes and cracks in interior walls and/or ceiling tiles have been repaired to maintain required fire resistance. 

15. All flammable or combustible liquids are stored in proper containers and locations.

16. All fire protection systems (sprinkler system, hood & duct system, special hazard system, fire alarm system, fire 
extinguishers) are annually service-tested and tagged.

17. Smoke detectors are operational and present in all training areas. 

18. All employees/staff have been trained in emergency and fire reporting procedures. 

19. A fire safety and evacuation plan is in place and has been distributed to all employees/staff.

20. A complete walkthrough inspection of the facility addressing the items above has been accomplished. 

SECTION B, Continued (only for use if fire marshal is unavailable in area)
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The State of Alaska Division of Fire and Life Safety has statewide jurisdiction for fire code enforcement and plan review authority.  
Building fire and life safety inspections are one of the programs used by the Division to further fire and life safety. For more information 
on statewide fire safety requirements, visit the Division web site at www.dps.alaska.gov/Fire or call (907) 269-2004 
 
The following communities have received a deferral for full code enforcement. Contact the appropriate community for information 
regarding changes to fire safety and inspection requirements: 

    
Anchorage Municipality (AFD) - (907) 267-4900    Kodiak - (907) 486-8072 
Juneau - (907) 586-0770 or (907) 586-0715     Seward - (907) 224-3445 
Fairbanks - (907) 459-6720      Sitka - (907) 747-1806 
Kenai - (907) 283-7535        Soldotna - (907) 262-4792 
Ketchikan - (907) 228-4737     Wasilla/Lakes - (907) 373-8830

Signature of owner or administrative official: Date:

Printed name and title of administrative official: 



Determination of Institutional Liability Worksheet 
Institutions must post and maintain a surety bond or certificate of deposit (CD), as stated under AS 14.48.100. The dollar amount 
required is higher of 1) the amount of  revenue received in the longest enrollment period during the previous fiscal year, or 2) the 
projected revenue for the same period in the current year. New institutions, renewing institutions, or institutions that have added or 
deleted programs should provide the highest amount of revenue projected to be earned by the institution for all students enrolled in 
all programs during an enrollment period.  

Instructions: To determine the amount of surety required, complete this form (Page 1). NOTE: Institutions determined by ACPE to be 
financially unsound may be required to post a substantially increased level of surety. 

Surety Bond: If posting a bond, complete page 2 (Educational Institution Surety Bond) and attach the original bond document. 
Certificate of Deposit (CD): If assigning a CD, complete page 3 (Assignment of Negotiable Instrument) and attach original CD.

Name of Institution:

    Surety Level Chart
If gross revenues are: Surety for schools generating revenue: Surety for flight schools & pay-as-you-go schools:

up to  $25,000 $5,000 $3,750
$25,001 to $50,000 $10,000 $7,500

$50,001 to $100,000 $20,000 $15,000
$100,001 to $150,000 $30,000 $22,500
$150,001 to $200,000 $40,000 $30,000
$200,001 to $250,000 $50,000 $37,500

$250,001 to $$300,000 $60,000 $45,000
$300,001 to $400,000 $80,000 $60,000
$400,001 to $500,000 $100,000 $75,000
$500,001 to $750,000 $150,000 $112,500

$750,001 to $1,000,000 $200,000 $150,000
$1,000,001 and above $250,000 $200,000

Use the chart to enter the surety amount required for the institution listed above:

An original surety in this amount is: on file with the Commission

Bond or CD number:

enclosed being sent under a separate cover

I certify that the income reported above accurately represents this institution's highest revenues during one enrollment period or term 
over the past year, or in the next projected year.

Enrollment Period and Gross Revenue

Certification

Define your institution's longest term or enrollment period (semester, term, program, etc.) 

Determine the gross revenues for the enrollment period listed above during the previous fiscal year or the 
institution's projected revenues for the same period in the current or upcoming fiscal year, whichever is HIGHEST. 
Include revenue from all funding sources, and for all commodities and services provided by the institution for 
postsecondary education. This includes revenue received for programs otherwise exempt from authorization and, 
for flight schools, the revenues received for private pilot, commercial pilot and ratings programs.  

Type of Surety: Certificate  of Deposit (CD)Bond
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Signature of owner or administrative official: Date:

Printed name and title of administrative official: 
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KNOWN BY ALL PRESENT THAT                                                                                                                                           doing business as principal 
and                                                                                                                                                                   a corporation duly authorized  to 
transact surety business in the State of Alaska, as surety, are held and firmly bound unto the State of Alaska in the 
sum of                                                                              (                                     ) lawful money of the United States, for the payment of which, 
well and truly to be made, we and each of us, bind ourselves, our heirs, executors and administrators, successors and assigns, jointly 
and severally, firmly by these presents.  

THE CONDITIONS OF THE ABOVE OBLIGATIONS ARE SUCH THAT whereas the above bounden principal has or is about to obtain an 
Authorization to Operate an educational institution in the State of Alaska, in accordance with the provisions of AS 14.48 and all rules 
and regulations appertaining thereunto, and desires to give bond as required by said law.  

NOW, THEREFORE, if the said principal, in compliance with AS 14.48, does not pay any and all final and nonappealable orders of the 
Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education or judgments of a court of this state having jurisdiction against said principal in favor 
of any student, enrollee, or his or her parents or guardians or class thereof for loss or damage as a result of an act or practice in 
violation of AS 14.48, they shall be paid by the surety.  

THE TOTAL LIABILITY of the surety hereunder, during the period for which this bond is written shall not exceed the sum 
of                                                                                     (                                       ). 

LIABILITY UNDER THIS BOND commences                                                           and shall be continuous until the authorization to operate is 
revoked or otherwise terminated by the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education or until forty-five (45) days after the Alaska 
Commission on Postsecondary Education, State of Alaska receives written notice from the surety of cancellation. The bond shall apply 
to all judgments and liabilities which arise during the effective period of the bond and to which the bond is applicable under the law, 
even if the judgments are settled or the liabilities are enforced after the effective period of the bond.  

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the said principal and the said surety have affixed their hand and seal this                   day of 

Bond number:

Premium:

(Date)

(Name of Institution)
(Name of Insurance Company) 

Thousand Dollars

in the year                                              . 

Educational Institution Surety Bond

Thousand Dollars
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Principal:

By:

(Signature of Principal's Authorized Representative)

(Name and Title of Principal's Authorized Representative)

Surety:

Surety Address:

By:

(Signature of Attorney-in-Fact)

(Name and Title of Attorney-in-Fact)



This document is to certify that on this               day of                                    in the year                     , before me, the undersigned, a Notary 
Public in and for the State of                      , duly commissioned and sworn, personally appeared 
                                                                  to me known to be the person(s) described in and who executed this above and foregoing 
assignment of negotiable instrument, and have acknowledged to me they have signed and sealed the document freely and voluntarily 
for the uses and purposes therein mentioned.  

Witness, my hand and official seal the day and year in this certificate first above written. 

 Assignment of Negotiable Instrument: Certificate of Deposit 
  

Certificates of deposit must be automatically renewable and made payable to the State of Alaska. In order for the interest on the 
certificate of deposit to be accurately reported to the Internal Revenue Service, the institution's tax I.D. number (not the State's) must 
be on the certificate of deposit. The certificate of deposit must accompany this notarized Assignment of Negotiable Instrument form.

THE UNDERSIGNED ASSIGNOR HEREBY assigns and transfers to the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education, the annexed 

(Name of Banking Institution) as and for the educational institution surety bond required by the laws of the State of Alaska (AS 14.48) 
for the postsecondary educational institution known as 

which is duly authorized to operate in the State of Alaska. 

THE UNDERSIGNED DOES HEREBY irrevocably constitute and appoint the State of Alaska by and through its duly authorized agent as 
their attorney-in-fact to do all things necessary and appropriate to effectuate the purposes of this assignment.  

IT IS HEREBY AGREED AND UNDERSTOOD that this assignment shall remain in full force and effect for the period of time provided by 
law for actions against said surety bond, unless earlier canceled by mutual written consent of the Assignor and Assignee. 

Signature:Assignor (Type or print name):

Notary Public Signature:

My Commission Expires:

day of in the yearDated this in the city and state of 
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Instructions: Please use the following checklist to ensure all required information is included in the institution's catalog. An institution 
must provide prospective students with an up-to-date copy of its catalog or brochure, as stated in 20 AAC 17.075. Attach this checklist 
to the front of the catalog and include it with the application materials. Indicate the page number where each item may be found.

School Catalog Checklist

Page #
1. Educational philosophy and institution objectives set out in clear, complete, and plain language, including measurable 
goals and/or outcomes

Page # 2. Date of catalog publication and the time for which the information contained is in effect

Page # 3. Name and address of the place of instruction and administrative offices

Page # 4. Names and titles of the administrative and instructional staff

Page #
5. Admissions policy and regulations, including any prerequisites for enrollment such as general requirements or 
program requirements, general and program-specific prerequisites, and entrance tests

Page #

6. Academic policies, including:  
 a. prerequisites for enrollment 
 b. policy for measurement of student progress, including grading system 
 c. minimum grades considered to meet satisfactory progress 
 d. conditions and consequences of a student's probationary status, suspension, dismissal, and readmission 
 e. conditions of reentrance for students dismissed for unsatisfactory progress

Page #
7. Attendance policy, including definition of excused and unexcused absences and the number of absences resulting in 
dismissal of a student for unsatisfactory attendance

Page # 8. Leaves of Absence policy (optional) - if offered, the policy and forms must comply with 20 AAC 17.111

Page # 9. Student conduct policies defining unsatisfactory conduct and the conditions for dismissal for unsatisfactory conduct

Page #

10. Tuition payment and refund policies (must comply with 20 AAC.17.115), as well as a schedule of the student's cost of 
attendance to include, if applicable: 
   - Tuition   - Supplies  - Rentals 
  - Fees   - Equipment  - Deposits 
 - Books   - Services  - Housing

Page # 11. Description of school facilities

Page #

12. Description of each course, and each certificate or degree program to include: 
 a. specific instructional objectives, and type of instruction or delivery method 
 b. specific course or program prerequisites  
  c. total length of program (accredited institutions may use semester or quarter credit hours; non-accredited  
     institutions must specify length in clock hours) 
 d. program content outline with course descriptions and lengths 
 e. minimum requirements necessary for successful completion of the program 
 f.  minimum requirements for entrance into the particular vocational field for which the student seeks training  
     and a description of the occupational entry level at which the student can reasonably expect to be prepared      
                    for upon successful completion of the training (for vocational programs only)

School Catalog Requirements
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Page #
13. Description of minimum requirements to complete program of study/graduate (must comply with AS 14.48.060(b)
(4) and 20 AAC 17.075(17))

Page # 14. Academic/school calendar

Page #
15. If offered, describe the extent and nature of all student services, including academic advising, financial aid, career 
planning and placement, and student activities and organizations

Page # 16. Advanced standing and course challenge or waiver policies and procedures, if any

Page # 17. Grievance policy, including availability of appeal to the Commission

Page #
18. Prominent statement that no school can guarantee that its credits or programs are transferable, and a clear 
statement that transfer of credits is always at the discretion of the receiving institution

Page # 19. A statement describing where student records are maintained and how the student may access them

Page #
20. If a placement service or employment assistance is offered to graduates, describe the extent and nature of the 
service or assistance, including the most recently calculated placement rate (must comply with 20 AAC 17.070(j))
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Appendix G:  Program Summary (Rev. 12/14) Page 1 of 1

Instructions: List below all programs of study and majors, the clock or credit hours required, the credential awarded (certificate/
diploma/degree), and the total cost of tuition for each program or major. Attach a copy of the curriculum guide or syllabus for each 
program listed below. 

NOTE: The programs/majors reported on this form must correspond with the programs/majors listed in school catalog. 

Program Summary

Institution Name:

Individual Completing Form: Phone Number:

Program or Major Total Clock/Credit Hours Credential Earned Total Tuition

I certify that all information provided is complete and accurate.

Certification

Signature of owner or administrative official: Date:

Printed name and title of administrative official: 

Attach additional pages to this form, as necessary. 



1. Must be separate and distinct from any other document and clearly labeled as a contract

2. Name and address of institution

3. Name and description of each course or program of study, including: 
 a. start and completion dates of instruction 
 b. number of hours of classroom instruction, distance instruction, and homework 
 c. days and hours of required attendance

4. Total cost of course or program, to include (if applicable): 
   - Tuition   - Supplies  - Housing 
  - Fees   - Equipment  - Deposits 
 - Books   - Rentals   

5. Clear and conspicuous statement that the contract is legally binding instrument when signed by the student and signed 
and accepted by the institution

6. Clear and conspicuous caption, "Student's Right to Cancel," with a clear statement that the student has the right to cancel 
the enrollment contract with full refund of all tuition until the institution's close of business on the first day of instruction

7. Procedure for cancellation of the student's enrollment contract

8. Clear and conspicuous statement that the institution, as signatory on the enrollment contract, is subject to all claims and 
defenses of the student or the student's successors in interest arising under the contract

9. Complete list of payment options or discount plans; if tuition payment options include financial aid from the school or 
from third parties, the school must disclose its disbursement requirements

10. Refund policy, conditions necessary for obtaining a refund, and the procedure required for obtaining a refund (must 
comply with 20 AAC 17.115)

11. Documentation that the institution collected a copy of the student's government-issued photographic identification, 
and a statement that the institution will maintain a legible copy of the identification in the student's file

12. The enrollment contract MAY NOT contain:  
 a. student waiver of right to assert against the institution, or the institution's assignee, any claim or defense the   
     student may have against the school arising under the contract 
 b. wage assignment provision 
 c. confession of judgment clause 

Enrollment Contract Requirements

Instructions: An institution enrolling students in a non-collegiate program must provide a contract to be signed by the student and the 
institution on or before the date the student begins training or pays any non-refundable deposit, tuition, or fee, in accordance with 
20 AAC 17.085. Please use the following checklist to ensure all required information is included in the institution's enrollment contract. 

NOTE: Revisions to the enrollment contract, including to the curriculum or dates of instruction, must be documented by an executed 
revised enrollment contract, or commission-approved alternative form, on or before the date of implementation of any revisions.

Enrollment Contract Checklist
(Non-Collegiate Institutions or Programs Only)

Appendix H:  Enrollment Contract Checklist (Rev. 12/14) Page 1 of 1
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MENINGITIS 

Know Your Risk 
Learn About Vaccination 

  
Important Notice: 
Information in this handout has been gathered from the Alaska Postsecondary Student Immunization Act (HB185), signed into law effective May 18, 2005.  Additional information 
was gathered from the Alaska Department of Health and Social Services' Division of Public Health and the Web site of the American College Health Association at www.acha.org/
Topics/meningitis.cfm.  The Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education (ACPE) cannot provide medical information and is not responsible for any medical information 
provided to schools or to students.  For questions specific to meningitis, immunization, and related diseases, please consult a qualified medical professional. 
  
Did you know?  

• Meningococcal disease is a contagious but largely preventable bacterial infection that most often leads to meningitis, an inflammation of the membranes surrounding the 
brain and spinal cord, or a condition called meningococcal septicemia, which is an infection of the blood.  

  
• Meningococcal disease is caused by bacteria called Neisseria meningitidis that are spread person-to-person through the air (usually by sneezing or coughing), through 

direct contact with an infected person, such as oral contact with shared items like cigarettes or drinking glasses, or through intimate contact, such as kissing. This disease is not as 
contagious as things like the common cold or the flu, and it is not spread by casual contact or by simply breathing the air where a person with meningitis has been.  

  
• Meningococcal disease is a serious illness that can lead to death within a few hours of onset; one out of ten cases is fatal, and in one out of seven survivors it can lead to 

severe and permanent disabilities, such as brain damage, hearing loss, seizures, or limb amputation. 
  

What are the symptoms of meningococcal disease?  
• High fever, headache, and stiff neck are common symptoms of meningitis in anyone over the age of 2 years. A rash may also develop over parts of the body, or the entire 

body. Other symptoms include nausea, vomiting, discomfort looking into bright lights, confusion, and sleepiness. These symptoms can develop over several hours, or they may take 
1 to 2 days. As the disease progresses, seizures may develop. If you notice these symptoms  - in yourself, friends, or others  - you should contact your college health service or 
local hospital immediately.  

  
Who is at risk for meningococcal disease?  

• Anyone can get meningococcal meningitis, but scientific evidence suggests that college freshmen living in campus housing are at moderately increased risk to get this 
disease when compared to the general college population. The reasons for this increased risk are still not known for certain, but factors may include such things as crowded living 
situations, bar patronage, active or passive smoking, irregular sleep patterns, and sharing personal items.  

  
• Other risk groups include infants and young children, household contacts to a person with meningococcal disease, refugees from parts of the world with high rates of 

meningococcal disease, laboratory workers who work with this bacteria, and military recruits. 
  

Are there vaccines against meningococcal disease? 
• Yes, there are two safe and effective vaccines that protect against four strains of the bacteria that cause meningococcal disease  - serogroups A, C, Y, and W135. 

Immunization against meningococcal disease will decrease the risk of contracting the illness from these meningococcal strains. 
  

 How can meningococcal disease be prevented? 
• Many cases of meningococcal disease can be prevented. The Centers for Disease Control and