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“An Act requiring the electronic filing of a tax return or 
report with the Department of Revenue; establishing a 
civil penalty for failure to electronically file a return or 
report; relating to exemptions from the mining license 
tax; relating to the mining license tax rate; relating to 
mining license application, renewal, and fees; and 
providing for an effective date.”

Mining License Tax Increase
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• Began in 1913; restructured several times
• Original mining license tax was 0.5% tax on mining net 

income over $5,000

• Collected on both net income from mining 
operations and from mining-related royalties

• Primarily from businesses engaged in coal and 
hard-rock mining

Mining Tax History
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• Numerous changes between 1915 and 1953 to the tax rates 
and the tax-free net income base

• In 1951, adopted 3 ½ year exemption for new mining 
operations

• Current tax structure since 1955:

Mining Tax History (Continued)

Mining Net Income Tax Rate 

$0-$40,000 No Tax

$40,001-$50,000 $1,200 plus 3% over $40,000

$50,001-$100,000 $1,500 plus 5% over $50,000

Over $100,000 $4,000 plus 7% over 
$100,000



Large mining projects in Alaska

Fort Knox

Chuitna Coal

Greens Creek
Kensington

Niblack

Pebble

Donlin Gold

Red Dog

Pogo

Red Dog operating
Chuitna permitting
Livengood pre-permitting

Usibelli
Livengood

*Operation is temporarily suspended

Nixon Fork*

Bokan Mtn
5

Graphite 1

Palmer

Arctic & Bornite

Wishbone Hill



Mines in Alaska

• Alaska has five large hard rock mines and 
one coal mine

• 200 small placer mines who, combined, 
have an economic impact that is similar 
to one large mine
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• Increases tax rate on highest bracket (net income 
greater than $100,000) from 7% to 9%

• Removes 3 ½ year exemption

• Requires electronic filing
• Provides exemption process

• Adds an application and renewal fee for tax license
• Substitute for business license; same rate

Mining Tax Proposal
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Relative Mining Tax Rate

• Most other state mining taxes are based on 
value or tonnage, not net income.

• Examples from other states:
• Wyoming tax on value varies by resource:

2% on sand and gravel, 7% on surface coal
• South Dakota: 10% on profits or royalties; 

$4 per ounce of gold
• Wisconsin: 3% to 15% progressive tax on net 

mining proceeds
• Colorado:  2.25% of gross income exceeding 

$19 million
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Impacts of  Tax Proposal

• For large and profitable mines:
• Most income falls above $100,000, so effective 

tax rate goes up from 7% to 9%
• In 2014, 13 entities paid at this level

• For small mining operations:
• Little or no effect from tax rate change
• However, removing 3 ½ year exemption may 

deter some future mines
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• Dept. of Revenue estimates that increasing 
the mining tax rate will raise an additional 
$6 million per year starting in FY 2018
• Because this is an annual tax, we don’t receive 

revenue until after the first full year after the 
7/1/16 effective date

• Dept. of Revenue estimates license fee and 
renewal fee of $50 per year will raise an 
additional $25,000 per year

• Does not account for any changes in mining 
activity

Revenue Impact
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• Dept. of Revenue must update:
• Tax Revenue Management System (TRMS)
• Revenue Online (ROL) which allows a taxpayer to file a 

return online 
• Tax return forms

• One-time implementation cost of $100,000 to 
recreate tax forms and reprogram and test the tax 
system to accommodate the rate changes

• No additional costs to administer the tax program

Implementation Cost
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Closing the Budget Gap
(Millions)

FY16 Budget $  5,200

FY17 Baseline Revenue (after proposed legislation)
AK Permanent Fund Protection Act (annual draw) $  3,300
Revenue from existing taxes and fees $     850
Earnings on Savings $     135 

$  4,285

FY17 Spending Reductions
Continue Cuts $     140
Reform O&G Tax Credits $     400
Net Priority Investments ($       40)

$     500
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Closing the Budget Gap (Continued)

New Revenue Components (estimated) (Millions)
Mining (starting in FY 2018) $          6
Fishing $        18 
Tourism $        15 
Motor Fuel $        49 
Alcohol $        40 
Tobacco $        29 
Oil and Gas $      100 
Income Tax (half in FY17; first full year is FY18) $      200

$      457

Total with reductions and new revenue $   5,242  
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Sec. 1. Adds a $25 or 1% tax penalty for failure to file electronically 
unless an exemption is received by the taxpayer.

Sec. 2. Requires electronic submission of tax returns, license 
applications, and other documents submitted to the Department of 
Revenue. This changes the general tax statutes, AS 43.05, and will 
apply to all tax types administered by the department. Provides a 
process to request an exemption if a taxpayer does not have the 
technological capability to do so.

Sec. 3. Removes the 3 ½ year exemption for new mining operations 
until after production begins from the mining tax. Instead, any persons 
engaged in the business of mining in the state will need to obtain a 
license and file an annual mining license tax return. 

Sectional Analysis
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Sectional Analysis (Continued)
Sec. 4. Increases the highest tax rate from 7% to 9% for net taxable 

income in excess of $100,000. The other tax rates remain the same. 
For net income over $100,000 the tax is $4,000 plus 9% of the 
amount in excess of $100,000. 

Sec. 5. Conforming language related to the requirement to submit 
returns or reports electronically. This section deletes the 
requirement for taxpayers to submit their returns to the department 
in Juneau.

Sec. 6. Establishes a mining license fee of $50 per year, a license 
renewal fee of $50 per year, and changes the due date for 
applications and renewals from May 1 to January 1. 

Sec. 7. Conforming language related to the repeal of the 3 ½ year 
tax exemptions for new mining operations. Repeals AS 
27.30.030(b)(2), AS 43.65.010(b), and AS 43.65.060(4). 
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Sectional Analysis (Continued)
Sec. 8. Applicability language to clarify that the change in Sec. 3 

applies to all new mining operations in which production has begun 
on or after the effective date.

Sec. 9. Transition language so that the language repealed in Sec. 7 
should be read as it was before the effective date while 
administering a certain tax credit for a person who began a mining 
operation before the effective date.

Sec. 10. Transitional language allowing for regulations

Sec. 11.   Section 10 above takes effect immediately.

Sec. 12. Effective date of 7/1/16 for the rest of the bill including the 
tax rate change.



Contact Information

Jerry Burnett Fred Parady
Deputy Commissioner Deputy Commissioner
Department of  Revenue Department of  Commerce, Community, 
Jerry.Burnett@Alaska.gov Fred.Parady@Alaska.gov
(907) 465-2300 (907) 465-2500
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