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[bookmark: 31.05.005]Sec. 31.05.005. Alaska Oil and Gas Conservation Commission created.    (a) There is created as an independent quasi-judicial agency of the state the Alaska Oil and Gas Conservation Commission, composed of three commissioners appointed by the governor and confirmed by the legislature in joint session. In making appointments to the commission under AS 31.05.009 and this subsection, the governor shall consider and give preference to a person who demonstrates experience in oil and gas operations in the state.
   (b) The governor shall designate one member of the commission as chair of the commission. This member shall serve as chair for a term of four years, but may not be appointed for successive terms as chair of the commission.
[bookmark: 31.05.007]Sec. 31.05.007. Term of office; vacancy; removal.    (a) The term of office of each member is six years. A commissioner, upon the expiration of a term, shall continue to hold office until a successor is appointed and qualified.
   (b) A vacancy arising in the office of a commissioner shall be filled by appointment by the governor and confirmed by the legislature in joint session, and, except as provided in AS 39.05.080(4), an appointee selected to fill a vacancy shall hold office for the balance of the full term for which the predecessor on the commission was appointed.
   (c) A vacancy in the commission does not impair the authority of a quorum of commissioners to exercise all the powers and perform all the duties of the commission.
   (d) The governor may remove a commissioner from office for cause including but not limited to incompetence, neglect of duty or misconduct in office. A commissioner, to be removed for cause, shall be given a copy of the charges and afforded an opportunity to be publicly heard in person or by counsel in the commissioner's own defense upon not less than 10 days' notice. If a commissioner is removed for cause, the governor shall file with the lieutenant governor a complete statement of all charges made against the commissioner and the governor's finding based on the charges, together with a complete record of the proceedings.
[bookmark: 31.05.009]Sec. 31.05.009. Qualifications of members. Members shall be qualified as follows:
        (1) one member shall be a petroleum engineer who
             (A) holds a certificate of registration as an engineer under AS 08.48 and, under regulations adopted to implement that chapter, has qualified as a petroleum engineer; or
             (B) has earned a degree from a university in the field of engineering and has at least 10 years of professional subsurface experience in the oil and gas industry in drilling, well operations, production process operations, reservoir engineering, or a combination thereof; for the purposes of this subparagraph, a person meets the requirement of earning a degree in the field of engineering if the person obtains an undergraduate or graduate degree in engineering that meets the requirements for program accreditation by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology and the person completes university or industry training specific to petroleum engineering that illustrates application of engineering principles to the problems encountered and methods used in the petroleum industry, including drilling, production, reservoir engineering, fluid flow through subsurface formations, and hydrocarbon transportation;
        (2) one member shall be a geologist who
             (A) holds a certification as a professional geologist under AS 08.02.011 and has professional experience in the field of petroleum geology; or
             (B) has earned a degree in the field of geology from a university accredited in the field of geology and has a minimum of 10 years professional experience in the field of petroleum geology; and
        (3) one member who shall have training or experience that gives the person a fundamental understanding of the oil and gas industry in the state.

