ALASKA STATE LEGISLATURE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SEPTEMBER 28, 2015 10:04 AM -DRAFT-

MEMBERS PRESENT

Senator Gary Stevens, Chair Representative Bob Herron, Vice Chair Senator John Coghill Senator Lyman Hoffman Senator Charlie Huggins Senator Kevin Meyer Representative Mike Chenault Representative Mike Hawker Representative Craig Johnson Representative Sam Kito Representative Charisse Millett Representative Mark Neuman

MEMBERS ON TELECONFERENCE

Senator Anna MacKinnon Senator Peter Micciche Representative Steve Thompson, alternate

MEMBERS ABSENT

Senator Lesil McGuire, alternate

OTHER MEMBERS PRESENT OR ON TELECONFERENCE

Senator Dunleavy; Representatives Claman, Drummond, Gara, Gattis, Gruenberg, Guttenberg, Hughes, Josephson, Keller, Ortiz, Saddler, Vazquez and Wilson.

AGENDA

EXECUTIVE SESSION - LEGAL ISSUES ON MEDICAID EXPANSION

SPEAKER REGISTER

10:04:32 AM

I. CHAIR GARY STEVENS called the Legislative Council meeting to order at 10:04 a.m. in the Anchorage Legislative Information Office Auditorium. Present at the call were Senators Meyer, Coghill, Hoffman, Huggins, and Stevens; Representatives Chenault, Hawker Johnson, Kito, Millett, Neuman and Herron. Participating via teleconference was Senators MacKinnon and Micciche, and Representative Thompson, alternate member. Absent was Senator McGuire, alternate member.

II. EXECUTIVE SESSION - LEGAL ISSUES ON MEDICAID EXPANSION

CHAIR STEVENS noted Legislative Council would be going into executive session and that any Legislator not on Council was welcome to participate and reiterated the invitation in response to a question by Senator Dunleavy about participation in executive session via teleconference; he noted that anyone participating via teleconference should be the only person in the room during the executive session.

10:06:19 AM

VICE CHAIR HERRON moved that Legislative Council go into executive session under Uniform Rule 22(b)(3) to discuss a matter that may, by law, be required to be confidential, to allow Council to receive legal advice in the form of Attorney-Client communications from legal counsel. I would ask that the following individuals remain in the room: Pam Varni, Katrina Matheny, Doug Gardner, Kate Glover, Megan Wallace, Suzanne Cunningham, Chad Hutchinson, Mark Higgins, Tom Wright, Grace Abbott, Susan Wallen, Stacy Stone with Holmes, Weddle & Barcott and any technical staff that are needed. In addition, the following individuals can remain on line via teleconference: Linda Hay, Erin Murphy and Edmund LaCour with Bancroft, PLLC, and Tim McKeever with Holmes, Weddle & Barcott. We also welcome any Legislators that are not on Legislative Council to attend in person or on line. Also added: Laura Pierre, Rex Shattuck, and Jane Pierson.

10:08:59 AM

Legislative Council went into Executive Session.

12:38:16 PM

Legislative Council came out of Executive Session, at which time and with no further business before the committee, the Legislative Council meeting was adjourned at 12:38 p.m.