RE: Support for Vince Webster, Tom Kluberton, and ADFG Scientific Data

Dear Honorable Representatives,

We would like to express our support for Alaska Board of Fisheries members Tom Kluberton and Vince Webster, and we encourage you to support their confirmation for another term on the board.

As families of the Kenai Peninsula and users of our salmon resource, we are thankful that Mr. Kluberton and Mr. Webster took the time last winter to do what few members of the BOF have – to come to the Kenai Peninsula and spend time meeting with both the scientists and the users, learning about our very diverse and healthy fishery. Thanks to all of the new scientific data produced by the hard working folks at ADFG, the UCI King Salmon Task Force was a truly educational experience for all. We felt that Mr. Kluberton and Mr. Webster were devoted to the public process, and did not allow pressure from special interest groups to outweigh the facts or the best interests of our resource.

We would also like to express our support for the BOF's unanimous decision to codify ADFG's newly established Sustainable Escapement Goal for Kenai River Late Run King Salmon of 15,000-30,000, while leaving the allocative issues regarding our fishery for the regularly scheduled 2014 Cook Inlet meeting.

ADFG data shows that this new goal takes into account both past errors in counting and newer and more dependable technology and methods of enumeration. The new goal also correlates with ADFG data that shows past escapements above 30,000 have contributed to diminished future yields. We agree with the Alaska Department of Fish and Game and the entirety of the members of the Alaska Board of Fisheries that this goal gives the best chance possible for high future yields and adequate fishing opportunity for all users.

The dedication and commitment of these two individuals to the Board of Fish and the public process it supports is exemplary. We encourage you to not only confirm their reappointment, but to thank them for a job well done.

Respectfully,

Told L Smith

Megan M Steel Megan M Snith

Sarah A. Hydkins

Brian Solul

Prous Every Duber Every Amber Every Charda & Johnston Amanda E. Johnston

Lisaj Gabriel