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Abortion Laws

Updated Februsry 2012

Abortion and related issues concerning fetal rights are debated each year during state legislative sessions. Laws dealing with mandatory coupseling ang waitd g nerieds
f N i, i : and ahortion poiy are frequently debated on the
floors of state legislatures across the country, This webpage provides charts containing information on the laws related to these toplcs.

For Information about state laws related to abortion coverage In Insurance exchanges and the Affordable Care Act, please visit NCSL's tteaith Reform and Abortion
Covernge webpage.

Mandatory Counseling and Waiting Periods for Abortion
Counseling
Includes Informastion On:

Stote Counseling Required | Breast Cancer | Fetal Pain | Mental Heaith Tmpact | Ultrasound Services | -2nth of Walting Period
Alsbama X X* 24 hours
Alaska X X~ X* X

Arizona § 24 hours
Arkansas X X« X Prior day
Californla X

Connecticut X

Delaware X &
Florida X

Georgia X X X X 24 hours
Idaho X x= 24 hours
Indiana X XE X 1B hours
Kansas X x* X* X 24 hours
Kentucky X 24 hours
Louislana X X xX* 24 hours
Malne X

Massachusetts +
Michigan x X X® 24 hours
Minnesota X X Xe X 24 hours
Mississippl X X 24 hours
Missourl X X« X X 24 hours
Montana E3
Nebraska X X X 24 hours
Nevada X X (emotional)

North Carolina | % X X X 24 hours
Narth Dakota % 24 hours
Ohlo X 24 hours
Oklahoma % X+ X« X X 24 hours
Pennsylvania X X 24 hours
Rhode Island X

South Carolina | X X 24 hours
South Dakota X xe X+ 72 hours¥
Tennessee X# +

Texas X X X* X* 24 hours
Utah X X X X 24 hours
Virginia X X 24 hours
West virginia | X X= X 24 hours
Wisconsin X X X 24 hours
Total 35 8 11 21 11 30

All states walve mandatory walting period requirements In a medical emergency or when the woman's life ot health is threatened. In Utah, the waiting period
requirement is waived If the pregnancy is a result of rape or Incest, the fetus has grave defects or the patient Is younger than 15. The counseling requirement Is
walved in cases of ectoplc pregnancy or severe fetal abnormality (Alabama) and In cases of a medical emergency (Georgia and Rhode Istand}.

£ Parmanently enjoined by court order; policy not in effect.
§ Temporarily enjoined by court order; policy not in effect.
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* Included In written counseling materials although not specified by Jaw.

« Fetal paln information Is given only ta women who are at least 20 weeks gestation; In Missouri at 22 weeks gestation.

# Enforcement of provision of the Tennassee law requiring that & woman be told that an abortion constitutes major surgery is enjoined.

¥ A 2011 law to extend the waiting perlod to 72 hours and mandated in person counseling is blocked during a court case.

£ Required by Iaw to be included in the written materials; however, the materials have not yet been updated. The provision is currently not enforced agalnst
Planned Farenthood of Indiana.

Source: Guiimacher Irsttute 2012

State Funding of Abortion Under Medicaid
Ganerally Follows the Federal Standard, Funds In Cases of:

State Life Endangerment, Rape and Incest Other Exceptions Funds All of Most Medicolly Necessary Abortlons

Alabama x
Alaska Court Order
Arizona Court Order

Arkansas X
California Court Order
Colorado X
Connectlcut Court Order

Delaware

District of Columbia
Florida

Georgla

Hawail Voluntarity
ldaho
Iilinols Court Order
Physical Health

AR AR

x

Indiana

Towa

Kansas
Kentucky
Loulsiana

oI x| |

Maine

Maryland Voluntarily

Massachusetts Court Order
Michigan x
Minnesota Court Order
Mississippi X Fetal Abnormality
Missouri X
Montana Court Order
Nebraska
Nevada X

*

New Hampshire

New Jersey Court Order

New Maxico Court Order

New York Voluntarily
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohto
Oklahoma
Oregon Court Order

AR SR

Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota

|l xIx
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Tennessee X
Texas
Utah Physical Heatth
vermont Court Order
virginia 4 Fetal Abnormality
Washington Voluntarlly
west Vieginla Court Order
Wisconsin X Physical Health
Wyoming X
Total 32and DC 1?
* State only pays for abortiens when necessary to protect the woman's iife,
Source: Guitnacher Institute 2012
Parental Involvement in Minors' Abortions
Raguired Parental Involvement Alternatives Exceptions
State Consent Notification | Judiclal Bypass | Other Adult Relstives | Medical Emergency | Abuse, Asssult, Incest or Neglect
Alabama X X X
Alaska X X X X
Arizona X X X X
Arkansas X X X X
Californta &
Colorado X X X X
Delaware X% X" ¥ X% x.x
Florida X X X
Georgla X X X
ldaho X X X X
Ilinols § § § § §
Indiana X X X
Iowa X X X X X
Kansas Both parents X X
Kentucky X X X
Loulsiana X X X
Marytand X X*
Massachusetts | X X X
Michigan X % X
Minnesota Both Parents X X X
Mississippl Both Parents X X
Missouri X X
Montana *
Nebraska X X X X
Nevada &
New Hampshire X X X
New Jersey *
New Mexico F
North Caroling | X X X X
North Dakota Both Parents X X
Ohio X X
Oklahoma X X X X X
Pennsylvania X X X
Rhode Island X X
South Carolina | X,* X ¥ X ¥ X ¥ X, ¥
South Dakota X X X
Tennessee X X X X
Texas X X X X
Utah X X X, £ X X, ¢
Virginia X X X X X
West Virginla X* xX= X
Wisconsin x* X~ X X X
Wyoming X X X X
Total 28 19 37 7 34 16
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Note: Except where ingicated, policies require the invoivement of one parent,

+ Enforcement permanently enjoined by court order; policy not in effect.

§ Enforcement temporarily enjoined by court order; policy not in effect.

* Allows specified health professionals to walve parantal Involvement in limited circumstances.
¥ While most states laws apply to minors under 18, South Carolina's law applles to women under 17 and Delaware’s law applies to women under 16.

£ The provision onty applies to parental consent requirements.,

¢ The provision only applies to the parental notification requirements.

Source: Guttmpacher Institute 2012
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Abortion Policy in the Absence of Roe v Wade

State Criminalizing Abortion Except In Cases of Life Endangerment Upholding Right to Abortion
Abortlon Ban Abortion Ban if Roe Overturned

California

Connecticut

Hawail

Louislana * X

Maine

Maryland

Mississippl X

Nevada

North Dakota §

South Dakota X

Utah +

Washington

Total 2 L]

& Enforcement permanently enjoined by court order; policy not in effect
§ Law allows a physician to claim an affirmative defense that the abortion was necessary to protect the life of the woman or in cases of rape or incest.

Source: Guitmacher Ingtitute 2012
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Washington Office
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washington, D.C. 20001
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