## ALASKA STATE LEGISLATURE

Interim: P.O. Box 109 Wrangell, AK 99929 Phone: (907) 874-3088 Fax: (907) 874-3055



Session: State Capitol, Room 406 Juneau, AK 99801-1182 *Phone*: (907) 465-3824 1-800-686-3824 *Fax*: (907) 465-3175

## REPRESENTATIVE PEGGY WILSON HOUSE DISTRICT 33

## CS For HB 108 Explanation of Changes

The Committee Substitute for HB 108 simplifies the accounting and data entry for fee collection for electronic citations.

Version 28-LS0383/U created an additional e-citation surcharge statute and a fund within the general fund for e-citations. To simplify the process we will amend the existing statute that imposes a \$10 surcharge, (for the Alaska Police Standards Council, APSC) on all citations Alaska State Troopers and municipal police officers collect. This existing police training surcharge is added onto any minor offense in the state exceeding \$30.

With CS HB 108 we will amend the existing surcharge statute by adding an additional \$10 surcharge to pay for maintenance and costs of e-citation equipment. Therefore when a minor offense ticket over \$30 is issued the officer would put in \$20 on the surcharge line, 50% of the funds will continue to go to the sub-fund for APSC in the general fund and the additional 50% will in the sub-fund for e-citation.