Alaska State Legislature

Chairman State Affairs Committee

Member

Vice-Chair, Judiciary Committee Transportation Committee Joint Armed Services Committee

Finance Subcommittees

Administration Corrections Military and Veterans Affairs



A Communication From REPRESENTATIVE BOB LYNN District 23 Anchorage

E-Mail: Rep.Bob.Lynn@akleg.gov

Session: Alaska State Capitol #108 Juneau, AK 99801-1182

Phone: (907) 465-4931 Fax: (907) 465-4316 Toll Free: (800) 870-4391

Interim: 716 W. 4th Ave., #650 Anchorage, AK 99501-2133

> Phone: (907) 269-0205 Fax: (907) 269-0207

The following states have already codified the provisions of HB 1 into law: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming

In all, *thirty-six* states and the District of Columbia issue driver's licenses that are valid for no longer than the period of time that the driver is legally permitted to reside in the United States. It is important to note that under the provisions of HB 1, the DMV would only consider authorized length of stay for drivers who use an immigration document as their proof of identification when applying for their driver's license.