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You asked about the status of victim restitution laws in Alaska.  Specifically, you were interested in 
the effectiveness of current law.  Additionally, you wished to know the priority under current law of 
collecting restitution compared to other fines.  

In Alaska, a crime victim has a constitutional right to restitution from the offender.  Accordingly, the Legislature and the Alaska 

Supreme Court have established rules to collect restitution from offenders and distribute payment to crime victims and 

organizations that provide counseling and other services to victims and their dependents.   In addition to restitution, the 

offender is often required to pay other court-ordered fines and surcharges such as correctional facility surcharges, costs for 

court-appointed counsel, and costs for incarceration.  Under current law, child support and victim restitution are typically the 

top two priorities when distributing an offender’s assets to meet obligations for restitution and court-ordered fines.   

 

The Department of Law’s (DOL) Collection Unit is the agency primarily responsible for collecting court-ordered restitution, 

fines, and surcharges.  Among other things, the Collections Unit may garnish an offender’s permanent fund dividend (PFD) 

and wages, authorize bank account sweeps, and take money from an inmate’s bank account for restitution.  The primary tool 

used by the Collections Unit, however, is the garnishment of PFDs.
1
   

 

According to the individuals we spoke with for this report, while victim restitution is an established priority under the 

constitution and the law, problems exist in the collection and distribution of restitution.  This situation is due in part to the 

challenges inherent in collecting payment from offenders who have limited or no financial resources because they may be 

incarcerated or have limited employment opportunities.  Nevertheless, all agree that offenders should be expected to pay 

what they can and the state should pursue collection whenever possible.  A number of individuals cited the lack of 

communication and coordination among agencies that deal with victim restitution as the main problem in the process.         

 

There has been some recent improvement, as the DOL’s Collection Unit has taken active steps to increase collection of victim 

restitution, which has resulted in increased restitution payments and disbursement to victims.  The Unit collected about $2.3 

million in restitution payments owed to crime victims in FY 2012, up 29 percent from FY 2011.  The DOL has recently 

prioritized the distribution of money to victims, including improvements to internal processes and technology enhancements 

to more efficiently send checks to victims.   

 

 

 

 

                                                           
1
 An amount of money approximately equal to the PFDs that would be owed to ineligible offenders is transferred to the PFD Criminal Fund each year.  In 

recent years, the amount has been appropriated primarily to the Department of Corrections for inmate health.   
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Current Law 

Victim Restitution 
 

In 1994, Alaska voters adopted a constitutional amendment to provide crime victims in Alaska with guaranteed rights, 

including the right to restitution from an offender.
2
  The procedures for ordering and collecting victim restitution are governed 

primarily by Alaska Statutes 12.55.045 and 12.55.051, and Alaska Court Rules of Criminal Procedure, Rule 32.6.
3
  Restitution 

for victims is second only to an obligation for child support when distributing an offender’s assets to meet court-ordered fines 

and restitution.   

 

Unless the crime victim expressly declines restitution, the court when presented with credible evidence, is required to order 

the defendant to make restitution, including restitution to the crime victim or other injured person, to an organization that 

provides counseling, medical or shelter services, or as otherwise authorized by law (AS 12.55.045[a]).  For example, the 

defendant may be ordered to make restitution to the Violent Crimes Compensation Board (VCCB) for payments the VCCB has 

made on behalf of the victim.  The restitution order identifies each victim and the amount of restitution owed to each, the 

date the payment is due or a schedule of installment payments, and whether the payment must be made through the clerk of 

court or the Department of Law’s (DOL) Collections Unit (AS 12.55.045).
 4

  The criminal restitution order can only be for actual 

monetary expenses or losses, not for pain and suffering.
5
   

 

If the judge orders restitution, there are multiple ways it can be enforced.  The court automatically sends a copy of the 

restitution judgment to the DOL’s Collections Unit.  The DOL will notify crime victims of their right to have the State collect the 

debt or to collect the debt without State assistance.  A crime victim may choose to have a private collection agency and/or 

private attorney attempt to collect payment, or may choose to collect the debt without assistance.  Unless the crime victim 

notifies DOL that he or she does not want the Collection Unit’s help, the unit will begin action on behalf of the victim 

(12.55.051).     

 

The DOL can use a variety of means to collect restitution such as collecting voluntarily payments from the defendant, seizing 

the defendant’s PFD, garnishing wages, filing a property lien, and/or authorizing a bank sweep.  Garnishing a defendant’s PFD 

is probably the most common method of collecting restitution.  PFD garnishment is limited, however, because individuals 

sentenced or incarcerated during the qualifying year may not be eligible for a PFD for that year (AS 43.23.065).  When the 

offender’s PFD is garnished, no obligation is higher in priority than court-ordered restitution except child support.
6
         

 

According to Stacy Steinberg, Chief Assistant Attorney General, Collections and Support Section, the Collections Unit collected 

about $2.3 million in restitution payments owed to crime victims in FY 2012, an increase of 29 percent from FY 2011.
 7

   About 

half, or $1.1 million, came from PFD garnishments.  The other half came from voluntary payments made by offenders.   

                                                           
2 Alaska Const., Art I, sec. 24.  

3 We include AS 12.55.045, AS 12.55.051 and Alaska Criminal Court Rule 32.6 as Attachment A. 

4 In 2001, the legislature passed the Crimes Victims’ Rights and Advocacy Act which, among other things, authorized the Department of Law 
(DOL) to collect court-ordered restitution on behalf of crime victims (AS 12.55.051[g]), and created the Office of Victims’ Rights (AS 24.65) to assist 

crime victims in obtaining their guaranteed rights (ch 92 SLA 2001).   

5 A restitution order does not affect the ability of a victim to pursue a civil lawsuit (AS 12.045[b]). 

6 In 2002, the Alaska Supreme Court added a new Criminal Rule of Procedure 32.6 which establishes the procedure for ordering and collecting 
restitution including the priority of payments received from or on behalf of a defendant.  Under Rule 32.6(g) payments received from execution of 
the PFD are allocated according to the following priority: child support obligations, court-ordered restitution for crime victims, defaulted student 

loans, court-ordered fines, and writs of execution under AS 09.35.  

7 Stacy Steinberg can be reached at 907.269.5100 or by email at stacy.steinberg@alaska.gov. 
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In addition to garnishing PFDs, the wages and other monetary assets of an incarcerated offender may also be seized to pay 

victim restitution.  Ms. Steinberg notes, however, that most offenders who are incarcerated have no money or make only 

meager prison wages so they cannot initially pay the court-ordered restitution.  The Department of Correction’s policy 

(304.02) for disbursing prisoner funds includes the following list of priorities: 

 

1. Child-support; 

2. Court-ordered restitution or fines; 

3. Civil judgments resulting from that person’s criminal conduct;  

4. State reimbursement for violent crime compensation; and 

5. Other judgments entered against a prisoner in litigation against the state (AS 09.19.100). 

 

Kevin Worley, Director, Division of Administrative Services, DOC, explained that after the initial sweep of an inmate’s account, 

40 percent of his or her wages can go to ongoing child support payments.
 8
   Other attachments such as victim restitution are 

deducted monthly and can come from the remaining wages and monetary gifts in the inmate’s account.
 9
   These attachments 

are taken in order of priority, which means victim restitution and other court-ordered fines are the second priority after child 

support.  Mr. Worley indicated that some inmates refuse to work because they don’t want to pay child support or other 

obligations. 

 

One of the conditions of probation and parole is to pay court-ordered restitution (AS 12.55.100).  A defendant convicted of a 

felony crime who has been released on probation must report to a probation officer who monitors the individual’s 

compliance with probation including the requirement to pay restitution.  Likewise, a parole officer supervises parolees to 

ensure they are following the conditions of parole.  An offender must submit a completed sworn financial statement to the 

assigned probation officer.  If the individual fails to pay restitution as required, the prosecutor or probation officer (in felony 

cases) or the prosecutor (in misdemeanor cases) may file a petition to revoke the offender’s probation (AS 12.55.051[a]).  A 

criminal restitution order becomes a civil judgment that accrues interest and remains enforceable even after the offender’s 

probation ends (AS 12.55.045[l]).         

 

An exception to the usual allocation of assets exists for those prisoners who qualify for prerelease or short duration furlough 

to begin reintegration into society in a halfway house or group home.  The earnings from such prisoners are transmitted to 

the DOC and are distributed to 1) pay for the room, board and personal expenses of the prisoner, 2) pay any court-ordered 

restitution or fine; 3) reimburse the state for an award made for violent crimes compensation, 4) pay a civil judgment, and 5) 

pay child support (AS 33.30.131).   

 

Other Judgments or Fees 
 

Persons convicted of a crime may also be subject to other judgments and fines, which are collected by the DOL’s Collection 

Unit.  Under AS 12.55.035, a defendant may be sentenced to pay a fine of from not more than $500 for a violation, $10,000 

for a class A misdemeanor, $100,000 for a class B felony, and $500,000 for murder in the first or second degree.  In addition to 

a fine, a defendant who pleads guilty or no contest, forfeits bail, or is convicted of felony, misdemeanor, or violation is 

                                                           
8
 Mr. Worley can be reached at 907.465.4641.  He notes that the DOC is in the process of reviewing policy 304.02 to ensure the new accounting system 

and the policies are functioning in tandem.  Working inmates who have less than eight years to serve may also maintain a savings account.      

9 According to Mr. Worley, when the child support lien is first applied, the DOC can sweep the inmate’s account and take everything but $50.  
For ongoing support payments, money can only be taken from the inmate’s wages. 
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assessed a surcharge ranging from $10 for a violation to $100 for a felony.  The surcharge must be paid within 10 days of 

imposition.  If a defendant cannot pay the surcharge the court may allow the defendant to perform community work (AS 

12.55.039).        

 

The State also imposes a correctional facility surcharge if in connection with a crime, an individual is arrested and taken to a 

correctional facility, regardless of whether he or she is released or admitted to the facility or sentenced to serve a term of 

imprisonment (AS 12.55.041).  For individuals who are convicted, the surcharge is $100 for a felony judgment and $50 

otherwise.  The State may seek reimbursement from the defendant’s PFD for the surcharge.  In FY 2012, the DOL collected a 

little over $400,000 in correctional facility surcharges and nearly $1 million in incarceration costs on behalf of the Department 

of Corrections (DOC).
10

   

 

Upon conviction an offender who qualifies for a public defender may be required to pay the costs of appointed counsel (AS 

18.85.120).  The schedule of fees is defined in Alaska Criminal Court Rule 39(d) and range from $250 to $5,000 for a trial and 

murder conviction in the first or second degree.
11

  Upon a showing of financial hardship, the court may allow the individual to 

make payments under a repayment schedule and he or she may petition the court to reduce or defer the unpaid portion of 

the judgment.  The judgment has the same force and effect as a civil judgment.  Under Rule 39, payment may not be made a 

condition of the offender’s probation.  In FY 2012, the DOL collected nearly $1 million on behalf of the Alaska Public 

Defender’s Agency.   

   

Those offenders who are incarcerated may also be required to pay fees and surcharges for such services as electric utilities (AS 

33.30.017), medical co-payments (AS 33.30.028), photocopying, postage, and commissary.  In addition, inmates who commit 

infractions such as destroying property may be required to pay restitution to the State (20 AAC 05.470).   

 

Issues Identified in the Collection and Distribution of Victim Restitution 

All of the individuals we spoke with agreed there was limited money available for restitution because of the lack of resources 

available from many offenders.  At the same time, they emphasized there is more the State can be doing to collect and 

distribute restitution to crime victims.   

 

Department of Corrections – Victim Services Unit 

 

Gail Brimner, Victim Services Unit, Department of Corrections (DOC) concurs that in Alaska there are problems with the 

collection and distribution of court-ordered restitution.
12

  Ms. Brimner notes that victim restitution often “falls through the 

cracks” and that problems exist with both collection and distribution.  Part of the problem is that probation officers are not 

adamant enough about ensuring that offenders pay restitution.  Many offenders may not be able to pay much in the way of 

restitution each month; however, it is the responsibility of the probation officer to review the offender’s finances, such as pay 

stubs and bills, to determine an amount of restitution that can be paid.  Even if the amount is only $10, the payment process 

encourages the offender to fulfill his or her responsibility to the crime victim.  Ms. Brimner suggested probation officers 

receive training that emphasizes the payment of restitution as a condition of probation and ways to monitor that payments 

are being made.   

                                                           
10 The Department of Law’s 2012 Annual Report can be accessed at http://law.alaska.gov/pdf/admin/AnnualReport12.pdf. 

11 For a defendant who is ineligible for court-appointed counsel, the court may enter a judgment for the actual costs of appointed counsel, 

including actual expenses (AS 18.85.150 and Criminal Court Rule 39[e]).    

12 Gail Brimner, Criminal Justice Specialist, can be reached at 907.269.7384. 
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Ms. Brimner also said she has investigated several complaints where voluntary restitution had been made by the offender but 

the money had not been sent to the victim.  She noted that some victims may not keep their addresses current with DOL, but 

thought perhaps the State could do more outreach to crime victims.                

 

Violent Crimes Compensation Board (AS 18.67) 

 

A crime victim, dependent of a crime victim killed, or certain other persons by virtue of their relationship to the crime victim 

may apply for separate financial assistance to the Violent Crimes Compensation Board (VCCB).  Recognizing the difficulty in 

collecting court-ordered restitution, the VCCB was established in 1972 to help ease the financial hardships experienced by 

victims of violent crimes.  The VCCB may compensate victims for medical expenses, counseling costs, lost income, lost 

support, funeral expenses, or any other reasonable expenses and losses.  The VCCB is a “payer of last resort,” which means 

compensation is awarded only for expenses not covered through other sources such as medical and auto insurance, a civil 

lawsuit or other assistance program.  The Board also provides for the payment of financial losses experienced by dependents 

of deceased victims and to victims who are permanently disabled.   

 

The VCCB is awarded restitution by the courts, but the recovery of that restitution has been modest.  In FY 2012, for example, 

the VCCB was awarded $637,154 in court-ordered restitution, but received only $47,652, with 80 percent of this amount 

coming from court judgments from earlier years.
13

  Because the VCCB does not have the staff to pursue collection 

independently, it relies on the Department of Law’s Collections Unit.  According to Kate Hudson, Executive Director, VCCB, the 

DOL’s Collections Unit is not actively collecting restitution beyond garnishing permanent fund dividends, and the situation in 

Alaska is “crying out for something better.”
14

  The VCCB has proposed the hiring of a dedicated collections agent in the VCCB 

to pursue restitution payments.  In addition, Ms. Hudson suggests that the Department of Law, Office of Victim Rights, and the 

Department of Corrections (Probation Office) better coordinate the exchange of information. 

 

Office of Victims’ Rights (AS 24.65) 

 
In 2001, the Alaska Legislature created the Office of Victims’ Rights (OVR), an independent agency within the legislative branch 

of state government, to help crime victims obtain their constitutional and statutory rights with regard to their interactions 

with criminal justice agencies in the State.  While the OVR does not collect restitution for victims, the agency can advise crime 

victims of their right to restitution and give them instruction and assistance in obtaining restitution.  Taylor Winston, Director, 

OVR, notes that one of the problems in getting restitution money to victims is the lack of interfacing between departments.  

The current system is inefficient and frustrating for many victims.
15

  While victims have a responsibility to keep the DOL 

updated of their current address, this does not always happen.  She suggested that matching the names of victims who are 

owed restitution to PFD data for current addresses could help victims.   

 

Like Ms. Brimner, Ms. Winston emphasized the lack of follow-through by some probation officers to ensure offenders are 

paying some amount of victim restitution.  She stressed that it is important for offenders to make restitution, even if the 

payment is as low as $10 each month.            

 

 

                                                           
13 “Violent Crimes Compensation Board – Restitution White Paper” is included as Attachment B.  

14 Ms. Hudson can be reached at 907.465.5525. 

15 Ms. Winston can be reached at 907.272.2620. 
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Department of Law – Collections Unit 

The DOL’s collection services include sending demand letters, processing voluntary payments, and seizing the defendant’s 

permanent fund dividends if the defendant is eligible for the dividend and the dividend is not claimed by child support.
16

  The 

DOL will record a property lien for restitution judgments over $10,000.  Collections may also request a wage garnishment or 

bank sweep if they learn the defendant has regular and consistent wages.   The DOL described measures they have recently 

taken as follows:   

 

 In 2012, we hired a restitution coordinator, who has greatly assisted in overseeing the 

restitution process and managing staff and projects. 

 We streamlined our internal processes and enhanced our collections database.  This has 

improved the timeliness of our case opening. In fact, our policy is to require new cases to 

be opened within 30 days, and the recent average has been between one and two weeks. 

This ensures that the collection process can begin as quickly as possible.  And, once the 

case is opened, it also allows us to garnish the debtors permanent fund dividend (PFD).  

 We continued to increase our restitution collections.  In FY10, we collected roughly $1.1 

million followed by $1.8 million in FY11 and $2.3 million in FY12.  Both voluntary payments 

and PFD garnishments have increased.  Voluntary payments increased over 8% from 

3,320 in FY11 to 3,595 payments in FY12.  PFD garnishments increased over 50% from 905 

in FY11 to 1,405 in FY12. 

 As payments and garnishments increased, we have had corresponding increases in 

disbursements to victims. Disbursement requests increased from 1,719 in FY11 to 3,121 in 

FY12. We also expect the FY13 numbers to be similar to, or exceed those from FY12. 

 We improved our internal processes and technology, and are more efficient at distributing 

money to victims.  We changed internal processes so checks are mailed to victims 

faster.  Technology enhancements include a new receipting program implemented in 

March of this year so that we can provide for a quicker and more efficient disbursement 

request process. 

 Recently, we prioritized disbursements making that part of the process more efficient. 

Since April, we have focused on distributing the largest disbursements first, working our 

way down to disbursements of less than $100. Within just the past few months, the 

Collections and Support Unit has made great progress, and less than 5% of the 

disbursements that remain are for amounts larger than $1,000. Our goal is to have all 

disbursements for more than $500 distributed by January 2014. 

 Disbursements less than $100 make up two-thirds of all payments that are waiting for 

disbursement, and approximately half of that amount (or one-third of the total) is made 

up of payments that  are less than $5.  

 When dealing with payments of less than $5, the cost of disbursement is more than the 

payment amount, which is why it is our policy to wait until more payments for that victim 

                                                           
16 The Collections and Support Section includes the collections unit and child support unit.  The collections unit collects unsecured debts owed 

to the State including criminal judgments (fines, cost of appointed counsel, and cost of incarcerations) and various civil judgments, such as attorney 
fees.  The Unit also collects restitution owed in criminal court cases and sends the funds to the restitution recipient.  More information on the 

Section can be accessed at http://law.alaska.gov/department/criminal/restitution.html.    
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come in before disbursing them. These minimal payments (which can in some 

instances be less than a dollar) are often the result of money transferred from a prisoner’s 

account by the Department of Corrections. These prisoners do not have a lot of money, so 

the amounts transferred are small and in some cases, the amounts are divided among 

multiple victims, resulting in even smaller payments. 

 The department is currently in the process of hiring a temporary accountant to assist with 

disbursements. We expect the temporary accountant to help us get current on 

disbursements, at least those greater than a de minimis amount.
17

 

 

Permanent Fund Dividend Criminal Fund 

In 1988, Alaska lawmakers passed legislation which makes any person who is convicted of a felony and incarcerated during 

any period of a qualifying PFD year as a result of the conviction ineligible for a PFD (AS 43.23.005[d]).
18

  The Legislature further 

intended that an amount “approximately equal to the money” that would otherwise be paid as dividends to individuals 

ineligible under this law, be appropriated annually from the dividend fund to the Crime Victim Compensation Fund.
19

   

 

In early September of each year, the Department of Corrections reports to the Department of Revenue (DOR) the total 

number of persons incarcerated in the system as of that date.  The DOR then estimates the number of inmates who could 

have applied for a PFD and would have been found eligible had they not been incarcerated, and multiplies that number by the 

estimated amount of the dividend for that year.  This amount represents the PFD Criminal Fund.  In FY 2013, DOR calculated 

the PFD Criminal Fund at nearly $16.7 million.
 20

 

 

Until recently, the Violent Crimes Compensation Board, the Council on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault (CDVSA), the 

Office of Victim Rights, and the Department of Corrections received appropriations from the PFD Criminal Fund.  The table 

below shows the appropriations from the PFD Criminal Fund for FY 2008-2013.  As you can see, the Department of 

Corrections received almost 90 percent of the PFD Criminal Fund for inmate healthcare in FY 2012 and 89 percent in FY 2013.  

The VCCB received about $1.8 million in FY 2012 and in FY 2013 to capitalize the Crime Victim Compensation Fund, which was 

then allocated to the VCCB.
21

  From FY 2008-2013, the Department of Corrections received over 64 percent of the total 

appropriations, the CDVSA about 24 percent, the VCCB 9 percent, and the OVR a little over 2 percent. 

 

                                                           
17 Cori Mills, Assistant Attorney General, Department of Law, can be reached at 907.465.2132. 

18 The Alaska Supreme Court upheld the constitutionality of AS 43.23.005(d) in State v. Anthony, 816 P.2d 1377 (Alaska 1991), finding the 
measure does not violate the equal protection clause of the Alaska or U.S. constitutions.  Subsequently, the Legislature has amended the statute to 

expand the number of persons ineligible for a PFD to include those persons who are incarcerated as a result of a misdemeanor if they had been 
convicted of two prior crimes as well as those persons who are incarcerated for a misdemeanor if they had a prior conviction for a felony or two 
prior misdemeanor convictions.    

19 The Crime Victim Compensation Fund, established at the same time as the Violent Crimes Compensation Board, was intended to provide a 

source of funding for the VCCB.  

20 Jerry Burnett, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Revenue, can be reached at 907.465.3669. 

21 Kelly Cunningham, Fiscal Analyst, Legislative Finance Division.  Ms. Cunningham can be reached at 907.465.3821.     
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Department Program FY 08 FY 09 FY 10 FY 11 FY 12 FY 13

Administration
Violent Crimes 

Compensation Board
1,068$        1,569$        1,586$        1,884$        1,800$        1,798$        

Corrections Inmate Health Care 6,211$        9,126$        10,897$     10,037$     15,920$     14,890$     

Legislature Office of Victim Rights 401$             589$             767$             707$             -$              -$              

Public Safety
Council on Domestic 

Violence and Sexual Assault
3,790$        5,568$        8,258$        7,607$        -$              -$              

11,470$     16,851$     21,507$     20,234$     17,720$     16,688$     TOTAL APPROPRIATION

Permanent Fund Dividend Criminal Fund Appropriations FY 2008 - FY 2013 

($ in thousands)

Notes: The amount of money in the PFD Criminal Fund each year is based on the number of incarcerated inmates who would 

have applied for a PFD and otherwise been found eligible that year.  Prior to FY 2012, the Violent Crimes Compensation Board 

(VCCB) received an appropriation directly from the PFD Criminal Fund.  In FY 2012 and FY 2013,  $1.8 million was appropriated 

from the PFD Criminal Fund to capitalize the Crime Victim Compensation Fund, which was then allocated to the VCCB.   

Sources:  Legislative Finance Division, Operating Budgets, Fiscal Years 2008-2013; Kelly Cunningham, Fiscal Analyst, 

Legislative Finance Division, 907.465.3821.
 

 

We hope this is helpful.  If you have questions or need additional information, please let us know.   
 



Alaska Stat. § 12.55.045  

ALASKA STATUTES 

2013 by The State of Alaska and Matthew Bender & Company, Inc 

a member of the LexisNexis Group. 

All Rights Reserved. 

 

TITLE 12. CODE OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE  

CHAPTER 55. SENTENCING AND PROBATION  

 

Alaska Stat. § 12.55.045 (2013) 

 

Sec. 12.55.045. Restitution and compensation  

 

 

(a) The court shall, when presented with credible evidence, unless the victim or other 

person expressly declines restitution, order a defendant convicted of an offense to make 

restitution as provided in this section, including restitution to the victim or other person 

injured by the offense, to a public, private, or private nonprofit organization that has 

provided or is or will be providing counseling, medical, or shelter services to the victim or 

other person injured by the offense, or as otherwise authorized by law. The court shall, 

when presented with credible evidence, unless the victim expressly declines restitution, also 

order a defendant convicted of an offense to compensate a victim that is a nonprofit 

organization for the value of labor or goods provided by volunteers if the labor or goods 

were necessary to alleviate or mitigate the effects of the defendant's crime. In determining 

the amount and method of payment of restitution or compensation, the court shall take into 

account the 

 

(1) public policy that favors requiring criminals to compensate for damages and injury to 

their victims; and 

 

(2) financial burden placed on the victim and those who provide services to the victim and 

other persons injured by the offense as a result of the criminal conduct of the defendant. 

 

(b) An order of restitution under this section does not limit any civil liability of the defendant 

arising from the defendant's conduct. 

 

(c) If a defendant is sentenced to pay restitution, the court may grant permission for the 

payment to be made within a specified period of time or in specified installments. If the 

defendant fails to make one or more payments required under this section, the victim or the 

state on the victim's behalf may enforce the total amount remaining under the order of 

restitution as provided in (l) of this section. 

 

(d) In any case, including a case in which the defendant is convicted of a violation of AS 

11.46.120 -- 11.46.150 and the property is commercial fishing gear as defined in AS 

16.43.990, the court shall consider the victim's loss, and the order of restitution may 

include compensation for loss of income. 

 

(e) [Repealed, § 7 ch 17 SLA 2004.] 

http://www.lexis.com/research/buttonTFLink?_m=054e221eb7e60f2ac061709f436e817a&_xfercite=%3ccite%20cc%3d%22USA%22%3e%3c%21%5bCDATA%5bAlaska%20Stat.%20%a7%2012.55.045%5d%5d%3e%3c%2fcite%3e&_butType=4&_butStat=0&_butNum=2&_butInline=1&_butinfo=AKCODE%2011.46.120&_fmtstr=FULL&docnum=1&_startdoc=1&wchp=dGLbVzk-zSkAb&_md5=18960eea916f28df1671eb81fd3aff33
http://www.lexis.com/research/buttonTFLink?_m=054e221eb7e60f2ac061709f436e817a&_xfercite=%3ccite%20cc%3d%22USA%22%3e%3c%21%5bCDATA%5bAlaska%20Stat.%20%a7%2012.55.045%5d%5d%3e%3c%2fcite%3e&_butType=4&_butStat=0&_butNum=2&_butInline=1&_butinfo=AKCODE%2011.46.120&_fmtstr=FULL&docnum=1&_startdoc=1&wchp=dGLbVzk-zSkAb&_md5=18960eea916f28df1671eb81fd3aff33
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(f) [Repealed, § 7 ch 17 SLA 2004.] 

 

(g) The court may not, in ordering the amount of restitution, consider the defendant's ability 

to pay restitution. 

 

(h) In imposing restitution under this section, the court may require the defendant to make 

restitution by means other than the payment of money. 

 

(i) An order of restitution made under this section is a condition of the defendant's sentence 

and, in cases in which the court suspends all or a portion of the defendant's sentence, the 

order of restitution is a condition of the suspended sentence. If the court suspends 

imposition of sentence under AS 12.55.085, the order of restitution is a condition of the 

suspended imposition of sentence. 

 

(j) A defendant who is convicted of an offense for which restitution may be ordered shall 

submit financial information as ordered by the court. The Alaska Court System shall prepare 

a form, in consultation with the Department of Law, for the submission of the information; 

the form must include a warning that submission of incomplete or inaccurate information is 

punishable as unsworn falsification in the second degree under AS 11.56.210. A defendant 

who is convicted of (1) a felony shall submit the form to the probation office within 30 days 

after conviction, and the probation officer shall attach the form to the presentence report, or 

(2) a misdemeanor shall file the form with the defendant's response or opposition to the 

restitution amount. The defendant shall provide a copy of the completed form to the 

prosecuting authority. 

 

(k) The court, on its own motion or at the request of the prosecuting authority or probation 

officer, may order a defendant on probation who has been ordered to pay restitution to 

submit financial information to the court using the form specified in (j) of this section. The 

defendant shall file the completed form with the court within five days after the court's 

order. The defendant shall provide a copy of the completed form to the prosecuting 

authority and the person's probation officer, if any. 

 

(l) An order by the court that the defendant pay restitution is a civil judgment for the 

amount of the restitution. An order by the court that the defendant pay restitution when the 

court suspends imposition of sentence under AS 12.55.085 is a civil judgment for the 

amount of the restitution and remains enforceable and is not discharged when a conviction 

is set aside under AS 12.55.085. The victim or the state on behalf of the victim may enforce 

the judgment through any procedure authorized by law for the enforcement of a civil 

judgment. If the victim enforces or collects restitution through civil process, collection costs 

and full reasonable attorney fees shall be awarded. If the state on the victim's behalf 

enforces or collects restitution through civil process, collection costs and full reasonable 

attorney fees shall be awarded, up to a maximum of twice the amount of restitution owing 

at the time the civil process was initiated. This section does not limit the authority of the 

court to enforce orders of restitution. 

 

(m) Notwithstanding another provision of law, the court shall accept (1) payments of 

restitution from a defendant at any time, and (2) prepayments of restitution or payments in 

anticipation of an order of restitution. If the recipient has elected to have the Department of 

Law collect the judgment of restitution under AS 12.55.051(g), the court shall forward all 

payments of restitution to the Department of Law within five days after the court's 

acceptance. 
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(n) In this section, "conviction" means that the defendant has entered a plea of guilty, 

guilty but mentally ill, or nolo contendere, or has been found guilty or guilty but mentally ill 

by a court or jury. 

 

HISTORY: (§ 12 ch 166 SLA 1978; am § 38 ch 102 SLA 1980; am § 1 ch 73 SLA 1986; am 

§§ 1, 2 ch 75 SLA 1988; am § 3 ch 53 SLA 1991; am §§ 3, 4 ch 71 SLA 1992; am § 4 ch 71 

SLA 1996; am §§ 3, 4 ch 103 SLA 2000; am §§ 9, 10 ch 92 SLA 2001; am § 1 ch 23 SLA 
2002; am § 1 ch 26 SLA 2003; am §§ 1 -- 4, 7 ch 17 SLA 2004; am § 11 ch 42 SLA 2006) 
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TITLE 12. CODE OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE  

CHAPTER 55. SENTENCING AND PROBATION  

 

Alaska Stat. § 12.55.051 (2013) 

 

Sec. 12.55.051. Enforcement of fines and restitution  

 

 

(a) If the defendant defaults in the payment of a fine or any installment or of restitution or 

any installment, the court may order the defendant to show cause why the defendant 

should not be sentenced to imprisonment for nonpayment and, if the payment was made a 

condition of the defendant's probation, may revoke the probation of the defendant. In a 

contempt or probation revocation proceeding brought as a result of failure to pay a fine or 

restitution, it is an affirmative defense that the defendant was unable to pay despite having 

made continuing good faith efforts to pay the fine or restitution. If the court finds that the 

defendant was unable to pay despite having made continuing good faith efforts, the 

defendant may not be imprisoned solely because of the inability to pay. If the court does 

not find that the default was attributable to the defendant's inability to pay despite having 

made continuing good faith efforts to pay the fine or restitution, the court may order the 

defendant imprisoned until the order of the court is satisfied. A term of imprisonment 

imposed under this section may not exceed one day for each $ 50 of the unpaid portion of 

the fine or restitution or one year, whichever is shorter. Credit shall be given toward 

satisfaction of the order of the court for every day a person is incarcerated for nonpayment 

of a fine or restitution. 

 

(b) When a fine or restitution is imposed on an organization, the person authorized to make 

disbursements from the assets of the organization shall pay the fine or restitution from 

those assets. A person required to pay a fine or restitution under this subsection who 

intentionally refuses or fails to make a good faith effort to pay is punishable under (a) of 

this section. 

 

(c) A defendant who has been sentenced to pay a fine or restitution may request a hearing 

regarding the defendant's ability to pay the fine or restitution at any time that the 

defendant is required to pay all or a portion of the fine or restitution. The court may deny 

the request if it has previously considered the defendant's ability to pay and the defendant's 

request does not allege changed circumstances. If, at a hearing under this subsection, the 

defendant proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the defendant will be unable 



through good faith efforts to satisfy the order requiring payment of the fine or restitution, 

the court shall modify the order so that the defendant can pay the fine or restitution 

through good faith efforts. The court may reduce the fine ordered, change the payment 

schedule, or otherwise modify the order. The court may not reduce an order of restitution 

but may change the payment schedule. 

 

(d) The state may enforce payment of a fine against a defendant under AS 09.35 as if the 

order were a civil judgment enforceable by execution. This subsection does not limit the 

authority of the court to enforce fines. 

 

(e) The Department of Law is authorized to collect restitution on behalf of the recipient 

unless 

 

(1) the recipient elects as provided in (f) of this section to enforce the order of restitution 

without the assistance of the Department of Law; or 

 

(2) the order requires restitution to be made in a form other than payment of a specific 

dollar amount. 

 

(f) The court shall forward a copy of an order of restitution to the Department of Law when 

the judgment is entered. Along with the copy of the order, the court shall provide the name, 

date of birth, social security number, and current address of the recipient of the restitution 

and the defendant, to the extent that the court has that information in its possession. Upon 

receipt of the order and other information from the court, the Department of Law shall send 

a notice to the recipient regarding the recipient's rights under this section, including the 

right to elect to enforce the order of restitution without the assistance of the Department of 

Law. The information provided to the Department of Law under this subsection is 

confidential and is not open to inspection as a public record under AS 40.25.110. The 

Department of Law or its agents may not disclose the information except as necessary to 

collect on the restitution. 

 

(g) The Department of Law may not begin collection procedures on the order of restitution 

until the recipient has been given notice and has been given 30 days after receipt of notice 

to elect to collect the restitution without the assistance of the Department of Law. A 

recipient may inform the Department of Law at a later time of the recipient's election to 

collect the restitution without the assistance of the Department of Law; upon receipt of that 

information, the Department of Law may no longer proceed with collection efforts on behalf 

of the recipient. A recipient who has elected under this section to collect restitution without 

the assistance of the Department of Law may not later request the services of that 

department to collect the restitution. 

 

(h) If the Department of Law or its agents proceed to collect restitution on behalf of a 

recipient under (g) of this section, the actions of the Department of Law or an agent of the 

Department of Law on behalf of the recipient do not create an attorney-client relationship 

between the Department of Law and the recipient. The Department of Law or its agents 

may not settle a judgment for restitution without the consent of the recipient of the 
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restitution. 

 

(i) An action for damages may not be brought against the state or any of its agents, 

officers, or employees based on an action or omission under this section. 

 

(j) The Department of Law may enter into contracts on behalf of the state to carry out the 

collection procedures of this section. The Department of Law may adopt regulations 

necessary to carry out the collection procedures of this section, including the reimbursement 

of attorney fees and costs in appropriate cases. 

 

HISTORY: (§ 12 ch 166 SLA 1978; am §§ 3, 4 ch 75 SLA 1988; am §§ 5, 6 ch 71 SLA 

1992; am §§ 11, 12 ch 92 SLA 2001; am § 5 ch 17 SLA 2004) 

  

http://www.lexis.com/research/buttonLink?_m=875cf8cce339a861218fbeaafec75722&_xfercite=%3ccite%20cc%3d%22USA%22%3e%3c%21%5bCDATA%5bAlaska%20Stat.%20%a7%2012.55.051%5d%5d%3e%3c%2fcite%3e&_butType=1&_butStat=0&_butNum=4&_butInline=1&_butinfo=LXE_1992_AK_CH_71&_fmtstr=FULL&docnum=1&_startdoc=1&wchp=dGLbVzk-zSkAb&_md5=7895f248614b8cb1a47d926e53bcc948
http://www.lexis.com/research/buttonLink?_m=875cf8cce339a861218fbeaafec75722&_xfercite=%3ccite%20cc%3d%22USA%22%3e%3c%21%5bCDATA%5bAlaska%20Stat.%20%a7%2012.55.051%5d%5d%3e%3c%2fcite%3e&_butType=1&_butStat=0&_butNum=4&_butInline=1&_butinfo=LXE_1992_AK_CH_71&_fmtstr=FULL&docnum=1&_startdoc=1&wchp=dGLbVzk-zSkAb&_md5=7895f248614b8cb1a47d926e53bcc948
http://www.lexis.com/research/buttonLink?_m=875cf8cce339a861218fbeaafec75722&_xfercite=%3ccite%20cc%3d%22USA%22%3e%3c%21%5bCDATA%5bAlaska%20Stat.%20%a7%2012.55.051%5d%5d%3e%3c%2fcite%3e&_butType=1&_butStat=0&_butNum=5&_butInline=1&_butinfo=LXE_2001_AK_CH_92&_fmtstr=FULL&docnum=1&_startdoc=1&wchp=dGLbVzk-zSkAb&_md5=26106e41b480283badfdc9b202028601
http://www.lexis.com/research/buttonLink?_m=875cf8cce339a861218fbeaafec75722&_xfercite=%3ccite%20cc%3d%22USA%22%3e%3c%21%5bCDATA%5bAlaska%20Stat.%20%a7%2012.55.051%5d%5d%3e%3c%2fcite%3e&_butType=1&_butStat=0&_butNum=6&_butInline=1&_butinfo=LXE_2004_AK_CH_17&_fmtstr=FULL&docnum=1&_startdoc=1&wchp=dGLbVzk-zSkAb&_md5=34d9f6946e10880da3c4d9f4614e40d6


Rule 32.6. Judgment for Restitution. 

(a) Definition. When a sentence includes a requirement that the defendant pay 
restitution, the judge shall either enter a separate judgment for restitution or shall 
include the order of restitution as a separate section of the criminal judgment. For the 
purpose of these rules, either of these constitutes a "judgment for restitution." 

(b) Content. The judgment for restitution must: 

(1) Identify each victim or other person entitled to restitution and the amount of 
restitution owed to each. 

(2) State the date restitution is due or, if the court schedules installment payments, the 
amount and due date of each payment. If no due date is stated, the restitution amount is 
due immediately. 

(3) State whether payment must be made through the clerk of court or the Collections 
Unit of the Department of Law. Ordinarily, the restitution payment will be made through 
the Collections Unit of the Department of Law unless (A) the victim or other person 
elects to pursue collection without the assistance of the Collections Unit; (B) the order 
requires restitution to be made in a form other than payment of a specific dollar amount; 
or (C) the case is being prosecuted by a municipality. When payment is to be made 
through the Collections Unit, the judgment must state that the court will also accept 
payments and prepayments of restitution. 

(4) Identify by name and case number any defendants who are jointly and severally 
liable for the restitution owed to each victim or other person. 

(5) State whether post-judgment interest is owed on the judgment and, if so, when it 
begins to accrue. 

(c) Entering the Judgment for Restitution. 

(1) At Sentencing. If the amount of restitution and the names of the victims are known at 
the time of sentencing, the court shall enter the judgment for restitution at the time of 
sentencing. 

(2) After Sentencing. If the amount of restitution and the names of the victims or other 
persons seeking restitution are not known at the time of sentencing, the prosecutor shall 
file and serve within 90 days after sentencing a proposed judgment for restitution on a 
form designated by the Administrative Director, and a notice that includes information 
concerning the identity of any victims or other persons seeking restitution, whether any 
victim or other person expressly declines restitution, the nature and amount of any 
damages together with any supporting documentation, a restitution amount 
recommendation, and the names of any co-defendants and their case numbers. Within 
30 days after receipt of the proposed judgment for restitution, the defense shall file any 



objection to the proposed judgment, a statement of grounds for the objection, and a 
financial statement on a form designated by the Administrative Director under AS 
12.55.045(j). If the defendant does not file an objection, the court may enter the 
judgment for restitution without further proceedings. If the defendant files an objection 
and either party requests a hearing, the court shall schedule a hearing. 

(3) Municipal Cases. In addition to the requirements of (c)(1) and (2) above, a municipal 
prosecutor shall file an ex parte victim information statement on a form provided by the 
Administrative Director, which includes information concerning the identity and 
addresses of the victims. The victim information statement shall be filed within 15 days 
after entry of the restitution judgment under (c)(1) above or at the time the municipal 
prosecutor submits a proposed judgment to the court under (c)(2) above. 

(d) Hearing Regarding Payment Schedule. A defendant who is unable to pay 
restitution because of financial circumstances may request a hearing to ask the court to 
modify the restitution payment schedule. If the court holds a hearing and the defendant 
proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the defendant is unable through good 
faith efforts to satisfy the payment schedule in the judgment for restitution, the court 
may modify the payment schedule, but may not reduce the amount of restitution. 

(e) Execution. Civil execution to enforce the judgment may issue if restitution is ordered 
to be paid by a specified date and defendant fails to make full payment by that date. If 
restitution is ordered to be paid in specified installments and defendant fails to make 
one or more installment payments, civil execution to collect the entire remaining balance 
may issue. The automatic stays on enforcement provided in Civil Rule 62(a) and District 
Court Civil Rule 24(a) do not apply to the enforcement of restitution judgments. 

(f) Transfer of State Restitution Judgments and Payments to the Collections Unit 
of the Department of Law. 

(1) Upon issuance of a judgment for restitution in cases prosecuted by the state, the 
court will send, either on paper or electronically, a copy of the judgment to the 
Collections Unit of the Department of Law. The court will also send the name, address, 
birth date, and social security number of each victim or other person entitled to 
restitution and each defendant, to the extent the court has the information. 

(2) If payment for restitution is tendered to the court, the court shall accept the tendered 
payment. If the victim or other person entitled to restitution has elected to proceed 
through the Collections Unit, the court shall forward the payment to the Collections Unit 
within five days after clearance of the payment tendered to the court. 

(g) Priority of Payments. Unless the court finds good cause to order a different priority, 
payments received from or on behalf of a defendant will be allocated as follows: 



(1) If a defendant makes a voluntary payment and designates how or to what criminal or 
civil judgments the payment should be applied, the payment will be applied as 
designated by the defendant. 

(2) Payments received as the result of execution on the defendant's permanent fund 
dividend will be applied to judgments according to the priorities stated in AS 43.23.065. 

(3) If a defendant makes a voluntary payment but does not designate how the payment 
is to be applied or if a payment is received as a result of execution by the Collections 
Unit of the Department of Law or a comparable unit of a municipality, the payment will 
be applied using the following rules: 

(A) Judgments for restitution will be paid in full before any amounts collected from the 
defendant will be applied to criminal or civil judgments owed to the state or a 
municipality. 

(B) If restitution is owed to the state or a municipality, amounts collected from the 
defendant will be applied first to judgments for restitution owed to victims other than the 
state or a municipality. 

(C) When restitution is ordered to be paid by a defendant to victims in the same criminal 
case, amounts collected from the defendant will be allocated among the victims based 
on the percentage of the amount of restitution owed to each victim to the total amount of 
restitution owed by the defendant to all of the victims; except that if a payment is less 
than $100, the payment may be paid to a single victim if such payments are paid to all 
victims on an alternating basis. 

(D) When restitution is ordered to be paid by a defendant to victims in different criminal 
cases, amounts collected from the defendant will be applied to the judgment that is first 
in time. 

(4) If a payment is received as a result of execution by a victim, the payment will be 
applied to the judgment for restitution owed to that victim. 

(h) Financial Statement. 

(1) If restitution has been ordered and has not been paid, and no financial statement 
has been required under Rule 32.1(a)(2)(B) or Rule 32.6(c)(2), the court shall order the 
defendant to complete and submit such statement within 30 days of the restitution 
judgment. The statement shall be on a form designated by the administrative director 
and shall be submitted to the Collections Unit of the Department of Law in state cases 
or the prosecuting authority in municipal cases. 

(2) If the defendant fails to submit a completed financial statement as ordered, the 
probation officer or prosecuting authority (including the Collections Unit of the 
Department of Law) may notify the court by affidavit. Upon receipt of an affidavit under 



this paragraph, the court shall schedule a hearing for the defendant to show cause why 
the defendant should not be held in contempt for failure to comply with the order to 
submit the financial statement. 

(3) At any time after sentencing, the probation officer or prosecuting authority (including 
the Collections Unit of the Department of Law) may request that the defendant be 
ordered to provide a financial statement pursuant to AS 12.55.045(k). 

(i) Victim Election. If, after the judgment for restitution has been transferred to the 
Collections Unit of the Department of Law, the victim elects to pursue collections without 
the assistance of the Collections Unit, the Collections Unit shall notify the court of the 
victim's election. The Collections Unit shall include with the notice copies of 

(1) the judgment for restitution; 

(2) the signed election form received from the victim; 

(3) a statement of all payments received from the defendant and applied to the 
restitution judgment; and 

(4) any relevant victim and defendant identifying information needed by the court 
system to properly identify and distribute restitution payments. 

(j) Suspended Imposition of Sentence. The judgment for restitution remains civilly 
enforceable after the expiration of the period of probation or the set-aside of conviction 
in a case where imposition of sentence is suspended. 

(Adopted by SCO 1464 effective March 5, 2002; amended by SCO 1482 effective 
October 15, 2002; and by SCO 1554 effective April 15, 2006) 

 



VIOLENT CRIMES COMPENSATION BOARD 
RESTITUTION – WHITE PAPER 

Introduction 

The right of crime victims to restitution is enshrined in the Alaska Constitution: 

§ 24. Rights of Crime Victims 

Crime victims, as defined by law, shall have the following rights as provided by law: the right to be 

reasonably protected from the accused through the imposition of appropriate bail or conditions of release 

by the court; the right to confer with the prosecution; the right to be treated with dignity, respect, and 

fairness during all phases of the criminal and juvenile justice process; the right to timely disposition of the 

case following the arrest of the accused; the right to obtain information about and be allowed to be present 

at all criminal or juvenile proceedings where the accused has the right to be present; the right to be 

allowed to be heard, upon request, at sentencing, before or after conviction or juvenile adjudication, and 

at any proceeding where the accused's release from custody is considered; the right to restitution from 

the accused; and the right to be informed, upon request, of the accused's escape or release from custody 

before or after conviction or juvenile adjudication. [Amended 1994] 

AS 12.55.045 authorizes the payment of restitution by a convicted defendant to the victim, and “to a 

public, private or private nonprofit organization that has provided or is or will be providing counseling, 

medical, or shelter services to the victim or other person injured by the offense”.   

Pursuant to this statute, the courts have regularly been ordering a defendant to make restitution to the 

Violent Crimes Compensation Board (VCCB), where monies have been paid out by VCCB to or on behalf 

of the crime victim. 

Restitution and other recoveries (such as reimbursements from subrogation agreements and refunds of 

overpayments) that are received by VCCB can now be appropriated back to the Crime Victim 

Compensation Fund.  This presents an opportunity for VCCB to have a more self-sustaining stream of 

funding. 

Funding 

At present VCCB receives 60% of its annual funding through the Crime Victim Compensation Fund which 

in turn is funded from the Permanent Fund Criminal Fund.  40% comes from the federal Victims of Crime 

Act annual formula grant1.  Given the fluctuations both in the Permanent Fund earnings, and in the 

number of felons’ confiscated dividends available for distribution at any one time, it makes sense to try 

and maximize recoveries from other sources, in order to ensure a consistent level of funding for the 

future. 

                                                           
1
 Payments to states under the Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) come from the federal Crime Victim Compensation 

Fund.  The balance in this Fund currently stands at approximately $8 billion.  The Fund, and VOCA, enjoy bipartisan 
support in Congress.  If sequestration takes effect at the beginning of 2013, the amount available from the Fund 
would be reduced by 7.6% but because of the way in which the formula grants are calculated, this will impact 
victim assistance programs (the Council on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault in Alaska) rather than victim 
compensation programs. 



VCCB is currently being awarded restitution on a significant scale, but only recovering restitution on a 

very modest scale.  In FY12, VCCB was awarded $637,154 in restitution by the courts.  In FY12 total 

restitution received by VCCB was $47,652.43, with 80 % of this coming from court judgments in years 

prior to FY12 (actual recovery from FY12 court orders amounted to only $9,695).  Due to staffing levels it 

has not been possible to devote staff time to pursuing recovery independently, and as a result VCCB has 

had to rely upon the Department of Law Collections Unit.  However, this is not an active agency 

(according to newly appointed Restitution Coordinator, Jayne Fallon). 

Other states are doing much more to actively recover restitution from convicted felons, and have 

created dedicated restitution units with dedicated collections staff.  Many states are seeing great 

results.  To take two examples, Oregon and Idaho have improved their collection rate to an average of 

16-19% of their annual award total.  If Alaska was to have the same success rate, that would mean a 

recovery of around $320,000 annually. 

Some states have come up with creative ways to improve their systems in favor of crime victims.  

Maricopa County in Arizona has been leading the way, by establishing a monthly Restitution Court. This 

court has been lauded as one of the five most successful models in the country for collecting money that 

defendants owe.  In Vermont, the compensation program cooperates with other state agencies whereby 

the Department of Labor sends the Restitution Unit a list of defendants currently on probation and 

where they are working so that collection can be enforced.   And cooperation with the Department of 

Fish and Wildlife has meant that recreational licenses (hunting and fishing) can be suspended until the 

restitution debt is paid in full.  These are in addition to traditional methods of collection such as 

garnishment. 

Proposal  

VCCB would like to propose that we give serious thought as to how to improve the recovery of 

restitution.  Many of our claimants, who are very grateful for the assistance we have provided, want to 

see money coming back to VCCB from the defendants.  We would anticipate working with the Office of 

Victims Rights, the Department of Law, the Department of Corrections, particularly Probation, in order 

to coordinate the exchange of information.  Going forward, VCCB would also likely need to employ a 

dedicated collections agent akin to a Child Support Specialist.  This would require a budget increment.  

However, up to 5% of our annual federal grant2 may be used for personal services and could be used to 

help pay for a new position.  Additionally, the extra revenue generated by improved collections, should, 

we hope, more than outweigh the additional annual personal services expense. 

                                                           
2 5% of our FFY11 grant would be 21,700.  5% of our FFY12 grant would be $32,300.   Based on what we 

anticipate for our FFY13 grant, 5% will be approximately $49,458. 
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