Minimum Wage Standard
Alaska Minimum Wage: $7.75/hour (Effective 1/1/10)

Summary of Alaska Wage and Hour Act

ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
&WORKFORCE DEVELOPMIENT'

Alaska Statute 23.10.050 — 23.10.150 establishes minimum wage and overtime pay standards for employment subject to its provisions. These standards are
generally applicable to alf employees. Schoal bus drivers, however, shall receive at least two times the Alaska minimum wage. Other exceptions to the
minimum wage requirement follow.

Exceptions to Alaska Minimum Wage

Alaska minimum wage does not apply to any individual employed as

follows:

+  Inagricolture;

¢ In the taking of aquatic life;

¢ In domestic service (including babysitting) in or about z private
home;

¢ ByU.S, state or local government (i.¢., political subdivisions)

+ In voluntary service in the activities of a nonprofit religious,
charitable, cemetery, educational organization; or other nonprofit
organization;

¢  In delivery of newspapers to the consumer;

¢ Solely as a watchman or caretaker on premises out of operation for
[onger than four months;

+ In a bona fide executive, professional or administrative capacity --
as defined by regulations of the Commissioner of Labor and
‘Workforce Development and regulations as defined in the FLSA --,
or in certain computer occupations, or as an outside salesman, or
any salesman working on a straight commission basis;

¢ In the scarch for placer or hard rock minerals;

+ Youth under age 18 employed part-time for not more than 30 hours

*

in any week (must be paid at least federal minimum wage),

By a nonprefit educaticnal or child care facility to serve in place of 2
parent of children in residence if the employment requires residence
at the facility and is compensated on a cash basis exclusive of room
and board at an annual rate of less than () $10,000 for an unmarried
person; or (b} $15,000 for a martied couple;

An independent cab driver who establishes the driving arez and
hours, who contracts on a flat rate basis for the use of the cab, cab
permit or dispatch services, and who is compensated solely by the
customers served;

A person licensed under AS 08.54 who is amployed by a registered
guide or master guide licensed under AS 08.54, for the first 60
workdays so employed during a calendar year;

An individnal engaged in activities for a nonprofit religions,
chatitable, civic, cemetery, recreational, or educational organization
where the emplover-employee relationship does not, in fact, exist,
and where services are rendered to the organization under a work
activity requirement of AS 4727 (Alaska temporary assistance
program); or

An individual who provides emergency medical services only ot a
voluntary basis; serves with a full-time fire depastment only on a
voluntary basis; or provides ski patrol services on a voluntary basis.

Overtime Hours
The standard work week for employees shall not exceed 40 hours per week or eight hours per day. Should an employer find it necessary
1o employ an employee in excess of these standards, overtime hours shall be compensated at the rate of one and one-half times the

regular rate of pay

Overtime Exceptions
Compensation at the overtime rate is net required in the following cases:

By an employer who employs three or fewer people in the regular
course of business;

An individual employed in handling, packing, storing, pasteutizing,
drying, camning, or preparing in their raw or natural state
agrienltural or horticultural commodities for market or in making
cheese, butter or other dairy products;

An employee of a small mining operation where not more than 12
people are emploved, as long as an individual is not employed in
excess of 12 kours a day or 56 hours a week during a peried(s) of
not more than 14 work weeks in the aggregate in any calendar year
dwring the mining season;

Agricultural employees;

Seamen;

‘Workers engaged in planting or tending trees, cruising, surveying,
bucking or felling timber, preparing or transporting logs or other
forestry products to the mill, processing plant, railroad or other
transporttation terminal if the total number of employees in such
lumber operation does not exceed 12;

Casnal empioyees as defined by regulations of the Commissioner of
Labor and Workforee Development;

Hospital employees whose duties include provision of medical
services;

An employee under a flexible work hour plan which is included as
part of a collective bargaining agreement;

+

An employee under a voluntary flexible work plan if the employee
and the employer have signed a written agreement which has been
approved by the Department;
(Overtime rates must be paid for work over 40 hours a week or
10 howrs a day under a flexible work plan nof included in
coffective bargaining agreement.)
A ine haul truck driver for a trip exceeding 100 road miles one way
if the driver's pay includes overtime pay for work in excess of 40
howurs per week or eight hours per day, and the rate of pay is
comparable to the minimum wage;
A commmunity health aide employed by a local or regional health
orgenization as those terins are defined in AS 18.28.100;
Work performed by a mechanic primarily engaged in the servicing
of automebiles, light trucks, and motor homes, stbject to certain
provisions (see AS 23.10.060(d)(17));
Work performed by an employee under a voluntary written
agreement addressing the trading of work shifts among employees,
if employed by an air carrier subject to subchapter II of the Railway
Labor Act (45 11.5.C.181-188), including employment as customer
service represemtative, subject to certain provisions (see AS
23.14.060()(18).
Work performed by a flight crew member employed by an air carrier
subject to 45 1U.5.C 181-188 (subchagter II of the Railway Labor
Act)

NOTE: This is not a complete list of all exemptions to nxinimum wage and overtime provisions. Refer to AS 23.10.055 and AS 23.10.060. The
above text is intended for informatioral purposes only and fs not to be construed as having the effect of law.

Inquiries should be made tor Wage and Hour Administration, Alaska Department of Labor and Workferce Development, 3301 Eagle Street, Suite
301, Anchorage, AK. 99503-4149, (907) 2694200, Email: Anchorage L.SS-WH(@alaska pov

Recordkeeping

An employer shall keep for a period of at least three years all payroll information and records for each emplayee 2t the place of employment.
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Post in a prominent place as required by AS 23.10.105.

Jobs Are Alaska’s Future



