Alaska House of Representatives

Rep. Neal Foster, Co-Chair P.O. Box 1630 Nome, Alaska 99762

Phone: (907) 443-5036 Fax: (907) 443-2162



During the Legislative Session Alaska State Capitol, Room 434 Juneau, Alaska 99801

Phone: (907) 465-3789 Fax: (907) 465-3242

House Special Committee Military and Veterans Affairs

Sponsor Statement

House Bill 205 "An Act relating to traffic offenses committed in a school zone; and prohibiting changing lanes in a school zone."

House Bill 205 focuses on safety in schools zone. It does this in two ways.

- Doubling traffic fines in school zones. These are fine schedules already exist for highway work zones, and traffic safety corridors. It is common sense to add school zones to this list.
- 2. It bans changing lanes in school zone when the school zone light is flashing.

District 39: Alatna, Alcan Border, Allakaket City, Arctic Village, Beaver, Bettles City, Birch Creek, Brevig Mission City, Central, Chalkyitsik, Chicken, Chisana, Chistochina, Chitina, Circle, Coldfoot, Copper Center, Diomede City, Dot Lake, Dot Lake Villages, Dry Creek, Eagle City, Eagle Village, Elim City, Evansville, Fort Yukon City, Gakona, Galena City, Gambell City, Golovin City, Gulkana, Healy Lake, Hughes City, Huslia City, Kaltag City, Kenny Lake, Koyuk City, Koyukuk City, Livengood, McCarthy, Mentasta Lake, Nabesna, New Allakaket, Nome City, Northway, Northway Junction, Northway Village, Nulato City, Paxson, Port Clarence, Rampart, Savoonga City, Shaktoolik City, Shishmaref City, Silver Springs, Slana, St. Michael City, Stebbins City, Stevens Village, Tanacross, Tazlina, Teller City, Tetlin, Tok, Unalakleet City, Venetie, Wales City, White Mountain City and Wiseman.