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Pursuant to 1991 Session Laws of Alaska, Chapter 73, the Alaska Department
of Environmental Conservation was directed as follows: "It is the intent of the
~ legislature that the Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) identify
opportunities to establish and collect fees for permits and services rendered."
The proposed "user fee" regulations are DEC’s attempt to "identify opportuni-
ties," as directed by the 1991 Legislature. Authority to charge fees is found at
AS 44.46.025 for certain DEC programs. No fees are proposed for programs
without fee authority under AS 44.46.025.

18 AAC 15 - ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES

" There are statutory and regulatory requirements for notice to be published for most of
DEC’s permits, and the procedures in this chapter apply to many of those permits.
When the Legislature asked DEC to look at opportunities to recoup some costs of
issuing these permits, this was one area that seemed appropriate. Since the public must
be notified about a proposed activity in or near their community before DEC may issue
a permit for that activity, it seemed appropriate that the person seeking the permit
should pay for those notices. Cost would be actual cost billed by each. newspaper.

18 AAC 30 - ENVIRONMENTAL SANITATION
18 AAC 31 - FOOD SERVICE

(Inspection fees)

TYPE OF NO. PROPOSED ANTICIPATED
ESTABLISHMENT FEE* - REVENUE
FY92 FY93

Food Service '
0-25 seats 790 $ 50.00 $0.00 $ 39,500.00
26-50 500 -100.00 0.00  50,000.00
> 50 760 200.00 0.00  152,000.00
Mobile 80 50.00 0.00  4,000.00
Temporary _ 500 10.00 0.00  5,000.00
Bar 470 150.00 0.00  70,500.00
Change of - 100 50.00 0.00  2,500.00

Ownership

Food Processing 90 100.00 0.00 8,000.00

Food Warehouse 25 100.00 0.00  2,500.00

Food Store : v
Convenience 135 50.00 0.00  6,750.00
Retail market 135 150.00 0.00  20,250.00

Plan Review _ 75 25.00 0.00 1,875.00

Reinspection - 100 25.00 0.00  2,500.00

TOTAL $0.00 $365,375.00*
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Basis for fee:
Personal Services Costs

Administration (Permitting, Certification, Training)

HOURLY TOTAL

Average Time per Task (in hours)
Food Service; Routine Inspection (2X/YR)
Food Service: Followup (As needed)

Food Service: Spot Check (As needed)

Food Processing: Routine (1X/YR)
Food Processing: Followup (As needed)
Food Processing: Spot Check (As needed)
Food Store: Routine (1X/Yr)
Food Store: Followup (As needed)
Food Store: Spot Check (As needed)

$50.00
25.00

$75.00

1.5 hrs
1.0
S
1.5
1.0
S
1.5
1.0
S

Examples of annual inspection costs for food service inspection

2 Routine inspections at 1.5 hr each
1 Followup inspection at 1.0 hr

18 AAC 34 - SEAFOOD INSPECTION

TYPE OF
ESTABLISHMENT

Shellfish
' Harvester
Shipper
Re-packer
Packer

- Vessel < 65 feet
Vessel > 65 feet
Landbased - small
Landbased - large
Cannery < 5000 #/day
Cannery > 5000 #/day

Shellfish certification
Initial (5 day)
Recertification

(1 day)

TOTAL COST

NO.

- 150
70

100

$225.00

50.00

$300.00

(Permit fee)

4

200

75
75
12
32

10
20

PROPOSED ANTICIPATED

FEE*

25.00
25.00
50.00

100.00

100.00
325.00
125.00
325.00
175.00
325.00

750.00
325.00

REVENUE
FY92 FY93
$0.00 $ 3,750.00
0.00  1,750.00
0.00 0.00
0.00 400.00
0.00  10,000.00
0.00  65,000.00
0.00  9,375.00
0.00  24,375.00
0.00  2,100.00
0.00  10,400.00
0.00  7,500.00
0.00  6,500.00



TOTAL $0.00 $140,650.00**

Basis for fee: Initially fees were established at a rate that would permit the inspection
program to be fully funded through assessment of user fees. Fees were based on
volume, size and complexity of the processing operation. Shellfish certification fees were
based on the actual cost of to the department. Fees were then adjusted to amounts .
which would not be prohibitively expensive.

Type of permit Original fee Adjusted
Proposed Fee
Harvester $ 100.00 $ 25.00
Shellfish shipper 200.00 25.00
Repacker 300.00 50.00
Shellfish packer 500.00 100.00
Vessel < 65 500.00 100.00
Vessel > 65 4500,00 325.00
Small landbased 1500.00 125.00
Large landbased 4500.00 325.00
Cannery < 5000#/day 2000.00 : 175.00
Cannery > 5000# /day 4500.00 325.00

Shellfish certification
Initial (5 day) $2300.00 $ 750.00

* To be collected on/or after 7-1-92.
** To be collected with annual permit on/or after 1-1-93.

18 AAC 36 - ANIMAL HEALTH
Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA) testing

Rate: Normal working hours $10.00/analysis

Outside normal working hours  $50.00/hr
TOTAL  $0.00 §$ 20,000.00%**

Basis for fee: Fee represents actual personal services and commodities costs required to
perform the analysis.
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18 AAC 50 -- AIR QUALITY CONTROL

PURPOSE OF PROPOSED FEES: Provide service to the public as required by existing
statutory law in recognition of the mandates of the Alaska Legislature (AS 44.46.025(2))
and the 1990 Clean Air Act to fund these services through fees obtained by those
receiving the service.

BACKGROUND

Legislative change: As a result of the enactment of Alaska Statute AS 44.46.025 in 1990,
and the complementary restrictions on DEC’s budget by the 1991 Legislature, DEC has
been directed to propose regulations to collect fees for the program activities under AS
46.03.140 and AS 46.03.160. AS 44.46.025 states that DEC "...adopt regulations that
prescribe reasonable fees, and establish procedures for the collection of fees, to cover

the direct costs of the following services provided by the department:......(2) air quality
permits under AS 46.03.140 and 46,03.160...",

The Air Quality Management Section conducted a thorough investigation of the direct
costs associated with review of permit applications, ambient air impact assessments, and
applications under the Prevention of Significant Deterioration program; public notice
and comment opportunities, conducting public hearings, administrative costs of permits;
issuance, inspections, and review of reports to establish compliance with the permit.
Permit costs are also a function of the amount of allowable emissions from a facility, and
the potential toxicity of those emissions.

Changes in Federal Law: 1990 Clean Air Act: Another compelling reason for the
assessment of fees is the mandate of the 1990 Clean Air Act (the Act). The Act
mandates that each state establish a comprehensive operating permit program, or lose
federal highway funds and federal air quality grants. In Alaska, the amount of annual
highway grants exceeds $200 million. If a state fails to implement the permit program,
the Act directs EPA to take over the operating permit program for that state.

‘Regardless of whether DEC or EPA is the issuing authority, a fee must be imposed for
all operating permits. There are many benefits for DEC to continue to administer the
program. The first is to avoid the loss of federal highway funds, federal grants for air
programs, and other supplemental federal funds available to Alaskans. The loss of these
funds would have a significant impact on the Alaskan economy and the state’s operating
budget.

The second reason is to retain primacy for managing air quality in Alaska. As most
owners or operators will attest, DEC has always been more flexible and more under-
standing of the specific problems encountered in Alaska than has EPA, In retaining
primacy, DEC can develop regulations that meet the mandates of the Act but also
respond to the specific needs of Alaskan industry. Although the Act leaves little room
for altering the major scope of the permit program, there are many electable features
that would enable DEC to streamline the permit to a large degree, thereby improving
agency efficiency and reducing overall program cost.



Fhe third reason for DEC to implement the program is to keep the fees in Alaska. All
permits, whether issued by DEC or EPA, will require a fee. If EPA collects the fees, the
funds will be deposited into the US Treasury, and appropriated by Congress, not
necessarily to benefit Alaskans. If administered by DEC, the fees would be retained for
use by the state, in the state -- and the fees would be lower than the "presumptive
minimum" fee that EPA would charge, and should reflect a more equitable and flexible
fee in recognition of the economic realities of doing business in Alaska.

There are cost effective measures that DEC can employ which would be unavailable to
EPA, such as the concept of a general permit that could be issued to a number of similar
facilities, rather than individual permits to each facility. This not only reduces the
amount of time and money required by the facility to comply with the new program, it
would also substantially reduce the costs to administer the permits,

Even though fees appear to be substantial in some cases, it should be noted that these
fees will not offset the true direct and reasonable costs incurred by DEC in administering
the current program, or in developing the new operating permit program. If all the
direct costs were transferred to current permittees, the fees would be much higher. The
fees proposed are only for the interim period between the current program, and the new
program mandated by the Act. As each current permit is converted to a new operating
permit, the interim fees will lapse, and the facility with a new permit will be assessed
fees consistent with the Act. It is expected that the new program will initiate issuing
operating permits in 1995, and that all permits will be converted by 1997.

FEE DETERMINATION METHOD The fees were developed by evaluating three major
- areas: facilities affected, reasonable direct costs associated with administering the permit
program for these facilities, and the projected impact of the Clean Air Act requirements.
Facilities were categorized by industrial source code, and by the quantity and toxicity of
air emissions. The specific breakdown of facilities is:

Number of _ Average
Category ' Facilities Allowable tpy .
Incinerators 8 413
Asphalt Plants 27 397
Soil Remediation units 14 679
Electric Utilities:
0-500 tpy 14 397
500-2000 tpy 5 1047
2000-4000 tpy 2 3098
4000+ tpy 1 6425
Fuel Burning Facilities :
0-500 tpy 24 445
500-2000 tpy 22 1157
2000-4000 tpy. 12 3668

4000+ tpy 9 7809

Cost of issuing permits and amendments, annual inspections or semi-annual surveillances,



and review of facilities to assure compliance indicated a correlation to quantity and
toxicity of emissions. EPA’s "presumptive minimum" fee was examined to determine if it
was a reasonable indicator of direct costs to execute the program in Alaska. The
difference between the two methods was smaller than originally anticipated.

Based on projected costs of maintaining the permit program, it was determined that the
interim fees need to offset one-third of the actual direct costs incurred during the next
two to three years if DEC is to be capable of the development and restructuring
required by the Clean Air Act. Failure to responsibly address the mandates of the Act
would potentially jeopardize a much larger portion of the Alaska economy.

As one of the final considerations to evaluate equity for the proposed fee rates, the
selected facility categories and proposed fees were examined to determine if a fee rate in
dollars per ton of air emission would hold true across the spectrum of facilities and
categories. In general, the rate of §8 per ton per year was found to be evident on
average for all source categories as indicated in the following table, The proposed rate
realizes slightly less than one-third of the direct costs, and about one-third of the EPA
"presumptive minimum" specified in the Act.

Average Computed Fee Proposed

Category Number Allowable tpy @ $8/tpy Fee
Incinerators 8 413 $ 3,304 $ 3,000
Asphalt Plants 27 397 $ 3,176 $ 3,000
Soil Remediation

units ‘ 14 679 $ 5,432% $
6,000
Electric Utilities:
0-500 tpy 14 397 $ 3,176 $ 3,000
500-2000 tpy 5 1047 $ 8,376 $ 8,000
2000-4000 tpy 2 3098 $ 24,784 $
25,000
4000+ tpy 1 6425 $ 51,400 $ 50,000
Fuel Burning Facilities ' :
0-500 tpy 24 445 $ 3,560 $ 3,000
500-2000 tpy 22 1157 $ 9,256 $ 9,000
2000-4000 tpy 12 3668 $ 29,344 - $
30,000 :
4000+ tpy 9 7809 $ 62,472 $ 60,000

* Note that the fee for soil remediation units was set slightly higher than the $8 per ton
per year. This difference is due to the increased permitting, inspection, and reporting
requirements associated with evaluation of continuous emissions compliance.

SOME EXAMPLES OF CATEGORIES:



SOUTHEAST REGION:

Incinerators: Channel Sanitation, City of Sitka

Asphalt Plants: Associated Sand & Gravel; Summit Paving, CMI

Soil Remediation: South Coast, Inc. (AEDCO)

Electric utilities (0-500 tpy): AEL&P, Auke Bay and Lemon Creek; Haines Light &

Power; Tlingit & Haida Regional Elec. Authority

Electric utilities (500-4000 tpy): (none in Southeast)

Fuel Burning Facilities (0-500 tpy): Kennecott Greens Creek Mine; Klawock Timber
Alaska

Fuel Burning Facilities (500-4000 tpy): (none in Southeast)

Fuel Burning Facilities (above 4000); Alaska Pulp Corp., Sitka; LPK Ketchikan Pulp

SOUTHCENTRAL REGION:

Incinerators: Sureway Incinerator

Asphalt Plants: Alaska Roadbuilders; Quality Asphalt Paving

Soil Remediation: Anchorage Sand & Gravel

Electric utilities (0-500 tpy): Anchorage Light & Power, Ship Creek and Pt. Woronzof
Electric utilities (500-2000 tpy): Alaska Electric Generation & Transmission

Electric utilities (2000-4000 tpy): Anchorage Light & Power, Sullivan; Chugach Electric,
Bernice Lake

Electric utilities (4000 plus): Chugach Electric, Beluga

Fuel Burning Facilities (0-500 tpy): USAF, Shemya

Fuel Burning Facilities (500-2000 tpy): Marathon Oil Steelhead P/F; Tesoro Petroleum.
Refinery .

Fuel Burning Facilities (2000- 4000) Unisea, Inc.

Fuel Burning Facilities (4000 plus): Phillips, Kenai LNG; UNOCAL NH3-Urea Plant

NORTHERN REGION:

Incinerators: North Slope Deadhorse Incinerator

Asphalt Plants: Fairbanks Sand & Gravel; H & H Contractors

Soil Remediation: Cold Weather Contracting; Env1ronmenta1 Systems, Inc.

Electric utilities (0-500 tpy): Deep Sea Fisheries

Electric utilities (500-2000 tpy): Golden Valley Electric, Healy

Electric utilities (2000-4000 tpy): Fairbanks Municipal Utility System, Chena; Golden
Valley Electric, North Pole

Electric utilities (4000 plus): None in Northern Region

Fuel Burning Facilities (0-500 tpy): Alaska Railroad; PetroStar, Inc.; USAF, Eieleson
Fuel Burning Facilities (500-2000 tpy): MAPCO North Pole Refinery

Fuel Burning Facilities (2000-4000): Cominco Red Dog

Fuel Burning Facilities (4000 plus): US Army, Ft. Wainwright

Commonly asked questions about the interim permit fees, Air Quality

Q.  Who pays this fee?
A.  Anyone who currently has an Air Quality Control Permit to Operate from DEC.

Q.  What if I don’t have a permit how, but need one for the new Operating Permit
Program mandated by the Clean Air Act of 19907
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A, You won't be paying a fee now. When the new Operating Permit Program is
effective, a permit fee must be assessed.

Q.  IfI have a permitted facility that has an incinerator with a diesel electric genera-
tor which supplies power only to the incinerator, will I have to pay two fees (one for the
incinerator, one for the generator)?

A.  No, Each facility pays only one fee. In the case of a facility which only consists
of an incinerator and associated equipment, the fee would be that for an incinerator. In
all cases where multiple equipment sources exist at a facility, the applicable fee is that
which governs the equipment causing the greatest quantity or toxicity of air emissions.

10
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Q. If T have a facility which is an asphalt plant, and also does soil remediation, do I
pay two fees even if I have two permits from DEC?

A. No. In this case, the facility would still only pay one fee, the fee for a soil
remediation unit.

Q. I have a facility which is an asphalt plant, but it may not even operate this year.
Why should I pay a fee?

A. Even though the facility does not operate, the requirements for an annual
inspection and the associated permitting and reporting requirements do not change.
However, in order to assess a reasonable fee for these sources and others which only
operate to complete small jobs, the department will amend the proposed regulations to
provide a lower fee for plants which process less than 10,000 tons annually. This lower
fee will not fully cover the costs associated with inspections, surveillances, and reporting,
however, the proposed change to reflect actual operating conditions was determined to
be appropriate for facilities which operate on a limited basis.

Q. If I have a permitted facility which consists of fuel burning equipment, how do I
know what the allowable emissions are?
A. If you have a permit that was recently issued by DEC, the allowable emissions are

noted in the permit. If you have an older permit, then the allowable emission estimates.
may not be explicitly noted in the permit, but the state’s emissions database would
probably have this information (contact your respective regional air engineer). If the
information is still unknown, we will contact the facility operator to evaluate the current
allowable emission rate. '

Q. Is it possible to lower the allowable emissions estimate to move down to the next
level of permit fees?
A. Yes. This can be done by requesting limitations to the number of hours of

operation, the amount of fuel burned, or the process rate. These limitations will be
incorporated into a permit amendment so that they are enforceable limitations.
Exceeding these enforceable limitations carries the same consequences as any other
permit violation,

Q.  How were the interim fees determined for each source category?

A.  Each permitted facility was categorized as to type and class. Then each class was
evaluated for the average allowable emissions for the class. Then, a base fee for each
category type was determined from the expected number of annual inspections and
surveillances, permitting activity per class, and average facility review costs. In addition,
fees also reflect the net amount of air pollution emitted from a subject facility. The
categories and class breakdown, as well as some examples for this region, is set out
above.

18 AAC 52 - AUTO EMISSIONS INSPECTION

The municipalities of Anchorage and Fairbanks are now the implementing agencies for
this program in their areas of the state (determined to be "nonattainment" areas by EPA
for failure to meet the air quality requirements for carbon monoxide). The proposed

11
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fees would partially reimburse DEC should it become necessary for DEC to act as
implementing agency.

18 AAC 62 - HAZARDOUS WASTE

General Philosophy: Hazardous waste user fees are structured to encourage waste
minimization and pollution prevention. A large quantity generator who is able to make
changes in their process or substitute nonhazardous products may be able to save $900 a
year or more in user fees, Fees are currently set at a level less than that needed to fully
cover the costs of administering the program.

In our federal grant workplan, we budget 11 days per facility for inspections and
paperwork required for hazardous waste treatment, storage, or disposal facilities (TSD).
For hazardous waste generators, 5 to 7 days are budgeted per facility. Using a cost of
$300 per day for personnel and overhead, this equates to $3300 per year for a TSD, and
$1500 to $2100 per year for hazardous waste generators.

While our costs are significantly less for transporters and small quantity generators, a
considerable amount of staff time is still required to track manifests and process
generator reports. The nominal fees of $10 proposed for generators with no activity or
for burners and marketers of used oil, and $15 for Conditionally Exempt Small Quantity -
Generators do not even cover the cost of mailing out generator report packages and
answering questions from generators.

1. WHO DO THESE FEES APPLY TO? The hazardous waste user fees apply to
anyone who has notified the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) of their
hazardous waste activity, and has an active EPA identification number. This includes:
generators, transporters, used oil burners and marketers, and Treatment, Storage and
Disposal facilities (TSDs). The fees also apply to facilities that have an active ID
number but do not generate any waste in a given year. For the purposes of these
regulations: '

Generator means any person, by site, whose act or process produces hazardous waste
identified or listed in 40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 261.

There are three categories of generators;

Conditionally Exempt Small Quantity Generators (CESQG), generate less than 220 |
pounds of hazardous waste and no more than 2.2 pounds of acutely hazardous waste in
any calendar month and accumulate less than 2,200 pounds of hazardous waste on site;
Small Quantity Generators (SQG), generate greater than 220 pounds but less than 2,200
pounds of hazardous waste and no more than 2.2 pounds of acutely hazardous waste in

any calendar month and accumulate less than 13,200 pounds of hazardous waste on site.

Large Quantity Generators (LQG), generate greater than 2,200 pounds of hazardous
waste or more than 2.2 pounds of acutely hazardous waste in any calendar month.

12
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* Note a facility’s generator status can fluctuate from month to month. For the
purposes of these fees the highest category of generator you achieve during the calendar
year is what you must base your fee on.

Transporter means any person engaged in the offsite transportation of hazardous waste
by air, raﬂ highway, or water.

Burner/Blenders refers to any person actively engaged in the marketing or burning of
used oil for energy recovery requiring them to notify EPA of this activity pursuant to 40
CFR 266 Subpart E.

Treatment, Storage or Disposal facility (TSD), refers to any facility that treats, stores
and/or disposes of a hazardous waste requiring a permit under the Resource
Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA). The definitions for each of these distinct
RCRA activities is defined in 40 CFR 260,10.

2. WHAT SERVICES WILL THESE FEES COVER? The fees are structured to
encourage waste minimization and pollution prevention. A large quantity generator who
makes changes in the process or substitutes nonhazardous products may be able to save -
$900 a year or more in fees. Fees are less than that needed to cover the costs of
administering the program. The services the fees will cover include:

Cost of inspections: DEC inspects, pursuant to the EPA RCRA Implementation Plan -
(RIP), every TSD at least once a year. In our federal grant workplan, we budget 11 days
per facility for inspections and paperwork required for TSD facilities. For generators, 5
to 7 days are budgeted per facility. Using a cost of $300 per day for personnel and
overhead, this equates to $3300 per year for a TSD, and $1500 to $2100 per year for
hazardous waste generators.

Program Administration: While our costs are significantly less for transporters and small
quantity generators, a considerable amount of time is still required to track manifests
and process generator reports. The nominal fees of $10 proposed for generators with no
activity or for burners and marketers of used oil, and $15 for Conditionally Exempt
Small Quantity Generators do not even cover the cost of mailing report packages and
answering questions from generators.

-Technical Assistance: Program staff spend hours each day assisting the regulated
community in trying to better understand the complex hazardous waste regulations.
Generators, transporters and TSD’s can obtain immediate answers to their regulatory
questions by calling our offices, thereby reducing their chances of being exposed to large
fines for noncompliance.

Annual Reporting Requirements: DEC is required by AS 46.03.305 to collect informa-
tion from all facilities that have an EPA identification number for their hazardous waste
activity. To prepare the reports (typeset, print and bind) costs about $1500 per year.
The reports are then sent out via certified mail to over 700 notifiers of hazardous waste

13
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activity throughout the state, This is why we charge $10 even if no waste is generated.

Training: Each year the hazardous waste program has provided training to the regulated
community to assist them in better understanding the regulations and keep them abreast
of any changes. This training has been conducted by both DEC contractors and DEC
program staff,

Information Outreach: The hazardous waste program conducts at least two major
mailouts per year to the regulated community informing them of regulatory changes or
requesting their comments on hazardous waste issues.

3. HOW DID YOU DEVELOP THE FEE STRUCTURE?

$10 for used oil marketers and burners and for other facilities who have notified EPA
but have had no activity, including transporters and generators: This nominal fee is for
our administrative mailing costs, and recordkeeping costs. Just the postage to mail these
facilities their annual report certified return receipt costs approximately half of this fee.

$15 for Conditionally Exempt Small Quantity Generators of hazardous waste who have
notified EPA: This nominal fee is for the cost of mailing out the annual report, main-
taining records, and data entry. Further, the fee is for the inspections that may be
conducted at these sites, the information provided these generators, and the mamfest
tracking required when they occasionally send waste off-site.

$50 for Hazardous Waste Transporters who have notified EPA: This fee is to cover the
legislative mandate (AS 46.03.308) to track manifested hazardous waste shipments, and
the cost for data entry of the transporters annual reports. One-half of a fulltime position
($30,000) is required to track manifests, and approximately 30 working days ($9,000) is
required to manage the transporter annual report.

$100 for Small Quantity Generators of hazardous waste who have notified EPA: This
fee covers inspection, recordkeeping, technical assistance, and reporting costs. The fee,
while relatively small, creates the opportunity for these generators to save $85 a year by
reducing the volume of waste to achieve Conditionally Exempt Small Quantity Generator
status.

$1000 for Large Quantity Generators (LQG) of hazardous waste who have notified EPA:
This fee covers part of the inspection costs for these generators. LQGs are inspected,
when possible, at least once a year, and the cost to conduct these inspections is about
$2,000. Other costs include recordkeeping, management of the hazardous waste annual
report, technical assistance, manifest tracking, and training.

$1000 for facilities that Treat, Store and Dispose (TSD) of hazardous waste and have
notified EPA;: This fee covers part of the cost of inspections, as well as the extensive
time required to review, write and evaluate Part A and B permit applications. The fee
also covers extensive technical assistance, recordkeeping, annual report data entry,

14



[

manifest tracking and training., Inspection costs exceed $3,000 per TSD facility.

4, HOW MUCH MONEY WILL BE COLLECTED? The estimated annual fees total
approximately $100,000, representing about 6% of the total program budget.

No Activity $10
Transporters $100 - § 1,000
Generators $250 - $2,500

15



Burner Blenders
Active

Conditionally Exempt
Generators
Active

Small Quantity Generators
Active

Large Quantity Generators
Active

Transporters
Active

TSD Facilities
Active
Federal Storage
, - Commercial Storage
Land Disposal facility
Commercial Storage/Treatment

$10

$94 - $ 940
$15

$300 - $ 4,500
$100

$155 - $15,500
$1,000 :
$57 - $57,000
$50

$40 - $ 2,000
$1,000

$6 - $ 6,000
$3 - $ 3,000
$2 - $ 2,000
$2 - $ 2,000

These fees will be collected as part of the annual reporting requirement. A facility may
be subject to more than one fee. For example, a facility that is a storage facility, a
burner blender and a large quantity generator (total fee $2,010). Further, it should be
known that the fees were established to promote pollution prevention and encourage
facilities to reduce their volume of waste thereby reducing the fee amount.

* Questions that may be asked regarding the hazardous waste user fees:

Q: If I generate small quantities of hazardous waste at my house, am I subject to these

regulations?

A: No, household waste is exempt from RCRA [reference to 40 CFR 261.4(b)(1)], and
therefore would not be subject to the user fees.

" Q: I generate a lot of used oil. Is used oil a hazardous waste?

A: No, used oil, if it is to be reclaimed, or burned for energy recovery pursuant to 40
CFR 266 Subpart E, is not a hazardous waste [(reference 40 CFR 261.6(a)(2)(iii)].
However, if the use of the used oil constitutes disposal (applied to the ground, or burned
without meeting the 40 CFR 266 Subpart E requirements for energy recovery), then used

oil may be a hazardous waste.

16
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- Q: I generate lead acid batteries. Are they hazardous waste?

A: Lead-acid batteries would be considered hazardous waste, if they were to be
disposed of in a landfill. However, if they are recycled pursuant to 40 CFR
261.6(a)(2)(v) they are exempt from the hazardous waste regulations.

Q: If I did not generate hazardous waste in a year do these fees apply to me?

A: If you have an active EPA number and receive an annual report, the fees apply to
you, regardless of whether you generated hazardous waste during that year. The nominal
fee of $10 is all you will pay if you'did not generate any waste in a calendar year. Fees
are higher for active facilities. The same applies for transporters who notified EPA but
did not transport hazardous waste during the calendar year.

Q: I understand that the oil industry’s waste and mining wastes are exempt from RCRA.

Will they have to pay user fees?

A: Yes, not all wastes are exempt from RCRA. The oil industry and the mining
industry is subject to these fees if they generate wastes that are not exempt from RCRA.

Q: Irun a small business that generates less than 220 pounds of hazardous waste per
month, and I use transfer facilities for the collection of hazardous waste (Eagle River
facility or DEC’s hazardous waste collection program). Am I subject to the fees?

A: No, as long as you do not have an active EPA identification number, and have a
legal way of disposing of your conditionally exempt small quantities of hazardous waste,

~you would not be subject to the user fee regulations.

Q: I generate medical waste, or asbestos, or PCBs, or anti-freeze. Am I subject to the
hazardous waste user fees?

A: No, these wastes are not regulated under 18 AAC 62, and therefore would not be
subject to the user fee requirements.

If you other questions pertaining to the hazardous waste user fees please contact Jeff
Ingalls at (907)465-5154.

18 AAC 72 - WASTEWATER DISPOSAL

1. To whom are fees applicable? They apply to persons who apply for a wastewater

disposal permit or a plan review under 18 AAC 72. They also apply to persons who
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have a project that requires DEC to review and comment on Environmental Impact
Statements or Environmental Assessments involving wastewater discharges, or to certify
federal National Pollution Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permits.

2. What are the fees for? The fees are to partially cover the costs of staff time on
reviews, comments, certifications or issuances of permits.

3. How did you arrive at the fee amounts? The domestic wastewater and nondomestic
(industrial) wastewater programs require varying amounts of time and effort for review,
‘comment, certification and permit issuance purposes. The time can vary from a few
hours to many months. Accordingly, a flexible fee structure, based on a point system,
was developed, a far more equitable approach than a limited number of fixed fees.

The domestic wastewater fixed fees for classes or ranges of facilities or activities were
derived from discussions with regional personnel. Staff cost was based upon a daily cost
of $200. The actual cost to the state may be more than this. The fees are based upon
the amount of wastewater discharged from a facility and whether or not studies must be
carried out on the effects of the discharge to receiving waters. The minimum fee is $100
and the maximum fee is $3200, however with a receiving water review this would
increase to $4200.

For the nondomestic wastewater program, the fees are based on a point system used in
Texas. Louisiana has a similar system. The points system includes the following
categories:

Standard Industrial Code (SIC) Classification.
Average daily flow, millions of gallons per day.
Complexity, toxicity and concentration of pollutants.
EPA Major/Minor designation.

Sensitivity of the receiving environment.

Magnitude of public involvement/public hearings.
Monitoring requirements.

Minimum fees are $100, and under the points system, a typical large discharger to a
sensitive environment, with several public hearings and extensive monitoring, the fee may
be $30,000 or more.

4. How much will the fees generate annually? The amount of program receipts for
wastewater permits and plan reviews in the FY 93 budget is based on flat fees applied to
an estimated number of permits and plan reviews.

The flat fee results in too high a charge for simple plan reviews and too low a fee for
more time consuming permits and plan reviews. Therefore, most of the fees proposed
for plan review and wastewater permits vary with the size/complexity of the project.

DEC does not have comparable statistics on the size and complexity of past permitting
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" and plan reviews upon which to base an estimate of the revenue from a variable fee
structure.
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An approximate estimate of the amount to be collected by fees will be 20% of the
domestic and industrial wastewater programs for costs of staff time on reviews,
comments, certifications or issuances of permits.

~ The fees were derived based on the amount of time spent by staff on permits or reviews.
Past experience on projects provided approximate times spent on these duties, and
information was also incorporated from fee systems used in other states.

Typical questions and answers:

Q. Will the department be generating excess income from the fees to pay for training
and other duties not directly related to the permit or review process?

A. No, In fact the department will be recouping only a small percentage of the overall
program cost, and often will not cover direct costs for some of the larger review process-
es.

Q. Will the small operator have to pay large fees?

A. There will be some cost involved with all reviews or permitting. The graduated scale
and point systems for the fees will keep fees to small users relatively minor.

Q. Will placer miners have to pay large or graduated fees?

A. No. Placer mine NPDES certifications are reviewed as a group and have been
assigned a $100 per permit fee. There will be no charge for placer mine APMA reviews.

Q. What will be the fee for some of the larger dischargers?

A. For domestic wastewater the maximum fee is $3200, although with a mixing zone this
would increase to $4200. For nondomestic wastewater, under the points system, a typical
large discharger to a sensitive environment, with several public hearings and extensive
monitoring, the fee may be $30,000 or more. For drinking water plan reviews the
maximum is $4000 or $4500 with a surface water source.

Q. Will nonprofits, municipalities, and other government agencies be required to pziy
fees?

- A. Projected fee income was based upon all permittees paying fees, however this
requirement will be waived for nonprofits, and might be waived in the department’s
discretion, for government agencies, in which case fee income would be reduced
accordingly resulting in funding a smaller percentage of the permit and review process.
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178 AAC 75--OIL & HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCE POLLUTION
(Financial Responsibility)

1. Who pays user fees? Under the new rules, operators of oil terminal facilities, pipe-
lines, exploration and production facilities, tankships and barges will pay fees when they
submit annual Financial Responsibility applications. These operators are required, under
AS 46.04,040, to annually demonstrate that they have the financial ability to respond to
oil spills.

2. What does the fee pay for? The proposed application fee for Financial Responsibility
will be used to pay for processing applications, maintaining a data base of approved
operators, providing technical assistance to operators, reviewing applications, providing
certificates, and evaluating methods of proving Financial Responsibility.

3. How were the amounts of the proposed fees selected? Fee amounts were chosen with
the objective of paying for a significant portion of the cost of providing the service. At
the proposed amounts, application fees will fund approximately 50% of the personnel
cost associated with reviewing applications and issuing Certificates of Financial
Responsibility.

4. How much revenue will the fees generate? Each year the Department reviews
approximately 125 applications covering approximately 400 vessels and facilities. Each
vessel or facility is required to have a Certificate of Financial Responsibility. Based on
the proposed amounts ($150 per application plus $50 per certificate), the proposed fees
are expected to generate approximately $38,750 annually.

18 AAC 80 -- DRINKING WATER

For the Drinking Water program, the fees are based upon the class of public water
system, the number of people served, the type of source and such things as separation
distances or length of main to be repaired. For plan reviews the minimum fee is $200
and the maximum is $4000, or $4500 if there is a surface water source,

The fees were derived based on the amount of time spent by staff on permits or reviews.
Past experience on projects provided approximate times spent on these duties, and
information was also incorporated from fee systems used in other states. Following are
approximate actual staff time for each type of review:

(1) for a Class A public water system plan review:

(i) 25 to 50 people $500 2.5 days
(if) 50 to 150 people $1000 5 days
(iil) 150 to 2000 people $1500 7.5 days
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(iv) 2000 to 20,000 people $2000 10 days
(v) more than 20,000 people $4000 20 days

(2) a Class B plan review: 50% of that specified for a Class A system.

(3) for a class Cplan approval: 1 day
(4) for a surface water source | 2.5 days
(5) for a walver to separation distance 1.5 days
(6) for distribution main repair, replacement or extension:
(i) less than 200 feet $200 1 day
ii) 200 to 1000 feet $500 2.5 days
(if) y
(iif) more than 1000 feet $1000 5 days
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