Sport Fishing Guide Services Board – SB24 Quick Reference Guide

The purpose of this Act is to promote the health, safety, and welfare of the guided fish angler and the stability of the sport fish guide industry in the state by regulating the activities of providers of sport fishing guide, outfitter, and transportation services.*

	Current	After Guide Bill				
Downing on ant	Guide	C. da	Assistant	06:11	-	
 Requirement A current Alaska sport fishing license, tags, stamps or permits that are required to engage in the sport fishery 	Regulation	Guide	Guide	Outfitter	Transporter	
A current sport fishing guide license	√	\checkmark	\checkmark	√	√	
 A current U.S.C.G. Operator's license if operating a motorized vessel on navigable waters and current TWIC card 	√	√	√	√	√	
Current first aid card.	\checkmark	\checkmark	\checkmark	\checkmark	\checkmark	
Be a resident of the United States, Canada, Mexico or a resident alien	√	✓	✓	√	✓	
 Assistants, deckhands, and similar persons who work directly under the supervision of and on the same vessel as a fishing guide are exempt from the guide licensing requirements. 	√					
 A copy of the current ADF&G sport fishing business license of the guide's employer; 	\checkmark					
A Photo ID	✓	\checkmark	\checkmark	\checkmark	√	
 All businesses must have a logbook. 	\checkmark	\checkmark				
 Current State of Alaska Business License 	\checkmark	\checkmark		\checkmark	\checkmark	
 Insurance - liability or marine protection policy providing coverage of at least \$100,000 for each incident, and \$300,000 per year 	√	√		✓	√	
All vessels, powered and unpowered, must have a current AK # issued by the DMV	√	✓		\checkmark	✓	
A person may not receive or renew a license if his right to obtain or exercise the privileges granted by a sport fishing guide outfitter, sport fishing outfitter, sport fishing assistant guide, or sport fishing transporter license or registration is suspended or revoked in this state or another state or in Canada or Mexico.		√	√	✓	√	
Licensing responsibility falls under Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development.		√	✓	✓	√	
A written and oral qualification and certification examination s		√		√	✓	
 Provide employment agreement with guide outfitter or passes certification course 			✓			
Board will establish sport fish guide use units and registration requirements.		\checkmark		✓		

Requirement	Current Guide Regulation	After Guide Bill				
		Guide	Assistant Guide	Outfitter	Transporter	
 Provide an activity report on a form provided by ADF&G 		√		\checkmark	\checkmark	
 Board renews licenses every two years 		\checkmark	\checkmark	\checkmark	✓	
 Anyone who pilots an aircraft to transport clients during the provision of sport fishing activities, shall have a commercial pilot's rating or a minimum of 500 hours of flying time in the state 		√	✓	✓	√	
Board will enforce regulations		✓	✓	✓	✓	

Rev 1/22/11

Note: This comparison is made to the working copy of SB-24 as of January, 2011. Final legislation may vary in content and requirements from this document. Please refer to the final bill upon passage for detail regulations.

^{*} A copy of the guide Services Bill, (SB-24) can be found here: http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/get_bill.asp?bill=SB%20%2024&session=27