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Cell Phone Use and Texting While Driving Laws

Updated December 2011
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STATES HAND-HELD 

BAN 

ALL CELL PHONE BAN TEXTING BAN ENFORCEMENT CRASH DATA 

COLLECTION 

Alabama No  Drivers age 16 and 17 

who have held an 

intermediate license for 

less than 6 months.

No  Not applicable

Alaska No No All drivers  Primary Yes

Arizona No School bus drivers No Primary

Arkansas No School bus drivers, drivers 

younger than 18

All drivers Primary for texting by all 

drivers and cell phone 

use by school bus 

drivers; secondary 

for cell phone use by 

young drivers

Yes

California All drivers School and transit bus 

drivers and drivers 

younger than 18

All drivers Primary Yes

Colorado No Drivers younger than 18 All drivers Primary Yes

Connecticut All drivers Learner's permit holders, 

drivers younger than 18, 

and school bus drivers

All drivers Primary

Delaware All drivers 

(effective 

01/02/11)

Learner's permit and 

intermediate license 

holders and school bus 

drivers

All drivers (effective 

01/02/11)

Primary Yes

District of Columbia All drivers School bus drivers and 

learner's permit holders  

All drivers  Primary Yes

Florida No No No Not applicable  Yes 

Georgia Drivers 

younger than 

18 (effective 

07/01/10)

School bus drivers. 

Drivers younger than 18. 

All drivers (effective 

07/01/10) 

Primary    Yes

Hawaii No No No  Not applicable   

Idaho No No No  Not applicable   Yes***

Illinois Drivers in 

construction 

and school 

speed zones

Learner's permit holders 

younger than 19, drivers 

younger than 19, and 

school bus drivers

All drivers Primary   Yes

Indiana No Drivers under the age of 

18.

All drivers (effective 

07/01/11).

Primary   Yes

Iowa No Learner's permit and 

intermediate license 

holders  

All drivers Secondary for texting  Yes 

Kansas

Page 1 of 4Cellular Phone Use and Texting While Driving Laws

1/20/2012http://www.ncsl.org/issues-research/transportation/cellular-phone-use-and-texting-while-dr...



No Learner's permit and 

intermediate license 

holders

All drivers (effective 

07/01/10)

Primary Yes

Kentucky No Drivers younger than 18 

(effective 07/13/10), 

School Bus Drivers.

All drivers (effective 

07/13/10) 

Primary (effective 

07/13/10)  

Yes 

Louisiana No School bus drivers, 

learner's permit and 

intermediate license 

holders, drivers under age 

18 

All drivers Primary Yes  

Maine** No Learner's permit and 

intermediate license 

holders

All drivers (effective 

09/13/11)

Primary Yes

Maryland All drivers 

(effective 

10/01/10), 

School Bus 

Drivers.

Learner's permit and 

intermediate license 

holders under 18. School 

bus drivers.

All drivers Primary for texting Yes

Massachusetts Local option School bus drivers, 

passenger bus drivers, 

drivers younger than 18.

All drivers (effective 

09/30/10  

Primary  Yes

Michigan Local option No All drivers (effective 

07/01/10)  

Primary (effective 

07/01/10)   

Yes

Minnesota No School bus drivers, 

learner's permit holders, 

and provisional license 

holders during the first 12 

months after licensing  

All drivers Primary Yes

Mississippi No School bus drivers. Learner's permit holders 

and intermediate license 

holders

Primary   Yes   

Missouri No No Drivers 21 years of age 

or younger

Primary   

Montana No No  No Not applicable Yes 

Nebraska No Learner's permit and 

intermediate license 

holders younger than 18  

Learner's permit and 

intermediate license 

holders younger than 18

All drivers

Secondary Yes

Nevada All drivers 

(effective 

01/01/12)

No   All drivers (effective 

01/01/12)

Not applicable   Yes 

New Hampshire No No All drivers Primary

New Jersey All drivers School bus drivers, and 

learner's permit and 

intermediate license 

holders 

All drivers Primary Yes

New Mexico Local option Learners permit and 

intermediate license 

holders. 

No Not applicable Yes

New York All drivers No   All drivers Primary Yes

North Carolina No Drivers younger than 18 

and school bus drivers 

All drivers Primary   

North Dakota Drivers 

younger than 

18

Drivers younger than 18

(effective 01/01/12)

All drivers (effective 

08/01/11) 

Primary (effective 

08/01/11)  

Yes
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(effective 

01/01/12)

Ohio Local option No  No  Not applicable   

Oklahoma Learner's 

permit and 

intermediate 

license 

holders, 

school bus 

drivers and 

public transit 

drivers 

(effective 

11/01/10)

School Bus Drivers and 

Public Transit Drivers 

(effective 11/01/10).

Learner's permit 

holders, intermediate 

license holders, school 

bus drivers and public 

transit drivers (effective 

11/01/10)

Primary  Yes 

Oregon All drivers Drivers younger than 18 All drivers Primary Yes 

Pennsylvania Local option No  All drivers Primary Yes

Rhode Island No School bus drivers and 

drivers younger than 18

All drivers  Primary  Yes

South Carolina No No No  Not applicable   Yes***

South Dakota No No No  Not applicable   Yes

Tennessee No School bus drivers, and 

learner's permit and 

intermediate license 

holders  

All drivers Primary Yes

Texas Drivers in 

school 

crossing 

zones

Bus drivers. Drivers 

younger than 18. 

(09/01/11)  

Bus drivers when a 

passenger 17 and 

younger is present; 

intermediate license 

holders for first 12 

months, drivers in 

school crossing zones  

Primary   Yes

Utah See 

footnote*

No  All drivers Primary for texting; 

secondary for talking on 

hand-held phone

Yes   

Vermont No Drivers younger than 18 

shall not use any portable 

electronic device while 

driving. 

All drivers Primary  

Virgin Islands Yes Yes

Virginia No Drivers younger than 18 

and school bus drivers 

All drivers Secondary; primary for 

school bus drivers  

Yes

Washington All drivers Learners permit and 

intermediate license 

holders. 

All drivers  Primary Yes 

West Virginia No Drivers younger than 18 

who hold either a learner's 

permit or an intermediate 

license  

Drivers younger than 18 

who hold either a 

learner's permit or an 

intermediate license  

Primary 

Wisconsin No No All drivers (effective 

12/01/10) 

Primary (effective 

12/01/10)  

Wyoming No No All drivers Primary Yes

Total All drivers: 9 

states and 

District of 

Columbia.

School Bus drivers: 19 

states and District of 

Columbia.

Teen drivers: 30 states 

and District of Columbia.

All Drivers: 35 states 

and District of 

Columbia.

Primary for all drivers 

texting: 32.

36 and U.S. 

Virgin Islands 

and District of 

Columbia.
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Source: AAA, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, NCSL 2011. 

Governor’s Highway Safety Association

.* Utah considers speaking on a cell phone, without a hands-free device, to be an offense only if a driver is also committing some other 

moving violation (other than speeding).

** Maine has a law that makes driving while distracted a traffic infraction. 29-A M.R.S.A. Sec. 2117.

*** Listed as a part of contributing factors
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