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Driver
inattention
causes nearly
80 percent of

vehicle crashes.

Only 20 states
collect cell
phone use

information at

crash scenes.

No state
completely bans
phone use for all

drivers.

Addressing Distracted Driving
By Melissa Savage

According to the National
Highway Traffic Safety
Administration, nearly 80
percent of vehicle crashes
and 65 percent of near-
crashes involve some form
of driver inattention, of-
ten caused by tending to
children in the back seat,
talking with other passen-
gers, or events happening [] No texting ban
outside the car. Talking O Text?ng ban for novic_e drivers
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qn a cel@ phoflej and tex- [l Texting ban for all drivers passed in 2009
ting while driving have Source: NCSL, 2009,
recently gained attention
and have been the target of state legislation.
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One trillion text messages were sent last year, according to the International Association for the
Wireless Telecommunications Industry. That’s up about 20 billion over the last three years. Many
of these text messages were sent by drivers.

Tracking the problem can be difficult. Only 25 states collect cell phone use information at crash
scenes. The National Occupant Protection Use Survey, conducted at randomly selected intersec-
tions by the U.S. Department of Transportation, found that 1 percent of observed drivers were ma-
nipulating a hand-held device, and 6 percent of observed drivers were using hand-held cell phones.

Studies using cameras and other tracking devices in personal vehicles found that drivers who send
and receive text messages while driving had more than 20 times the risk of a crash or near crash
than a driver who was not using a phone. Drivers who text messaged while driving took their eyes
off the road for an average of 4.6 seconds during a 6-second interval; this equates to traveling the
length of a football field at 55 mph without looking at the road. Talking on a cell phone while
driving slightly increased the risk of a crash or near crash, but not to the same degree as text mes-
saging.

State  State distracted driving laws frequently are mislabeled as prohibitions on cell phones in
Action the car. In fact, no state completely bans all phones for all drivers. Instead, state leg-
islation usually addresses a range of issues, including particular wireless technologies and specific
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drivers. California, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Oregon, Washington and the District
of Columbia prohibit all drivers from using hand-held phones. Other states have targeted only
school bus drivers and teens. In 17 states and the District of Columbia, school bus drivers can-
not use a cell phone while operating a bus; in 21 states and the District of Columbia, new drivers
cannot use a cell phone while driving.

Since 2000, legislatures in every state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico have considered
bills related to distracted driving or, more specifically, to driver cell phone use. In 2009, legisla-
tors in 46 states considered 198 driver distraction bills. Maine’s 2009 distracted driving law cov-
ers all types of distraction, not just cell phone use. The law defines “operation of a motor vehicle
while distracted” as non-vehicle-operation activity by drivers; if they cannot safely operate the
vehicle, they are violating the law.

The most common driver distraction measure—prohibiting texting while driving—was debated
in 27 legislatures in 2009. As of September, 18 states and the District of Columbia outlaw text
messaging while driving for all drivers. Eleven of those states passed laws in 2009.

Federal U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood convened a September 2009 summit to
Action  address the dangers of text messaging and other distractions behind the wheel. The
summit, organized by the U.S. Department of Transportation's Research and Innovative Tech-
nology Administration, convened senior transportation officials; elected officials, including state
legislators; safety advocates; law enforcement personnel; and academics to discuss how to combat
distracted driving.

President Obama recently released Executive Order 13513, which prohibits federal employees
from text messaging while driving vehicles owned, leased or rented by the federal government

or privately owned vehicles on official government business. The order also prohibits federal
employees from using federal government-supplied electronic equipment while driving. The
Department of Transportation will propose three separate rulemakings to: 1) ban the use of cell
phones and other electronic devices by rail operators; 2) restrict cell phone use and ban text mes-
saging by truck and interstate bus operators; and 3) revoke the commercial driver’s licenses of
school bus drivers convicted of texting while driving.

Congress also is considering a federal ban on texting while driving. Legislation introduced in
both the U.S. House and Senate (H.R. 3535, S. 1536) would authorize withholding 25 percent
of a state's highway funds if it fails to enact a law by a certain date to prohibit text messaging
while driving. If passed, the federal legislation—Avoiding Life-Endangering and Reckless Tex-
ting by Drivers Act” (ALERT Drivers Act)—could authorize withholding a possible total of $4.4
billion from the states and the District of Columbia, based on 2009 apportionments.

A second bill (S. 1938) introduced in the U.S. Senate would create a new grant program to en-
courage states to enact legislation that bans texting while driving, requires drivers using a cell
phone to use a hands-free device, and prohibits drivers under age 18 from using any cell phone
while driving. The grant program would be funded by redirecting unused surpluses from the ex-
isting federal grant program to states for encouraging enactment of a primary seat belt law.
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Every state has
considered bills
related to dis-

tracted driving.
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federal ban on
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