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Background: 
 Original legislation passed in May, 2004; effective January 1, 2005; with 1 year 

extensions in 2009 and 2010. 

 

 Proposed by the Department for three main reasons: 

1. Information on guide numbers and their fishing activities was either not 

available or limited in many parts of the state;  

2. Establish minimum standards to operate a business or contract as a guide 

(safety, liability insurance, US Coast Guard license, etc.) as a means to 

increase professionalism and reduce speculative entry; and 

3. Provide comprehensive and credible data on guided sport fishing activities to 

regulatory agencies: Alaska Board of Fisheries (BOF), International Pacific 

Halibut Commission (IPHC), and North Pacific Fisheries Management 

Council (NPFMC). 

 

Legislation: 
Sec.16.40.260 Sport fishing operator license;   

Sec.16.40.270 Sport fishing guide license; 

Sec.16.40.280 Reports; 

Sec.16.40.290 Penalties for violations. 

 

These legislative sections  include licensing provisions and fees (AS. 16.05.340(a)) for 

sport fishing business owners ($100), sport fishing guides working for the business ($50), 

and business owners who are also a guide (owner/operator combo $100). The mandatory 

reporting requirements, logbooks, are for both fresh and saltwater guide activities 

(freshwater logbooks were instituted in 2005). The penalties for sport fish guiding 

violations by business owners and guides include possible revocation of their license. 

 

Companion Regulations: 
 

5 AAC 75.075 Sport fishing services and sport fishing guide services; license 

requirements; regulation of activities. 

 

5 AAC 75.076. Sport fishing services and sport fishing guides reporting requirements. 

 

5 AAC 75.077. Sport fishing guide vessel registration requirements. 
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Alaska Department of Fish and Game Contacts: 
Charlie Swanton- Charles.Swanton@alaska.gov; phone: 465-6184 or 321-0955 

Ben Mulligan - Ben.Mulligan@alaska.gov; phone: 465-6137 or 321-5797. 
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Present Benefits and Utility:  
 A comprehensive list of all sport fishing guides working in salt water is part of the 

data requirements that allowed Alaska to receive an exemption from participating 

in the National Saltwater Angler Registry (up to $25/saltwater angler in 2011). 

 

 The logbook data for saltwater anglers has been used extensively within the IPHC 

and NPFMC for analyzing regulatory options and inform decisions on Pacific 

Halibut. 

 

 Both freshwater and saltwater logbook harvest data has been presented and 

utilized by the Alaska Board of Fisheries. Harvest estimate verification studies 

were conducted and found to be of moderate scientific quality (statistical 

precision was highly acceptable) compared to statewide sport fish harvest survey, 

and dock side creel programs. 

 

Participation Statistics: 
 An average of 1,602 sport fishing business licenses (including owner/operator 

combo) have been sold (2006-2010); 88% of owners are Alaskan residents.   

 

 An average of 1,853 sport fishing guide licenses have been sold (2007-2010); 

72% of guides are Alaskan residents.   

 

 Based on logbook data, over 2.1 million clients took 536,960 guided fishing 

trips (from 2005 through 2009); 67% of clients fished in saltwater, 33% fished in 

freshwater and 88% of all clients were nonresidents. The 2010 data is still being 

finalized. 

 

 An average of 1,334 vessels in saltwater were used for guided fishing trips 

(2005-2009). 

 

Electronic Reporting (Modernization initiative): 
 Modernization and timely reporting of recreational harvest data are a priority. We 

are actively working on this task: 

 
o In July, 2009 we developed a scannable saltwater logbook form which will 

reduce the time lag when logbook data is available from 2 to 3 months to 1 

to 2 weeks.  This new form was employed for saltwater forms statewide in 

2010.  Ten public meetings were held across the state to explain this new 

format and received nearly unanimous support from user groups and 

public. Freshwater logbooks will be converted to scannable format in 

2012.  

 
o The point of sale hunting and fishing licensing program is still being 

sought and technical challenges addressed.  


