## Alaska State Legislature Joint Legislative Higher Education Scholarship Funding Task Force

Senate Senator Kevin Meyer, Chair Senator Johnny Ellis Senator Lyman Hoffman Senator Gary Stevens Senator Joe Thomas



Representative Paul Seaton, Vice-chair
Representative Peggy Wilson
Representative Wes Keller
Representative Anna Fairclough
Representative Chris Tuck

## Administration

ACPE: Diane Barrans, Director
OMB: Karen Rehfeld, Director
AK State Board of Education: Esther Cox, Chair
University of Alaska: Saichi Oba, Associate Vice President
Department of Education: Eddy Jeans, Education Policy Coordinator

December 1, 2010

Senate President Gary Stevens State Capitol Room 111 Juneau, AK 99801-1182

Speaker of the House Mike Chenault State Capitol Room 208 Juneau, AK 99801-1182

Dear President Stevens and Speaker Chenault,

This report is submitted to the Legislature by the Joint Legislative Higher Education Scholarship Funding Task Force, established by the 26<sup>th</sup> Alaska State Legislature under Senate Bill 221 to "examine higher education costs and identify the best approach in providing financial aid to assist students in the state".

Pursuant to this purpose, the Task Force has spent the interim performing three of the duties outlined in SB 221. These included evaluating how best to provide long-term and sustainable funding for state provided financial aid, evaluating proposals pertaining to financial aid opportunities and taking public comments on financial aid opportunities in the state.

Having completed all these assigned duties, the Task Force now respectfully submits the attached report in fulfillment of its fourth and final duty: "recommend improvements or additions to the laws providing for financial aid at postsecondary institutions." Those recommendations, along with supporting justifications and documentation, as included herein.

Respectfully,

Senator Kevin Meyer,

Keni Meyer

Chairman, Joint Legislative Higher Education Scholarship Funding Task Force